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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Department of Children and Family Services
Economic Stability
Public Assistance Programs

(LAC 67:111.301, 307, 309, 313, 1209, 1229, 1255, 1987, 1988,
1999, 2103, 2107, 5307, and 5345)

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS),
Economic Stability, has exercised the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend the
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part 111 Economic
Stability. Amendment iIs pursuant to the authority granted to the
department by the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, iIn accordance
with federal regulations for the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) in 7 CFR and Louisiana’s Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant. This emergency
rule is adopted on September 29, 2017 and shall be effective
October 1, 2017. 1t shall remain in effect for a period of 120
days.

Sections 301, 307, 309, and 313 are being amended to remove
references to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP).

Sections 1209, 1999, and 5307 are being amended to update
circumstances in which a concurrent notice is allowable.

Section 1229 is being amended to allow a dependent care
deduction for any child who 1s not receiving CCAP.

Sections 1255 and 5345 are being repealed and Sections
1987, 1988, and 2103 are being amended to maintain compliance
with Act 265 of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana
Legislature, which eliminated restrictions on eligibility for
certain persons with prior drug convictions.

Section 2107 is being amended to update that there are

three standard benefit amounts.
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The department considers emergency action necessary to
clarify the programs” administrative rules and facilitate the
expenditure of TANF funds, which is authorized by Act 3 of the
2017 Second Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part I1l1. Economic Stability
Subpart 1. General Administrative Procedures
Chapter 3. Hearings
8301. Definitions

A. For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the

terms defined In this Chapter shall have the following meanings,

unless the context of use clearly iIndicates otherwise.

*x*x

Benefits—any kind of assistance, payments or benefits made
by the department for Family Independence Temporary Assistance
Program (FITAP), Strategies to Empower People (STEP) Program,

Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP), or Supplemental Nutrition

Assistance Program (SNAP)s—er—Child-Care-AssistanceProgram
€CCAR) .
——

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:237.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 11:689 (July
1985), amended by Department of Social Services, Office of
Family Support, LR 25:2259 (November 1999), LR 26:350 (February
2000), amended by the Department of Children and Family
Services, Division of Programs, Economic Stability, LR 38:965
(April 2012), amended by the Department of Children and Family
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

8307. Time Limits for Requesting a Fair Hearing
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A_1l. When a decision is made on a case, the client 1is
notified and is allowed the following number of days from the

date of the notice to request a fair hearing.

FITAP 30 days
STEP Program 30 days
KCSP 30 days
CCAP 30-days
SNAP 90 days
2. The client may appeal at any time during a

certification period for a dispute of the current level of

benefits.
B. — B.2.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S.36:474.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2260 (November 1999),
amended LR 26:350 (February 2000), amended by the Department of
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Economic
Stability, LR 38:965 (April 2012), amended by Department of
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:
8309. Time Limits for Decisions to be Rendered

A. A prompt, definitive, and final decision must be
provided within the number of days from the date of the fair

hearing request as listed below.

FITAP 90 days
STEP Program 90 days
KCSP 90 days

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:237.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2261 (November 1999),
amended LR 26:351 (February 2000), amended by the Department of

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Economic
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Stability, LR 38:965 (April 2012), amended by Department of
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:
8313. Continuation of Benefits

A. Recipients in all categories, except STEP Program and
CCAP, who request a failr hearing prior to the expiration of the
advance notice of adverse action or within 13 days of the date
of concurrent notice must have benefits continued at, or
reinstated to, the benefit level of the previous month, unless:

1. the recipient indicates he does not want benefits
continued;

2. a determination is made at the hearing that the
sole i1ssue 1s one of existing or changing state or federal law;
or

3. a change unrelated to the appeal issue affecting
the client"s eligibility occurs while the hearing decision is
pending and the client fails to request a hearing after
receiving the notice of change.

B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2261 (November 1999),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,
Division of Programs, Economic Stability, LR 38:966 (April
2012), amended by Department of Children and Family Services,
Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

Subpart 2. Family Independence Temporary Assistance Program
Chapter 12. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing
Assistance

Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, and
Furnishing Assistance

81209. Notices of Adverse Actions
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A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13
days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A concurrent
notice shall be sent to the client at the time of action in the
following situations:

1. the agency has factual information confirming the
death of the FITAP payee;

2. the client signs a statement requesting reduction
or closure and waiving the right to advance notice;

3. the client"s whereabouts are unknown and agency
mail directed to the client has been returned by the Post Office
indicating no known forwarding address;

4. a client has been certified in another state and
that fact has been established;

5. a child 1s removed from the home as a result of a
judicial determination, or i1s voluntarily placed in foster care

by his legal guardian;

6. the client has been admitted or committed to an
institution;
7. the client has been placed in a skilled or

intermediate nursing care facility or long-term hospitalization;

8. the agency disqualifies a household member
because of an intentional program violation and the benefits of
the remaining household members are reduced or terminated
because of the disqualification;

9. the worker reduces or ends benefits at the end of
a normal period of certification when the client timely
reapplies;

10. the case is closed due to the amount of child

support collected through child support enforcement services;
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11. the client has been certified for Supplemental

Security Income or foster care payments and that fact has been

established;

12. the child is certified for kinship care subsidy
payments;

13. the agency receives a written report signed by
the head of household or other responsible household member
which provides sufficient information for the agency to

determine the household®s benefit amount or ineligibility;

14. the agency receives a report of change through

benefits are reduced or terminated effective the month following

the simplified report month;

15. mass changes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B. and R.S.
46:237; Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2447 (December 1999),
amended LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 28:2565 (December 2002),
LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 32:1911 (October 2006), amended by
the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic
Stability Section, LR 43:

Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility

8§1229. Income
A. — B.2.
C. Earned Income Deductions. Each individual in the

income unit who has earned income is entitled to the following
deductions only.

1. Standard deduction of $120.

2. $900 Time-Limited Deduction. This deduction is

applied for six months when a recipient®s earnings exceed the
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$120 standard deduction. The months need not be consecutive nor
within the same certification periods. The deduction 1is
applicable for a six-month lifetime limit for the individual.
3. Dependent Care Deduction. Recipients may be

entitled to a deduction for dependent care for:

a. an incapacitated adult;

b. eFffFectiveMay—1;20065 a child 13—-er—older
who 1s not receiving CCAP; or

C. effective May 1, 2006, the amount charged by

a child care provider that exceeds the CCAP maximum for a child

in care.
D. — G.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 USC

601 et seq., and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B), R.S.
46:231.2, P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, and 7 CFR
273.2() -

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 1999),
amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 26:2831 (December 2000), LR
31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1616 (September 2006), LR 32:1912
(October 2006), LR 34:2678 (December 2008), amended by the
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 (November 2010),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,
Economic Stability Section, LR 40:1675 (September 2014), LR
42:1651 (October 2016), amended by the Department of Children

and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:
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Subpart 3. Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP)

Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households
Subchapter J. Determining Household Eligibility and Benefit
Levels
81987. Categorical Eligibility for Certain Recipients

A. Households Considered Categorically Eligible

1. Households 1n which a member i1s a recipient of
benefits from the FITAP, STEP, and/or Kinship Care Subsidy
Program, and households in which all members are recipients of
SSI, shall be considered categorically eligible for SNAP.

2. "Recipient” includes an individual determined
eligible for TANF or SSI benefits, but the benefits have not yet
been paid.

3. "Recipient” shall also include a person
determined eligible to receive zero benefits, 1.e., a person
whose benefits are being recouped or a TANF recipient whose
benefits are less than $10 and therefore does not receive any
cash benefits.

4. A household shall not be considered categorically

eligible if:
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a. any member of that household i1s disqualified
for an intentional program violation;
b. the household is disqualified for failure to

comply with the work registration requirementss.

_ I F the | hold is_inelicibl
because of a drug related felony.
5. The following persons shall not be considered a

member of a household when determining categorical eligibility:

a. an ineligible alien;

b. an ineligible student;

C.- an institutionalized person;

d. an individual who i1s disqualified for

failure to comply with the work registration requirements;
e. an individual who is disqualified for
failure to provide or apply for a social security number;
T. an individual who is on strike.
6. Households which are categorically eligible are
considered to have met the following SNAP foed-stamp eligibility

factors without additional verification:

a. resources;
b. Social Security numbers;
C. sponsored alien information;
d. residency.
7. These households also do not have to meet the

gross and net income limitss—but—verificationofF-tncomenot
counted—For TANF/SSI s Frequired—(e-g-s—educational-assistance).
IT questionable, the factors used to determine categorical
eligibility shall be verified.

8. Categorically eligible households must meet all
SNAP eligibility factors except as outlined above.

9. Changes reported by categorically-eligible SNAP

households shall be handled according to established procedures
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except i1n the areas of resources or other categorical
eligibility factors.

10. Benefits for categorically-eligible households
shall be based on net income as for any other household. One and
two person households will receive a minimum benefit of $10 $15.
Households of three or more shall be denied if net income
exceeds the level at which benefits are issued.

B. — D.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.
51:28196 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 272, 273.10, and 274, F.R.
56:63612-63613, P.L. 104-193, 7 CFR 273.2(J)(2)(xi), Act 58,
2003 Reg. Session, 7 CFR 273.2, (J), and P.L. 110-246.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 13:90
(February 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services,
Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 1992), LR 24:1783
(September 1998), LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 27:867 (June
2001), LR 27:1934 (November 2001), LR 30:495 (March 2004),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2531
(November 2010), amended by the Department of Children and
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 40:1312 (July
2014), amended by the Department of Children and Family
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

8§1988. Eligibility Disqualification of Certain Recipients

A. Fleeing felons and probation/parole violators are
ineligible for benefits.

B.  Effective May 7, 1998 an individual convicted under
Ffederal-orstate law—of any offensewhich—isclassified-as—a
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L.

104-193, R.S. 46:233.1, P.L.105-33, P.L. 110-246.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:83 (January 1997),
amended LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 23:1710 (December 1997), LR
24:1783 (September 1998), amended by the Department of Children
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency
Section, LR 36:2532 (November 2010), amended by Department of
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:
Subchapter M. Notice of Adverse Action
8§1999. Reduction or Termination of Benefits

A A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13
days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A concurrent
notice shall be sent to the household at the time of action iIn
the following situations.

1. The agency disqualifies a household member
because of an intentional program violation and the benefits of
the remaining household members are reduced or ended because of
the disqualification.

2. Benefits are reduced or terminated at the end of
the certification period when the client timely reapplies.

3. The client has been certified In another state
and that fact has been established.

4. The client signs a statement requesting closure

or reduction in benefits and waives the right to advance notice.

11
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5. Benefits are reduced or terminated effective the
month following the simplified report month—as—aresultof
em%es—%ﬁ%%@h%mm—%lw if i -

6. The agency receives a written report signed by
the head of the household or other responsible household member
which provides sufficient information for the agency to
determine the household’s benefit amount or ineligibility.

7. Mass changes.

8. Based on reliable information, the agency
determines that the household has moved or will be moving out of
the state prior to the next monthly issuance.

9. The household applied for cash assistance and
SNAP at the same time and has been getting SNAP benefits while
waiting for approval of the cash assistance grant.

10. The client was a certified resident in a drug or
alcohol treatment center or a group living arrangement which
loses its state certification or FNS disqualifies it as a
retailer.

11. A household certified under expedited processing
rules provides postponed verification which reduces or
terminates benefits.

B. — B.4.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 7
CFR 273.12(a)(1)(vii), P.L. 110-246.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:324 (May
1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office of
Family Support, LR 24:108 (January 1998), LR 32:2270 (December
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR
36:2533 (November 2010), amended by Department of Children and

Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

12
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Chapter 21. Louisiana Combined Application Project (LaCAP)
Subchapter A. Household Concept
§2103. Household Definition

A. The definition of a household i1s an individual who is
receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and:

1. is at least 60 years old;

2. has a federal living arrangement of Code A" as
determined by the Social Security Administration (SSA);

3. is not iInstitutionalized, or otherwise ineligible
for SNAP due to immigration statuss or an Intentional Program
Violations—er—drug—conviction; and

4. lives alone or declares to purchase and prepare
food separately from others in a shared living situation.

B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR
271.3(c), 7 CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act
of 1977, P.L. 110-246.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 2006),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2534
(November 2010), amended by Department of Children and Family
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

§2107. Benefits

A. Participants will receive one of feur three standard
amounts of SNAP benefits based on the household’s total combined
shelter (housing and utilities) costs.

B. — C.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR
271.3(c), 7CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of

1977, P.L. 110-246.

13
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 2006),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2534
(November 2010), amended by Department of Children and Family
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

Subpart 13. Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP)

Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing
Assistance

Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, and
Furnishing Assistance

85307. Notices of Adverse Actions

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13
days prior to taking action to terminate benefits. In some
circumstances advance notice is not required. A concurrent
notice shall be sent to the client at the time of action in the
following situations:

1. the agency has factual information confirming the
death of the KCSP payee;

2. the client signs a statement requesting reduction
or closure and waiving the right to advance notice;

3. the client™s whereabouts are unknown and agency
mail directed to the client has been returned by the post office
indicating no known forwarding address;

4. a client has been certified in another state and
that fact has been established;

5. a child is removed from the home as a result of a
judicial determination, or is voluntarily placed in foster care
by his legal guardian;

6. the client has been admitted or committed to an

institution;

14
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7. the client has been placed in a skilled or
intermediate nursing care facility or long-term hospitalization;

8. the agency disqualifies a household member
because of an intentional program violation and benefits are
terminated because of the disqualification;

9. the worker reduces or ends benefits at the end of

a normal period of certification when the client timely
reapplies;
10. the case i1s closed due to the amount of child

support collected through child support enforcement services;

11. the agency receives a written report signed by
the head of household or other responsible household member
which provides sufficient information for the agency to

determine the client®s ineligibility;

12. the-agenecy recelves—a report-of-changethrough

benefits are reduced or terminated effective the month following

the simplified report month;

13. mass changes;

14. effective May 1, 2006, the child has been
certified for Supplemental Security Income and that fact has
been established-;

15. the child has been certified for foster care

payments and that fact has been established.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 46:237,
Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:351 (February 2000),
amended LR 28:2565 (December 2002), LR 32:1913 (October 2006),
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services,

Economic Stability Section, LR 43:

15
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Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility

§ _ ividual B | of I Lvi
Controlled Substance

Marketa Garner Walters
Secretary
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