DESIGNATED SAFE HAVEN SITES

* Any hospital licensed in the state of
Louisiana;

» The following medical clinics during normal
and customary hours of operation: local or
parish public health units, licensed rural
health clinics, licensed ambulatory surgical
centers, and Federally Qualified Health
Centers;

* Any manned fire station;

* Any manned law enforcement station;

* Any Child Advocacy Center accredited by the
National Children’s Alliance, during normal
and customary hours of operation; and

* Any authorized newborn safety device.

If a parent is unable to travel to a Safe
Haven site, he or she may call 911, and a law
enforcement officer, firefighter and/or EMS
provider will be dispatched, confirm the Safe
Haven relinquishment and transport the newborn
to a hospital.

Safe Haven provides a safe, legal,
last resort to abandonment.

For more information and support
regarding the Safe Haven option, call
1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229),
text SAFEHAVEN to 313131 or visit
www.LouisianaSafeHaven.com.
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NO PLACE
TO TURN?

LOUISIANA’S SAFE HAVEN LAW

It’s a safe, legal and anonymous last resort
to abandonment for you and your newborn.

Choose a Safe Haven.

SAFE BABY SITE

LOUISIANASAFEHAVEN.COM
1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229)
Text SAFEHAVEN to 313131



IT’S SAFE

If you are considering abandoning
your baby and feel you have no other
option, Louisiana’s Safe Haven Law
offers a safe place for your child. You
can bring your newborn (up to 60 days
old, or if your baby is in a neonatal
intensive care unit (NICU) and has not
been discharged yet, the 60 days start
from the discharge date) to a
designated emergency facility or Safe
Haven site. These sites are staffed
24/7, every day of the year. If you
cannot transport your baby to a site,
you may also call 911. By leaving your
baby in the care of an employee at a
Safe Haven site or designated
emergency facility, you can safely
relinquish your baby for the purpose of
adoption with no questions asked.

Parents are encouraged to use
a planned, permanent adoption
through an adoption agency that
accounts for medical and genetic
history. Safe Haven relinquishments do,
however, provide an alternative to
abandonment.

The Safe Haven Hotline can provide infor-
mation and support regarding this process.

IT’S LEGAL

Employees at designated Safe Haven sites
are trained to keep a newborn safe and the
situation confidential.

As long as the parent leaves their baby with
an employee and the baby has not been
abused or neglected, the parent can simply
walk away knowing their baby will be safe.

Leaving a baby unattended, on a doorstep
or in a bathroom, for instance, is illegal and
will not meet the criteria of the Safe Haven
Law.

IT'S ANONYMOUS

Parents do not have to give their name or
any other information. Parents can call
1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229) or text
SAFEHAVEN to 313131 to learn about their
parental rights or anonymously give medical
information about their baby to be used for
adoption purposes.

DCFS Child Abuse/Neglect Hotline can also be reached, if
necessary, at 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437).

HOW IT WORKS

1. Go to the nearest Safe Haven facility or
call 911. A listing of all sites can be found at
www.LouisianaSafeHaven.com.

Give the baby to an employee at the facility.
If there is no employee present at the site,
the parent can contact 911. Parents should
state that they want to use the Safe Haven
Law.

If a parent is unable to travel to a Safe
Haven facility, he or she may call 911,

and a law enforcement officer, firefighter
and/or EMS provider will be dispatched,
confirm the Safe Haven relinquishment and
transport the newborn to a hospital.

. An employee of the facility or the
dispatched emergency responder will offer
the parent a card with a toll-free number
to call 1-888-510-BABY(1-888-510-2229)
or text SAFEHAVEN to 313131 to give
medical information about the baby or learn
about parental rights.

WHAT HAPPENS TO THE BABY?

The baby will be brought to the nearest medical
facility for a health assessment and to receive
any necessary medical care. The Department of
Children and Family Services (DCFS) will find
a family to care for the baby. DCFS will begin
proceedings to obtain custody of the child to
achieve safety and permanency.

WHAT HAPPENS TO THE PARENT?

As long as the baby has not been abused or
neglected, the parent will be protected by the
Safe Haven Law and will not be considered
guilty of a criminal act of neglect, abandonment
or child cruelty.

WHAT IF THE PARENT CHANGES
HIS/HER MIND?

The parent can seek to reclaim parental rights
within 30 days by contacting their local DCFS
office.




