Help us protect Louisiana's children. Report Child Abuse & Neglect: 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437) toll-free, 24 hours a day, seven days a week


DCFS Seeks Injunction Against Evasive Unlicensed Child Care in Orleans Parish

December 09, 2011

12.09.11 - After years of evading efforts to shut them down, the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) has filed a temporary restraining order and will seek a permanent injunction against Annette Osborne Willis and Latasha Poole for operating an unlicensed child care facility in Orleans Parish. Inspectors recently found 40 children in a small residence with insufficient space, unsafe sleeping arrangements and inadequate supervision.

DCFS Reminds Mandated Reporters, Public of Child Abuse Reporting Laws and Statewide Child Abuse Hotline

November 10, 2011

11.10.11 - While questions surround the responsible parties involved in the recent child abuse allegations at Penn State University, Louisiana's law is clear in listing who is considered a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect. The Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), reminds mandated reporters of their responsibility and that DCFS' statewide, toll-free child abuse hotline, 1-855-4LA-KIDS, is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year for anyone to report suspected abuse or neglect.

View this site in another language: