# NO PLACE TO TURN? THERE IS A SAFE, LEGAL OPTION FOR YOU AND YOUR BABY



If you are considering abandoning your baby and feel you have no other option, Louisiana's Safe Haven Law offers a safe place for your child. You can bring your newborn (up to 60 days old, or if your baby is in a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) and has not been discharged yet, the 60 days start from the discharge date) to a designated emergency facility or Safe Haven site. These sites are staffed 24/7, every day of the year. If you cannot transport your baby to a site, you may also call 911. By leaving your baby in the care of an employee at a Safe Haven site or designated emergency facility, you can safely relinquish your baby for the purpose of adoption with no questions asked.

If a parent is unable to travel to a Safe Haven facility, he or she may call 911, and a law enforcement officer, fire fighter and/or EMS provider will be dispatched, confirm the Safe Haven relinquishment and transport the newborn to a hospital.

#### **Designated Safe Haven Locations:**

- Any hospital licensed in the state of Louisiana;
- The following medical clinics during normal and customary hours of operation: local or parish public health units, licensed rural health clinics, licensed ambulatory surgical centers, and Federally Qualified Health Centers;
  - Any manned fire station;
  - Any manned law enforcement station;
  - Any Child Advocacy Center accredited by the National Children's Alliance,





during normal and customary hours of operation; and

• Any authorized newborn safety device.

### For more information and support regarding the Safe Haven option call 1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229) or text SafeHaven to 313131.

DCFS Child Abuse/Neglect Hotline can also be reached, if necessary, at 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437)

### WWW.LOUISIANASAFEHAVEN.COM

## **SAFE BABY SITE**





This public document was published electronically at a total cost of \$0. One (1) electronic copy of this public document was published in this printing at a cost of \$0. This document was published by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services, 627 North 4th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, to inform the public about Louisiana's Safe Haven Law. This material was printed in accordance with standards for printing by State Agencies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in accordance with the provisions of Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. Safe Haven poster issued February 2019.