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Mandated  
Reporters of 
Child Abuse 
and Neglect 

Mandated Reporters may make reports of non-emer-
gent child abuse and/or neglect online through the 
DCFS website. Reports involving child fatalities, drug-ex-
posed newborns, human trafficking, life-threatening 
injuries, sexual abuse, and/or when a child is in imme-
diate risk of serious harm should NOT be made through 
the online portal, but called in to the Hotline.

Louisiana Children’s Code Art. 603 defines “mandatory 
reporter.” They are any of the following individuals:
• Health Practitioner
• Mental Health/Social Service Practitioner
• Member of the Clergy
• Teaching or Child Care Provider
• Police Officers or Law Enforcement Officials
• Commercial Film & Photographic Print Processor
• Mediators
• Parenting Coordinators
• Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)
• Organizational or Youth Activity Provider
• Coaches
• Foster Parents
• Group Home Staff Members
• DCFS and Office of Juvenile Justice employees with

supervisory or disciplinary authority over children
• Probation Officers

Depending on who 
perpetrated the 
alleged abuse/ 
neglect, a report 
must be submitted to 
either Law Enforce-
ment or DCFS, and 
in some situations to 
both agencies.

Call toll-free 1-855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437) to speak 
with a trained specialist 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; 
OR for reports of alleged abuse/neglect that do not 
require immediate assistance, submit a report online 
through the DCFS Mandatory Reporter Portal found at 
https://mr.dcfs.la.gov/c/MR_PortalApp.app; OR make a 
report from any DCFS Child Welfare office.

Per Louisiana law, reports made orally must be followed 
by a written report to DCFS within five days. This may 
occur by entering a follow-up report online through the  
Mandatory Reporter Portal or by mailing a CPI-2 form to 
the DCFS Centralized Intake Office, P.O. Box 3318, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821. The online portal and the CPI-2 form 
are available on our website, dcfs.la.gov.  

Who are Mandated Reporters?

How to Report Suspected 
Abuse/Neglect to DCFS

La. R.S. 14:403 mandates any person who is 18 years of 
age or older who witnesses the sexual abuse of a child 
to report the abuse to law enforcement or the Depart-
ment of Children and Family Services as required by 
Children’s Code Article 610. 

La. R.S. 14:131.1 mandates any person having knowl-
edge of the commission of any homicide, rape, or sexual 
abuse of a child to report such information to a law en-
forcement agency or district attorney, except when the 
person having such knowledge is bound by any privilege 
of confidentiality recognized by law. 

Related Requirements for  
Reporting to Law Enforcement

To report suspected child 
abuse or neglect to DCFS, 

call toll-free  
1-855-4LA-KIDS
(855-452-5437)

to speak with a trained  
specialist 24 hours a day, 

7 days a week. 

Who you are, 
and what you 
need to know

To learn more about reporting 
child abuse or neglect:

To learn more about being a 
mandatory reporter:

http://dcfs.la/report

http://dcfs.la/reporters

https://www.dcfs.louisiana.gov/
https://dcfs.louisiana.gov/


The Louisiana Children's Code (Article 610) specifies 
that mandated reporters shall make reports immediate-
ly upon learning of incidents of child abuse or neglect. 

Contact DCFS when you believe a child may have been 
abused or neglected by an individual that the agency is 
authorized to assess and/or investigate. 

Contact your local or state law enforcement agency 
when you have reason to believe the perpetrator is: 
• a teacher, instructor, administrator, staff person, 

school bus driver, teacher aide, paraprofessional, food 
service worker, or employee of any public or private 
elementary, secondary, vocational-technical training, 
special, or postsecondary school, city, parish, or other 
local public school board, if the abuse or neglect is 
perpetrated on a student 

The Louisiana Children’s Code provides the following 
definitions of abuse and neglect by a parent or caretak-
er: 

“Abuse” is any one of the following acts that seriously 
endanger the physical, mental, or emotional health and 
safety of the child:
• The infliction, attempted infliction, or, as a result of 

inadequate supervision, the allowance of the inflic-
tion or attempted infliction of physical or mental 
injury upon the child by a parent or any other person. 

• The exploitation or overwork of a child by a parent or 
any other person, including but not limited to com-
mercial sexual exploitation of the child. 

• The involvement of the child in any sexual act with a 
parent or any other person, or the aiding or toleration 
by the parent, caretaker, or any other person of the 
child’s involvement in any of the following: 
• Any sexual act with any other person. 
• Pornographic displays. 
• Any sexual activity constituting a crime under the 

laws of this state. 
• A coerced abortion conducted upon a child
• Female genital mutilation as defined by R.S. 

14:43.4. 

“Neglect” is the refusal or unreasonable failure of a 
parent or caretaker to supply the child with necessary 
food, clothing, shelter, care, treatment, or counseling for 
any injury, illness, or condition of the child, because of 
which the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health 
and safety is substantially threatened or impaired. Ne-
glect includes prenatal neglect. 

Consistent with Article 606(B), the inability  
of a parent or caretaker to provide for a child due to 
inadequate financial resources shall not, for that rea-
son alone, be considered neglect. Whenever, in lieu of 
medical care, a child is being provided treatment in ac-
cordance with the tenets of a well-recognized religious 
method of healing that has a reasonable, proven record 

Any person who is required to report the abuse or 
neglect of a child and knowingly and willfully fails to do 
so shall be fined not more than $500, imprisoned for 
not more than six months, or both. If the abuse is sexual 
or results in serious bodily injury, neurological impair-
ment, or death of the child, a mandated reporter who 
knowingly and willfully fails to report it shall be fined 
not more than $3,000, imprisoned, with or without hard 
labor, for not more than three years, or both. 

Any person who has knowledge of the commission of 
any homicide, rape, or sexual abuse of child and fails 
to report or disclose it to a law enforcement agency or 
district attorney, unless bound by privilege of confiden-
tiality recognized by law, shall be fined not more than 
$500, or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not 
more than one year or both. 

Any person 18 or older who witnesses the sexual abuse 
of a child and knowingly and willfully fails to report to 
law enforcement or DCFS, as required by Children’s 
Code Article 610, shall be fined not more than $10,000, 
imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more 
than five years or both. 

You may be requested to testify regarding any incident 
of which you have direct knowledge if the case becomes 
the subject of legal or judicial action. 

State law protects the identity of all mandated report-
ers, and you are given immunity from legal liability as a 
result of reports you make in good faith.

What is Abuse and Neglect?

When to Report Abuse/Neglect

Who Does DCFS Investigate?
1. A "caretaker", defined as any person legally obligated 

to provide or secure adequate care for a child, includ-
ing a parent, tutor, guardian, legal custodian, foster 
parent, an operator or employee of a residential or 
treatment facility licensed by DCFS or the Louisiana 
Department of Health; or other person providing a 
residence for the child. 

2. A person who maintains an interpersonal dating rela-
tionship with a parent or caretaker. 

3. A person living in the same residence as a parent, 
caretaker, or child. 

4. An employee or operator of an early learning center 
or registered family child day care home. 

5. An indeterminable individual when reported by a 
mandatory reporter, but the reporter suspects that 
the abuse occurred at a child’s residence.

DCFS’ Role When Child-on-Child 
Sexual Abuse Occurs

DCFS conducts investigations involving child-on-child 
sexual abuse when the caretaker is allegedly culpable. 
When child-on-child sexual abuse occurs in the home, 
without allegations of caretaker responsibility, a family 
assessment is conducted. 

When Law Enforcement refers incidents to DCFS of 
child-on-child sexual abuse that occurred in a school 
setting, DCFS will conduct family assessments with the 
children and families involved. 

What are Possible Outcomes for 
Mandated Reporters?

ANY INDIVIDUAL with knowledge of  
a homicide, rape, or child sexual abuse  

is required by law to report this  
information to Law Enforcement. 

of success, the child shall not, for that reason alone, be 
considered to be neglected or maltreated. However, 
nothing herein shall prohibit a court from ordering med-
ical services for the child when there is substantial risk 
of harm to the child’s health or welfare. 

“Prenatal neglect” means exposure to chronic or severe 
use of alcohol or the unlawful use of any controlled 
dangerous substance, as defined by R.S. 40:961 et seq., 
or in a manner not lawfully prescribed, which results in 
symptoms of withdrawal in the newborn or the pres-
ence of a controlled substance or a metabolic thereof 
in his body, blood, urine, or meconium that is not the 
result of medical treatment, 
or observable and harmful 
effects in his physical ap-
pearance or functioning.

A Physician Notification is 
required if a newborn exhib-
its symptoms of withdrawal 
or other observable and 
harmful effects in his ap-
pearance or functioning that 
a physician believes are due 
to the use of a controlled 
dangerous substance in a lawfully prescribed manner by 
the mother during pregnancy. Reporting requirements 
can be found on our website at http://www.dcfs.la.gov/
page//substance-exposed-newborns-reporting.  

• another child who does not reside in the same resi-
dence for cases of suspected sexual abuse 

• any other suspected perpetrator not defined above. 

Dual reporting to both DCFS and law enforcement is 
allowed and, in some situations, mandated. 


