
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
 

Economic Stability 
 

Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) 
 

(LAC 67:III.1942) 
 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 

Economic Stability, has exercised the emergency provision of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to repeal LAC 

67:III, Subpart 3 Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program 

(SNAP), Chapter 19 Certification of Eligible Households, 

Subchapter G Work Requirements, Section 1942 Workforce Training 

and Education Pilot Initiative. This emergency rule shall be 

effective October 1, 2015 and shall remain in effect for a 

period of 120 days. 

Pursuant to the authority granted to the department by the 

Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) and Act 622 of the 2014 

Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the department is 

repealing Section 1942 to terminate the Workforce Training and 

Education Pilot Initiative. The pilot initiative was established 

in Tangipahoa parish for the purpose of enhancing workforce 

readiness and improving employment opportunities for SNAP 

recipients in that parish who are unemployed or underemployed 

able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs). Unless exempt, 

these ABAWDs were required to either work an average of 20 hours 

per week or participate/comply with certain programs that 

enhance workforce readiness and improve employment for an 

average of 20 hours per week. Furthermore, the current ABAWD 

Time Limit waiver expires on September 30, 2015; therefore, 

ABAWDs statewide will be subject to the SNAP time limit. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 

terminate the pilot initiative. The authorization to promulgate 

emergency rules to facilitate the termination is contained in 
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Act 622 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 

Subpart 3. Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program 

(SNAP) 

Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households 

Subchapter G. Work Requirements 

§1942. Workforce Training and Education Pilot Initiative 

A. The department shall administer a workforce training 

and education pilot initiative within SNAP for the purpose of 

enhancing workforce readiness and improving employment 

opportunities for SNAP recipients who are unemployed or 

underemployed able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs). 

Individuals to be served by the pilot initiative shall include, 

exclusively, all ABAWDs residing in Tangipahoa parish who are 

not exempt by provisions of this Section. 

B. Individuals are ineligible to continue to receive SNAP 

benefits if, during any 36-month period after February 2015, 

they received SNAP benefits for at least three months 

(consecutive or otherwise) while that individual did not either: 

1. work an average of 20 hours per week; 

2. participate in and comply with a Job Training 

Partnership Act Program, Trade Adjustment Act Program, or 

Employment and Training Program (other than a job search or job 

search training program) for 20 hours or more per week; or 

3. participate in and comply with a workfare 

program. 

C. An individual is exempt from this requirement if the 

individual is: 

1. under age 18, or 50 years of age or older; 
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2. medically certified as physically or mentally 

unfit for employment; 

3. a parent of a household member under age 18, even 

if the household member who is under age 18 does not receive 

SNAP benefits; 

4. residing in a household where a household member 

is under age 18, even if the household member who is under age 

18 does not receive SNAP benefits; 

5. pregnant; 

6. meeting one or more of the following criteria 

relative to educational advancement: 

a. in the previous six months, the individual 

enrolled in an accredited postsecondary educational institution 

that grants associate or baccalaureate degrees; 

b. in the previous six months, the individual 

enrolled in a program designed to lead to a high school diploma; 

c. in the previous six months, the individual 

enrolled in a general education development test preparation 

course; 

d. in the previous six months, the individual 

earned a high school diploma or a general education development 

certificate; 

7. satisfactorily participating or satisfactorily 

participated in LaJET (a SNAP employment and training program) 

in the previous six months; or 

8. otherwise exempt from work registration 

requirements. 

D. Regaining Eligibility for Assistance 

1. Individuals denied eligibility under the pilot 

initiative rule can regain eligibility if during a 30-day period 

the individual: 

a. works 80 hours or more; 
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b. participates in and complies with a Job 

Training and Partnership Act Program, Trade Adjustment 

Assistance Act Program, or Employment and Training Program 

(other than a job search or job search training program) for 80 

hours or more; 

c. participates in and complies with a workfare 

program (under Section 20 of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 

or a comparable state or local program) for 80 hours or more. 

2. An individual who regained eligibility and who is 

no longer fulfilling the work requirement is eligible for three 

consecutive countable months one time in any 36-month period, 

starting on the date the individual first notifies the agency 

that he or she is no longer fulfilling the work requirement, 

unless the individual has: 

a. met one or more of the following criteria 

relative to educational advancement: 

 i. in the previous six months, the 

individual enrolled in an accredited postsecondary educational 

institution that grants associate or baccalaureate degrees; 

 ii. in the previous six months, the 

individual enrolled in a program designed to lead to a high 

school diploma; 

 iii. in the previous six months, the 

individual enrolled in a general education development test 

preparation course; 

 iv. in the previous six months, the 

individual earned a high school diploma or a general education 

development certificate; 

b. satisfactorily participated in LaJET (a SNAP 

employment and training program) in the previous six months; or 

c. otherwise been exempted from work 

registration requirements. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, P.L. 110-246, and Act 622 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 

41:533 (March 2015), repealed LR 41: 

 

 Suzy Sonnier 

 Secretary 
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