
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 

Residential Home 
(LAC 67:V.Chapter 71) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedures Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children and 

Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, Subpart 8, 

Chapter 71 Child Residential Care, Class A. 

Pursuant to Section 2 of Act 502 of the 2016 Regular 

Legislative Session, the department shall adopt rules in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act effective 

August 1, 2016. The proposed rule allows the department to 

revise the child residential licensing standards to incorporate 

standards to protect the safety and well-being of children 

residing in residential homes with their parents and to protect 

the health, safety, and well-being of the children and residents 

of the state who are in out-of-home care on a regular or 

consistent basis. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8. Residential Licensing 

Chapter 71. Child Residential Care, Class A 

§7101. Purpose

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the 

health, safety, and well-being of the children and residents of 

the state who are in out-of-home care on a regular or consistent 

basis. Toward that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 

46 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 to establish 

statewide minimum standards for the safety and well-being of 

children and residents, to ensure maintenance of these 
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standards, and to regulate conditions in these facilities 

through a program of licensing. It shall be the policy of the 

state to ensure protection of all individuals under care by 

specialized providers in child care facilities and to encourage 

and assist in the improvement of programs. It is the further 

intent of the legislature that the freedom of religion of all 

citizens shall be inviolate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:804 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7103. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 

1. The Sstate of Louisiana, Department of Children 

and Family Social Services, is charged with the responsibility 

of developing and publishing standards for the licensing 

of residential homes. child residential facilities (CRF). 

a. The licensing authority of the Department 

of Children and Family Social Services is established by R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. -1425 and R.S. 46:51 which mandate the licensing 

of all residential homes. resident care facilities and resident 

placing agencies, including CRF). A CRF is defined as any place, 

facility or home operated by any institution, society, agency, 

corporation, person or persons or any other group to provide 

full-time care (24 hour residential care) for four or more 

children under the age of 18 years who are not related to the 

operators, and whose parents or guardians are not residents of 

the same facility, with or without transfer of custody. A 

residential home is any place, facility, or home operated by any 

institution, society, agency, corporation, person or persons, or 
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any other group to provide full-time care, 24 hours per day, for 

more than four children, who may remain at the facility in 

accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1, who are not related to the 

operators and, except as provided in this Subparagraph, whose 

parents or guardians are not residents of the same facility, 

with or without transfer of custody. However, a child of a 

person who is a resident of a residential home may reside with 

that parent at the same facility. The age requirement may be 

exceeded as stipulated in R.S. 46:1403.1 which states that, 

"...notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, 

including but not limited to R.S. 46:1403(A)(1), 

a person child housed at a residential home may stay at such 

home for a period not to exceed six months beyond his eighteenth 

birthday to complete any educational course that he began at 

such facility, including but not limited to a general education 

development (GED) course, and any other program offered by the 

residential home". In addition, the R.S. 46:1403.1(B) further 

stipulates that, “Notwithstanding Subsection A of this Section 

and any other provision of law to the contrary, including but 

not limited to R.S. 46:1403(1), a child housed at a residential 

home that does not receive Title IV-E funding pursuant to 42 USC 

670 et seq., may remain at such home until his twenty-first 

birthday to complete any educational course that he began at 

such facility, including but not limited to a General Education 

Development course, and any other program offered by the 

residential home.” 

B. Penalties. As mandated by R.S. 46:1421, whoever 

operates as a specialized provider any child care facility or 

child-placing agency as defined in R.S. 46:1403, including any 

child residential facility, without a valid license issued by 

the department shall be fined not less than $1,000 for each day 

of such offense. 
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C. Waiver Request 

1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may waive compliance with a standard, as long as the 

health, safety, and well-being of the staff and/or the health, 

safety, rights, or well-being of residents or children of 

residents are is not imperiled. Standards shall be waived only 

when the secretary determines, upon clear and convincing 

evidence, that the economic impact is sufficient to make 

compliance impractical. for the provider despite diligent 

efforts, and when alternative means have been adopted to insure 

that the intent of the regulation has been carried out. 

2. Application for a waiver shall be made in writing 

and shall include: 

a. a statement of the provisions for which a 

waiver is being requested; and 

b. an explanation of the reasons why the 

provisions cannot be met and why a waiver is being requested. 

3. The request for a waiver will be answered in 

writing and approvals will be maintained on file by the 

requesting provider and the department. The department shall 

document the reasons for granting the waiver. A waiver shall be 

granted for a period of one year or as specified by the 

secretary and will not be renewed if the basis for it no longer 

exists. If the provider has been granted a waiver by the 

department, the waiver will be identified on the survey report 

of any subsequent annual survey report. A waiver is issued at 

the discretion of the secretary and continues in effect at her 

pleasure. It may be revoked by the secretary at any time, either 

upon violation of any condition attached to it at issuance, upon 

failure of any of the statutory prerequisites to issuance of a 

waiver (i.e., the cost of compliance is no longer so great as to 

be impractical or the health or safety of any staff or any child 
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of a resident or resident is imperiled), or upon her 

determination that continuance of a waiver is no longer in the 

best interest of the department.   

D. Variance Request 

1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may grant an exception to the standards temporarily 

for the purposes of allowing emergency admittance of specific 

residents as long as the health, safety, and well-being of the 

staff and/or the health, safety, rights, and well-being 

residents is not imperiled. This variance shall not be granted 

if it would result in a substantial change to the program. 

2. A request for a variance shall be made in writing 

and shall include a statement of the provisions for which the 

variance is being requested. 

3. The request for a variance will be answered in 

writing and specify the period of time for which the variance is 

being granted. A variance may be granted for a length of time 

not to exceed 90 days, and may be renewed one time, for good 

cause shown, for an additional 90 day period not to exceed 180 

days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:805 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 39:67 (January 

2013), amended by the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7105. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter: 
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Abuseany one of the following acts which seriously 

endangers the physical, mental, or emotional health of the 

resident or child of a resident: 

a. the infliction, attempted infliction, or, as 

a result of inadequate supervision, the allowance of the 

infliction or attempted infliction of physical or mental injury 

upon the resident or child of a resident by a parent or any 

other person; 

b. the exploitation or overwork of a resident 

or child of a resident by a parent or any other person; and 

c. the involvement of the resident or child of 

a resident in any sexual act with a parent or any other person, 

or the aiding or toleration by the parent or the caretaker of 

the resident's or child of a resident’s sexual involvement with 

any other person or of the resident's or child of a resident’s 

involvement in pornographic displays or any other involvement of 

a resident or child of a resident in sexual activity 

constituting a crime under the laws of this state. 

Affiliate 

a. with respect to a partnership, each partner 

thereof; 

b. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 

director and stockholder thereof; 

c. with respect to a natural person, that 

person and any individual related by blood, marriage, or 

adoption within the third degree of kinship to that person; any 

partnership, together with any or all its partners, in which 

that person is a partner; and any corporation in which that 

person an officer, director or stockholder, or holds, directly 

or indirectly, a controlling interest; 

d. with respect to any of the above, any 

mandatory, agent, or representative or any other person, natural 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



or juridical acting at the direction of or on behalf of the 

licensee or applicant; or 

e. director of any such. 

Age or Developmentally Appropriate Activities or 

Itemsactivities or items that are generally accepted as 

suitable for children an individual of the same chronological 

age or level of maturity or that are determined to be 

developmentally appropriate for a child an individual, based on 

the development of cognitive, emotional, physical, and 

behavioral capacities that are typical for an age or age group; 

and in the case of a specific child individual, activities or 

items that are suitable for the child individual based on the 

developmental stages attained by the child individual with 

respect to the cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral 

capacities of the child individual. 

Associated Persona provider's owner, officers, board 

members, volunteers, and/or any other such person who may be 

involved in some capacity with the work of the provider other 

than the provider’s employees. 

Behavior Supportthe entire spectrum of activities 

from proactive and planned use of the environment, routines, and 

structure of the particular setting to less restrictive 

interventions such as positive reinforcement, verbal 

interventions, de-escalation techniques, and therapeutic 

activities that are conducive to each resident's development of 

positive behavior. 

Behavior Support Plana written document that 

addresses the holistic needs of the resident and includes the 

resident’s coping strategies, de-escalation preferences, and 

preferred intervention methods. 
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Childa person who has not reached age eighteen or 

otherwise legally emancipated.under 18 years of age who, prior 

to juvenile proceedings, has not been judicially emancipated 

under Civil Code Article 385 or emancipated by marriage under 

Civil Code Articles 379 through 384. 

Child Residential Facility (CRF)―any place, facility 

or home operated by any institution, society, agency, provider, 

corporation, person or persons or any other group to provide 

full-time care (24 hour residential care) for four or more 

individuals under the age of 18 years, who are not related to 

the operators, and whose parents or guardians are not residents 

of the same facility, with or without transfer of custody. This 

includes community homes, group homes, and residential homes. 

This does not include any program licensed under Titles XIX or 

XX of the Social Security Act by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals. 

Complaintan allegation that any person is violating 

any provisions of these standards or engaging in conduct, either 

by omission or commission, that negatively affects the health, 

safety, rights, or welfare of any resident or child of a 

resident who is residing in a CRF residential home. 

Criminal Background Checkthe requirement of state law 

and federal funding rule for checking criminal records for 

certain offenses prior to employing an individual who will have 

access to a resident in a Child Residential Facility. a review 

of any and all records containing any information collected and 

stored in the criminal record repository of the Federal Bureau 

of Investigation, the state Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections, or any other repository of criminal history 

records, involving a pending arrest or conviction by a criminal 

justice agency, including, but not limited to, child abuse crime 
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information, conviction record information, fingerprint cards, 

correctional induction and release information, identifiable 

descriptions and notations of convictions; provided, however, 

dissemination of such information is not forbidden by order of 

any court of competent jurisdiction or by federal law. 

DALthe Division of Administrative Law. 

Debriefinga process by which information is gathered 

from all involved parties after the use of personal restraints 

or seclusion that includes an evaluation of the crisis incident, 

documentation detailing the events leading up to the incident, 

and ways to avoid such incidents in the future. 

Department (DCFS)Department of Children and Family 

Services, formerly the Department of Social Services. 

Direct Care Workera person counted in the resident or 

child/staff caregiver ratio, whose duties include the direct 

care, supervision, guidance, and protection of a resident or 

child of a resident. This does not include a contract service 

provider who provides a specific type of service to the 

operation for a limited number of hours per week or month or 

works with one particular resident or child of a resident. This 

may include staff such as administrative staff that has the 

required background clearances and appropriate training that may 

serve temporarily. 

Direct Supervisionthe function of observing, 

overseeing, and guiding a resident or child of a resident and/or 

group of residents or children of residents. This includes 

awareness of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each 

individual and being near enough to intervene if needed. It 

requires physical presence, accountability for their care, 

knowledge of activity requirements, and knowledge of the 

individual’s abilities and needs. 
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Disciplinethe ongoing positive process of helping 

children of residents or residents develop inner control so that 

they can manage their own behavior in an appropriate and 

acceptable manner by using corrective action to change the 

inappropriate behavior. 

Disqualification Periodthe prescriptive period during 

which the department shall not accept process an application 

from a provider. Any unlicensed operation during the 

disqualification period shall interrupt running of prescription 

until the department has verified that the unlicensed operation 

has ceased. 

Documentationwritten evidence or proof, signed and 

dated by the parties involved (director, parents residents, 

staff, etc.), and available for review. 

Effective Dateof a revocation, denial, or non-renewal 

of a license shall be the last day for applying to appeal the 

action, if the action is not appealed. 

Employeeall full or part-time paid or unpaid staff 

who perform services for the residential home and have direct or 

indirect contact with children of residents or residents at the 

facility. Facility staff includes the director and any other 

employees of the facility including, but not limited to the 

cook, housekeeper, driver, custodian, secretary, and bookkeeper.  

Facilityany place, program, institution, or agency 

operating a child care facility or child-placing agency as 

defined in R.S. 46:1403, including those owned or operated by 

governmental, private, or religious organization or 

entity. residential home as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

Human Service Fieldthe field of employment similar or 

related to social services such as social work, psychology, 

sociology, special education, rehabilitation counseling, child 
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development, guidance and counseling, divinity, education, 

juvenile justice and/or corrections through which a person gains 

experience in providing services to the public and/or private 

clients that serves to meet the years of experience required for 

a job as specified on the job description for that position. 

Independent Contractorany person who renders 

professional, therapeutic, or enrichment services to children of 

residents or residents such as educational consulting, athletic, 

or artistic services within a facility, whose services are not 

integral to either the operation of the facility or to the care 

and supervision of residents or children of residents. 

Independent contractors may include but are not limited to dance 

instructors, gymnastic or sports instructors, computer 

instructors, speech therapists, licensed health care 

professionals, state-certified teachers employed through a local 

school board, art instructors, and other outside contractors. A 

person shall not be deemed an independent contractor if he is a 

staff person of the facility. 

Individual Ownera natural person who directly owns a 

facility without setting up or registering a corporation, LLC, 

partnership, church, university or governmental entity. The 

spouse of a married owner is also an owner unless the business 

is the separate property of the licensee acquired before his/her 

marriage, acquired through authentic act of sale from spouse of 

his/her undivided interest; or acquired via a judicial 

termination of the community of acquets and gains. 

Infanta child that has not yet reached his first 

birthday. 

Injury of Unknown Originan injury where the source of 

the injury was not observed by any person or the source of the 

injury could not be explained by the resident or child of a 
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resident and the injury is suspicious because of the extent of 

the injury or the location of the injury (e.g., the injury is 

located in an area not generally vulnerable to trauma). 

Interdictiona legal restraint upon a person incapable 

of managing his estate, because of mental incapacity, from 

signing any deed or doing any act to his own prejudice, without 

the consent of his curator or interdictor. 

Juridical entitycorporation, partnership, limited-

liability company, church, university, or governmental entity. 

Legal Guardianthe caretaker in a legal guardianship 

relationship. This could be the parent or any child placing 

agency representative. person who has the legal authority and 

the corresponding duty to care for the personal and property 

interest of another person. 

Legal Guardianshipthe duty and authority to make 

important decisions in matters having a permanent effect on the 

life and development of the resident or child of a resident and 

the responsibility for the resident’s or child of a resident's 

general welfare until he reaches the age of majority, subject to 

any child rights possessed by the resident's parents. It shall 

include the rights and responsibilities of legal custody. 

License 

a. any license issued by the department to 

operate a facility any child care facility or child-placing 

agency as defined in R.S. 46:1403.; or  

b. any license issued by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals to operate any facility providing services 

under Title XIX or XX of the Social Security Act; or  

c. any license issued by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals (or formerly issued by the Department of 

Social Services) to operate any adult residential care facility. 
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Licensing SectionDCFS, Division of Programs, 

Licensing Section. 

Lifebooka record of a resident’s or child of a 

resident’s life which chronicles accomplishments, milestones, 

and important people in their lives through pictures, words, 

artwork, and memorabilia. 

Mandated Reporterprofessionals who may work with 

children of residents or residents in the course of their 

professional duties and who consequently are required to report 

all suspected cases of child abuse and neglect. This includes 

any person who provides training and supervision of a child of a 

resident or resident, such as a public or private school 

teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional aide, school principal, 

school staff member, social worker, probation officer, foster 

home parent, group home or other child care institution staff 

member, personnel of residential homes facilities, a licensed or 

unlicensed day care provider, any individual who provides such 

services to a child of a resident or resident, or any other 

person made a mandatory reporter under Article 603 of the 

Children’s Code or other applicable law.  

Medicationall drugs administered internally and/or 

externally, whether over-the-counter or prescribed. 

Neglectthe refusal or unreasonable failure of a 

parent or caretaker to supply the child of a resident or 

resident with necessary food, clothing, shelter, care, 

treatment, or counseling for any injury, illness, or condition 

of the child an individual under the age of 18, as a result of 

which the child's individual’s physical, mental, or emotional 

health and safety is substantially threatened or impaired. 

Operatorowner of a residential home. 
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Owner or Operatorthe individual or juridical entity 

who exercises ownership or control over a child residential home 

care facility, whether such ownership/control is direct or 

indirect. 

Ownershipthe right that confers on a person direct, 

immediate, and exclusive authority over a thing. The owner of a 

thing may use, enjoy, and dispose of it within the limits and 

under the conditions established by law. Refers to direct or 

indirect ownership. 

a. Direct Ownershipwhen a natural person is 

the immediate owner of a child residential home care facility, 

i.e., exercising control personally rather than through a 

juridical personentity. 

b. Indirect Ownershipwhen the immediate owner 

is a juridical entity. 

Personal Restrainta type of emergency behavior 

intervention that uses the application of physical force without 

the use of any device to restrict the free movement of all or 

part of a child's resident’s body in order to control physical 

activity. Personal restraint includes escorting, which is when 

a caregiver staff uses physical force to move or direct 

a child resident who physically resists moving with 

the caregiver staff to another location.  

Program Directorthe person with authority and 

responsibility for the on-site, daily implementation, and 

supervision of the overall facility's operation. 

Providerany facility, organization, agency, 

institution, program, or person licensed by the department to 

provide services to children of residents or residents which 

includes all owners of a facility, including the program 

director of such facility. 
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Providerall owners or operators of a facility, 

including the director of such facility. If the owner is a 

corporate entity the owners are the officers, directors, and 

shareholders of the facility. 

Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standardstandard that a 

caregiver shall use when determining whether to allow a resident 

or child of a resident in foster care under the responsibility 

of the State to participate in extracurricular, enrichment, 

cultural, and social activities. The standard is characterized 

by careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the 

health, safety, and best interests of a resident or child of a 

resident while at the same time encouraging the emotional and 

developmental growth of the resident or child of a resident. 

Reasonable and Prudent Parent Trainingtraining that 

includes knowledge and skills relating to the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard for the participation of the resident or 

child of a resident in age or developmentally appropriate 

activities. This includes knowledge and skills relating to the 

developmental stages of the cognitive, emotional, physical, and 

behavioral capacities of a resident or child of a resident and 

knowledge and skills relating to applying the standard to 

decisions such as whether to allow the resident or child of a 

resident to engage in social, extracurricular, enrichment, 

cultural, and social activities. Activities include sports, 

field trips, and overnight activities lasting one or more days. 

Also included is knowledge and skills in decisions involving the 

signing of permission slips and arranging of transportation for 

the resident or child of a resident to and from extracurricular, 

enrichment, and social activities. 

Reasonable Suspicionsuspicion based on specific and 

articulable facts which indicate that an owner, operator, or 
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current or potential employee or volunteer has been investigated 

and determined to be the perpetrator of abuse or neglect against 

a minor resulting in a justified and/or valid finding 

currently recorded on the state central registry. 

Related or Relativea natural or adopted child or 

grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal custody of 

the caregiver. 

Residentan individual who receives full time care at 

a residential home and whose parents do not live in the same 

facility nor is the individual related to the owner of the 

facility. 

Residential homeany place, facility, or home operated 

by any institution, society, agency, corporation, person or 

persons, or any other group to provide full-time care, 24 hours 

per day, for more than four children, who may remain at the 

facility in accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1, who are not related 

to the operators and, except as provided in this Paragraph, 

whose parents or guardians are not residents of the same 

facility, with or without transfer of custody. However, a child 

of a person who is a resident of a residential home may reside 

with that parent at the same facility. 

Rest timeperiod between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. when 

residents are either asleep or are lying down in their own beds 

with the intent of going to sleep. Residents may be reading, 

listening to music, or other individual quiet activities that 

promote said sleep time. 

Safety Interventionsan immediate time limited plan to 

control the factor(s) that may result in an immediate or 

impending serious injury/harm to a resident or child(ren) of the 

resident. 
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Seclusionthe placement of an individual against his 

or her will in a room where they are not allowed to voluntarily 

leave. involuntary confinement of a resident away from other 

residents, due to imminent risk of harm to self or others, in a 

room which the resident is physically prevented from leaving. 

Service Plana written plan of action for 

residents usually developed between the family, resident, social 

worker, and other service providers, that identifies needs, sets 

goals, and describes strategies and timelines for achieving 

goals. 

Staffall full or part-time paid or unpaid staff who 

perform services for the child residential home facility and 

have direct or indirect contact with children of residents or 

residents at the facility. Facility staff includes the director 

and any other employees of the facility including, but not 

limited to the cook, housekeeper, driver, custodian, secretary, 

and bookkeeper. excluding extra-curricular personnel.  

State Central Registryrepository that identifies any 

individual reported to have a justified (valid) finding of abuse 

or neglect of a child or children an individual under the age of 

18 by DCFS. 

Substantial Bodily Harmphysical injury serious enough 

that a prudent person would conclude that the injury required 

professional medical attention. It does not include minor 

bruising, the risk of minor bruising, or similar forms of minor 

bodily harm that will resolve healthily without professional 

medical attention.  

Supervisionthe function of observing, overseeing, and 

guiding a resident or child of a resident and/or group of 

residents or children of residents. This includes awareness of 

and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each individual 
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and being near enough to intervene if needed. It requires 

accountability for their care, knowledge of activity 

requirements, and knowledge of the individual’s abilities and 

needs. 

Time-Outa strategy used to teach individuals to calm 

themselves, during which a child of a resident or resident is 

not given the opportunity to receive positive reinforcement 

and/or participate in the current routine or activity until 

he/she is less agitated.  

Type IV licenselicense held by any public or 

privately owned residential home. 

Unlicensed Operationoperation of a residential 

home, any child residential facility, at any location, without a 

valid, current license issued by the department for that 

location. 

Variance―an exception granted temporarily for the 

purpose of emergency admittance of specific residents. 

Volunteeran individual who works at the facility and 

whose work is uncompensated. This may include students, interns, 

tutors, counselors, and other non-staff individuals who may or 

may not work directly with the residents or children of 

residents. Persons who visit the facility solely for providing 

recreational activities for the facility are not considered as 

volunteers. 

Waiveran exemption granted by the secretary of the 

department, or designee, from compliance with a standard that 

will not place the resident, child of a resident, or staff 

member at risk. 

Youtha person not less than 16 years of age nor older 

than 21 years of age in accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1(B). 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:805 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:976 (April 2012), 

LR 42:220 (February 2016), amended by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7107. Licensing Requirements 

A. General Provisions 

1. New buildings shall be designed to appear 

physically harmonious with the neighborhood in which they are 

located considering such issues as scale, appearance, density, 

and population. A CRF residential home shall not occupy any 

portion of a building licensed by another agency. A residential 

home shall be a self-contained facility. The mixing of differing 

populations is prohibited. 

2. Before beginning operation, it is mandatory to 

obtain a license from the department. 

3. All new construction or renovation of a facility 

requires approval from agencies listed 

in §7107.B.1 Subparagraphs B.2.b-f of this Section. and must 

comply with the Louisiana Uniform Construction Code. 

4. In addition, all facilities shall comply with the 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 USC 

§12101 et seq. (ADA). 

5. Any owner/owners of a child residential shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

check, Documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint based 

criminal background check from Louisiana State Police shall be 

submitted for all owners of a residential home, as required by 

R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A copy of the criminal 
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background check shall be submitted for each owner of a facility 

with an initial application, a change of ownership (CHOW) 

application, a change of location (CHOL) application, and/or an 

application for renewal for a child residential license. No 

person with a criminal conviction for, or a plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to, any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, or 

any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 

indirectly own, operate, or participate in the governance of 

a child residential home. In addition, an owner, or director 

shall not have a conviction of, or plea of guilty or nolo 

contender to any crime in which an act of fraud or intent to 

defraud is an element of the offense. Effective August 1, 2016, 

criminal background checks (CBC) shall be dated no earlier than 

30 days of the individual being present in the facility or 

having access to the residents or children of residents. If an 

individual has previously obtained a certified copy of their 

criminal background check from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 

Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 

Police, such certified copy shall be acceptable as meeting the 

CBC requirements. If an owner obtains a certified copy of their 

criminal background check from the Louisiana State Police, this 

criminal background check shall be accepted for a period of one 

year from the date of issuance of the certified copy. This 

certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior to 

the one-year expiration of the certified criminal background 

check, a new fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal background 

check shall be obtained from Louisiana State Police. If the 

clearance is not obtained prior to the one-year expiration of 

the certified criminal background check, the owner is no longer 

allowed on the premises until a clearance is received. The 

following is a listing of individuals by organizational type who 
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are required to submit documentation of a satisfactory criminal 

background clearance: 

a. individual ownershipindividual and spouse; 

b. partnershipall limited or general partners 

and managers as verified on the Secretary of State’s website; 

c. church-owned, governmental entity, or 

university ownedany clergy and/or board member that is present 

in the home; facility during the hours of operation or when 

children are present; 

d.i. corporationany individual who has 25 

percent or greater share in the business or any individual with 

less than a 25 percent share in the business and performs one or 

more of the following functions:  

(a)i. has unsupervised access to the 

residents or children of residents in the home children in care 

at the facility;  

(b)ii. is present in 

the home facility during hours of operation;  

(c)iii. makes decisions regarding the day-

to-day operations of the home; facility 

(d)iv. hires and/or fires child care 

staff including the program director; 

(e)v. oversees child residential staff 

and/or conducts personnel evaluations of the child care staff; 

and/or 

(f)vi. writes the facility's policies and 

procedures; 

iie. corporationif an owner has less than a 25 

percent share in the business and does not perform one or more 

of the functions listed above in §7107.A.5.d. i-vi., a signed, 

notarized attestation form is acceptable required in lieu of a 
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criminal background clearance. This attestation form is a signed 

statement from each owner acknowledging that he/she has less 

than a 25 percent share in the business and that he/she does not 

perform one or more of the aforementioned functions as an owner. 

6. Documentation of a state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR-1) shall be submitted for all owners as 

required by R.S. 46:1414.1. SCR-1 forms shall be dated no 

earlier than 30 days before the application has been received by 

the Licensing Section. This information shall be reported prior 

to the owner being on the premises of the residential home, 

shall be updated annually at the time of licensure renewal, at 

any time upon the request of DCFS, and within 24 hours or no 

longer than the next business day, whichever is shorter, of any 

owner receiving notice of a justified (valid) finding of child 

abuse and/or neglect against them. Any current owner of a 

residential home is prohibited from owning, operating, 

participating in the governance of or working in a residential 

home, if they have a justified (valid) finding of child abuse 

and/or neglect against them. If information is known or received 

by DCFS, that the individual’s name is recorded on the state 

central registry (SCR) as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect of a child/youth/resident, the 

individual shall have a determination by the Risk Evaluation 

Panel or a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 

individual does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents in 

order to continue to operate a residential home.  

a. Within 24 hours or no later than the next 

business day, whichever is shorter, of current owners receiving 

notice of a justified (valid) finding of child abuse and/or 

neglect against them, an updated state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) shall be completed by the owner and 

submitted to Licensing section management staff as required by 
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R.S. 46:1414.1 The owner must request a risk evaluation 

assessment in accordance with LAC 67:I.305 within 10 calendar 

days from completion of the state central registry disclosure 

form or the license shall be revoked. Immediately upon the 

knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been issued by 

DCFS, the owner, at any and all times when he/she is in the 

presence of a child of a resident/youth/resident, shall be 

directly supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the 

residential home. The employee responsible for supervising the 

owner must have on file a completed state central registry 

disclosure form indicating that the employee’s name does not 

appear on the state central registry with a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect. Under no circumstances may the 

owner with the justified finding be left alone and unsupervised 

with a child of a resident/youth/resident pending the 

disposition of the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law determination that the owner does not pose a 

risk to any child of a resident/youth/resident in care. An owner 

supervised by an employee who does not have a satisfactory 

disclosure form on file as provided in this Subsection shall be 

deemed to be alone and unsupervised. 

i. Any owner with a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect on the state central registry 

must submit, together with the SCR 1 required above, a written, 

signed statement to Licensing Section management staff 

acknowledging that they are aware of the supervision 

requirements and understand that under no circumstances are they 

to be left alone and unsupervised with a child of a 

resident/youth/resident and that they shall be directly 

supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the residential home, 

who has completed the required state central registry disclosure 

form and who has indicated on that form that the employee’s name 
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does not appear on the state central registry with a justified 

(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect on the state central 

registry. 

ii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the owner does pose a risk to children/youth/residents and 

the individual does not appeal the determination within the 

required timeframe, the owner may close the business or the 

license shall be revoked. 

iii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the owner poses a risk to children/youth/residents and the 

individual appeals the determination to the Division of 

Administrative Law within the required timeframe, the owner 

shall continue to be under direct supervision when in the 

presence of a child/youth/resident. Supervision must continue 

until receipt of a ruling from the Division of Administrative 

Law that the owner does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 

iv. If the Division of Administrative Law 

(DAL) upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel’s determination that the 

individual poses a risk to children/youth/residents, the owner 

may voluntarily close the business or the license shall be 

revoked.  

b. Prospective owners shall complete, sign, and 

date the state central registry disclosure form and submit the 

disclosure form at the time of application to the DCFS Licensing 

Section. SCR 1 forms shall be dated no earlier than 30 days of 

the application being received by the Licensing Section. If a 

prospective owner discloses that his or her name is currently 

recorded as a perpetrator on the state central registry, the 

application shall be denied unless the owner requests a risk 

evaluation assessment on the state central registry risk 

evaluation request form (SCR 2) within the required timeframe. 
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DCFS will resume the licensure process when the owner provides 

the written determination by the Risk Evaluation Panel or the 

Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 

i. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the prospective owner poses a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual does not appeal the 

determination within the required timeframe, the prospective 

owner shall withdraw the application in writing immediately or 

the application shall be denied.  

ii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the prospective owner poses a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual appeals the 

determination to the Division of Administrative Law within the 

required timeframe, the department shall not proceed with the 

licensure process until a ruling is made by the Division of 

Administrative Law that the owner does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents.  

iii. If the Division of Administrative Law 

upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel determination that the 

individual poses a risk to children/youth/residents, the 

prospective owner shall withdraw the application in writing 

within 10 business days of the mailing of the DAL decision or 

the application shall be denied.  

c. Any information received or knowledge 

acquired that a current or prospective owner, volunteer, 

employee, prospective volunteer, or prospective employee has 

falsified a state central registry disclosure form stating that 

they are not currently recorded as a perpetrator with a 

justified (valid) determination of abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in writing to Licensing Section management staff as 
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soon as possible, but no later than the close of business on the 

next business day. 

d. Any state central registry disclosure form, 

Risk Evaluation Panel finding, and Division of Administrative 

Law ruling that is maintained in a residential home licensing 

file shall be confidential and subject to the confidentiality 

provisions of R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to the investigations of 

abuse and neglect. 

67. Providers and child care staff shall not permit 

an individual convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 

15:541 to have physical access to a child 

residential home facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

78. The owner or program director of a child 

residential home facility shall be required to call and notify 

law enforcement personnel and the Licensing Section management 

staff if they have knowledge that a registered sex offender is 

on the premises of the child residential home facility. The 

verbal report shall be followed by a written report to the 

Licensing Section within 24 hours. 

9. The owner or director of a child residential 

home facility shall be required to call and notify law 

enforcement personnel if they have knowledge that a registered 

sex offender is within 1,000 feet of the residential home child 

day care facility as required by R.S 14:91.1. The verbal report 

shall be followed by a written report to the Licensing Section 

within 24 hours. 

10. Providers with live-in staff may allow children 

of staff members to reside with their parents in the private 

staff quarters of the residential home. 

11. Provider nor staff shall permit a resident, age 

18 years or older, that has been convicted of, pled guilty, or 

nolo contendere to any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1. or to 
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any offense involving a juvenile victim to remain on the 

premises of the residential home. 

B. Initial Licensing Application Process 

1. An initial application for licensing as a CRF 

provider residential home shall be obtained from the department. 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 
P. O. Box 260036 
Baton Rouge, LA  70826 
Phone:  (225) 342-4350 
Fax:  (225) 219-4363 
Web address:  www.DCFS.louisiana.gov 

2. After the residential home’s location has been 

established, a completed initial license application packet for 

an applicant shall be submitted to and approved by the 

department prior to an applicant providing CRF services. The 

completed initial licensing packet shall include:  

a. completed application and non-refundable 

fee; 

b. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval for occupancy; 

c. current Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 

Services approval; 

d. current city fire department approval, (if 

applicable); 

e. city or parish building permit office 

approval, (if applicable); 

f. local zoning approval, (if applicable); 

g. copy of proof of current general liability 

and current property insurance for facility; 

h. copy of current proof of insurance for 

vehicle(s) used to transport residents or children of residents; 

i. organizational chart or equivalent list of 

staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 
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j. verification of experience and educational 

requirements for the program director résumé and proof of 

educational requirement; 

k. verification of experience and educational 

requirements for the service plan manager résumé and proof of 

educational requirement; 

l. list of consultant/contract staff to include 

name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

m. copy of program philosophy and goals plan;  

nm. copy of table of contents of all policy and 

procedure manuals; list of all staff to include staff’s name and 

position; 

o. copy of evacuation plan; list of the names 

and addresses of owners of privately owned agencies; 

p. copy of house rules and regulations; list of 

the names and addresses of its’ members and officers if a 

corporation, partnership, or association;  

q. copy of grievance process; documentation of 

a charter, partnership agreement, constitution, articles of 

association, or bylaws if a corporation, partnership, or 

association; 

rn. a floor sketch or drawing of the premises to 

be licensed; 

so. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure; and 

tp. any owner/owners of a child residential  

facility shall provide documentation of a Louisiana State Police 

fingerprint based satisfactory criminal record check for all 

staff including all owners of the facility as noted in Section 

7107.A.5., as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and 15:587.1. CBC shall 

be dated no earlier than 30 days before the application has been 

received by the Licensing Section;  
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q. documentation of completed state central 

registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including owners 

as noted in Section 7107.A.6(SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier 

than 30 days before the application has been received by the 

Licensing Section) or a determination from the Risk Assessment 

Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting that the 

individual does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

r. current approval from the Department of 

Education, if educational services will be provided on-site for 

residents; 

s. copy of the completed reasonable and prudent 

parent authorized representative form; 

t. three signed reference letters dated within 

three months prior to hire for program director attesting 

affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, and 

suitability to manage the program; and 

u. three signed reference letters dated within 

three months prior to hire for service plan manager attesting 

affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, and 

suitability for the position. 

23. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, 

the applicant will be notified of the missing information and 

will have 10 45 calendar working days to submit the additional 

requested information. If the department does not receive the 

additional requested information within the 10 working 45 

calendar days, the application will be closed and the fee 

forfeited. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 

applicant who is still interested in becoming a CRF residential 

home provider shall submit a new initial licensing packet with a 

new initial licensing fee to restart the initial licensing 

process. 
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4. Once the department has determined the 

application initial licensing packet is complete, the applicant 

will be notified Licensing Section staff will attempt to contact 

the department  applicant to schedule an 

initial inspection survey; however it is the applicant’s 

responsibility to coordinate the initial inspection. If an 

applicant fails to contact the department 

and coordinate schedule the initial survey inspection within 45 

calendar days of the notification, the initial licensing 

application shall be closed and fee forfeited. 

5. After an initial licensing application is closed, 

an applicant who is still interested in becoming 

a CRF residential home provider shall submit a new initial 

licensing packet with a new initial licensing fee to re- restart 

the initial licensing process. 

6. After the completed application and non-

refundable fee have been received by the Licensing Section, 

Licensing Section staff will notify the Office of State Fire 

Marshal, Office of City Fire Department (if applicable), and 

Office of Public Health that an application for licensure has 

been submitted. However, it is the applicant's responsibility to 

request and obtain these inspections and approvals. 

C. Initial Licensing Survey Inspection 

1. Prior to the initial license being issued to 

the CRF residential home provider, an initial licensing 

inspection survey shall be conducted on-site at the 

CRF residential home to assure compliance with all licensing 

standards. The initial licensing survey inspection shall be an 

announced survey inspection. No resident shall be provided 

services by the CRF residential home provider until the initial 

licensing survey inspection has been performed and the 

department has issued an initial license. If the provider is in 
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operation in violation of the law, the licensing inspection 

shall not be conducted. In these instances, the application 

shall be denied and DCFS shall pursue legal remedies. 

2. In the event the initial 

licensing survey inspection finds the CRF residential home 

provider is compliant with all licensing laws and standards, and 

is compliant with all other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 

rules, regulations, and fees, the department may issue a full 

license to the provider. The license shall be valid until the 

expiration date shown on the license, unless the license is 

modified, extended, revoked, suspended, or terminated. 

3. In the event the initial 

licensing survey inspection finds the CRF residential home 

provider is noncompliant with any licensing laws or standards, 

or any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, or 

regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 

safety, or welfare of the participants, the department shall 

license may conduct a follow-up inspection to verify compliance 

with all licensing laws or standards and other required 

statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, or regulations. 

4. The application shall be denied if the department 

is unable to issue a license within 180 calendar days of receipt 

of the completed initial application packet due to provider non-

compliance. In the event the initial licensing survey finds that 

the CRF is noncompliant with any licensing laws or standards, 

statutes, laws, ordinances, or rules but the department, in its 

sole discretion, determines that the noncompliance does not 

present a threat to the health, safety, or welfare of the 

participants, the department may issue an initial license for a 

period not to exceed three months. The provider shall submit a 

corrective action plan to the department. The corrective action 

plan shall include a description of how the deficiency shall be 
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corrected and the date by which corrections shall be completed. 

The department must approve the corrective action plan prior to 

issuing the initial license. If the department determines, prior 

to the expiration date of the initial license, that such 

noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, a license 

will be issued. If the department determines that such 

noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, the 

license will expire and all operations shall cease. The provider 

shall be required to begin the initial licensing process again 

by submitting a new initial license application packet and fee. 

5. When issued, the initial CRF residential home 

provider licenses shall specify the licensed bed 

capacity. Children of residents shall not be counted in the 

facility’s licensed capacity; however the license will note if 

the provider is licensed to provide services to children of 

residents. 

6. The license, as defined herein, must be 

conspicuously displayed at the facility. The most recent annual 

survey and follow-up survey, if any must be made available for 

inspection to any person requesting them.  

7. Once a CRF has been issued a license, the 

department shall conduct licensing and other surveys at 

intervals deemed necessary by the department to determine 

compliance with licensing standards, as well as, other required 

statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees. These 

surveys shall be unannounced. 

8. The department shall remove any child or all or 

children from any facility or agency when it is determined that 

one or more deficiencies exist within the facility that place 

the health and well being of the child or children in imminent 

danger. The child or children shall not be returned to the 
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facility until such time as it is determined that the imminent 

danger has been removed. 

9. Department staff shall be given access to all 

areas of the facility and all relevant files during any 

licensing or other survey. They shall be allowed to interview 

any staff or participant as necessary to conduct the survey. 

10. If an applicant or member of his/her immediate 

family has had a previous license revoked, refused or denied, 

upon reapplication, the applicant shall provide written evidence 

that the reason for such revocation, refusal or denial no longer 

exists. 

D. Fees and Notification of Changes 

1. The applicable licensing fee shall be submitted 

with the initial license application and any change of ownership 

or location. All fees shall be paid by certified check, business 

check or money order only and are nonrefundable. All fees are 

non-refundable and shall be paid by money order, certified 

check, or electronic payment, if available, made payable to DCFS 

- Licensing Section. 

2. License fees are required prior to issuance or 

renewal of a license. Fee schedules (based on licensed capacity) 

are listed below: In accordance with R.S 46:1406(E), there shall 

be a non-refundable fee as prescribed by the department for a 

license or renewed license, payable to the department with the 

initial licensing application, CHOL application, CHOW 

application, and prior to the last day of the anniversary month 

of the license as listed below, based on capacity: 

4 to 6 
Children 
Residents 

7 to 15 
Children 
Residents 

16 or More 
Children 
Residents 

$400 $500 $600 
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 NOTE: Children of residents are not counted in the 

facility’s licensed capacity. 

3. Other license fees include: 

a. a replacement fee of $25 for replacing a 

license when changes are requested, i.e., change in capacity, 

name change, age range, etc. No replacement charge will be 

incurred when the request coincides with the regular renewal of 

a license; 

b. a processing fee of $5 for issuing a 

duplicate license with no changes. 

3. A non-refundable fee of $5 is required to issue a 

duplicate license with no changes. 

4. The provider shall notify the Licensing Section 

on a DCFS approved change of information form prior to making 

changes to residential operations as noted below. For changes 

that require the issuance of a new replacement license, the 

provider shall be required to submit a non-refundable change fee 

of $25 in addition to the change of information form. There is 

no fee charged when the request is noted on the renewal 

application; however, the change shall not be effective until 

the first day of the month following the expiration of the 

current license. 

a. Removal of a service or reduction in 

capacity is effective upon receipt of a completed change of 

information form. 

b. A capacity increase is effective when the 

following are received and approved by the Licensing Section and 

the new space shall not be utilized until approval has been 

granted by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 
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ii. $25 non-refundable change fee; an 

additional fee may be required in accordance with Paragraph D.2 

of this Section based on new capacity; 

iii. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval for new space;  

iv. current Office of Public Health 

approval for new space;  

v. current city fire approval for new 

space (if applicable); and 

vi. measurement of the additional space by 

Licensing Section staff. 

c. Name change is effective when the following 

are received by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 

and 

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee. 

d. Age range change for residents is effective 

when the following are received and approved by the Licensing 

Section:  

i. completed change of information form; 

and  

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee. 

e. Change to add services provided (acceptance 

of children of residents) is effective when the following is 

received and approved by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee; 

iii. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval form noting acceptance of infants or children of 

residents;  

iv. current Office of Public Health 

approval noting acceptance of infants or children of residents;  
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v. inspection by the Licensing Section 

noting compliance with regulations regarding the children of 

residents. 

f. Change in program director is effective when 

the following is received and approved by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form;  

ii. documentation of program director’s 

qualifications as noted in 7111.A.3.a of this Section; and  

iii. three signed letters of reference dated 

within three months prior to hire attesting affirmatively to 

his/her character, qualifications, and suitability to manage the 

program. 

5. If a provider is found to be non-compliant with 

regard to a particular service offered or with a particular age 

group of children of residents/residents, DCFS may require the 

provider to cease providing the service and/or restrict the age 

of the children of residents/residents for which the provider is 

licensed to provide services. 

6. All new construction or renovation of a facility 

requires approval from agencies listed in Paragraph B.2.b-f of 

this Section and the Licensing Section.  

7. A license is not transferable to another person, 

juridical entity, or location. 

E. Renewal of License 

1. The license shall be renewed on an annual basis 

prior to the last day of the anniversary month of the license. 

2. The provider shall submit, at least 60 days prior 

to its license expiration date, a completed renewal application 

form and applicable fee. The following documentation must also 

be included: 

a. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval for occupancy; 
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b. current Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 

Services approval; 

c. current city fire department approval, (if 

applicable); 

d. copy of proof of current general liability 

and current property insurance for facility; 

e. copy of proof of current insurance for 

vehicle(s) used to transport residents and children of 

residents; and 

f. copy of a criminal background clearance or 

attestation forms as referenced in §7107.A.5 for all owners 

and 7111.B.2.a.ii for program directors as required by R.S. 

46:51.2 and 15.587.1.; and 

g. copy of current state central registry 

disclosure forms (SCR 1) for all owners and program directors. 

3. Prior to renewing the CRF facility license, an 

on-site survey inspection shall be conducted 

to assure ensure compliance with all licensing laws and 

standards. If the CRF facility is found to be in compliance with 

the licensing laws and standards, and any other required 

statutes, laws, ordinances, or regulations, the license shall be 

renewed for a 12-month period. 

4. In the event the annual 

licensing survey inspection finds the facility CRF is non-

compliant with any licensing laws or standards, or any other 

required statutes, ordinances or regulations but the department, 

in its sole discretion, determines that the noncompliance does 

not present a threat to the health, safety, or welfare of the 

participants, the provider shall be required to submit a 

corrective action plan to the department for approval. The 

department shall specify the timeline for submitting the 

corrective action plan based on such non-compliance or 
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deficiencies cited but no later than 10 days from the date 

of notification the inspection or receipt of the deficiencies if 

mailed or emailed. The corrective action plan shall include a 

description of how the deficiency shall be corrected, and the 

date by which correction(s) shall be completed, an outline of 

the steps the provider plans to take in order to prevent further 

deficiencies from being cited in these areas, and the plan to 

maintain compliance with the licensing standards. Failure to 

submit an approved corrective action plan timely shall be 

grounds for revocation or non-renewal. 

5. If it is determined that such noncompliance or 

deficiencies have not been corrected prior to the expiration of 

the license, the department may issue an extension of the 

license not to exceed to 60 days. 

6. When it is determined by the department that such 

noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, a 

license will may be issued for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

7. If it is determined that all areas of 

noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected prior to 

the expiration date of the extension, the department may revoke 

the license. 

F. Notification of Changes 

1. The department shall be notified by the provider 

prior to making changes which have an effect upon the license, 

to include but not limited to : change of ownership, program 

director, location, age range of residents served, usage of 

indoor and outdoor spaces. 

2. When a provider changes location, it is 

considered a new operation and a new application and fee for 

licensure shall be submitted 30 days prior to the anticipated 

move. All items listed in Paragraph 7107.B.1 shall be in 

compliance for the new location. An onsite survey is required 
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prior to change of location. In the event of a disaster, which 

requires a provider to evacuate, refer to §7121 Emergency 

Preparedness. 

3. When a provider is initiating a change in 

ownership a written notice shall be submitted to the department. 

Within five working days of the change of ownership, the new 

owner shall submit a completed application, the applicable 

licensing fee and a copy of bill of sale or a lease agreement. 

4. All new construction or renovation of a facility 

requires approval from agencies listed in §7107.B.1 and the 

department.  

5. A license is not transferable to another person 

or location.  

F. Change of Location (CHOL) and Change of Ownership 

(CHOW) 

1. Change of Location (CHOL) 

a. When a provider changes the physical 

location of the residential home, it is considered a new 

operation and a new license is required prior to opening. In 

accordance with R.S. 46:1406, the license at the existing 

location shall not transfer to the new residential home 

location. 

b. After the residential home’s new location 

has been determined, a complete CHOL licensing packet shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section. A complete CHOL licensing 

packet shall include: 

i. completed application and non-

refundable fee; 

ii. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval for occupancy; 

iii. current Office of Public Health, 

Sanitarian Services approval; 
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iv. current city fire department approval 

(if applicable); 

v. city or parish building permit office 

approval (if applicable); 

vi. local zoning approval (if applicable); 

vii. copy of proof of current general 

liability and current property insurance for facility; 

viii. copy of current proof of insurance 

for vehicle(s) used to transport residents or children of 

residents; 

ix. organizational chart or equivalent list 

of staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 

x. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the program director (if 

applicable); 

xi. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the service plan manager (if 

applicable); 

xii. list of consultant/contract staff to 

include name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

xiii. list of all staff to include 

staff’s name and position; 

xiv. a floor sketch or drawing of the 

premises to be licensed; 

xv. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure; 

xvi. documentation of a Louisiana State 

Police fingerprint based satisfactory criminal record check for 

all staff including all owners of the facility, as required by 

R.S. 46:51.2 and 15:587.1;  

xvii. documentation of completed state 

central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified 
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(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including 

owners (SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 days before the 

application has been received by the Licensing Section) or a 

determination from the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of 

Administrative Law noting that the individual does not pose a 

risk to children/youth/residents; 

xviii. current approval from the 

Department of Education, if educational services will be 

provided on-site; and 

xix. current completed reasonable and 

prudent parent authorized representative form as referenced in 

§7111.A.10. 

c. CHOL inspection will be conducted between 

the currently licensed and new location to determine compliance 

with all standards. The inspection at the new location shall be 

to verify compliance with all licensing standards with the 

exception of staff and children of residents/residents records 

that will be transferred. After closure of the old location and 

prior to the services being provided at the new location, all 

staff’s, resident’s, and children of resident’s records shall be 

transferred to the new location. 

d. Services shall not be provided 

simultaneously at both locations.  

e. The license for the new location may be 

effective upon receipt of all items listed in Paragraph F.1 of 

this Section with the approval of DCFS, but not prior to the 

first day operations begin at the new location. 

f. The license for the old location shall be 

null and void on the last day services were provided at that 

location, but no later than the effective date of the new 

location’s license. Provider shall submit documentation noting 

the last day services will be provided at the old location. 
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2. Change of Ownership (CHOW) 

a. Any of the following constitutes a change of 

ownership for licensing purposes: 

i. change in the federal tax id number; 

ii. change in the state tax id number; 

iii. change in profit status; 

iv. any transfer of the business from an 

individual or juridical entity to any other individual or 

juridical entity;  

v. termination of services by one owner 

and beginning of services by a different owner without a break 

in services to the children of residents/residents; and/or 

vi. addition of an individual to the 

existing ownership (individual or partnership) on file with the 

Licensing Section. 

3. Change of Ownership (CHOW) Procedures 

a. When a residential home changes ownership, 

the current license is not transferable. Prior to the ownership 

change and in order for a new license to be issued, the new 

owner shall submit a CHOW application packet containing the 

following: 

i. completed application form with a non-

refundable licensing fee as noted in Paragraph D.2 of this 

Section payable by money order, certified check, or electronic 

payment, if available, made payable to DCFS–Licensing Section; 

ii. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval for occupancy; 

iii. current Office of Public Health, 

Sanitarian Services approval; 

iv. current city fire department approval 

(if applicable); 
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v. city or parish building permit office 

approval (if applicable); 

vi. local zoning approval (if applicable); 

vii. copy of proof of current general 

liability and current property insurance for facility in name of 

new owner; 

viii. copy of current proof of insurance 

in name of new owner for vehicle(s) used to transport residents 

or children of residents; 

ix. organizational chart or equivalent list 

of staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 

x. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the program director; 

xi. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the service plan manager; 

xii. list of consultant/contract staff to 

include name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

xiii. list of all staff to include 

staff’s name and position; 

xiv. a floor sketch or drawing of the 

premises to be licensed; 

xv. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure; 

xvi. documentation of a Louisiana State 

Police fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal record clearance 

for all staff including owners. CBC shall be dated no earlier 

than 30 days before the application has been received by the 

Licensing Section. The prior owner’s documentation of a 

satisfactory criminal background check for staff and/or owners 

is not transferrable; 

xvii. documentation of completed state 

central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including 

owners (SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 days before the 

application has been received by the Licensing Section) or a 

determination from the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of 

Administrative Law noting that the individual does not pose a 

risk to children/youth/residents. The prior owner’s 

documentation of state central registry disclosure forms for 

staff and/or owners is not transferrable; 

xviii. current approval from the 

Department of Education, if educational services will be 

provided on-site for residents; 

xix. copy of the current completed 

reasonable and prudent parent authorized representative form; 

xx. three signed reference letters dated 

within three months prior to hire for program director attesting 

affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, and 

suitability to manage the program; and 

xxi. three signed reference letters dated 

within three months prior to hire for service plan manager 

attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 

and suitability for the position. 

b. The prior owner’s current Office of State 

Fire Marshal and Office of Public Health approvals are only 

transferrable for 60 calendar days. The new owner shall obtain 

approvals dated after the effective date of the new license from 

these agencies within 60 calendar days. The new owner will be 

responsible for forwarding the approval or extension from these 

agencies to the Licensing Section on or prior to the sixtieth 

day in order for their license to be extended.  If approvals or 

extensions are not submitted to the licensing section prior to 

the sixtieth day, the license shall be revoked. 
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c. A licensing inspection shall be conducted 

within 60 calendar days to verify compliance with the licensing 

standards. 

d. All staff/children of residents’/resident’s 

information shall be updated under the new ownership as required 

in LAC 67:V.7111.A.2.c, A.5, A.7, B.2, and B.4.b-c prior to or 

on the last day services are provided by the existing owner.  

e. If all information in Paragraph F.3 of this 

Section is not received prior to or on the last day services are 

provided by the existing owner, the new owner shall not operate 

until a license is issued. The new owner is not authorized to 

provide services until the licensure process is completed in 

accordance with Paragraph B.2-6 of this Section. 

f. In the event of a change of ownership, the 

resident’s and children of resident’s records shall remain with 

the new provider. 

g. A residential home facing adverse action 

shall not be eligible for a CHOW. An application involving a 

residential home facing adverse action shall be treated as an 

initial application rather than a change of ownership 

application. 

4. Change in Ownership Structure 

a. Although the following does not constitute a 

change of ownership for licensing purposes, a change of 

information form is required.   

i. The change of information form shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section within 14 calendar days of 

the change: 

(a). if individual ownership, upon 

death of the spouse; 
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(b). if individual ownership, upon 

death of the spouse and execution of the estate, if the 

surviving spouse remains as the only owner. 

b. The change of information form shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section within seven calendar days of 

the change. 

i. if individual ownership, undergoing a 

separation or divorce until a judicial termination of the 

community aquets and gains, signed by both parties; 

ii. change in board members for churches, 

corporations, limited liability companies, universities, or 

governmental entities; 

iii. any removal of a person from the 

existing organizational structure under which the residential 

home is currently licensed. 

G. Denial, Revocation, or Non-Renewal of License 

1. Even if a facility is otherwise in compliance 

with these standards, an application for a license may be 

denied, or a license revoked or not renewed for any of the 

following reasons: 

a. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of 

the residents or children of residents in the residential 

home care; 

b. violation of any provision of the standards, 

rules, regulations, or orders of the department; 

c. disapproval from any agency whose approval 

is required for licensing; 

d. nonpayment of licensing fee or failure to 

submit a licensing application; 

ed. any validated instance of abuse, neglect, 

corporal punishment, physical punishment, or cruel, severe or 

unusual punishment, if the owner is responsible or if the staff 
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member who is responsible remains in the employment of the 

licensee; 

fe. the facility is closed with no plans for 

reopening and no means of verifying compliance with minimum 

standards for licensure; or 

gf. any act of fraud such as falsifying or 

altering documents required for licensure; 

2. Even if a facility is otherwise in substantial 

compliance with these standards, an application for a license 

may be denied, revoked or not renewed for any of the following 

reasons: 

ag. the owner, director, officer, board of 

directors member, or any person designated to manage or 

supervise the provider staff or any staff providing care, 

supervision, or treatment to a resident or child of a resident 

of the facility has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to any offense listed in LA R.S. 15:587.1. A copy of 

a criminal record check performed by the Louisiana State Police 

(LSP) or other law enforcement provider, or by the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation (FBI), or a copy of court records in 

which a conviction or plea occurred, indicating the existence of 

such a plea or conviction shall create a rebuttals presumption 

that such a conviction or plea exists; 

bh. the provider, after being notified that an 

officer, director, board of directors member, manager, 

supervisor, or any employee has been convicted of or pled nolo 

contendere to any offense referenced above, allows such officer, 

director, or employee to remain employed, or to fill an office 

of profit or trust with the provider. A copy of a criminal 

record check performed by the LSP or other law enforcement 

provider, or by the FBI, or a copy of court records in which a 

conviction or plea occurred, indicating the existence of such a 
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plea or conviction shall create a reputable presumption that 

such a conviction or plea exists; 

ci. failure of the owner, director, or any 

employee to report a known or suspected incident of abuse or 

neglect to child protection authorities; 

dj. revocation or non-renewal of a previous 

license issued by a state or federal provider; 

ej. a substantial history of non-compliance with 

licensing statutes or standards, including but not limited to 

failure to take prompt action to correct deficiencies, repeated 

citations for the same deficiencies, or revocation or denial of 

any previous license issued by the department; 

fl. failure to timely submit an application for 

renewal or required documentation or to timely pay required 

fees prior to the last day of the anniversary month; 

gm. operating any unlicensed facility and/or 

program; 

hn. permit an individual with a justified 

(valid) finding of child/ abuse/neglect to be on the premises 

without being directly supervised by another paid employee of 

the facility, who has not disclosed that their name appears with 

a justified (valid) finding on the state central registry prior 

to a determination by the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of 

Administrative Law that the individual does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents; or to knowingly permit an individual 

who has not disclosed that their name appears with a justified 

(valid) finding on the state central registry to be on the 

premises at any time, whether supervised or not supervised; 

io. permit an individual, whether supervised or 

not supervised to be on the child residential premises with a 

ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the individual poses a 

risk to children/youth/residents and the individual has not 
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requested an appeal hearing with DAL within the 

specified timeframe; by the or nolo contendere to, any offense 

included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541, or any 

offense involving a juvenile victim; 

jp. have a criminal background, as evidenced by 

the employment or ownership or continued employment or ownership 

of or by any individual (paid or unpaid staff) who has been 

convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense 

included in R.S. 15:587.1, or to any offense involving a 

juvenile victim; 

kq. own a child residential business home and 

have been convicted of or have pled guilty or nolo contender to 

any crime in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an 

element of the offense; 

lr. have knowledge that a convicted sex offender 

is on the premises of the child care facility and fail to notify 

law enforcement and licensing management staff immediately upon 

receipt of such knowledge; or  

ms. have knowledge that a convicted sex offender 

is physically present within 1,000 feet of the child care 

facility and fail to notify law enforcement immediately upon 

receipt of such knowledge.; or 

t. have knowledge that a resident age 18 years 

or older has been convicted of, pled guilty, or nolo contendere 

to any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1. or to any offense 

involving a juvenile victim and allow the resident to remain on 

the premises of the residential home. 

32. If a license is revoked or not renewed or 

application denied or refused, a license may also be denied or 

refused to any affiliate of the licensee or applicant. For the 

purpose of this section, "affiliate" means: 
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   a. with respect to a partnership, each partner 

thereof; 

   b. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 

director and stockholder thereof; and 

   c. with respect to a natural person: anyone 

related within the third degree of kinship to that person; each 

partnership and each partner thereof which that person or any 

affiliate of that person is a partner; and each corporation in 

which that person or any affiliate of that person is an officer, 

director or stockholder. 

43. In the event a license is revoked or renewal is 

denied, (other than for cessation of business or non-operational 

status), or voluntarily surrendered to avoid adverse action; any 

owner, officer, member, manager, or program director of such 

licensee shall be prohibited from owning, managing, directing or 

operating another licensed facility for a period of not less 

than two years from the date of the final disposition of the 

revocation or denial action. The lapse of two years shall not 

automatically restore a person disqualified under this 

provision to eligibility for employment. The department, at its 

sole discretion, may determine that a longer period of 

disqualification is warranted under the facts of a particular 

case. 

H. Disqualification of Facility and Provider  

1. If a facility's license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 

rules, the department shall not accept process a subsequent 

application from the provider for that facility or any new 

facility for a minimum period of 24 months after the effective 

date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 24 

months after all appeal rights have been exhausted, whichever is 

later (the disqualification period). Any subsequent application 
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for a license shall be reviewed by the secretary or her designee 

prior to a decision being made to grant a license. The 

department reserves the right to determine, at its sole 

discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

2. Any voluntary surrender of a license by a 

facility facing the possibility of adverse action against its’ 

license (revocation or non-renewal) shall be deemed to be a 

revocation for purposes of this rule, and shall trigger the same 

disqualification period as if the license had actually been 

revoked. In addition, if the applicant has had a substantial 

history of non-compliance, including but not limited to 

revocation of a previous license, operation without a license, 

or denial of one or more previous applications for licensure, 

the department may refuse to accept process a subsequent 

application from that applicant for a minimum period of 24 

months after the effective date of denial. 

3. The disqualification period provided in this rule 

shall include any affiliate of the provider. 

I. Appeal Process for Denial, Non-Renewal, or Revocation 

1. The DCFS Licensing Section, shall advise the 

applicant, program director, or owner by letter of the reasons 

for non-renewal or revocation of the license, or denial of an 

application, and the right of appeal. If the program director or 

owner is not present at the facility, delivery of the written 

reasons for such action may be made to any staff of the 

facility.  Notice to a staff shall constitute notice to the 

facility of such action and the reasons therefore. A request for 

appeal shall include a copy of the letter from the Licensing 

Section that notes the reasons for revocation, denial, or non-

renewal, together with the specific areas of the decision the 

appellant believes to be erroneous and/or the specific reasons 

the decision is believed to have been reached in error, and 
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shall be mailed to:  Department of Children and Family Services, 

Appeals Section, P.O. Box 2944, Baton Rouge, LA  70821-9118. 

2. A provider shall have 15 calendar days from 

receipt of the letter notifying of the revocation or non-renewal 

to request an appeal. Provider may continue to operate during 

the appeals process as provided in the Administrative Procedure 

Act. 

3. If the provider’s license will expire during the 

appeal process, the provider shall submit all information as 

required in Paragraph E.2 of this Section. Each provider is 

solely responsible for obtaining the application form. The 

required information shall be received on or postmarked by the 

last day of the month in which the license expires, or the 

provider shall cease operation at the close of business by the 

expiration date noted on the license.  

4. A provider shall have 30 calendar days from 

receipt of the letter notifying of the denial of an application 

for a license to request an appeal.  

5. The Appeals Section shall notify the Division of 

Administrative Law of receipt of an appeal request. Division of 

Administrative Law shall conduct a hearing. The appellant will 

be notified by DAL of the decision, either affirming or 

reversing the original decision.  

6. If the decision of DCFS is affirmed or the appeal 

dismissed, the provider shall terminate operation of the 

residential home immediately. If the provider continues to 

operate without a license, the DCFS may file suit in the 

district court in the parish in which the facility is located 

for injunctive relief.  

7. If the decision of DCFS is reversed, the license 

will be re-instated and the appellant may continue to operate. 
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1. If the department refuses to grant or renew a 

license, if a license is revoked, the procedure will be as 

follows: 

a. The department shall notify the licensee, or 

applicant in writing of the denial or revocation and the reasons 

for that denial or revocation and the right of appeal. 

b. The program director or owner may appeal 

this decision by submitting a written request with the reasons 

to the Secretary, Department of Children and Family Services, 

Bureau of Appeals, P.O. Box 2994, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9118. 

This written request shall be postmarked within 15 days of the 

receipt of the notification in §7107.H.1 above. 

c. The Division of Administrative Law shall set 

a hearing to be held within 30 days after receipt of such a 

request except as provided in the Administrative Procedures Act. 

d. An administrative law judge shall conduct 

the hearing. Within 90 days after the date the appeal is filed, 

the administrative law judge shall notify the appellant in 

writing of the decision, either affirming or reversing the 

original decision. If the department’s decision is upheld, the 

facility shall terminate operation immediately. 

2. If the facility continues to operate without a 

license, the department may file suit in the district court in 

the parish in which the facility is located for injunctive 

relief. 

J. Complaint Process 

1. In accordance with RS 46:1418, the department 

shall investigate all complaints (except complaints concerning 

the prevention or spread of communicable diseases), including 

complaints alleging abuse or neglect, within prescribed time 

frames as determined by the department based on the 

allegation(s) of the complaint. All 
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complaint investigation inspections will be initiated within 30 

days. 

2. All complaint surveys inspections shall be 

unannounced surveys. 

3. A written report of any noncompliance or 

deficiencies will be given to the provider. The provider shall 

be required to submit a corrective action plan to the department 

for approval. The department shall specify the timeline for 

submitting the corrective action plan based on the areas of non-

compliance cited but no later than 10 days from the date of 

receipt of the notification. The corrective action plan shall 

include a description of how the deficiency shall be corrected 

and the date by which corrections shall be completed. If it is 

determined that all areas of noncompliance or deficiencies have 

not been corrected, the department may revoke the license. 

4. Except in cases alleging abuse or neglect, the 

complainant will be notified in writing of the results of the 

complaint investigation conducted by the office of community 

services (OCS) residential licensing. 

5. If, because of the nature of the allegations, 

state law or department policy requires that the complaint be 

handled by another office, agency or board (including another 

office, agency, or board within the department), the complaint 

will be referred to the appropriate office, agency, or board 

without delay. Upon such referral, except in cases involving 

abuse or neglect, the complainant will be notified, in writing, 

of the referral. 

6. The complaint procedure shall be posted 

conspicuously in the facility including the name, address, and 

telephone number of the required department units to be 

notified. 

K. Posting of Notices of Revocation 
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1. The notice of revocation of the license shall be 

prominently posted. 

a. The Department of Children and Family 

Services shall prominently post a notice of revocation action at 

each public entrance of the child residential care facility 

within one business day of such action. This notice must remain 

visible to the general public, other placing agencies, parents, 

guardians, and other interested parties of individuals that 

receive services from the provider children who attend the child 

care facility. 

b. It shall be a violation of these rules for a 

provider to permit the obliteration or removal of a notice of 

revocation that has been posted by the department. The provider 

shall ensure that the notice continues to be visible to the 

general public, other placing agencies, parents, guardians, and 

other interested parties throughout the pendency of any appeals 

of the revocation. 

c. The provider shall notify the 

department’s child residential licensing management staff 

verbally and in writing immediately if the notice is removed or 

obliterated. 

d. Failure to maintain the posted notice of 

revocation required under these rules shall be grounds for 

denial, revocation, or non-renewal of any future license. 

L. State Central Registry  

1. All owners shall complete, sign, and date the 

state central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) as required by 

R.S. 46:1414.1. This information shall be reported prior to the 

individual being on the premises of the child residential 

facility, and shall be updated annually, at any time upon the 

request of DCFS, and within three business days, of any owner 
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receiving notice of a justified (valid) determination of child 

abuse or neglect.  

a. Prospective owners shall complete, sign, and 

date the state central registry disclosure form and submit the 

disclosure form to DCFS licensing. If a prospective owner 

discloses that his or her name is currently recorded as a 

perpetrator on the state central registry, DCFS shall not 

proceed with the licensure process. The owner shall request a 

risk evaluation assessment on the risk evaluation panel form 

(SCR 2) or shall submit a signed, dated statement that he or she 

will not be on the premises of the facility at any time. DCFS 

will resume the licensure process when the owner provides 

written documentation from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the 

Division of Administrative Law noting that they do not pose a 

risk to children or the statement regarding their presence at 

the child residential facility. 

b. Within three business days of current owners 

receiving notice of a justified (valid) determination of child 

abuse and/or neglect, an updated state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) shall be completed by the owner as 

required by R.S. 46:1414.1 and submitted to the Licensing 

Section management staff. The owner will have 10 calendar days 

from completion of the state central registry disclosure form to 

request a risk assessment evaluation in accordance with LAC 

67:I.305. If on-site at the facility and immediately upon the 

knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been issued by 

DCFS, the owner shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 

(employee) of the facility, who has not disclosed that their 

name appears with a justified (valid) finding on the state 

central registry. Under no circumstances may the owner with the 

justified finding be left alone and unsupervised with the 

children pending the disposition of the Risk Evaluation Panel or 
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the Division of Administrative Law. If not on site at the child 

residential facility, owner shall submit a signed, dated 

statement that he or she will not be on the premises of the 

facility at any time.  

i. If the Risk Evaluation Panel finds the 

owner does pose a risk to children and the individual chooses 

not to appeal the finding, the owner shall not be on the child 

residential premises at any time.  

ii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel finds the 

owner does pose a risk to children and the individual appeals 

the finding to the Division of Administrative Law within the 

required timeframe, the owner shall continue to be under direct 

supervision at all times by a paid staff (employee) of the 

facility who has not disclosed that they have a justified 

finding on the state central registry until a ruling is made by 

the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk 

to children. Supervision may end upon receipt of the ruling from 

the Division of Administrative Law that the owner does not pose 

a risk to children. 

iiiiv. If the Division of Administrative 

Law (DAL) upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding that the 

individual does pose poses a risk to children, the owner shall 

not be on the child residential premises at any time.  

2. Any information received or knowledge acquired 

that a current or prospective owner, operator, volunteer, 

employee, prospective volunteer, or prospective employee has 

falsified a state central registry disclosure form stating that 

they are not currently recorded as a perpetrator with a 

justified (valid) determination of abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in writing to Licensing Section management staff as 

soon as possible, but no later than the close of business on the 

next business day. 
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3. Any state central registry disclosure form, Risk 

Evaluation Panel finding, and Division of Administrative Law 

ruling that is maintained in a child residential facility 

licensing file shall be confidential and subject to the 

confidentiality provisions of R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to the 

investigations of abuse and neglect. 

L. Retention of Records 

1. Documentation of the previous 12 months' activity 

shall be available for review. Records shall be accessible 

during the facility’s hours of operation. 

2. For licensing purposes, children of residents’ 

and resident’s information shall be kept on file a minimum of 

one year from date of discharge from the program.  

3. For licensing purposes, staff records shall be 

kept on file a minimum of one year from termination of 

employment with the provider. 

4. Records for residents or children of residents in 

the custody of DCFS shall be kept on file a minimum of five 

years from the date of discharge from the facility. 

5. If the facility closes, the owner of the facility 

shall store the resident records for five years. 

6. All records shall be retained and disposed of in 

accordance with state and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S.46:1401 -1424 et seq., and R.S. 46:1414.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Services, LR 36:807 (April 2010), 

amended LR 36:843 (April 2010), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Child Welfare Section, LR 36:1463 

(July 2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:977, 
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984 (April 2012), amended by the Department of Children and 

Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7108. Corrective Action Plans 

 A. A corrective action plan (CAP) shall be submitted for 

any and all deficiencies noted by Licensing Section staff 

regarding any licensing law or standard, or any other required 

statute, ordinance, or standard. The request for submission of 

the CAP does not restrict the actions which may be taken by 

DCFS. If the department does not specify an earlier timeframe 

for submitting the CAP, the CAP shall be submitted within 10 

calendar days from the date of the inspection or receipt of the 

deficiencies, if mailed or emailed. The CAP shall include a 

description of how the deficiency will be corrected, the date by 

which correction(s) shall be completed, and outline the steps 

the provider plans to take in order to prevent further 

deficiencies from being cited in these areas, and the plan to 

maintain compliance with the licensing standards. If the CAP is 

not sufficient and/or additional information is required, the 

provider shall be notified and informed to submit additional 

information within 3 calendar days. If it is determined that all 

areas of noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, 

the department may revoke the license.  

 B. Provider may challenge a specific deficiency or any 

information within a cited deficiency which the provider 

contends is factually inaccurate. The provider shall have one 

opportunity to request a review of a licensing deficiency. A 

statement of why the deficiency is being disputed and supporting 

documents (if applicable) shall be submitted with the corrective 

action plan within the timeframe specified for the submission of 

the CAP. 

 C. The statement of deficiencies for which a review has 

been requested will not be placed on the internet for viewing by 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



the public until a decision has been reached.  As a result of 

the licensing deficiency review request, a deficiency may be 

upheld with no changes, the deficiency may be removed, or the 

deficiency may be upheld and revised to include pertinent 

information that was inadvertently omitted. Once a decision has 

been reached, provider will be informed in writing of the 

decision and the reason for the decision. If the deficiency or 

information within the deficiency was cited in error or the 

cited deficiency is revised by the DCFS Licensing Section staff, 

provider will receive a revised “Statement of Deficiencies” with 

the decision letter. If any enforcement action was imposed 

solely because of a deficiency or finding that has been deleted 

through the licensing deficiency review process, the action will 

be rescinded. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S.46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7109. Critical Violations/Fines 

A. In accordance with R.S. 46:1430, when a provider is 

cited for violations in the following areas, the department may 

at its’ discretion elect to impose sanctions, revoke a license, 

or both: 

1. Paragraph A.5 of Section 7107, Subparagraph E.2.f 

of Section 7107, Clause F.1.b.xvi of Section 7107, Clause 

A.2.c.ii of Section 7111, Subparagraph A.5.b of Section 7111, or 

Clause B.2.a.ii of Section 7111 - criminal background check;  

2. Subparagraph E.2.g of Section 7107, Clause 

F.1.b.xvii of Section 7107, Paragraph A.6 of Section 7107, 

Paragraph L.2 of Section 7107, Clause A.2.d.iii of Section 7111, 

Subparagraph A.6.c of Section 7111, or Subparagraph B.2.x of 

Section 7111 - state central registry disclosure; 
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3. Paragraph A.9 of Section 7111 – staffing ratios;  

4. Paragraph F.19 of Section 7117 – motor vehicle 

checks; 

5. Clause A.4.a.xiii of Section 7111, Clause 

A.4.c.xv of Section 7111, or Subparagraph D.1.a of Section 7111 

- critical incidents; and/or 

6. Paragraph A.9 of Section 7111, Subparagraph A.4.c 

of Section 7111, or Paragraph B.5 or B.6 of Section 7123 - 

supervision. 

B. The option of imposing other sanctions does not impair 

the right of DCFS to revoke and/or not renew a provider’s 

license to operate if it determines that the violation poses an 

imminent threat to the health, safety, rights, or welfare of a 

resident or child of a resident. Only when the department finds 

that the violation does not pose an imminent threat to the 

health, safety, rights, or welfare of a resident or child of a 

resident will the department consider sanctions in lieu of 

revocation or non-renewal; however, the absence of such an 

imminent threat does not preclude the possibility of revocation 

or non-renewal in addition to sanctions, including fines. 

C. In determining whether multiple violations of one of 

the above categories has occurred, both for purposes of this 

Section and for purposes of establishing a history of non-

compliance, all such violations cited during any 24-month period 

shall be counted, even if one or more of the violations occurred 

prior to the adoption of the current set of standards. If one or 

more of the violations occurred prior to adoption of the current 

set of standards, a violation is deemed to have been repeated if 

the standard previously violated is substantially similar to the 

present rule. 

D.1. For the first violation of one of the aforementioned 

categories, if the department does not revoke or not renew the 
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license, the department may issue a formal warning letter noting 

the department’s intent to take administrative action if further 

violations of the same category occur. 

2. The warning letter shall include a directed 

corrective action plan (CAP) which shall outline the necessary 

action and timeframe for such action that a provider shall take 

in order to maintain compliance with the licensing standards. 

The provider shall acknowledge receipt of the warning letter by 

submitting a written response to the CAP within 10 calendar days 

of receipt of the letter. Failure by the provider to submit 

requested information and/or failure to implement the CAP as 

evidenced by a repeated violation of the same category of the 

standards may result in either the assessment of a civil fine, 

revocation/non-renewal of license, or both. 

E. For the second violation of one of the same 

aforementioned categories within a 24-month period, provider 

will be assessed a civil fine of up to $250 per day for a 

violation in each of the aforementioned categories (if same 

category cited twice) and fined for each day the provider was 

determined to be out of compliance with one of the 

aforementioned categories according to the following schedule of 

fines: 

1. The base fine level for all violations shall be 

$200 per day. From the base fine level, factor in any applicable 

upward or downward adjustments, even if the adjustment causes 

the total to exceed $250. If the total fine after all upward and 

downward adjustments exceeds $250, reduce the fine for the 

violation to $250 as prescribed by law. 

a. If the violation resulted in death or 

serious physical or emotional harm to a resident or child of a 

resident, or placed the resident or child of a resident at risk 
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of death or serious physical or emotional harm, increase the 

fine by $50. 

b. If the provider had a previous license 

revoked for the same critical violation cited, increase the fine 

by $25. 

c. If the critical violation was cited and 

occurred despite the objective good faith best efforts of 

licensee to comply, decrease the fine by $25. 

d. If the cited critical violation was for a 

certified criminal background checks not being renewed upon 

expiration as required, decrease the fine by $25. 

e. If the cited critical violation was for 

criminal background checks not being completed prior to hire, 

increase the fine by $25. 

f. If the cited critical violation was for  

state central registry disclosure forms not being completed 

annually as required, decrease the fine by $25. 

g. If the cited critical violation was for 

state central registry disclosure forms not being completed 

prior to hire, increase the fine by $25. 

h. If the provider exceeds staffing ratios by 

more than one resident, increase the fine by $25.  

i. If the provider failed to meet staffing 

ratios related to children of residents, increase the fine by 

$25.  

j. If the provider self-reported the incident 

which caused the critical violation to be cited, decrease the 

fine by $25.  

k. If the provider failed to self-report the 

incident which caused the critical violation to be cited, 

increase the fine by $25.  
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l. If a critical violation for supervision was 

cited due to residents or children of residents being 

unsupervised in a vehicle, increase the fine by $25. 

m. If a critical violation for supervision was 

cited due to staff not knowing the whereabouts of residents to 

which they are assigned, increase the fine by $25. 

F. For the third violation of one of the same 

aforementioned categories within a 24 month period, the 

provider’s license may be revoked. 

G. The aggregate fines assessed for violations determined 

in any consecutive 12 month period shall not exceed $2,000 as 

prescribed by law. If a critical violation in a different 

category is noted by DCFS that warrants a fine and the provider 

has already reached the maximum allowable fine amount that could 

be assessed by the department in any consecutive twelve month 

period and the department does not revoke or not renew the 

license, the department may issue a formal warning letter noting 

the department’s intent to take administrative action if further 

violations of the same category re-occur. The warning letter 

shall include a directed CAP which shall outline the necessary 

action and timeframe for such action that a provider shall take 

in order to maintain compliance with the licensing standards. 

The Provider shall acknowledge receipt of the warning letter by 

submitting a written response to the CAP within 10 calendar days 

of receipt of the letter. Failure by the provider to submit 

requested information and/or failure to implement the CAP as 

evidenced by a repeated violation of the same category of the 

standards may result in revocation/non-renewal of license. 

H. Departmental Reconsideration and Appeal Procedure for 

Fines 

1. When a fine is imposed under these standards, the 

department shall notify the program director or owner by letter 
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that a fine has been assessed due to deficiencies cited at the 

residential home and the right of departmental reconsideration. 

The notification may be sent by certified mail or hand delivered 

to the residential home. If the program director or owner is not 

present at the residential home, delivery of the written 

reason(s) for such action may be made to any staff of the 

residential home. Notice to a staff shall constitute notice to 

the residential home of such action and the reasons therefore. 

The letter shall specify the dates and the violation cited for 

which the fine(s) shall be imposed. Fines are due within 30 

calendar days from the date of receipt of the letter unless the 

provider request a reconsideration of the fine assessment. The 

provider may request reconsideration of the assessment by asking 

DCFS for such reconsideration in writing within 10 calendar days 

from the date of receipt of the letter. A request for 

reconsideration shall include a copy of the letter from the 

Licensing Section that notes the reasons for assessment of the 

fine together with the specific reasons the provider believes 

assessment of the fine to be unwarranted and shall be mailed to 

Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, 

P.O. Box 260036 Baton Rouge, LA 70826. If the provider withdraws 

the request for reconsideration, the fine is payable within 7 

calendar days of the withdrawal or on the original date that the 

fine was due, whichever is later.  

2. The department shall advise the program director 

or owner by letter of the decision of DCFS after reconsideration 

and the right to appeal. The notification may be sent by 

certified mail or hand delivered to the residential home. If the 

program director or owner is not present at the residential 

home, delivery of the written decision may be made to any staff 

of the residential home. Notice to a staff shall constitute 

notice to the residential home of such action. 
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a. If DCFS finds that the Licensing Section’s 

assessment of the fine is justified, the provider shall have 15 

calendar days from the receipt of the reconsideration letter to 

appeal the decision to the Division of Administrative Law (DAL). 

A request for appeal shall include a copy of the letter from the 

Licensing Section that notes the reasons for assessment of the 

fine and a copy of the reconsideration decision letter together 

with the specific areas of the decision the appellant believes 

to be erroneous and/or the specific reasons the decision is 

believed to have been reached in error, and shall be mailed to 

Department of Children and Family Services, Appeals Section, 

P.O. Box 2944, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9118. 

b. The DCFS Appeals Section shall notify the 

DAL of receipt of an appeal request. DAL shall conduct a hearing 

in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act and shall 

render a decision. The appellant will be notified by letter from 

DAL of the decision, either affirming or reversing the 

department’s decision.  

c. If the provider has filed a timely appeal 

and the department’s assessment of fines is affirmed by an 

administrative law judge of the DAL, the fine shall be due 

within 30 calendar days after mailing notice of the final ruling 

of the administrative law judge or, if a rehearing is requested, 

within 30 calendar days after the rehearing decision is 

rendered. The provider shall have the right to seek judicial 

review of any final ruling of the administrative law judge as 

provided in the Administrative Procedure Act. If the appeal is 

dismissed or withdrawn, the fines shall be due and payable 

within 7 calendar days of the dismissal or withdrawal. If a 

judicial review is denied or dismissed, either in district court 

or by a court of appeal, the fines shall be due and payable 
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within 7 calendar days after the provider’s suspensive appeal 

rights have been exhausted. 

3. If the provider does not appeal within 15 

calendar days of receipt of the department’s reconsideration 

decision, the fine is due within 30 calendar days of receipt of 

the department’s reconsideration decision and shall be mailed to 

Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, 

P.O. Box 260036 Baton Rouge, LA 70826. If the provider files a 

timely appeal, the fines shall be due and payable on the date 

set forth in Subparagraph H.2.c of this Section. If the provider 

withdraws the appeal, the fine is payable within 7 calendar days 

of the withdrawal or on the original date that the fine was due, 

whichever is later. 

4. If the provider does not pay the fine within the 

specified timeframe, the license shall be immediately revoked 

and the department shall pursue civil court action to collect 

the fines, together with all costs of bringing such action, 

including travel expenses and reasonable attorney fees. Interest 

shall begin to accrue at the current judicial rate on the day 

following the date on which the fines become due and payable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§71097110. Administration and Organization 

A. General Requirements 

1. Once a residential home provider has been issued 

a license, the department shall conduct licensing and other 

inspections at intervals deemed necessary by the department to 

determine compliance with licensing standards, as well as, other 

required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 

fees. These inspections shall be unannounced. 
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2. The department may remove any resident, child of 

a resident, or all residents or children of residents from any 

facility or agency when it is determined that one or more 

deficiencies exist within the facility that place the health and 

well-being of children of residents or residents in imminent 

danger. The children of residents nor residents shall be 

returned to the facility until such time as it is determined by 

the department that the imminent danger has been removed. 

13. The provider shall allow representatives of the 

department in the performance of their mandated duties to 

inspect all aspects of a program's functioning that impact on 

residents and children of residents and to privately interview 

any staff member or resident. The department representatives 

shall be admitted immediately and without delay, and shall be 

given free access to all relevant files and all areas of a 

facility, including its grounds. If any portion of a facility is 

set aside for private use by the facility's owner or staff, 

department representatives shall be permitted to verify that no 

residents or children of residents are present in that portion 

and that the private areas are inaccessible to residents and 

children of residents. Any area to which residents or children 

of residents have or have had access is presumed to be part of 

the facility and not the private quarters of the 

owner/operator or staff. 

24. The provider shall make any information that DCFS 

requires the provider is required to have under the present 

standards, and any information reasonably related to 

determination of compliance with these standards available to 

the department. The resident's rights shall not be considered 

abridged by this standard. 

35. The provider accepting any resident who resides 

in another state from a state other than Louisiana shall show 
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proof of compliance with the terms of the Interstate Compact on 

Juveniles, the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, 

and the Interstate Compact on Mental Health. Proof of compliance 

shall include clearance letters from the compact officers of 

each state involved. 

B. Other Jurisdictional Approvals. The provider shall 

comply and show proof of compliance with all relevant standards, 

regulations, and requirements established by federal, state, 

local, and municipal regulatory bodies including initial and 

annual approval by the following: 

1. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; 

2. Office of the State Fire Marshal; 

3. city fire department, (if applicable); 

4. local governing authority or zoning approval, (if 

applicable); and 

5. Department of Education, (if applicable). 

C. Governing Body. The provider shall have an 

identifiable governing body with responsibility for and 

authority over the policies, procedures, and activities of the 

provider. 

1. The provider shall have documents identifying all 

members of the governing body, their addresses, the term of 

their membership (if applicable), officers of the governing body 

(if applicable), and the terms of office of all officers (if 

applicable). 

2. When the governing body of a provider is composed 

of more than one person, the governing body shall hold formal 

meetings at least twice a year. 

3. When the governing body is composed of more than 

one person, a provider shall have written minutes of all formal 

meetings of the governing body and bylaws specifying frequency 

of meetings and quorum requirements. 
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D. Responsibilities of a Governing Body. The governing 

body of the provider shall: 

1. ensure the provider's compliance and conformity 

with the provider's charter; 

2. ensure the provider's continual compliance and 

conformity with all relevant federal, state, local, and 

municipal laws and standards; 

3. ensure the provider is adequately funded and 

fiscally sound by reviewing and approving the provider's annual 

budget or cost report; 

4. ensure the provider is housed, maintained, 

staffed and equipped appropriately considering the nature of the 

provider's program; 

5. designate a person to act as program director and 

delegate sufficient authority to this person to manage the 

facility; 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation 

with the program director, written policies and procedures 

concerning the provider's philosophy, goals, current services, 

personnel practices and fiscal management; 

7. have the authority to dismiss the program 

director; 

8. meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 

9. inform designated representatives of the 

department prior to initiating any substantial changes in the 

program, services, or physical plant of the provider.; 

10. ensure that the provider establishes a system of 

business management and staffing which requires  maintenance of 

complete and accurate accounts, books, and records. 

E. Authority to Operate. The provider’s current Louisiana 

residential home license shall be on display in a prominent area 
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at the facility, except for facilities operated by a church or 

religious organization [RS 46:1406(D)] that choose to keep the 

license on file and available upon request. All homes shall 

operate within the licensed capacity, age range, and/or other 

specific services designated on the license. 

1. A private provider shall have documentation of 

its authority to operate under state law.   

2. A privately owned provider shall have 

documentation identifying the names and addresses of owners. 

3. A corporation, partnership or association shall 

identify the names and addresses of its members and officers and 

shall, where applicable, have a charter, partnership agreement, 

constitution, and articles of association or bylaws. 

F. Accessibility of Program Director. The program 

director, or a person authorized to act on behalf of the program 

director, shall be accessible to provider staff or designated 

representatives of the department at all times (24 hours per 

day, 7 days per week). 

G. Statement of Philosophy and Goals. The provider shall 

have a written statement describing its philosophy and 

describing both long-term and short-term goals. 

1. The provider shall have a written statement of 

its’ residential home philosophy, purpose, program, and goals. 

The statement shall contain a description of all the services 

provided to include: 

a. the extent, limitation, and scope of the 

services for which a license is sought; 

b. the geographical area to be served; and 

c. the ages of residents, ages of children of 

residents, and types of behaviors to be accepted for placement. 
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H. Policies and Procedures. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures approved by the owner or 

governing body that address, at a minimum, the following:  

a. abuse and neglect; 

b. admission and discharge; 

c. behavior support and intervention program; 

d. complaint process; 

e. confidentiality and retention of resident 

records; 

f. emergency and safety; 

g. grievance process; 

h. human resources; 

i. incidents; 

j. medication management; 

k. provider services; 

l. quality improvement; 

m. resident funds; 

n. rights; and 

o. recordkeeping. 

IH. House Rules and Regulations. The provider shall have a 

clearly written list of rules and regulations governing conduct 

for residents and children of residents in care and shall 

document that these rules and regulations are made available to 

each staff member, resident, and, where appropriate, the 

resident's legal guardian(s). 

JI. Representation at Hearings. When requested by the 

placing agency, required by law, the provider shall have a 

representative present at all judicial, educational, or 

administrative hearings that address the status of a resident or 

child of a resident in care of the provider. The provider shall 

ensure that the resident or child of a resident is given an 
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opportunity to be present at such hearings, unless prohibited by 

the resident's legal guardian or by his/her service plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:810 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7111. Provider Responsibilities Requirements 

A. Human Resources Provider Responsibilities 

1. Policies and Procedures. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures that include: Enrichment 

Activities. Provider shall assist children of residents and 

residents at least twice monthly in creating and updating their 

lifebook. For children of residents and residents that are not 

developmentally able to participate in the creation and updating 

of their own lifebook, staff shall create and update for the 

children and residents.  

a. Lifebooks shall be the property of children 

of residents and residents and shall remain with the child or 

resident upon discharge. 

b. Lifebooks shall be available for review by 

DCFS. 

a. a plan for recruitment, screening, 

orientation, ongoing training, development, supervision, and 

performance evaluation of staff members to include contract 

services and volunteers; 

b. written job descriptions for each staff 

position including volunteers; 

c. health screening of all staff in accordance 

with public health guidelines to include screening for 

tuberculosis (TB) and communicable diseases; 
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d. an employee  grievance process; 

e. abuse and neglect reporting procedures that 

require all employees to report any incidents of abuse or 

neglect whether that abuse or neglect is done by another staff 

member, a family member, a resident, or any other person; and 

f. preventing discrimination. 

2. Personnel Requirements 

a. The provider shall employ a sufficient 

number of qualified staff and delegate sufficient authority to 

such staff to perform the following functions: 

i. administrative; 

ii. fiscal; 

iii. clerical; 

iv. housekeeping, maintenance, and food 

services; 

v. direct resident and child of a resident 

services; 

vi. record keeping and reporting; 

vii. social service; and 

viii. ancillary services. 

b. The provider shall ensure that all staff 

members are properly certified or licensed as legally required 

and appropriately qualified for their position. 

cb. Personnel can work in more than one capacity 

as long as they meet all of the qualifications of the position 

and have met the trainings requirements. 

dc. The provider that utilizes volunteers shall 

be responsible for the actions of the volunteers. Volunteers 

shall be given a copy of their job description. Volunteers 

shall:  

i. have orientation and training in the 

philosophy of the facility program and the needs of 
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residents and children of residents and methods of meeting those 

needs prior to working with residents or children of residents; 

ii. have documentation of a fingerprint 

based satisfactory a criminal background check from Louisiana 

State Police as required in R.S. 15:587.1 and R.S. 46:51.2. and 

as outlined in Section 7111.A.5.d.ii; and This check shall be 

obtained prior to the individual being present in the facility 

or having access to the residents or children of residents. No 

person who has been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, shall be 

hired by or present in any capacity in the facility. CBC shall 

be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual being present 

in the facility or having access to the residents or children of 

residents. If an individual has previously obtained a certified 

copy of their criminal background check from the Louisiana 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 

Louisiana State Police, such certified copy shall be acceptable 

as meeting the CBC requirements. This certified copy of the 

criminal background check shall be accepted for a period of one 

year from the date of issuance of the certified copy. This 

certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior to 

the one-year expiration of the certified criminal background 

check, a new fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal background 

check shall be obtained from Louisiana State Police. If the 

clearance is not obtained prior to the one-year expiration of 

the certified criminal background check, the staff is no longer 

allowed on the premises until a clearance is received;  

iii. have a completed state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) prepared by the department noting 

whether or not his/her name is currently recorded on the state 

central registry for a justified finding of abuse or neglect and 

he/she is the named perpetrator as required in R.S. 46.1414.1. 
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SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual 

being present in the facility or having access to the residents 

or children of residents: 

(a). this information shall be reported 

prior to the individual being on the premises of 

the child residential facility and shall be updated annually, at 

any time upon the request of DCFS, and within three business 

days of any staff and/or volunteer receiving notice of a 

justified (valid) determination of child abuse or neglect; 

(b). the prospective non-paid staff 

(volunteer) shall complete, sign, and date the state central 

registry disclosure form and submit the disclosure form to the 

owner or operator of the facility:; 

(i). if a prospective staff non-

paid (volunteer) discloses that his or her name is currently 

recorded as a perpetrator on the state central registry, the 

director shall inform the applicant they will not be considered 

for volunteer duties at that time due to the state central 

registry disclosure. The director will provide the prospective 

volunteer with the risk evaluation panel form (SCR 2) so that a 

risk assessment evaluation may be requested; 

(ii). individuals are eligible 

for volunteer services if and when they provide written 

documentation from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law noting that they do not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents; 

(c). current volunteers receiving 

notice of a justified (valid) determination of child abuse 

and/or neglect shall complete an updated state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) noting the existence of the justified 

(valid) determination as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This 

updated SCR 1 shall be submitted to the Licensing Section 
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management staff within three 3 business days or upon being on 

the child residential premises, whichever is sooner. Volunteers 

will have ten 10 calendar days from completion of the state 

central registry disclosure form to request a risk assessment 

evaluation on a SCR 2 form in accordance with LAC 67:I.305 or 

shall be terminated immediately:; 

(i). if the volunteer will no 

longer be employed at or provide volunteer services at for the 

facility, the provider shall submit a signed, dated statement 

indicating that the volunteer will not be on the premises of the 

facility at any time; 

(ii). immediately upon the 

receipt of the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has 

been issued by DCFS and as a condition of continued volunteer 

services, the staff person shall be directly supervised by a 

paid staff (employee) of the facility who has not disclosed that 

their name appears with a justified (valid) finding on the state 

central registry. Provider shall submit a written statement to 

Licensing Section management staff acknowledging that the 

volunteer is under continuous direct supervision by a paid staff 

who has not disclosed that their name appears with a justified 

(valid) finding on the state central registry. When these 

conditions are met, the non-paid staff (volunteer) may be 

counted in child staff ratio. Under no circumstances may the 

volunteer with the justified finding be left alone and 

unsupervised with the children/youth/residents pending the 

disposition by the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law that the staff person does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents; 

(iii). if the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual chooses not to 
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appeal the finding, the non-paid staff (volunteer) shall be 

terminated immediately; 

(iv). if the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual appeals the finding 

to the Division of Administrative Law within the required 

timeframe, the non-paid staff (volunteer) shall continue to be 

under direct supervision at all times by another paid employee 

of the facility who has not disclosed that they have a justified 

finding on the state central registry until a ruling is made by 

the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk 

to children/youth/residents. Supervision may end upon receipt of 

the ruling from the Division of Administrative Law that they do 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

(v). if the Division of 

Administrative Law upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding 

that the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents, the individual shall be terminated 

immediately; 

(d). any owner, operator, current or 

prospective employee, or volunteer of a child residential 

facility requesting licensure by DCFS and/or a child residential 

facility licensed by DCFS is prohibited from working in a child 

residential facility if the individual discloses, or information 

is known or received by DCFS, that the individual’s name is 

recorded on the state central registry (SCR) as a perpetrator 

for a justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a child, 

unless there is a finding by the Risk Evaluation Panel or a 

ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the individual 

does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 
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iv. have three documented reference 

checks dated within three months prior to beginning volunteer 

services; as required for regular paid staff. 

v. have documentation of a signed and 

dated job description by volunteer. 

3. Personnel Qualifications 

a. Program Director—the program director shall 

meet one of the following qualifications: 

i. a bachelor's degree in a human service 

field plus three years experience relative to the population 

being served. One year of administrative experience in social 

services may be substituted for two years of regular experience. 

A master's degree plus two years of social service experience 

may be substituted for the three years of experience. An 

alternative may be a bachelor of social work (BSW) degree or 

professional equivalent with three years experience working with 

residents, one year of which may be experience in 

administration; or a doctorate degree in a human services field 

or in administration, business, or a related field; 

ii. a master's degree in health care 

administration or in a human service related field; or a 

master’s degree in a human services field or in administration, 

business, or a related field and one year of work experience in 

a human services agency; 

iii. in lieu of a degree, six years of 

administrative experience in health or social services, or a 

combination of undergraduate education and experience for a 

total of six years. a bachelor’s degree in a human services 

field or in administration, business, or a related field, and at 

least two years of work experience in a human services agency; 

iv. six years of work experience in a human 

services field or a combination of undergraduate education and 
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work experience in a human services field for a total of six 

years. Fifteen credit hours substitute for 6 months of work 

experience not to exceed 60 credit hours. 

b. Service Plan ManagertThe service plan 

manager shall have a bachelor’s degree in a human service field 

plus a minimum of one year with the relevant population. 

c. Documentation of experience for program 

director and service plan manager shall be verified in writing 

by previous employer.  Documentation of education shall be 

verified by a copy of the individual’s degree or transcript. 

cd. Direct Care Workerthe A direct care 

worker hired on or after August 1, 2016, shall be at least 19 21 

years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalency and 

at least two years post-high school job experience. 

4. Personnel Job Duties 

a. The program director shall be responsible 

for: 

i. implementing and complying with 

policies and procedures adopted by the governing body; 

ii. adhering to all federal and state laws 

and standards pertaining to the operation of the agency; 

iii. addressing areas of non-compliance 

identified by licensing inspections annual survey and 

complaint investigations inspections; 

iv. directing the program; 

v. representing the facility in the 

community; 

vi. delegating appropriate responsibilities 

to other staff including the responsibility of being in charge 

of the facility during their absence; 
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vii. recruiting qualified staff and 

employing, supervising, evaluating, training, and terminating 

employment of staff; 

viii. providing leadership and carrying 

supervisory authority in relation to all departments of the 

facility; 

ix. providing consultation to the governing 

body in carrying out their responsibilities, interpreting to 

them the needs of residents and children of residents, making 

needed policy revision recommendations, and assisting them in 

periodic evaluation of the facility's services; 

x. preparing the annual budget for the 

governing body's consideration, keeping the body informed of 

financial needs, and operating within the established budget; 

xi. supervising the facility's management 

including building, maintenance, and purchasing; 

xii. participating with the governing body 

in interpreting the facility's need for financial support; 

xiii. establishing effective 

communication between staff and residents and children of 

residents and providing for their input into program planning 

and operating procedures; 

xiiiv. reporting injuries, deaths, and 

critical incidents involving residents or children of residents 

to the appropriate authorities; and 

xiv. supervising the performance of all 

persons involved in any service delivery/direct care to 

residents or children of residents.; and 

xvi. completing an annual performance 

evaluation of all staff. For any person who interacts with 

residents, a provider's performance evaluation procedures shall 

address the quality and quantity of their work. 
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b. The service plan manager shall be 

responsible for: 

i. supervision of the implementation of 

the resident's service plan; 

ii. integration of the various aspects of 

the resident's program; 

iii. recording of the resident's progress as 

measured by objective indicators and making appropriate 

changes/modifications; 

iv. reviewing quarterly service plan 

reviews for the successes and failures of the resident's 

program, including the resident's educational program, with 

recommendations for any modifications deemed necessary. 

Designated staff may prepare these reports, but however, the 

service plan manager shall also review, sign, and date the 

reports indicating approval; 

v. signing and dating all appropriate 

documents; 

vi. monitoring that the resident receives 

a periodic review and review every 30 days of the need for 

residential placement and ensuring the timely release, whenever 

appropriate, of the resident to a least restrictive setting; 

monitoring any extraordinary restriction of the resident's 

freedom including use of any form of restraint, any special 

restriction on a resident's communication with others, and any 

behavior management plan; 

vii. asserting and safeguarding the human 

and civil rights of residents, and children of residents, and 

their families and fostering the human dignity and personal 

worth of each resident; 

viii. serving as liaison between the 

resident, provider, family, and community during the resident's 
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admission to and residence in the facility, or while the 

resident is receiving services from the provider in order to: 

(a). assist staff in understanding the 

needs of the resident and his/her family in relation to each 

other; 

(b). assist staff in understanding 

social factors in the resident's day-to-day behavior, including 

staff/resident relationships; 

(c). assist staff in preparing the 

resident for changes in his/her living situation; 

(d). help the family to develop 

constructive and personally meaningful ways to support the 

resident's experience in the facility, through assistance with 

challenges associated with changes in family structure and 

functioning, and referral to specific services, as appropriate; 

(e). help the family to participate in 

planning for the resident's return to home or other community 

placement; and 

(f). ensure that residents receive all 

necessary medical and dental care, if needed; supervise and 

implement the shared responsibility plan regarding resident and 

child of a resident. 

(g). monitor that all residents receive 

timely evaluations for specialized services and timely receipt 

of those specialized services identified. 

c. The direct care worker shall be responsible 

for the daily care and supervision of the resident residents and 

children of residents in the living group to which they are 

assigned which includes: 

i. protecting children’s and residents' 

rights; 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



ii. handling separation anxiety and 

alleviating the stress of a resident or child of a resident in 

crisis; 

iii. modeling appropriate behaviors and 

methods of addressing stressful situations; 

iv. crisis management; 

v. behavior intervention and teaching of 

appropriate alternatives; 

vi. training the resident and child of a 

resident in good habits of personal care, hygiene, eating, and 

social skills; 

vii. protecting the resident and child of a 

resident from harm; 

viii. handling routine problems arising 

within the living group; 

ix. representing adult authority to the 

residents and children of residents in the living group and 

exercising this authority in a mature, firm, compassionate 

manner; 

x. enabling the resident or child of a 

resident to meet his/her daily assignments; 

xi. participating in all staff conferences 

regarding the resident's progress in program evaluation of 

service plan goals and future planning; 

xii. participating in the planning of the 

facility's program and scheduling such program into the 

operation of the living group under his/her supervision; 

xiii. maintaining prescribed logs of all 

important events that occur during his/her tour of duty 

regarding significant information about the performance and 

development of each resident or child of a resident in the 

group; 
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xiv. reporting emergency medical or dental 

care needs to the administrative staff in a timely manner; and 

xv. reporting critical incidents to 

administrative staff in a timely manner.; and 

xvi. completing duties and responsibilities 

as assigned regarding residents and children of residents. 

5. Applicant Screening 

a. The provider's screening procedures shall 

address the prospective employee's qualifications as related to 

the appropriate job description. 

b. Prior to employment, each prospective 

employee shall complete an employment application. The 

application/résumé shall contain complete information about an 

applicant's education, employment history, and criminal 

background, including any arrests or convictions. 

c. Prior to employment, each prospective 

employee shall complete a state central registry disclosure form 

prepared by the department as required in RS 46:1414.1. This 

information shall be reported prior to the individual being on 

the premises of the child residential facility and shall be 

updated annually, at any time upon the request of DCFS, and 

within three business days of any staff receiving notice of a 

justified (valid) determination of child abuse or neglect. 

i. The prospective paid staff (employee) 

shall complete, sign, and date the state central registry 

disclosure form and submit the disclosure form to the owner or 

operator of the facility.  

(a). If a prospective staff (employee) 

discloses that his or her name is currently recorded as a 

perpetrator on the state central registry, the director shall 

inform the applicant they will not be considered for employment 

at that time due to the state central registry disclosure. The 
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director will provide the prospective employee with the risk 

evaluation panel form (SCR 2) so that a risk assessment 

evaluation may be requested. 

(b). Individuals are not eligible for 

employment unless and until they provide written documentation 

from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of Administrative 

Law expressly stating that they do not pose a risk to children. 

ii. Current staff receiving notice of a 

justified (valid) determination of child abuse and/or neglect 

shall complete an updated state central registry disclosure form 

(SCR 1) noting the existence of the justified (valid) 

determination as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This updated SCR 1 

shall be submitted to the Licensing Section management staff 

within three business days or upon being on the child 

residential premises, whichever is sooner. Staff will have ten 

calendar days from completion of the state central registry 

disclosure form to request a risk assessment evaluation in 

accordance with LAC 67:I.305 or shall be terminated immediately.  

(a). If the staff person will no longer 

be employed at the facility, the provider shall submit a signed, 

dated statement indicating that the staff will not be on the 

premises of the facility at any time. 

(b). Immediately upon the receipt of 

the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been issued 

by DCFS and as a condition of continued employment the staff 

person shall be directly supervised by a paid staff (employee) 

of the facility who has not disclosed that their name appears 

with a justified (valid) finding on the state central registry. 

Provider shall submit a written statement to Licensing Section 

management staff acknowledging that the staff is under 

continuous direct supervision by a paid staff who has not 

disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
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finding on the state central registry. When these conditions are 

met, the staff (employee) may be counted in child staff ratio. 

Under no circumstances may the staff person with the justified 

finding be left alone and unsupervised with the children pending 

the disposition by the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law that the staff person does not pose a risk to 

children. 

(c). If the Risk Evaluation Panel finds 

the individual does pose a risk to children/youth/residents and 

the individual chooses not to appeal the finding, the staff 

(employee) shall be terminated immediately.  

(d). If the Risk Evaluation Panel finds 

the individual does pose a risk to children and the 

/residentsindividual appeals the finding to the Division of 

Administrative Law within the required timeframe, the staff 

(employee) shall continue to be under direct supervision at all 

times by another paid employee of the facility who has not 

disclosed that they have a justified finding on the state 

central registry until a ruling is made by the Division of 

Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk to children. 

Supervision may end upon receipt of the ruling from the Division 

of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk to children. 

(e). If the Division of Administrative 

Law upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding that the 

individual does pose a risk to children, the individual shall be 

terminated immediately. 

iii. Any owner, operator, current or 

prospective employee, or volunteer of a child residential 

facility requesting licensure by DCFS and/or a child residential 

facility licensed by DCFS is prohibited from working in a child 

residential facility if the individual discloses, or information 

is known or received by DCFS, that the individual’s name is 
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recorded on the state central registry (SCR) as a perpetrator 

for a justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a child, 

unless there is a finding by the Risk Evaluation Panel or a 

ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the individual 

does not pose a risk to children. 

d. Prior to employment, a Criminal Background 

Check will be conducted in the manner required by RS 15:587.1 

and 46:51.2. 

i. The provider shall have a written 

policy and procedure for obtaining a criminal background check 

on persons as required in R.S. 15:587.1 and 46:51.2. 

ii. No person, having any supervisory or 

other interaction with residents or children, shall be hired or 

on the premises of the facility until such person has submitted 

his or her fingerprints to the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 

Identification and Information and it has been determined that 

such person has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere to 

a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C). This shall include any 

employee or non-employee who performs paid or unpaid work with 

the provider to include independent contractors, consultants, 

students, volunteers, trainees, or any other associated person, 

as defined in these rules. 

iii. Contractors hired to perform work which 

does not involve any contact with residents shall not be 

required to have a criminal background check if accompanied at 

all times by a staff person if residents  are present in the 

facility. 

iv. Any employee who is convicted of or has 

pled nolo contendere to any crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) 

shall not continue employment after such conviction or nolo 

contendere plea. 

6. Health Screening 
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a. Upon offer of employment, all staff shall be 

required to obtain a statement of good health signed by a 

physician or physician's designee. A statement of good health 

dated within three months prior to offer of employment or within 

one month after date of employment is acceptable. A health 

statement is required every three years. 

b. All persons prior to or at time of 

employment shall be free of tuberculosis in a communicable state 

as evidenced by: 

i. a negative Mantoux skin test for 

tuberculosis; 

ii. a normal chest X-ray if the 

aforementioned skin test is positive; or 

iii. a statement from a licensed physician 

certifying that the individual is non-infectious if the chest X-

ray is other than normal. 

c. Any employee who has a positive Mantoux skin 

test for TB, in order to remain employed, shall complete an 

adequate course of therapy as prescribed by a licensed physician 

or shall present a signed statement from a licensed physician 

stating that therapy is not indicated. 

5. Contractors 

a. Contractors hired to perform work which does 

not involve any contact with residents or children of residents, 

shall not be required to have a criminal background check if 

accompanied at all times by a staff person when residents or 

children of residents are present in the facility. 

b. Contractors hired to perform work which 

involves contact with residents or children of residents, shall 

be required to have documentation of a fingerprint based 

satisfactory criminal background check from Louisiana State 

Police as required by R.S. 15:587.1 and R.S. 46:51.2. This check 
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shall be obtained prior to the individual being present in the 

facility or having access to the residents or children of 

residents. No person who has been convicted of, or pled guilty 

or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 

shall be hired by or present in any capacity in the facility. 

Effective August 1, 2016, criminal background checks (CBC) shall 

be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual being present 

in the facility or having access to the residents or children of 

residents. If an individual has previously obtained a certified 

copy of their criminal background check from the Louisiana 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 

Louisiana State Police, such certified copy shall be acceptable 

as meeting the CBC requirements. If a contract staff obtains a 

certified copy of their criminal background check from the 

Louisiana State Police, this criminal background check shall be 

accepted for a period of one year from the date of issuance of 

the certified copy. This certified copy shall be kept on file at 

the facility. Prior to the one-year expiration of the certified 

criminal background check, a new fingerprint-based satisfactory 

criminal background check shall be obtained from Louisiana State 

Police. If the clearance is not obtained prior to the one-year 

expiration of the certified criminal background check, the 

contract staff is no longer allowed on the premises until a 

clearance is received.  

c. Contractors hired to perform work which 

involves contact with residents or children of residents, shall 

be required to have documentation of a state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This 

information shall be reported prior to the individual being on 

the premises of the facility and shall be updated annually, at 

any time upon the request of DCFS, and within three business 

days of the individual receiving notice of a justified (valid) 
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determination of child abuse or neglect. All requirements in 

§7111.B.2.x.(a-c) shall be followed. 

6. Post Licensing Information 

a. Providers shall advise residents of the 

licensing authority of DCFS and that residents may contact the 

Licensing Section with any unresolved complaints.  Providers 

shall post the current telephone number, email address, and 

mailing address in an area regularly utilized by residents.  

7. Orientation 

a. All staff hired effective August 1, 2016 or 

after, shall complete the DCFS “mandated reporter training” 

available at dcfs.la.gov within five working days of the staff’s 

date of hire and prior to having sole responsibility for 

residents or children of residents. Documentation of completion 

shall be the certificate obtained upon completion of the 

training. 

a. The provider's orientation program shall 

include the following topics for all staff within 15 working 

days of the date of employment: 

i. philosophy, organization, program, 

practices and goals of the provider; 

ii. specific responsibilities of assigned 

job duties; 

iii. administrative procedures; 

iv. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

v. resident rights; 

vi. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

vii. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

viii. confidentiality; and 
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ix. reporting and documenting incidents. 

b. The provider's orientation program shall 

provide a minimum of 24 hours of training in the following 

topics for all direct care staff within one week of 

the staff’s date of employment hire and prior to having sole 

responsibility for residents or children of residents: 

i. philosophy, organization, program, and 

practices of the provider; 

ii. specific responsibilities of assigned 

job duties with regard to residents and children of residents; 

iii. administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

iv. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

v. resident rights; 

vi. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

vii. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

viii. confidentiality;  

ix. reporting and documenting incidents; 

x. LGTBQ issues; 

xi. implementation of service plans to 

include a behavior plan, when clinically indicated; 

xii. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; staff and resident grievance 

procedure; 

xiii. detecting and reporting suspected 

abuse and neglect; rights and responsibilities of residents who 

have children residing in the facility; 
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xiv. resident rights; responsibility of 

staff with regard to children of residents residing in the 

facility; 

xv. reporting incidents; transportation 

regulations, including modeling of how to properly conduct a 

visual check of the vehicle and demonstration by staff to 

program director on how to conduct a visual check; 

xvi. confidentiality; the proper use of 

child safety restraints required by these regulations and state 

law (See reference sheet for training resources); 

xvii. health practices; recognizing 

mental health concerns; 

xviii. detecting signs of illness or 

dysfunction that warrant medical or nursing intervention; 

xix. basic skills required to meet the 

dental and health needs and problems of the residents and 

children of residents; 

xx. prohibited practices; 

xxi. behavior management 

techniques, interventions to include crisis de-escalation and 

the management of aggressive behavior including acceptable and 

prohibited practices;. No staff member shall be left 

unsupervised with residents until he/she has completed all 

required training; 

xxii. use of time-out, personal 

restraints, and seclusion that is to include a practice element 

in the chosen method performed by a certified trainer for direct 

care staff; No staff member shall be left unsupervised with 

residents until he/she has completed all required training; 

xxiii. safe self-administration and 

handling of all medications including psychotropic drugs, 

dosages, and side effects; 
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xiv. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

xvxxiv. working with people with 

disabilities, attending to the needs of such residents and 

children of residents in care, including interaction with family 

members with disabilities; and 

xvixxv. use of specialized services 

identified in provider services section §7117 of this Subpart. 

c. The provider shall maintain sufficient 

information to determine content of training noted in section 

7111.A.7.b.i-xxv. This information shall be available for 

review. All staff shall sign a statement of understanding 

certifying that such training has occurred. 

d. Documentation of the orientation training 

shall consist of a statement/checklist in the staff record 

signed and dated by the staff person and program director or 

service plan manager, attesting to having received the 

applicable orientation training and the dates of the orientation 

training. No staff member shall be left unsupervised with 

residents until he/she has completed all required training. 

e. Effective August 1, 2016, staff in 

facilities licensed to care for children under age two years or 

facilities providing services for children of residents shall 

complete the “Reducing the Risk of SIDS in Early Education and 

Child Care” training available at www.pedialink.org. 

Documentation of completion shall be the certificate obtained 

upon completion of the training. 

cf.  All new direct care staff shall receive 

certification in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and 

first aid within 45 days of employment. Effective August 1, 

2016, if residents or children of residents under the age of 10 

are accepted into the program, then staff shall also obtain a 
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certificate in infant/child CPR. No staff member shall be left 

unsupervised with residents or children of residents until 

he/she has completed all required training. CPR and first aid 

shall be updated prior to the expiration of the certification as 

indicated by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 

or equivalent organization. Online only training is not 

acceptable. 

8. Annual Training 

a. The provider shall ensure that all staff 

receives training on an annual basis in the following topics: 

i. administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

ii. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

iii. resident rights; 

iv. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

v. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

vi. confidentiality; and 

vii. reporting and documenting incidents.; 

viii. specific responsibilities of 

assigned job duties with regard to residents and children of 

residents. 

b. Direct care staff shall receive annual 

training to include but not be limited to the following topics: 

ix. implementation of service plans to 

include a behavior plan when clinically indicated; 

ii. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

iii. resident rights; 
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ivx. reporting incidents; staff and resident 

grievance procedure; 

vxi. prohibited practices; 

vi. health practices; 

vxii. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; recognizing mental health 

concerns; 

vxiii. detecting signs of illness or 

dysfunction that warrant medical or nursing intervention; 

ixiv. basic skills required to meet the 

dental and health needs and problems of the residents and 

children of residents; 

xv. behavior management 

techniques interventions to include crisis de-escalation and the 

management of aggressive behavior including acceptable and 

prohibited responses practices; 

xvi. use of time-out, personal restraints, 

and, seclusion which is to include a practice element in the 

chosen method performed by a certified trainer for direct care 

staff; 

xvii. safe self-administration and 

handling of all medication including psychotropic drugs, 

dosages, and side effects; 

xviii. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; rights and responsibilities of residents who 

have children residing in the facility; 

xixv. confidentiality; responsibility of 

staff with regard to children of residents residing in the 

facility; 

xxv. working with people with disabilities, 

attending to the needs of such residents and children of 
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residents in care, including interaction with family members 

with disabilities; 

xvxi. use of specialized services 

identified in Provider Services Section §7117 of this Subpart; 

and 

xvxii. educational rights to include IDEA 

and section 504 accommodation LGBTQ issues. 

xxiii. transportation regulations, 

including modeling of how to properly conduct a visual check of 

the vehicle and demonstration by staff to program director on 

how to conduct a visual check; 

xiv. the proper use of child safety 

restraints required by these regulations and state law (see 

reference sheet for training resources); 

c. All direct care staff shall have 

documentation of current certification in CPR and First Aid.  

db. All staff shall sign a statement of 

understanding certifying that such training has occurred. 

Documentation of annual training shall consist of a 

statement/checklist in the staff record signed and dated by the 

staff person and program director, attesting to having received 

the applicable annual training and the dates of the training. 

ec. The provider shall maintain sufficient 

information available to determine content of training. This 

information shall be available for review. 

d. All direct care staff shall have 

documentation of current certification in adult CPR and first 

aid. Effective August 1, 2016, if residents or children of 

residents under the age of 10 are accepted into the program, 

then staff shall also obtain a certificate in infant/child CPR. 

No staff member shall be left unsupervised with residents or 
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children of residents until he/she has completed all required 

training. 

e. Effective August 1, 2016, all staff 

currently employed shall complete the DCFS “mandated reporter 

training” available at dcfs.la.gov within 45 days and shall be 

updated annually. Documentation of completion shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. 

f. Staff in facilities licensed to care for 

children under age two years or facilities providing services 

for children of residents shall annually complete the “Reducing 

the Risk of SIDS in Early Education and Child Care” training 

available at www.pedialink.org. Documentation of completion 

shall be the certificate obtained upon completion of the 

training. 

9. Staffing and Supervision Requirements  

a. The provider shall ensure that an adequate 

number of qualified direct care staff is are present with the 

residents and children of residents as necessary to ensure the 

health, safety and well-being of residents and children of 

residents. Staff coverage shall be maintained in consideration 

of the time of day, the size and nature of the provider, the 

ages and needs of the residents and children of residents, and 

shall assure the continual safety, protection, direct care, and 

supervision of residents and children of residents. In addition 

to the required number of direct care staff, the provider shall 

employ a sufficient number of maintenance, housekeeping, 

administrative, support, and management staff to ensure that 

direct care staff can provide direct care services. 

i. The provider shall have at least one 

adult staff present for every six residents when residents are 

present and awake. Providers of individual services (therapists, 

tutors, etc.) shall not be included in this ratio while 
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providing said individualized services to a specific resident or 

residents. Management or other administrative staff can be 

included in this ratio only if they are exclusively engaged in 

providing direct supervision of the children. In addition, there 

shall be one additional staff person for every six children of 

residents present. There shall always be a minimum of two staff 

present when children of residents are on the premises. 

ii. The provider shall have at least one1 

adult staff present and awake for every 12 residents when 

residents are present and participating in rest 

time. asleep. Between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m., the ratio of 1 

staff to every 12 residents is acceptable only if the residents 

are in their assigned bedrooms and participating in rest time. 

In addition, there shall be 1 additional staff person for every 

6 children of residents present. There shall always be a minimum 

of 2 staff present when children of residents are on the 

premises, regardless of the number of children of residents 

present. In addition to required staff, at least one staff 

person shall be on call in case of emergency. Providers of 

individual services (therapists, tutors, etc.) shall not be 

included in this ratio while providing said individualized 

services to a specific resident or residents. Management or 

other administrative staff can be included in this ratio only if 

they are exclusively engaged in providing direct supervision of 

the children. 

iii. In addition to required staff, at least 

one staff person shall be on call in case of emergency.  

iv. Independent contractors (therapists, 

tutors, etc.) shall not be included in ratio while providing 

said individualized services to a specific resident(s) or 

child(ren) of resident(s). 
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v. Management or other administrative 

staff may be included in ratio only if they are exclusively 

engaged in providing supervision of the residents or direct 

supervision of the children of residents. 

vi. Staff are allowed to sleep, during 

nighttime hours, only if the following are met: 

(a). There is a functional security 

system monitored by an alarm company. Alarms shall be placed on 

all windows and exterior doors. The security system shall be 

enabled during nighttime hours and anytime that the staff/house 

parents are sleeping. Residents shall not be given the security 

system code. 

(b). There shall be a functional 

monitoring system on all interior resident and children of 

resident bedroom doors. 

iiivii. When residents or children of 

residents are away from at school, work, or recreation outside 

the facility, the provider  staff shall be available and 

accessible to the residents and children of residents have a 

plan ensuring the availability and accessibility of direct care 

staff to handle emergencies or perform other necessary direct 

care functions. 

ivviii. The provider utilizing live-in 

staff shall have sufficient relief staff to ensure adequate off 

duty time for live-in staff. 

vix Six or more residents under two years 

of age shall have an additional direct care worker on duty when 

the residents are present to provide a staff ratio of one staff 

per every six residents under age two, in addition to staff 

noted in §7111.A.9.a.i. 
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x. The provider shall not contract with 

outside sources for any direct care staff, including one-on-one 

trainers or attendants. 

xi. Staff shall be assigned to supervise 

residents and children of residents whose names and whereabouts 

that staff person shall know. 

xii. When the resident is at the facility 

with her child, she is responsible for the care and supervision 

of her own child when not engaged in services or other 

activities. Staff shall be present and available as a resource 

and to lend support and guidance to the resident. 

xiii. During nighttime hours, staff 

shall participate in the individual care of a resident and/or 

assisting a resident in the care of her child. 

(a). In bedrooms where a child of a 

resident resides with their parent, an auditory device shall be 

required to enable staff to provide assistance to the resident 

in the care of her child. The monitor shall have an on/off 

feature which is controlled by the resident, or the devise shall 

be placed in the resident’s room during nighttime hours and 

removed in the morning allowing the resident privacy. 

xiv. Children of residents shall be directly 

supervised by staff on the playground, in vehicles, and while 

away from the facility; unless the child is accompanied by their 

own parent. 

xv. Staff shall actively and directly 

supervise residents and/or children of residents engaged in 

water activities and shall be able to see all parts of the 

swimming pool, including the bottom. 

10. Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard 

a. The provider shall designate in writing at 

least one on-site staff person as the authorized representative 
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to apply the reasonable and prudent parent standard to decisions 

involving the participation of a child of a resident who is in 

foster care or a resident who is in foster care and placed in 

the facility in age or developmentally appropriate activities. 

The staff person(s) designated as the authorized representative 

shall be at the licensed location at all times during the 

facility’s hours of operation. The Licensing Section shall be 

notified in writing within five calendar days if there is a 

change to one of the designated representatives. 

b. The authorized representative shall utilize 

the reasonable and prudent parent standard when making any 

decision involving the participation of a child of a 

resident who is in foster care or a resident who is in foster 

care and placed in the facility in age or developmentally 

appropriate activities.  

c. The authorized representative shall receive 

training or training materials shall be provided on the use of 

the reasonable and prudent parent standard within one week of 

hire and prior to having responsibility for residents or 

children of residents and updated annually. Documentation of the 

reasonable and prudent parent training shall be maintained. The 

reasonable and prudent parent training or training materials, as 

developed or approved by DCFS, shall include, but is not limited 

to the following topic areas: 

i. age- or developmentally-appropriate 

activities or items; 

ii. reasonable and prudent parent standard; 

iii. role of the provider and of DCFS; and 

iv. allowing for normalcy for the resident 

or child of a resident while respecting the parent’s residual 

rights. 

B. Record Keeping 
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1. Administrative File 

a. The provider shall have an administrative 

file that shall contain, at a minimum, the following: 

i. a written program plan describing the 

services and programs offered by the provider; 

ii. organizational chart of the provider; 

iii. all leases, contracts, and purchase-of-

service agreements to which the provider is a party; 

iv. insurance policies. Every provider 

shall maintain in force at all times a current comprehensive 

general liability insurance policy, property insurance, and 

insurance for all vehicles used to transport residents or 

children of residents. This policy shall be in addition to any 

professional liability policies maintained by the provider and 

shall extend coverage to any staff member who provides 

transportation for any resident or child of a resident in the 

course and scope of his/her employment;  

v. all written agreements with 

appropriately qualified professionals, or a state agency, for 

required professional services or resources not available from 

employees of the provider;. 

vi. written documentation of all residents’ 

exits and entrances from facility property not covered under 

summary of attendance and leave. Documentation must include, at 

a minimum, date, time, and destination, name of person with whom 

resident leaves premises. The provider shall not contract with 

outside sources for any direct care staff, including one-on-one 

trainers or attendants.  

2. Personnel Staff File  

a. The provider shall have a personnel file for 

each staff employee that shall contain, at a minimum, the 

following: 
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i. the application for employment, 

including the resume of education, training, and experience, if 

applicable; 

ii. a criminal background check in 

accordance with state law:; 

(a). prior to employment, a Louisiana 

State Police fingerprint based criminal background check shall 

be conducted in the manner required by R.S. 15:587.1 and 

46:51.2. Effective August 1, 2016, criminal background checks 

(CBC) shall be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual 

being present in the facility or having access to the residents 

or children of residents. If an individual has previously 

obtained a certified copy of their criminal background check 

from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and 

Information Section of the Louisiana State Police, such 

certified copy shall be acceptable as meeting the CBC 

requirements. This certified copy of the criminal background 

check shall be accepted for a period of one year from the date 

of issuance of the certified copy. This certified copy shall be 

kept on file at the facility. Prior to the one-year expiration 

of the certified criminal background check, a new fingerprint-

based satisfactory criminal background check shall be obtained 

from Louisiana State Police. If the clearance is not obtained 

prior to the one-year expiration of the certified criminal 

background check, the staff is no longer allowed on the premises 

until a clearance is received. 

(b). no person, having any supervisory 

or other interaction with residents or children of residents, 

shall be hired or on the premises of the facility until such 

person has submitted his or her fingerprints to the Louisiana 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information and it has 
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been determined that such person has not been convicted of or 

pled nolo contendere to a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C). 

(c). any employee who is convicted of 

or has pled nolo contendere to any crime listed in R.S. 

15:587.1(C) shall not continue employment after such conviction 

or nolo contendere plea. 

iii. evidence of applicable professional or 

paraprofessional credentials/certifications according to state 

law; 

iv. documentation of any state or federally 

required medical examinations or testing written job description 

signed and dated by individual staff; 

v. documentation of employee's orientation 

and annual training received three signed and dated reference 

checks or telephone notes dated within three months prior to 

hire attesting affirmatively to the individual’s character, 

qualifications, and suitability for the position assigned. 

References shall be obtained from individuals not related to the 

staff person;  

vi. staff’s employee's hire and termination 

dates; 

vii. documentation of current driver's 

license for operating provider or private vehicles in 

transporting residents or children of residents; 

viii. annual performance 

evaluations addressing the quality of work to 

include his/her staff person’s interaction with residents and 

children of residents, family, and other providers. The 

evaluations are completed by the program director and signed and 

dated by program director and staff; 
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ix. personnel action, other appropriate 

materials, reports, and notes relating to 

the individual's staff’s employment with the facility; 

x. annual state central registry 

disclosure forms (SCR 1) noting prepared by the department 

whether or not his/her name is currently recorded on the state 

central registry for a justified finding of abuse or neglect and 

he/she is the named perpetrator. 

(a). Prior to employment, each 

prospective employee shall complete a state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) as required in RS 46:1414.1. SCR-1 forms 

shall be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual being 

present in the facility or having access to the residents or 

children of residents. This information shall be reported prior 

to the individual being on the premises of the facility and 

shall be updated annually, at any time upon the request of DCFS, 

and within three business days of any staff receiving notice of 

a justified (valid) determination of child abuse or neglect. 

(i). The prospective paid staff 

(employee) shall complete, sign, and date the state central 

registry disclosure form and submit the disclosure form to the 

owner of the facility.  

(ii). If a prospective staff 

(employee) discloses that his or her name is currently recorded 

as a perpetrator on the state central registry, the director 

shall inform the applicant they will not be considered for 

employment at that time due to the state central registry 

disclosure. The director will provide the prospective employee 

with the risk evaluation panel form (SCR 2) so that a risk 

assessment evaluation may be requested. 

(iii). Individuals are not 

eligible for employment unless and until they provide written 
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documentation from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law expressly stating that they do not pose a 

risk to children/youth/residents. 

(b). Current staff receiving notice of 

a justified (valid) determination of child abuse and/or neglect 

shall complete an updated state central registry disclosure form 

(SCR 1) noting the existence of the justified (valid) 

determination as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This updated SCR 1 

shall be submitted to the Licensing Section management staff 

within three business days or upon being on the premises, 

whichever is sooner. Staff will have 10 calendar days from 

completion of the state central registry disclosure form to 

request a risk assessment evaluation on an SCR 2 form in 

accordance with LAC 67:I.305 or shall be terminated immediately.  

(i). If the staff person will no 

longer be employed at the facility, the provider shall submit a 

signed, dated statement indicating that the staff will not be on 

the premises of the facility at any time. 

(ii). Immediately upon the 

receipt of the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has 

been issued by DCFS and as a condition of continued employment 

the staff person shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 

(employee) of the facility who has not disclosed that their name 

appears with a justified (valid) finding on the state central 

registry. Provider shall submit a written statement to Licensing 

Section management staff acknowledging that the staff is under 

continuous direct supervision by a paid staff who has not 

disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 

finding on the state central registry. When these conditions are 

met, the staff (employee) may be counted in ratio. Under no 

circumstances may the staff person with the justified finding be 

left alone and unsupervised with the residents or children of 
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residents pending the disposition by the Risk Evaluation Panel 

or the Division of Administrative Law that the staff person does 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. 

(iii). If the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual chooses not to 

appeal the finding, the staff (employee) shall be terminated 

immediately.  

(iv). If the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual appeals the finding 

to the Division of Administrative Law within the required 

timeframe, the staff (employee) shall continue to be under 

direct supervision at all times by another paid employee of the 

facility who has not disclosed that they have a justified 

finding on the state central registry until a ruling is made by 

the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk 

to children/youth/residents. Supervision may end upon receipt of 

the ruling from the Division of Administrative Law that they do 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. 

(v). If the Division of 

Administrative Law upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding 

that the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents, the individual shall be terminated 

immediately. 

(c). Any owner, current or prospective 

employee, or volunteer of a facility requesting licensure by 

DCFS and/or a facility licensed by DCFS is prohibited from 

working in a facility if the individual discloses, or 

information is known or received by DCFS, that the individual’s 

name is recorded on the state central registry (SCR) as a 

perpetrator for a justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect 
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of a child, unless there is a finding by the Risk Evaluation 

Panel or a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 

individual does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. 

b. Staff shall have reasonable access to 

his/her file and shall be allowed to add any written statement 

he/she wishes to make to the file at any time. 

c. The personnel file of staff shall be 

retained for at least three years after termination of 

employment. 

3. Accounting File Records 

a. The provider shall establish a system of 

business management and staffing to assure maintenance of 

complete and accurate accounts, books and records. 

ba. The provider shall ensure that all entries 

in records are legible, signed by the person making the entry, 

and accompanied by the date on which the entry was made. 

cb. All records shall be maintained in an 

accessible, standardized order and format, and shall be retained 

and disposed of according to state and federal law. 

dc. The provider shall have sufficient space, 

facilities, and supplies for providing effective accounting 

record keeping services. 

4. Resident Record 

a. Active Record. The provider shall maintain a 

separate active record for each resident and child of a 

resident. The records shall be maintained in an accessible, 

standardized order and format. The records shall be current and 

complete and shall be maintained in the facility in which the 

resident and child of a resident resides and readily available 

to facility staff. The provider shall have sufficient space, 

facilities, and supplies for providing effective storage of 
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records. The records shall be available for inspection by the 

department.  

b. Each resident’s record shall contain at 

least the following information: 

i. resident's name, date of birth, Social 

Security number, previous home address;, sex, religion, and 

birthplace of the resident; 

ii. dates of admission and discharge; 

iii. other identification data including 

documentation of court status, legal status or legal custody and 

who is authorized to give consents; 

iv. for residents placed from other states, 

proof of compliance with the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, 

the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, and the 

Interstate Compact on Mental Health, when indicated. Proof of 

compliance shall include clearance letters from the compact 

officers of each state involved; 

v. name, address, and telephone number of 

the legal guardian(s), and parent(s), if appropriate; 

vi. name, address, and telephone number of 

a physician and dentist to be called in an emergency; 

vii. resident's authorization for routine 

and emergency medical care; 

viii. the pre-admission assessment 

screening and admission assessment. If the resident was admitted 

as an emergency admission, a copy of the emergency admission 

note shall be included as well; 

ix. resident's history including family 

data, educational background, employment record, prior medical 

history, and prior placement history; 

x. a copy of the physical assessment 

report; 
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xi. reports of assessments and of any 

special problems or precautions; 

xii. individual service plan, updates, and 

quarterly reviews; 

xiii. continuing record of any illness, 

injury, or medical or dental care when it impacts the resident's 

ability to function or impacts the services he or she needs; 

xiv. reports of any incidents of abuse, 

neglect, or incidents, including use of time-out, personal 

restraints, or seclusion; 

xv. a summary of attendance and leaves from 

the provider photo of resident updated at least annually;  

xvi. a summary of court visits; 

xvii. a summary of all visitors and 

contacts including dates, name, relationship, telephone number, 

address, the nature of such visits/contacts, and feedback, if 

indicated from the family; 

xviii. a record of all personal property 

and funds, which the resident has entrusted to the facility;  

xix. reports of any resident grievances and 

the conclusion or disposition of these reports; 

xx. written acknowledgment that the 

resident has received clear verbal explanation and copies of 

his/her rights, the house rules, written procedures for 

safekeeping of his/her valuable personal possessions, written 

statement explaining the his/her rights regarding personal 

funds, and the right to examine his/her record; 

xxi. all signed informed consents; and 

xxii. immunization record within 30 

calendar days of admission; and 

xxiii. a discharge summary. 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



c. Each child of a resident’s record shall 

contain at least the following information: 

i. child's information form signed and 

dated by the legal guardian and updated as changes occur, 

listing: 

(a). the child’s name, date of birth, 

sex, date of admission; 

(b). name of parent(s) and legal 

guardian; 

(c). name and telephone number of 

child’s physician; 

(d). name and telephone number of the 

child’s dentist (if applicable); 

(e). any special concerns, including 

but not limited to allergies, chronic illness, and any special 

needs of the child (if applicable); 

(f). any special dietary needs, 

restrictions, or food allergies/intolerances (if applicable); 

(g). name and telephone number of 

child’s caseworker (if applicable); and 

(h). written authorization to care for 

child from legal guardian. 

ii. For residents that retain custody of 

their children, a written authorization signed and dated by the 

resident to secure emergency medical treatment in the event the 

child of the resident is left in the care of staff. 

iii. For residents that retain custody of 

their children, a written authorization signed and dated by the 

resident noting the first and last names of individuals to whom 

the child of the resident may be released, including child care 

facilities, transportation services, or any person or persons 

who remove the child of the resident from the facility. 
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(a). The provider shall verify the 

identity of the authorized person prior to releasing the child 

of a resident. 

d. For residents that retain custody of their 

children, the provider shall obtain written, informed consent 

from the resident prior to releasing any information, 

recordings, or photographs from which the child might be 

identified, except for authorized state and federal agencies. 

This one time written consent shall be obtained from the 

resident and updated as changes occur. 

e. Provider shall have a signed and dated 

shared responsibility plan between the resident and provider 

detailing how they will share the responsibilities of meeting 

the child of the resident’s daily needs to include, but not 

limited to, who will care for the child at certain times and 

days of the week, who is responsible for supervising, feeding, 

changing, bathing, tending to the developmental needs of the 

child, and purchasing items for the child. 

f. If the resident does not retain custody of 

her child, the provider shall have a written individual child 

care agreement for each child with the person or agency holding 

custody of the child. 

g. If the resident retains custody of her 

child, the provider shall obtain written authorization signed 

and dated by the resident to transport her child on a regular 

basis. Authorization shall include (if staff transports without 

resident): 

i. name of child;  

ii. type of service (to and from home, and 

to and from school to include the name of the school); and 

iii. names of individuals or school to whom 

the child may be released. 
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5. Staff Communication 

a. The provider shall establish and follow 

procedures to assure adequate communication among staff to 

provide continuity of services to the residents and children of 

residents. This system of communication shall include recording 

and sharing of daily information noting unusual circumstances, 

individual and group problems of residents and children of 

residents, and other information requiring continued action by 

staff. Documentation shall be legible, signed, and dated by 

staff.  

b. A daily log/record for all children of 

residents, to include first and last name and in/out times shall 

be maintained. This record shall accurately reflect all children 

of residents on the premises at any given time. 

bC. Confidentiality and Retention of Resident Records 

i1. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures for the maintenance, security and retention of 

records. The provider shall specify who shall supervise the 

maintenance of records, who shall have custody of records, and 

to whom records may be released, and disposition or destruction 

of closed service record materials. Records shall be the 

property of the provider, and the provider, as custodian, shall 

secure records against loss, tampering, or unauthorized use or 

access. 

ii2. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality 

of all residents’ records to include all court related 

documents, as well as, educational and medical records. Every 

employee of the provider has the obligation to maintain the 

privacy of the resident, child of a resident, and his/her family 

and shall not disclose or knowingly permit the disclosure of any 

information concerning the resident, child of a resident or 

his/her family, directly or indirectly, to other residents or 
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children of residents in the facility or any other unauthorized 

person. 

iii3. When the resident is of majority age and not 

interdicted, a provider shall obtain the resident's written, 

informed permission prior to releasing any information from 

which the resident or his/her family might be identified, except 

for authorized state and federal agencies. 

iv4. When the resident is a minor or is interdicted, 

the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from the 

legal guardian(s) prior to releasing any information from which 

the resident might be identified, except for accreditation teams 

and authorized state and federal agencies. 

5. When the resident retains custody of her child 

the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from the 

resident prior to releasing any information from which the 

resident might be identified, except for accreditation teams and 

authorized state and federal agencies. 

6. When the resident does not retain custody of her 

child, the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from 

the legal guardian(s) prior to releasing any information from 

which the child might be identified, except for accreditation 

teams and authorized state and federal agencies. 

v7. The provider shall, upon written authorization 

from the resident or his/her legal guardian(s), make available 

information in the record to the resident, his/her counsel or 

the resident's legal guardian(s). If, in the professional 

judgment of the administration of the provider, it is felt that 

information contained in the record would be injurious to the 

health or welfare of the resident, the provider may deny access 

to the record. In any such case, the provider shall prepare 

written reasons for denial to the person requesting the record 
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and shall maintain detailed written reasons supporting the 

denial in the resident's file. 

vi8. The provider may use material from the 

residents’ or children of a residents’ records for teaching and 

research purposes, development of the governing body's 

understanding, and knowledge of the provider's services, or 

similar educational purposes, provided names are deleted, other 

identifying information are disguised or deleted, and written 

authorization is obtained from the resident or his/her legal 

guardian(s).  

vii. All records shall be retained and 

disposed of in accordance with state and federal laws. 

viii. The facility must maintain the 

original records in an accessible manner for a period of five 

years following the death or discharge of a resident.  

ix. In the event of a change of ownership, 

the resident records shall remain with the facility.  

x. If the facility closes, the owner of 

the facility within the state of Louisiana shall store the 

resident records for five years.  

xi. The provider is responsible for 

training all staff at least annually in confidentiality of 

information and records.  

5. Staff Communication. 

The provider shall establish procedures to assure 

adequate communication among staff to provide continuity of 

services to the resident. This system of communication shall 

include recording and sharing of daily information noting 

unusual circumstances, individual and group problems of 

residents, and other information requiring continued action by 

staff. Documentation shall be legible, signed, and dated by 

staff.  
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CD. Incidents 

1. Critical Incidents. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures for documenting, reporting, 

investigating, and analyzing all critical incidents. 

a. The provider shall report any of the 

following critical incidents to the Louisiana Child Protection 

Statewide Centralized Intake Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-

5437), resident’s or child of a resident’s assigned caseworker, 

and the Licensing Section as noted in subpart D.1.b below: Child 

Protection Unit located in the parish in which the facility is 

located. The Child Protection Unit shall be responsible for 

notifying the OCS Residential Licensing unit, when it is 

identified that a potential non-compliance of a licensing 

standard has occurred:  

i. abuse; 

ii. neglect; 

iii. injuries of unknown origin; or 

iv. death.; 

b. The provider shall report any of the 

following critical incidents to the OCS residential licensing  

unit: 

iv. attempted suicide; 

iivi. serious threat or injury to 

the resident's health, safety, or well-being of the resident or 

child of a resident, i.e., elopement or unexplained absence of a 

resident or child of a resident; 

iiivii. injury with substantial bodily 

harm while in seclusion or during use of personal restraint; or 

ivviii. unplanned 

hospitalizations, emergency room visits, and emergency urgent 

care visits. 

cb. The program director or designee shall: 
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i. immediately verbally notify the legal 

guardian of the incident; 

ii. immediately verbally notify the 

appropriate law enforcement authority and Louisiana Child 

Protection Statewide Centralized Intake Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS 

in accordance with state law; 

iii. submit the mandated a written critical 

incident report form within 24 hours of the incident 

to Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Centralized Intake 

Hotline and Licensing Section the appropriate unit as identified 

above based on the type of critical incident; 

iv. submit a final written report of the 

incident, if indicated, to the appropriate unit identified above 

base on the type of critical incident as soon as possible but no 

later than five working days; 

iv. if requested, submit a final written 

report of the incident to the legal guardian as soon as 

possible, but no later than five working days of the 

incident; and 

vi. conduct an analysis of the incident and 

take appropriate corrective steps to prevent future incidents 

from occurring; 

vii. maintain copies of any written reports 

or notifications in the resident's or child of a resident’s 

record.; 

vii. ensure that a staff person accompanies 

residents and children of residents when emergency services are 

needed. 

2. Other Incidents. The provider shall have and 

adhere to written policies and procedures for documenting, 

reporting, investigating, and analyzing all documenting, 

reporting, investigating and analyzing all other accidents, 
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incidents, and other situations or circumstances affecting the 

health, safety, or well-being of a resident or residents child 

of a resident. 

a. The provider shall initiate a detailed 

report of any other unplanned event or series of unplanned 

events, accidents, incidents, and other situations or 

circumstances affecting the health, safety, or well-being of a 

resident or residents child of a resident excluding those 

identified in Subparagraph CD.1.a of this Section above within 

24 hours of the incident. At a minimum, the incident report 

shall contain the following: 

i. date and time the incident occurred; 

ii. a brief description of the incident; 

iii. where the incident occurred; 

iv. any resident or staff involved in the 

incident; 

v. immediate treatment provided, if any; 

vi. symptoms of pain and injury discussed 

with the physician; 

vii. signature of the staff completing the 

report; 

viii. name and address of witnesses; 

ix. date and time the legal guardian was 

notified; 

x. any follow-up required; 

xi. preventive actions to be taken in the 

future; and 

xii. any documentation of supervisory and 

administrative reviews. 

b. A copy of all written reports shall be 

maintained in the resident’s record. 
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3. When a child of a resident residing in the 

facility with their parent, sustains any of the following, the 

resident shall be immediately notified:  

a. blood not contained in an adhesive strip; 

b. injury of the neck and head; 

c. eye injury; 

d. human bite which breaks the skin; 

e. any animal bite; 

f. an impaled object; 

g. broken or dislodged teeth;  

h. allergic reaction skin changes (e.g. rash, 

spots, swelling, etc.); 

i. unusual breathing; 

j. symptoms of dehydration; 

k. any temperature reading over 101 oral, 102 

rectal, or 100 axillary; or 

l. any injury or illness requiring professional 

medical attention. 

4. The provider shall not delay seeking care for a 

resident or child of a resident while attempting to make contact 

with the resident or legal guardian in a situation which 

requires emergency medical attention. 

5. At a minimum, the incident report for critical 

and other incidents shall contain the following: 

a. date and time the incident occurred; 

b. a brief description of the incident; 

c. where the incident occurred; 

d. names of residents, children of residents, 

or staff involved in the incident; 

e. immediate treatment provided, if any; 

f. symptoms of pain and injury discussed with 

the physician; 
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g. date and signature of the staff completing 

the report; 

h. name and address of witnesses; 

i. date and time the legal guardian, child 

welfare, licensing, and law enforcement (if applicable) was 

notified; 

j. any follow-up required; 

k. preventive actions to be taken in the 

future; and 

l. documentation of actions regarding staff 

involved to include corrective action. 

6. A copy of all written reports shall be maintained 

in the resident’s or child of a resident’s record. 

DE. Abuse and Neglect 

1. The provider shall establish and follow a 

written, abuse/neglect policy that includes the following 

information: The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for detecting and reporting suspected abuse or neglect 

that: 

a. describes communication strategies used by 

the provider to maintain staff awareness of abuse prevention, 

current definitions of abuse and neglect, mandated reporting 

requirements to the Louisiana child protection agency Statewide 

Centralized Intake Hotline and applicable laws; 

b. ensures the resident and child of a resident 

are is protected from potential harassment during the 

investigation; 

c. addresses when an examination by a medical 

professional is indicated; ensures that the provider shall not 

delay reporting suspected abuse and/or neglect to the Louisiana 

Child Protection Statewide Centralized Intake Hotline in an 
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attempt to conduct an internal investigation to verify the 

abuse/neglect allegations; 

d. ensures that any staff member who abuses or 

neglects a resident will be disciplined; ensures that the 

provider shall not require any staff, including unpaid staff, to 

report suspected abuse/neglect to the provider or management 

prior to reporting to the Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-

855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437); 

e. ensures the staff member involved in the 

incident does not work directly with the resident or child of a 

resident involved in the program until an internal investigation 

is conducted by the facility or the child protection 

unit staff makes an initial report; 

f. ensures the staff member that may have been 

involved in the incident is not involved in conducting the 

investigation; 

g. ensures that confidentiality of the incident 

is protected. 

2. Any case of suspected resident abuse or neglect 

shall be reported according to the guidelines outlined in 

Subparagraph C.1.a, Critical Incidents. As mandated reporters, 

all staff and owners shall report any suspected abuse and/or 

neglect of a resident or child of a resident whether that abuse 

or neglect was perpetrated by a staff member, a family member, 

or any other person in accordance with R.S. 14:403 to the 

Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Centralized Intake Hotline 

1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437). This information shall be 

posted in an area regularly used by residents. 

3. After reporting suspected abuse and/or neglect as 

required by Louisiana law, provider shall notify licensing 

section. At a minimum the report shall contain: 
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a. name of suspected resident or child victim 

of alleged child abuse and/or neglect; 

b. address and telephone number of where 

suspected victim may be contacted; 

c. name(s) of alleged perpetrator(s); 

d. alleged perpetrator(s)’ address; 

e. nature, extent, and cause of resident’s or 

child of a resident’s injury, neglect or condition; 

f. current circumstance of resident or child of 

a resident and if resident or child of a resident is currently 

in danger; 

g. identify names of possible witnesses; 

h. identify how incident came to reporter’s 

attention; 

i. have other incidents of suspected abuse 

and/or neglect been reported regarding this resident, child of a 

resident, or alleged perpetrator; 

j. any other pertinent information; and 

k. name of person reporting to child protection 

and time of notification. 

EF. Grievance Process 

1. The provider shall have and adhere to a written 

policy and procedure, which establishes the right of every 

resident and the resident's legal guardian(s) to file grievances 

without fear of retaliation. 

2. The written grievance procedure shall include, 

but not be limited to: 

a. a formal process for the resident and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) to file grievances that shall 

include procedures for filing verbal, written, or anonymous 

grievances; and 
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b. a formal appeals process for grievances; a 

formal process for the provider to communicate with the resident 

and/or legal guardian about the grievance within five calendar 

days of receipt of the grievance; 

c. a formal appeals process for grievance in a 

timely manner not to exceed 10 days of the receipt of the 

grievance. 

3. The provider shall document that the resident and 

the resident's legal guardian(s) are aware of and understand the 

grievance and complaint policy and procedure and have been 

provided a written copy. Each resident shall be fully informed 

of the grievance and complaint policy and procedure and be 

provided with a written copy.  Each resident’s record shall 

contain written acknowledgement signed and dated by program 

director or designee and resident of understanding and receipt 

of grievance and complete policies and procedures. 

4. The provider shall maintain a log documenting all 

verbal, written, or anonymous grievances filed. 

5. Documentation of any resident's or resident’s 

legal guardian(s)’ grievance and the conclusion or disposition 

of these grievances shall be maintained in the resident's 

record. This documentation shall include any action taken by the 

provider in response to the grievance and any follow up action 

involving the resident. 

FG. Data Collection and Quality Improvement 

1. The provider shall have and adhere to a written 

policy and procedure for maintaining a quality improvement 

program to include: 

a. systematic data collection and analysis of 

identified areas that require improvement; 

b. objective measures of performance; 
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c. periodic at least monthly review of 

resident’s and children of resident’s records; 

d. quarterly review of incidents and the use of 

personal restraints and seclusion to include documentation of 

the date, time, and identification of residents and staff 

involved in each incident to include a critical analysis of the 

incidents to note patterns of behavior by specific residents or 

specific staff; and 

e. implementation of plans of action to improve 

in identified areas. 

2. Documentation related to the quality improvement 

program shall be maintained for at least two years.  

GH. Family Involvement. The provider shall have and adhere 

to written strategies to foster ongoing positive communication 

and contact between children of residents, residents, and their 

families, their friends, and others significant in their lives. 

HI. Influenza Notice to Parents 

1. In accordance with R.S. 46:1428 providers shall 

make available to each child's resident’s parent or legal 

guardian and to each resident aged eighteen or above information 

relative to the risks associated with influenza and the 

availability, effectiveness, known contraindications and 

possible side effects of the influenza immunization. This 

information shall include the causes and symptoms of influenza, 

the means by which influenza is spread, the places a parent or 

legal guardian may obtain additional information and where a 

child resident or youth may be immunized against influenza. The 

information shall be updated annually if new information on the 

disease is available. The information shall be provided annually 

to each licensed facility by the Department of Children and 

Family Services and shall be made available to parents or legal 

guardians prior to November 1 of each year. This information 
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shall also be provided to residents with children residing in 

the facility. 

J. Recalled Products 

1. The provider shall post the current copy of “The 

Safety Box” newsletter issued by the Office of the Attorney 

General as required by chapter 55 of title 46 of the R.S. 

46:2701–2711. Items listed as recalled in the newsletter shall 

not be used and shall be immediately removed from the premises. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 -1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:811 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:979, 984 (April 

2012), LR 42:221 (February 2016), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7113. Admission and Discharge 

A. Admission 

1. Policies and Procedures 

a. The provider shall have and adhere 

to written policies and procedures that shall include, at a 

minimum, the following information regarding an admission to the 

facility: 

i. the application process and the 

possible reasons for rejection of an application; 

ii. pre-admission screening assessment; 

iii. the age and sex of residents and 

children of residents to be served; 

iv. the needs, problems, situations, or 

patterns best addressed by the provider's program; 

v. criteria for admission; 
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vi. authorization for care of the 

resident and child of a resident; 

vii. authorization to obtain medical care 

for the resident and child of a resident; 

viii. criteria for discharge; 

ix. procedures for insuring that placement 

within the program are the least restrictive alternative, 

appropriate to meet the resident's needs. 

b. No resident shall be admitted from another 

state unless the provider has first complied with all applicable 

provisions of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the 

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children, and the Interstate 

Compact on Mental Health. Proof of such prior compliance shall 

be obtained prior to admission and shall be kept in the 

resident's file. 

c. When refusing admission to a resident or 

child of a resident, the provider shall notify the referring 

party of the reason for refusal of admission in writing. If 

his/her parent(s) or legal guardian(s) referred the resident, 

he/she shall be provided written reasons for the refusal. Copies 

of the written reasons for refusal of admission shall be kept in 

the provider's administrative file. 

2. Pre-Admission Screening 

a. The provider shall receive an assessment of 

the applicant from the placing agency prior to admission that 

identifies services that are necessary to meet the resident's 

needs and verifies that the resident cannot be maintained in a 

less restrictive environment within the community. This 

assessment shall be maintained in the resident's record. The 

provider shall conduct the pre-

admission The initial screening within 24 hours of admission 
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to shall assess the applicant's needs and appropriateness for 

admission and shall include the following: 

i. Emergency/Unplanned Admission. The 

provider is required to obtain the following information in the 

event of an emergency admission: 

(a)i. current health status and any 

emergency medical needs, mental health, and/or substance abuse 

issues; 

(b)ii. allergies; 

(c)iii. chronic illnesses or physical 

disabilities; 

(d)iv. current medications and possible 

side effects; 

(e)v. any medical illnesses or condition 

that would prohibit or limit the resident’s activity or behavior 

plan; and 

(f)vi. proof of legal custody 

or individual placing agency agreement; 

ii. Planned Admission. Information required 

within 3 business days: 

(a). allergies; 

(b). current medications and possible 

side effects; 

(c)vii. other therapies or ongoing 

treatments; 

(d). current health status to include 

mental health and/or substance abuse issues; 

(e). any medical illnesses or condition 

that would prohibit or limit the resident’s activity or behavior 

plan; 

(f)viii. family information; and 

(g)ix. education information. 
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(h). proof of legal custody or placing 

agency agreement; and 

(i). chronic illnesses or physical 

disabilities. 

b. Information gathered from the preadmission 

screening shall be confirmed with resident and legal guardian 

(if applicable). 

3. Admission Assessment 

a. An admission assessment shall be completed 

or obtained within three business days of admission to determine 

the service needs and preferences of the resident. 

This admission assessment shall be maintained in the resident's 

record. Information gathered from this the pre-admission 

screening and the admission assessment shall be used to 

develop a the interim service plan for the resident. Information 

gathered during the pre-screening assessment that is applicable 

can be used for the admission assessment and shall include the 

following: 

i. allergies; 

ii. current medications and possible side 

effects; 

iii. other therapies or ongoing treatments; 

iv. current health status;  

v. any medical illnesses or condition that 

would prohibit or limit the resident's activity or behavior 

plan; and  

vi. family history. 

b. Within 30 days of admission, the provider 

shall evaluate or obtain the following information: 

i. mental health screening; 

ii. assessment of family functioning; 
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iii. psychological, developmental, 

vocational or educational assessment, as appropriate (not over 

one year old); and 

iv. immunization record. 

B. Service Plan 

1. Within 15 days of admission, the provider, with 

input from the resident, his/her parents, if appropriate and 

legal guardian shall develop an interim service plan using 

information gathered from the pre-admission assessment screening 

and the admission assessment. This interim service plan shall 

include: 

a. the services required to meet the resident's 

needs; 

b. the scope, frequency, and duration of 

services; 

c. monitoring that will be provided; and 

d. who is responsible for providing the 

services, including contract or arranged services. 

2. Within 30 days of admission, the provider shall 

have documentation that a resident has an individual service 

plan developed that will be is comprehensive, time-limited, 

goal-oriented, and address addresses the needs of the resident. 

The service plan shall include the following components: 

a. a statement of goals to be achieved for the 

resident and his/her family; 

b. plan for fostering positive family 

relationships for the resident, when appropriate; 

c. schedule of the daily activities including 

training/education for residents and recreation to be pursued by 

the program staff and the resident in attempting to achieve the 

stated goals; 

d. any specific behavior management plan:; 
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i. the provider shall obtain or develop, 

with the participation of the resident and his/her legal 

guardian or family, an individualized behavior management plan 

for each resident receiving service. Information gathered from 

the pre-admission screening and the admission assessment will be 

used to develop the plan. The plan shall include, at a minimum, 

the following: 

(a). identification of the resident’s 

triggers; 

(b). the resident’s preferred coping 

mechanisms; 

(c). techniques for self-management; 

(d). anger and anxiety management 

options for calming; 

(e). a review of previously successful 

intervention strategies; 

(f). a summary of unsuccessful behavior 

management strategies; 

(g). identification of the resident’s 

specific targeted behaviors; 

(h). behavior intervention strategies 

to be used; 

(i). the restrictive interventions to 

be used, if any; 

(j). physical interventions to be used, 

if any; and 

(k). specific goals and objectives that 

address target behaviors requiring physical intervention; 

e. any specialized services provided directly 

or arranged for will be stated in specific behavioral terms that 

permit the problems to be assessed, and methods for insuring 
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their proper integration with the resident's ongoing program 

activities; 

f. any specific independent living skills 

needed by the resident which will be provided or obtained on 

behalf of the resident by the facility staff; 

g. overall goals and specific objectives that 

are time limited; 

h. methods for evaluating the resident's 

progress; 

i. use of community resources or programs 

providing service or training to that resident, and shall 

involve representatives of such services and programs in the 

service planning process whenever feasible and appropriate. Any 

community resource or program involved in a service plan shall 

be appropriately licensed or shall be a part of an approved 

school a reputable program; 

j. any restriction to residents' "rights" 

deemed necessary to the resident's individual service plan. Any 

such restriction shall be expressly stated in the service plan, 

shall specifically identify the right infringed upon, and the 

extent and duration of the infringement, and shall specify the 

reasons such restriction is necessary to the service plan, and 

the reasons less restrictive methods cannot be employed; 

k. goals and preliminary plans for discharge; 

l. identification of each person responsible 

for implementing or coordinating implementation of the plan.; 

m. mental health screening; and 

n. developmental and psychological assessments. 

3. The service plan shall be developed by a team 

including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. service plan manager; 
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b. representatives of the direct care staff 

working with the resident on a daily basis; 

c. the resident; 

d. the resident's parent(s), if indicated; 

e. the resident’s legal guardian(s); and 

f. any other person(s) significantly involved 

in the resident's care on an ongoing basis. 

4. All team participants shall sign and date the 

completed service plan. 

5. The service plan shall be monitored by the team 

on an ongoing basis to determine its continued appropriateness 

and to identify when a resident's condition or preferences have 

changed. A team meeting shall be held at least quarterly. The 

quarterly review shall be signed and dated by all team 

participants. 

6. The provider shall ensure that all persons 

working directly with the resident are appropriately informed of 

the service plan and have access to information from the 

resident's records that is necessary for effective performance 

of the employee's assigned tasks. 

7. The provider shall document that the resident, 

parent(s), where applicable, and the legal guardian have been 

invited to participate in the planning and quarterly 

review process. When they do not participate, the provider shall 

document the reasons for nonparticipation. 

8. All service plans including quarterly reviews 

shall be maintained in the resident’s record. 

C. Discharge 

1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for all discharges. The discharge procedure shall 

include at least the following: 

a. projected date of discharge; 
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b. responsibilities of each party (provider, 

resident, family) with regard to the discharge and transition 

process; 

c. transfer of any pertinent information 

regarding the resident's stay at the facility; and 

d. follow-up services, if any and the 

responsible party. 

2. Emergency discharges initiated by the provider 

shall take place only when the health and safety of a resident 

or other residents staff might be endangered by the resident's 

further stay at the facility. The provider shall have a written 

report detailing the circumstances leading to each unplanned 

discharge within seven calendar days of the discharge. The 

discharge summary is to be kept in the resident's record and 

shall include: 

a. the name and home address of the resident, 

the resident's parent(s), where appropriate, and the legal 

guardian(s); 

b. the name, address, and telephone number of 

the provider; 

c. the reason for discharge and, if due to 

resident's unsuitability for provider's program, actions taken 

to maintain placement; 

d. a summary of services provided during care 

including medical, dental, and health services; 

e. a summary of the resident's progress and 

accomplishments during care; and 

f. the assessed needs that remain to be met and 

alternate service possibilities that might meet those needs. 

3. When a discharge is planned, resident is 

discharged, the provider shall compile or obtain a complete 

written discharge summary within 30 seven days of discharge. The 
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discharge summary is to be kept in the resident's record and 

shall include:  

a. the name and home address of the resident, 

the resident's parent(s), where appropriate, and the legal 

guardian(s); 

b. the name, address, and telephone number of 

the provider; 

c. the reason for discharge and, if due to 

resident's unsuitability for provider's program, actions taken 

to maintain placement; 

d. a summary of services provided during care 

including medical, dental, and health services; 

e. a summary of the resident's progress and 

accomplishments during care; and 

f. the assessed needs that remain to be met and 

alternate service possibilities that might meet those needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:818 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:984 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7115. Resident Protection 

A. Rights 

1. Provider Responsibility 

a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that ensure each resident's and child of a resident’s 

rights are guaranteed and protected. 

b. None of the resident's rights shall be 

infringed upon or restricted in any way unless such restriction 
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is necessary to and indicated in the resident's individual 

service plan. When individual rights restrictions are 

implemented, the provider shall clearly explain and document any 

restrictions or limitations on those rights, the reasons that 

make those restrictions medically necessary in 

the child's resident’s individual service plan and the extent 

and duration of those restrictions. The documentation shall be 

signed by provider staff, the child resident, and the child's 

legal guardian(s) or parent(s), if indicated. No service plan 

shall restrict the access of a resident to legal counsel or 

restrict the access of state or local regulatory officials to a 

resident. 

c. Residents and children of residents with 

disabilities have the rights guaranteed to them under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq., 

and regulations promulgated pursuant to the ADA, 28 C.F.R. Parts 

35 and 36 and 49 C.F.R. Part 37; §section 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §794, and 

regulations promulgated pursuant thereto, including 45 C.F.R. 

Part 84. These include the right to receive services in the most 

integrated setting appropriate to the needs of the individual; 

to obtain reasonable modifications of practices, policies, and 

procedures where necessary (unless such modifications constitute 

a fundamental alteration of the provider's program or pose undue 

administrative burdens); to receive auxiliary aids and services 

to enable equally effective communication; to equivalent 

transportation services; and to physical access to a provider's 

facilities. 

d. Each child shall be fully informed of these 

rights and of all rules and regulations governing residents’ 

conduct and responsibilities, as evidenced by written 
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acknowledgment, at the time of admission of the receipt of a 

copy of children’s rights, and when changes occur. 

e. Each child's  record shall contain a copy of 

the written acknowledgment, which shall be signed and dated by 

the program director, or designee, and the child and/or his or 

her legal guardian. 

2. Privacy  

a. A child Residents and children of residents 

have has the right to personal privacy and confidentiality. Any 

records and other information about the resident or child of a 

resident shall be kept confidential and released only with 

the child’s, or legal guardian's expressed written consent or as 

required by law. 

b. A child of a resident shall not be 

photographed or recorded without the express written consent of 

the child resident and or the child’s legal guardian(s). A 

resident shall not be photographed or recorded without the 

express written consent of the resident and the resident’s legal 

guardian(s). All photographs and recordings shall be used in a 

manner that respects the dignity and confidentiality of the 

child of the resident and resident. 

c. A child Residents nor children of residents 

shall not participate in research projects without the express 

written consent of the resident, child of the resident, and 

the child’s legal guardian(s). 

d. A child Residents nor children of residents 

shall not participate in activities related to fundraising and 

publicity without the express written consent of the resident, 

child of the resident, and the child’s legal guardian(s). 

3. Contact with Family and Collaterals  

a. A child of a resident and resident has have 

the right to consult freely and have visits with his/her family 
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(including but not limited to his or her mother, father, 

grandparents, brothers, and sisters), legal guardian(s) and 

friends subject only to reasonable rules. Special restrictions 

shall be imposed only to prevent serious harm to the child of a 

resident or resident. The reasons for any special restrictions 

shall be recorded in the child of the resident’s record or 

resident’s service plan, as applicable and explained to the 

child of the resident, resident, and his or her family. The 

service plan manager shall review the special restrictions every 

30 days and, if restrictions are renewed, the reasons for 

renewal shall be recorded in the child of the resident’s record 

or resident’s service plan, as applicable. No service plan shall 

restrict home Home visits shall be approved by without approval 

from the legal guardian. 

b. A child of a resident and resident has have 

the right to telephone communication. The provider shall allow a 

child children of residents and residents to receive and place 

telephone calls in privacy subject only to reasonable rules and 

to any specific restrictions in the child of the 

resident’s record or resident’s service plan, as applicable. The 

service plan manager shall formally approve any restriction on 

telephone communication in a child of the resident’s record or 

resident’s service plan, as applicable. The service plan manager 

shall review the special restrictions every 30 days and, if 

restrictions are renewed, the reasons for renewal shall be 

recorded in the child of the resident’s record or 

resident’s service plan, as applicable. The cost for long 

distance calls shall not exceed the usual and customary charges 

of the local phone company provider. There shall be no 

restrictions on communication between a child of a resident or 

resident and the child’s their legal counsel. 
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c. A child of a resident and resident has have 

the right to send and receive mail. The provider shall allow 

children of residents and residents to receive mail unopened, 

uncensored, and unread by staff unless contraindicated by in the 

child of a resident's record or resident’s service plan, as 

applicable. The service plan manager shall review this 

restriction every 30 days. No service plan or record shall 

restrict the right to write letters in privacy and to send mail 

unopened, uncensored, and unread by any other person. 

Correspondence from a child of a resident’s or resident’s legal 

counsel shall not be opened, read, or otherwise interfered with 

for any reason. Children of residents and residents shall have 

access to all materials necessary for writing and sending 

letters and, when necessary, shall receive assistance. 

d. A child has Children of residents and 

residents have the right to consult freely and privately with 

legal counsel, as well as, the right to employ legal counsel 

of his/her their choosing. 

e. A child has Children of residents and 

residents have the right to communicate freely and privately 

with state and local regulatory officials. 

4. Safeguards  

a. A child has Residents and children of 

residents have the right to file grievances without fear of 

reprisal as provided in the grievances section of these 

standards. 

b. Residents and children of residents have the 

right to be free from mental, emotional, and physical abuse and 

neglect and be free from chemical or mechanical restraints. Any 

use of personal restraints shall be reported to the child’s 

legal guardians(s).  
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c. Residents and children of residents have the 

right to live within the least restrictive environment possible 

in order to retain their individuality and personal freedom. 

d. Children shall not be subjected to corporal 

punishment or cruel, severe, unusual, degrading, or unnecessary 

punishment. 

5. Civil Rights 

a. A child's Residents’ nor children of 

residents’ civil rights shall not be abridged or abrogated 

solely as a result of placement in the provider's program. 

b. A resident nor child of a resident shall not 

be denied admission, segregated into programs, or otherwise 

subjected to discrimination on the basis of race, color, 

religion, national origin, sexual orientation, physical 

limitations, political beliefs, or any other non-merit factor. 

Facilities must comply with the requirements of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq. (ADA). 

6. Participation in Program Development 

a. A child has the right to refuse treatment. 

ba. A child Residents and children of residents 

have has the right to be treated with dignity in the delivery of 

services. 

cb. A child Residents and children of residents 

have has the right to receive preventive, routine, and emergency 

health care according to individual needs which and that will 

promote his or her growth and development. 

dc. A child Residents and children of residents 

have has the right to be involved, as appropriate to age, 

development, and ability, in assessment and service planning. 

ed. A child Residents and children of residents 

have has the right to consult with clergy and participate in 

religious services in accordance with his/her faith, but shall 
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not be forced to attend religious services or punished for not 

participating in religious services. The provider shall have and 

adhere to a written policy of its religious orientation, 

particular religious practices that are observed, and any 

religious restrictions on admission. This description shall be 

provided to the resident, child of a resident, and the child’s 

legal guardian(s). When appropriate, the provider shall 

determine the wishes of the legal guardian(s) with regard to 

religious observance and make every effort to ensure that these 

wishes are carried out. The provider shall, whenever possible, 

arrange transportation and encourage participation by those 

residents or children of residents who desire to participate in 

religious activities in the community. 

7. Acknowledgement of Resident 

a. Each resident shall be fully informed of all 

rights noted in Paragraphs A.1-6 of this Section and of all 

rules and regulations governing residents’ conduct and 

responsibilities, as evidenced by written acknowledgment, at the 

time of admission of the receipt of a copy of resident’s rights, 

and when changes occur. Each resident’s record shall contain a 

copy of the written acknowledgment, which shall be signed and 

dated by the program director, or designee, and the resident. 

b. Each resident shall be informed of how and 

where to safely evacuate the facility during an emergency 

situation. The acknowledgement of understanding shall be signed 

and dated by the resident and program director, or designee. 

B. Prohibited Practices  

1. The provider shall have a written list of 

prohibited practices by staff members. Staff members shall not 

be allowed to engage in any of the prohibited practices. Staff 

shall not promote or condone these prohibited practices between 
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residents or children of residents. This list shall include the 

following: 

a. use of a chemical or mechanical restraint; 

b. corporal punishment such as slapping, 

spanking, paddling or belting; 

c. marching, standing, or kneeling rigidly in 

one spot; 

d. any kind of physical discomfort except as 

required for medical, dental or first aid procedures necessary 

to preserve the resident's or child of a resident’s life or 

health; 

e. denial or deprivation of sleep or nutrition 

except under a physician's order; 

f. denial of access to bathroom facilities; 

g. verbal abuse, ridicule, or humiliation, 

shaming or sarcasm; 

h. withholding of a meal, except under a 

physician's order; 

i. requiring a resident or child of a resident 

to remain silent for a long period of time; 

j. denial of shelter, warmth, clothing, or 

bedding; 

k. assignment of harsh physical work; 

l. punishing a group of residents or children 

of residents for actions committed by one or a selected few; a 

group activity shall not be cancelled for the entire group, 

prior to the activity, due to the behavior of one or more 

individuals; 

m. withholding family visits or communication 

with family; 

n. extensive withholding of emotional response; 
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o. denial of school services and or denial of 

therapeutic services; 

p. other impingements on the basic rights of 

children of residents or residents for care, protection, safety, 

and security; 

q. organized social ostracism, such as codes of 

silence; 

r. pain compliance, slight discomfort, trigger 

points, pressure points, or any pain inducing techniques; 

s. hyperextension of any body part beyond 

normal limits; 

t. joint or skin torsion; 

u. pressure or weight on head, neck, throat, 

chest, lungs, sternum, diaphragm, back, or abdomen, causing 

chest compression; 

v. straddling or sitting on any part of the 

body; 

w. any position or maneuver that obstructs or 

restricts circulation of blood or obstructs an airway; 

x. any type of choking; 

y. any type of head hold where the head is used 

as a lever to control movement of other body parts; 

z. any maneuver that involves punching, 

hitting, poking, pinching, or shoving; 

aa. separation of a resident and her child as a 

means of punishment;  

bb. punishment for actions over which the child 

has no control such as bedwetting, enuresis, encopresis, or 

incidents that occur in the course of toilet training 

activities;  
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cc. use of threats or threatening an individual 

with a prohibited action even though there is/was no intent to 

follow through with the threat; 

dd. cruel, severe, unusual, degrading, or 

unnecessary punishment; 

ee. yelling, yanking, shaking; 

ff. requiring a child of a resident or resident 

to exercise as punishment or placing a child of a resident or 

resident into uncomfortable positions; 

gg. exposing a child of a resident or resident 

to extreme temperatures or other measures producing physical 

pain; 

hh. putting anything in a resident’s or child of 

a resident’s mouth as a means of punishment;  

ii. using abusive or profane language, including 

but not limited to telling a child of a resident to “shut up”; 

or  

   jj. any technique that involves covering of the 

mouth, nose, eyes or any part of the face. 

  2. The resident and child of a resident, where 

appropriate, and the resident's legal guardian(s) shall receive 

a list of the prohibited practices. There shall be 

documentation signed and dated of acknowledgement 

of acknowledging receipt of the list of prohibited practices by 

the resident and, where appropriate, the child of the resident 

and resident's legal guardian(s) in the resident’s record. 

  3. A list of prohibited practices shall be posted in 

the facility in an area regularly utilized by residents. 

 C. Behavior Support and Intervention Program  

  1. The provider shall have and adhere to a behavior 

support and intervention program that: 
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   a. describes the provider's behavior support 

philosophy; 

   b. safeguards the rights of residents, children 

of residents, families, and staff; 

   c. governs allowed and prohibited practices; 

and 

   d. designates oversight responsibilities. 

  2. The provider shall have and adhere to written 

policies and procedures that include, but are not limited to: 

   a. a behavior support and intervention model 

consistent with the provider’s mission; 

   b. proactive and preventive practices; 

   c. development of behavior support plans for 

residents and children of residents; 

   d. prohibited behavior intervention practices; 

   e. restrictive practices, if any, that are 

allowed and circumstances when they can be used; 

   f. physical interventions to be used, if any; 

   g. informed consent of legal guardians for use 

of behavior support and interventions; and 

   h. oversight process. 

  3. The provider shall obtain or develop, with the 

participation of the resident and his/her legal guardian or 

family, an individualized behavior support plan for each 

resident receiving service. Information gathered from the pre-

admission assessment  and the admission assessment will be used 

to develop the plan. The plan shall include, at a minimum, the 

following: 

a. identification of the resident’s triggers; 

b. the resident’s preferred coping mechanisms; 

c. techniques for self-management; 
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d. anger and anxiety management options for 

calming; 

e. a review of previously successful 

intervention strategies; 

f. a summary of unsuccessful behavior 

management strategies; 

g. identification of the resident’s specific 

targeted behaviors; 

h. behavior intervention strategies to be used; 

i. the restrictive interventions to be used, if 

any; 

j. physical interventions to be used, if any; 

and 

k. specific goals and objectives that address 

target behaviors requiring physical intervention. 

  43. An informed consent shall be obtained from the 

legal guardian for the use of any restrictive intervention. 

  54. There shall be a system in place that monitors 

the effectiveness of behavior support and interventions 

implemented. 

  65. All persons implementing physical interventions 

shall be trained and certified in behavior management 

under nationally accredited standards. a national accredited 

method. 

  76. Participation by the resident, family, and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) in the development and review of 

the behavior support plan shall be documented in the resident's 

record. 

  87. There shall be documentation of written consent 

to the behavior support plan by the resident and the resident's 

legal guardian(s) in the resident's record. 

 D. Time-Out 
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  1. The provider shall have and adhere to a written 

policy and procedure that governs the use of time-out to include 

the following: 

   a. any room used for time out shall be unlocked 

and the resident or child of a resident shall, at all times, be 

free to leave if he or she chooses; 

   b. time-out procedures shall be used only when 

less restrictive measures have been used without effect. There 

shall be written documentation of less restrictive measures used 

in the resident's or child of a resident’s record; 

   c. emergency use of time-out for residents 

shall be approved by the service plan manager or program 

director for a period not to exceed one hour for residents age 6 

and above;  

   d. time-out used in an individual behavior 

support plan for residents shall be part of the overall service 

plan; 

   e. the plan shall state the reasons for using 

time-out and the terms and conditions under which time-out will 

be terminated or extended, specifying a maximum duration of the 

use of the procedure that shall under no circumstances exceed 

two hours for residents;  

   f. staff shall make periodic checks but at 

least every 15 minutes while the resident is in time-out; 

   g. the resident shall be allowed to return to 

the daily milieu activities at any time he/she has regained 

control of his/her behavior and is ready to participate in the 

group activities; 

   h. a resident or child of a resident in time-

out shall not be denied access to bathroom facilities, water, or 

meals; 
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   i. after each use of time out, the staff shall 

document the incident and place in the resident's record; 

   j. an administrative review of the incident by 

the program director or other facility management 

staff will shall be conducted within three calendar days to 

include an analysis of specific precipitating factors and 

strategies to prevent future occurrences.; 

   k. time-out shall not be used for children of 

residents or residents under two years of age; 

   l. the length of time out for children 2 years 

– 5 years of age shall be based on the age of the child and 

shall not exceed a maximum of one minute per year of age. 

Provider shall take into account the child’s developmental 

stage, tolerances, and ability to learn from time-out. 

 E. Personal Restraints 

  1. The provider shall and adhere to have a written 

policy and procedure that governs the use of personal 

restraints. 

  2. Use of personal restraints shall never be used as 

a form of punishment, a form of discipline, in lieu of adequate 

staffing, as a replacement of active treatment, or for staff 

convenience. 

  3. Written documentation of any less restrictive 

measures attempted shall be documented in the resident's record. 

  4. A personal restraint shall be used only in an 

emergency when a resident's behavior escalates to a level where 

there is imminent risk of harm to the resident or others and 

other de-escalation techniques have been attempted without 

effect. The emergency use of personal restraints shall not 

exceed the following: 

   a. 30 minutes for a resident under nine years 

old; or 
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   b. one hour for a resident nine years old or 

older. 

  5. The specific maximum duration of the use of 

personal restraints as noted in Section 7115. Paragraph E.4 of 

this Section may be exceeded only if prior to the end of the 

time period, a written continuation order noting clinical 

justification is obtained from a licensed psychiatrist, 

psychologist, or physician. The maximum time for use of personal 

restraints shall be 12 hours. 

  6. During any personal restraint, staff qualified in 

emergency behavior intervention must monitor the resident's 

breathing and other signs of physical distress and take 

appropriate action to ensure adequate respiration, circulation, 

and overall well-being. If available, staff that is not 

restraining the resident should monitor the resident. The 

resident must be released immediately when an emergency health 

situation occurs during the restraint. Staff must obtain 

treatment immediately. 

  7. The resident must be released as soon as the 

resident's behavior is no longer a danger to himself or others. 

  8. Restraints are only to be used by employees 

trained by a certified trainer under a program that aligns with 

the nationally accredited standards. is on a state-recognized 

list of nationally accredited programs. A single person 

restraint can only be initiated in a life-threatening crisis. 

Restraint by a peer is prohibited. Staff performing a personal 

restraint on a resident with specific medical conditions must be 

trained on risks posed by such conditions. 

  9. As soon as possible after the use of a personal 

restraint, the provider shall provide and document debriefing. 

Separate debriefing meetings must be held with senior staff and 
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the staff members(s) involved, the resident involved, witnesses 

to the event, and family members, if indicated. 

  10. After use of a personal restraint, the staff 

shall document the incident and place in the resident's record. 

  11. An administrative review of the incident by the 

program director or other facility management staff will shall 

be conducted within three calendar days to include an analysis 

of specific precipitating factors and strategies to prevent 

future occurrences. 

  12. All incidents of personal restraint use shall be 

trended in the quality improvement program. A summary report on 

the use of personal restraints will be prepared and submitted 

to OCS residential licensing the Licensing Section on a 

quarterly basis. 

  13. The resident's legal guardian and the OCS child 

protection unit in the parish in which the facility is located 

shall be notified if injury or death occurs during restraint use 

as outlined in the "Critical Incident" section. 

  1413. In the event a death occurs during the use 

of a personal restraint, the facility shall conduct a review of 

its personal restraint policies and practices and retrain all 

staff in the proper techniques and in methods of de-escalation 

and avoidance of personal restraint use within five calendar 

days. Documentation to include staff signatures and date of 

training shall be submitted to the Licensing Section upon 

completion of training. 

  15. The resident, where appropriate, and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) shall receive a list of the 

prohibited practices. There shall be documentation of 

acknowledgement of receipt of the list of prohibited practices 

by the resident and, where appropriate, the resident's legal 

guardian(s)in the resident’s record. 
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  16. A list of prohibited practices shall be posted in 

the facility. 

 F. Seclusion 

  1. The provider shall have and adhere to a written 

policy and procedure that governs the use of seclusion, if such 

a room exists in the facility. Seclusion may only be used in 

accordance with this Subsection. 

  2. Use of seclusion shall never be used as a form of 

punishment, a form of discipline, in lieu of adequate staffing, 

as a replacement of active treatment or for staff convenience. 

  3. A resident will be placed in a seclusion room 

only in an emergency, when there is imminent risk of harm to the 

resident or others and when less restrictive measures have been 

used without effect. Written documentation of the less 

restrictive measures attempted shall be documented in the 

resident’s record. The emergency use of seclusion shall not 

exceed the following: 

   a. 1 hour for a resident under nine years old; 

or 

   b. 2 hours for a resident nine years old or 

older. 

  4. The specific maximum duration of the use of 

seclusion as noted in Section 7115. Paragraph F.3 of this 

Section may be exceeded only if prior to the end of the time 

period, a written continuation order noting clinical 

justification is obtained from a licensed psychiatrist, 

psychologist, or physician. The maximum time for use of 

seclusion shall be 12 hours. 

  5. A staff member shall exercise direct physical 

observation of the resident at all times while in seclusion. 

During the seclusion, the staff must monitor the resident's 

physical well-being for physical distress and take appropriate 
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action, when indicated. The resident must be released 

immediately when an emergency health situation occurs during the 

seclusion and staff must obtain treatment immediately. The staff 

member must assess the resident's psychological well-being 

to insure ensure that the intervention is being completed in a 

safe and appropriate manner and that the facility's policies and 

procedures are being upheld. 

  6. Seclusion used as part of an individual behavior 

support plan shall state the reasons for using seclusion and the 

terms and conditions under which seclusion shall be terminated 

or extended. 

  7. A resident in seclusion shall not be denied 

access to bathroom facilities, water or meals. 

  8. As soon as possible, but no later than 72 hours 

after the use of seclusion, the provider shall provide and 

document debriefing. Separate debriefing meetings must be held 

with senior staff and the staff members(s) involved, the 

resident involved, witnesses to the event, and family members, 

if indicated. 

  9. After use of seclusion, the staff shall document 

the incident and place in the resident's record. 

  10. An administrative review of the incident by the 

program director or other facility management staff will shall 

be conducted within three calendar days to include an analysis 

of specific precipitating factors and strategies to prevent 

future occurrences. 

  11. All incidents of seclusion shall be trended in 

the quality improvement program. A summary report on the use of 

seclusion will be prepared and submitted to OCS residential the 

Licensing Section on a quarterly basis. 

  12. The resident's legal guardian, the Louisiana 

Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-
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5437), and the OCS child protection unit in the parish in which 

the facility is located and the Licensing Section shall be 

notified if injury or death occurs while the resident is in 

seclusion. 

  13. In the event a death occurs during the use of 

seclusion, the facility shall conduct a review of its seclusion 

policies and practices and retrain all staff in the proper use 

of seclusion and in methods of de-escalation and avoidance of 

seclusion within five calendar days. Documentation to include 

staff signatures and date of training shall be submitted to the 

Licensing Section upon completion of training. 

  14. The resident, where appropriate, and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) shall receive a list of the 

prohibited practices. There shall be documentation of 

acknowledgement of receipt of the list of prohibited practices 

by the resident and, where appropriate, the resident's legal 

guardian(s)in the resident’s record. 

  1514. Seclusion Room 

   a. The resident shall be unable to voluntarily 

leave the room. 

   b. The room shall be large enough to allow easy 

access for staff to enter and exit and deep enough to ensure 

that the person being secluded cannot keep the door from closing 

by blocking it with the body or an object. 

   c. The ceiling of the seclusion room shall be 

unreachable and of solid construction. 

   d. If there are windows in the seclusion room, 

they should be locked with security locks and not allowed to 

open to the outside. Safety glass or plastic that cannot be 

broken shall be used for the panes. The view from the door 

observation window must not be obstructed. 
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   e. The inside walls of the seclusion room shall 

be smooth and capable of withstanding high impact constructed of 

safe material with give that can be easily cleaned. 

Nothing can shall protrude or extend from the wall. 

   f. The door of the room shall be a security 

rated door, shall be able to withstand high impact and stress 

and shall swing outward to prevent a person from blocking the 

door from opening and thus barricading himself in the room. 

 G. Prohibited Personal Restraint and Seclusion Practices 

  1. The provider shall have a written list of 

prohibited practices by staff members. This list shall include 

the following: 

   a. pain compliance, slight discomfort, trigger 

points, pressure points, or any pain inducing techniques; 

   b. hyperextension of any body part beyond 

normal limits; 

   c. joint or skin torsion; 

   d. pressure or weight on head, chest, lungs, 

sternum, diaphragm, back, or abdomen, causing chest compression; 

   e. straddling or sitting on any part of the 

body; 

   f. any maneuver that puts pressure, weight or 

leverage into or on the neck or throat, on any artery or on the 

back of the person's head or neck; 

   g. any position or maneuver that obstructs or 

restricts circulation of blood or obstructs an airway; 

   h. any type of choking, hand chokes, arm chokes 

or sleeper hold; 

   i. any type of head hold where the head is used 

as a lever to control movement of other body parts or any type 

of full or half nelson or head lock; 
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   j. any technique that involves mouth, nose, 

eyes or any part of the face or covering the face or body; and 

   k. any maneuver that involves punching, 

hitting, poking, pinching or shoving. 

  2. The resident and, where appropriate, the 

resident's legal guardian(s) shall receive a list of the 

prohibited practices. There shall be documentation of 

acknowledgement of receipt of the list of prohibited practices 

by the resident and, where appropriate, the resident's legal 

guardian(s) in the resident's record. 

  AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:819 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7117. Provider Services  

 A. Education 

  1. The provider shall have and adhere to written 

policies and procedures to ensure that each resident and child 

of a resident has access to the most appropriate educational 

services consistent with the resident's and child of a 

resident’s abilities and needs, taking into account his/her age 

and level of functioning. 

  2. The provider shall ensure that educational 

records from the resident's or child of a resident’s previous 

school are transferred to the resident's new educational 

placement timely.  

  3. A resident's service plan shall identify if the 

resident has any disabilities. Residents and children of 
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residents with disabilities shall be identified to the local 

education agency. If the resident or child of a resident is 

eligible for Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 

services, the provider shall work with the legal guardian to 

ensure that he or she has a current educational evaluation, an 

appropriate Individualized Educational Plan (IEP), and surrogate 

parent to assist him or her in enforcing rights under the IDEA. 

If the resident or child of a resident is eligible for section 

504 accommodations in the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as 

amended, the provider shall work with the legal guardian. 

  4. If a resident or child of a resident is suspected 

of having a disability that would qualify him or her for special 

education services, the provider shall work with the legal 

guardian to ensure that a request for a special education 

evaluation is made and that the local education agency responds 

appropriately.  

  5. The provider shall work with the legal guardian 

and, where applicable, surrogate parent, to identify any 

deficiencies or problems with a resident's or child of a 

resident’s IEP or individualized accommodations plan (IAP), and 

to ensure that the resident’s or child of a resident’s IEP or 

IAP is being implemented by the local education agency. 

  6. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, all residents and children of residents of school age 

shall be enrolled in and attending the least restrictive 

available option of either a school program approved by the 

Department of Education or an alternative educational program 

approved by the local school board within three school days of 

admission to the facility. Children of residents residing in the 

facility shall attend school off site. 
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  7. The provider shall ensure residents have access 

to vocational training, GED programs, and other alternative 

educational programming, if appropriate. 

  8. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, the provider shall coordinate residents’ participation 

in school-related extra curricular activities, including any 

related fees or costs for necessary equipment. 

9. The provider shall coordinate children of 

residents’ participation in school-related extracurricular 

activities, including any related fees or costs for necessary 

equipment. 

  910. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, the provider shall notify the resident's legal 

guardian(s) and, where applicable, the resident’s surrogate 

parent, verbally and in writing within 24 hours of any truancy, 

expulsion, suspension, or informal removal from school. 

Notification shall be documented in the resident's or child of a 

resident’s record. 

11. The provider shall notify the resident or child 

of a resident’s legal guardian(s) verbally and in writing within 

24 hours of any truancy, expulsion, suspension, or informal 

removal of their child from school. Notification shall be 

documented in the child of the resident’s record. 

  12. All residents and children of residents shall 

receive a free and appropriate education. If transportation is 

not provided by the local educational authority, the provider 

shall transport the resident or child of a resident to school or 

other educational program in order for the resident to fulfill 

the requirements of their educational program. 

  13. When children of residents are picked up or 

dropped off at the facility by a public or private school bus or 
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transportation service, staff shall be present to safely escort 

children of residents to and from the bus. 

  14. If educational services are provided on-site, the 

following also apply: 

   a. The provider shall provide accommodations 

for educational services to be provided by the local school 

district in accordance with local school board calendar. The 

school classes shall be held in classrooms/multi-purpose rooms. 

The provider shall ensure that the educational space is adequate 

to meet the instructional requirements of each resident. 

   b. Prior to the end of the first official 

school day following admission, the resident shall receive a 

brief educational history screening with respect to their school 

status, special education status, grade level, grades, and 

history of suspensions or expulsions. Staff shall use this 

information to determine initial placement in the facility’s 

educational program. 

   c. Within three school days of the resident’s 

arrival at the facility, the provider shall request educational 

records from the resident’s previous school. If records are not 

received within 10 school days of the request, the program 

director shall report in writing on the eleventh day to the 

local school district from which records were requested that the 

information has been requested and not received. If the records 

are not received within the following seven school days of 

notifying the local school district, the program director shall 

file a written complaint with the Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education (BESE) on the eighth day.  

d. Residents in restricted, disciplinary, or 

high security units shall receive an education program 

comparable to residents in other units in the facility 

consistent with safety needs. 
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e. When residents are suspended from the 

facility school, the suspension shall comply with local 

jurisdiction due process requirements. 

f. Behavior intervention plans shall be 

developed for a resident whose behavior or emotional stability 

interferes with their school attendance and progress. 

g. The provider shall have available reading 

materials geared to the reading levels, interests, and primary 

languages of residents. 

h. The provider shall ensure that residents are 

engaged in instruction for the minimum minutes in a school day 

required by law. 

i. The program director shall immediately 

report in writing to the local school district if the facility 

school is not being staffed adequately to meet state student to 

teacher ratios for education, including but not limited to, 

special education staff and substitute teaching staff. If the 

issue is not resolved within five school days by the local 

school district, then the program director shall file a written 

complaint on the sixth day with BESE and cooperate with any 

subsequent directives received from BESE. 

 B. Milieu (Daily Living) Services Responsibilities 

  1. Routines 

   a. The provider shall have and adhere to a 

written schedule of daily routines for residents designed to 

provide for reasonable consistency and timeliness in daily 

activities, in the delivery of essential services to residents, 

and in the provision of adequate periods of recreation, privacy, 

rest, and sleep. 

b. Written schedules of daily routines shall be 

posted and available to the residents. 
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c. Daily routines shall be determined in 

relation to the needs and convenience of the residents who live 

together. 

d. Whenever appropriate, the residents shall 

participate in making decisions about schedules and routines. 

e. The program for daily routines shall be 

reviewed periodically and revised as the needs of the residents 

or living group change. 

f. The Provider shall develop and adhere to 

written policies regarding a daily schedule for children of 

residents that includes planned/unplanned activities, allowing 

for flexibility and change. Activities shall accommodate and 

have due regard for individual needs and differences among 

children. Children of residents’ routines shall include time 

daily for indoor and outdoor play (weather permitting) that 

incorporate free play, gross/fine motor activities and vigorous 

and quiet activities. Time should also be designated for 

activities that support children’s development of social, 

emotional, physical, language/literacy, cognitive/intellectual 

and cultural skills, as well as for routine occurrences such as 

meals/snacks, rest time, etc.  

  2. Personal Possessions 

   a. The provider shall allow a 

resident residents and children of residents to 

bring his/her their personal possessions and display them, when 

appropriate. 

   b. Residents and children of residents shall be 

allowed to acquire possessions of his/her their own in 

accordance with the resident's service plan. The provider may, 

as necessary, limit or supervise the use of these items. Where 

restrictions are imposed, the resident or child of a resident 

shall be informed by staff of the reason of the restriction. The 
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decision and reason shall be recorded in 

the resident's individual’s record. 

   c. Each resident and child of a resident shall 

have a secure place to store his/her personal property. 

   d. Possessions confiscated by staff will be 

documented to include: 

    i. signature of the staff and resident or 

child of a resident; 

    ii. date and time of confiscation; and 

    iii. date and time when returned to 

resident or child of a resident and signature of resident or 

child of resident. 

    iv. description of items confiscated and 

reason confiscated. 

   e. The provider shall be responsible for all 

confiscated items, including replacement if the item is damaged, 

lost, or stolen while in the provider's possession. 

   f. A log of any valuable personal possessions 

to include any assistive devices, i.e., hearing aide, glasses, 

etc., shall be maintained by the provider. 

  3. Clothing and Personal Appearance  

   a. The provider shall ensure that residents and 

children of residents are provided with clean, well-fitting 

clothing appropriate to the season and to 

the resident's individual’s age, sex, and individual needs. 

Whenever possible, the resident or child of a resident should be 

involved in selecting their clothing. 

   b. The provider shall have and adhere to a 

written policy concerning any limitations regarding personal 

appearance. Any limitations should be related to maintaining the 

safety and well-being of the residents or children of residents 

receiving services. 
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   c. Clothing and shoes shall be of proper size 

and adequate in amount to permit laundering, cleaning, and 

repair. 

   d. Clothing shall be maintained in good repair. 

   e. Clothing shall belong to the individual 

resident or child of a resident and not be required to be 

shared. 

   f. All clothing provided to a resident or child 

of a resident shall remain with the resident or child of a 

resident upon discharge. 

   g. The provider shall ensure residents and 

children of residents have access to adequate grooming services, 

including haircuts. 

  4. Independent Life Training 

   a. The provider shall have a program to ensure 

that residents receive training in independent living skills 

appropriate to their age and functioning level. Individualized 

independent life training goals shall be included in each 

resident's service plan. 

   b. This program shall include but not be 

limited to instruction in: 

i. health and dental care, hygiene and 

grooming; 

ii. family life; 

iii. sex education including family planning 

and venereal disease counseling; 

iv. laundry and maintenance of clothing; 

v. appropriate social skills; 

vi. housekeeping; 

vii. use of transportation; 

viii. budgeting and shopping; 

ix. money management; 
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x. cooking and proper nutrition; 

xi. employment issues, including 

punctuality and attendance; 

xii. use of recreation and leisure time; 

xiii. education, college, trade, and/or 

long-term planning/life goals; 

xiv. accessing community services; and 

xv. parenting skills. 

   c. In addition, residents with children shall 

also receive training in the following topics: 

i. parenting preparation classes;  

ii. stages of growth in infants, children 

and adolescents (as applicable);  

iii. day-to-day care of infants, children 

and adolescents (as applicable); 

iv. disciplinary techniques for infants, 

children, and adolescents (as applicable); 

v. child-care resources;  

vi. stress management; 

vii. life skills; and 

viii. decision making. 

  5. Money: 

   a. TThe provider shall permit and encourage a 

resident or child of a resident, as age appropriate, to possess 

his/her own money. The provider can give the resident or child 

of a resident an allowance. Older r Residents and children of 

residents should be given the opportunity to earn additional 

money by providing opportunities for paid work, unless otherwise 

indicated by the resident's service plan, and reviewed every 30 

days by the service plan manager; 
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   b. money earned, or received either as a gift 

or an allowance by a resident or child of a resident, shall be 

deemed to be that resident's individual’s personal property; 

   c. limitations may be placed on the amount of 

money a resident or child of a resident may possess or have 

unencumbered access to when such limitations are considered to 

be in the resident's individual’s best interests and are duly 

recorded in the resident's service plan or child of a resident’s 

record. The reasons for any limitations should be fully 

explained to residents the resident, child of the resident, and 

their families; 

   d. the provider shall, as appropriate to the 

resident's age and abilities, provide training in budgeting, 

shopping and money management; 

   ed. resident's monetary restitution for damages 

shall only occur when there is clear evidence of individual 

responsibility for the damages and the service team program 

director approves the restitution. The resident and his/her 

legal guardian(s) shall be notified in writing within 24 hours 

of any claim for restitution and shall be provided with specific 

details of the damages, how, when and where the damages 

occurred, and the amount of damages claimed. If the amount is 

unknown, an estimate of the damages shall be provided and an 

exact figure provided within 30 days. The resident and his/her 

legal guardian(s) shall be given a reasonable opportunity to 

respond to any claim for damages. If the provider receives 

reimbursement for damages either through insurance or other 

sources, the resident shall not be responsible for restitution; 

   fe. the provider shall maintain a separate 

accounting of each resident’s or child of a resident’s money; 

and 
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   gf. upon discharge, the provider shall provide 

the resident, child of a resident, or legal guardian(s) any 

outstanding balance. 

  6. Work 

   a. The provider shall have and adhere to a 

written policy regarding the involvement of residents in work 

including: 

    i. description of any unpaid tasks 

required of residents; 

    ii. description of any paid work 

assignments including the pay for such assignments that are at 

least minimum wage; 

    iii. description of the provider's approach 

to supervising work assignments; and 

    iv. assurance that the conditions and 

compensation of such work are in compliance with applicable 

state and federal laws. 

   b. The provider shall demonstrate that any 

resident's work assignments are designed to provide a 

constructive experience and are not used as a means of 

performing vital provider functions at low cost. All work 

assignments shall be in accordance with the resident's service 

plan. 

   c. The provider shall assign, as unpaid work, 

age appropriate housekeeping tasks similar to those performed in 

a normal family home. Any other work assigned shall be 

compensated. The provider shall ensure that all such employment 

practices comply fully with state and federal laws and 

standards. No resident shall be employed in any industrial or 

hazardous occupation, or under any hazardous conditions. 

   d. When a resident engages in off-grounds work, 

the provider shall be responsible for ensuring the resident has 
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access to transportation and other supports needed to perform 

the work successfully. The provider shall document that: 

    i. such work is voluntary and in 

accordance with the resident's service plan; 

    ii. the service plan manager approves such 

work; 

    iii. the conditions and compensation of such 

work are in compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act and 

other applicable state and federal laws; and 

    iv. such work does not conflict with the 

resident's program. 

 C. Food Service  

  1. The provider shall ensure that a staff person has 

oversight of the total food service of the facility. This person 

shall be familiar with nutrition and food service management and 

shall be responsible for implementation and/or delegation of: 

a. purchasing food according to the approved 

dietary menu; 

b. oversight of storing and handling of food; 

c. oversight of food preparation; 

d. oversight of food serving; 

e. maintaining sanitary standards in compliance 

with state and local regulations; 

f. orientation, training, and supervision of 

food service personnel to include proper feeding techniques as 

age appropriate; 

g. maintaining a current list of residents and 

children of residents with special nutritional needs; 

h. having an effective method of recording and 

transmitting diet orders and changes; 
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i. recording information in the resident's or 

child of a resident’s record relating to special nutritional 

needs; and 

j. providing information on residents' and 

children of residents’ diets to staff. 

  2. The provider shall have and adhere to written 

policies and procedures that ensure that residents and children 

of residents are a resident is, on a daily basis, provided with 

food of such quality and in such quantity as to meet the 

recommended daily dietary allowances adjusted for age, gender, 

and activity of the Food Nutrition Board of the National 

Research Council United States Department of Agriculture and 

doesn’t deny any rights of the resident or child of a resident. 

Two of the three meals (breakfast, lunch, supper) served shall 

be hot meals. Residents and children of residents shall also be 

provided with a snack between meals and prior to bedtime. 

Breakfast shall be served within at least one hour from when 

residents awake. 

  3. The provider shall maintain a master menu, 

including appropriate substitutions, which is written and 

approved annually, by a registered dietician. 

   a. The provider shall post the written menu at 

least one week in advance in an area regularly used by 

residents. 

   b. Menus shall provide for a sufficient variety 

of foods, vary from week to week and reflect all substitutions. 

Any substitution shall be of equal nutritional value. Residents 

shall be allowed to provide input into these menus. 

   c. Written menus and records of foods purchased 

shall be maintained on record for one year 60 days. 

  4. The provider shall ensure that any modified diet 

for a resident or child of a resident shall be: 
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   a. prescribed by the resident's individual’s 

physician, approved by the registered dietician, and identified 

in the resident’s service plan or child of a resident’s record; 

and 

   b. planned, prepared, and served by persons who 

have received instruction on the modified diet. 

  5. Condiments appropriate for the ordered diet will 

be available. 

  6. When meals are provided to staff, the provider 

shall ensure that staff members eat the same food served to 

residents or children of residents in care, unless special 

dietary requirements dictate differences in diet. 

  7. Food provided to a resident or child of a 

resident shall be in accordance with his/her religious beliefs. 

  8. No resident or child of a resident shall be 

denied food or force-fed for any reason except as medically 

required pursuant to a physician's written order. A copy of the 

order shall be maintained in the resident's individual’s record. 

  9. There shall be no more than 14 hours between the 

last meal or snack and the first meal the following day.  

  109. The provider shall have and adhere to written 

policies and procedures to ensure that all food shall be stored, 

prepared, and served under sanitary conditions. and in 

accordance with State Sanitary Code. The provider shall ensure 

that: 

   a. food served to the resident or child of a 

resident is in appropriate quantity; at appropriate 

temperatures; in a form consistent with 

the development developmental level of the individual client; 

and with appropriate utensils; 

   b. food served to a resident or child of a 

resident not consumed is discarded; 
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   c. food and drink purchased shall be of safe 

quality. Milk and milk products shall be grade A and 

pasteurized.; 

   d. perishable foods shall be stored at the 

proper temperatures according to the local public health 

department to conserve nutritive values; 

   e. food preparation surfaces, utensils, and 

equipment shall be cleaned according to guidelines by the local 

public health department. 

1110. Hand washing facilities, including hot and 

cold water, soap, and paper towels, shall be provided adjacent 

to food service work areas. 

1211. Food shall be stored separate from cleaning 

supplies and equipment. 

1312. Food storage areas are free of rodents, 

roaches, and/or other pests and the provider shall take 

precautions to insure ensure such pests do not contaminate food. 

1413. Persons responsible for food preparation 

shall not prepare food if they have symptoms of acute illness or 

an open wound. 

1514. Information regarding food allergies/special 

diets shall be posted in the food prep area with special care so 

that the individual names are not in public view. 

15. Children under four years of age shall not have 

foods that are implicated in choking incidents. Examples of 

these foods include but are not limited to the following:  whole 

hot dogs, hot dogs sliced in rounds, raw carrot rounds, whole 

grapes, hard candy, nuts, seeds, raw peas, hard pretzels, chips, 

peanuts, popcorn, marshmallows, spoonfuls of peanut butter, and 

chunks of meat larger than what can be swallowed whole. 

16. Formula for an infant prepared by or in a 

residential home shall be prepared in accordance with the 
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instructions of the formula or by the techniques recommended by 

the physician which shall be on file at the facility.  

17. Formula for an infant shall be labeled with the 

child's name and date of preparation.  

18. Formula for an infant shall be refrigerated 

immediately after preparation and shall not be used more than 24 

hours after preparation. The timeframe for use after preparation 

may be longer than 24 hours if directed by written order of a 

physician or as documented in the instructions of the formula. 

The timeframe shall not be extended beyond the physician's 

written recommendation or the instructions of the formula.  

19. Formula shall not be heated in a microwave oven. 

20. Water shall be given to infants only with written 

instructions from child’s physician. 

21. A child’s bottle shall not be propped at any 

time. 

22. Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed to 

provide a nurturing, safe feeding experience. 

 D. Health Related Services 

  1. Health Care  

   a. tThe provider shall have and adhere to 

written policies and procedures for providing preventive, 

routine, and emergency medical and dental care for residents and 

children of residents and shall show evidence of access to the 

resources. They shall include, but are not limited to, the 

following: 

    i. ongoing appraisal of the general health 

of each resident and child of a resident; 

    ii. provision of health education, as 

appropriate; 

    iii. provision for keeping 

residents' maintaining current immunizations current; 
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    iv. approaches that ensure that any medical 

service administered will be explained to the resident or child 

of a resident in language suitable to his/her age and 

understanding; 

    v. an ongoing relationship with a licensed 

physician, dentist, and pharmacist to advise the provider 

concerning medical and dental care; 

    vi. availability of a physician on a 24-

hour, seven days a week basis; 

    vii. reporting of communicable diseases and 

infections in accordance with law; 

    viii. procedures for ensuring 

residents and children of residents know how and to whom to 

voice complaints about any health issues or concerns. 

  2. Medical Care 

   a. The provider shall arrange a medical 

examination by a physician for the resident or child of a 

resident within a week of admission unless the resident or child 

of a resident has received such an examination within 30 days 

before admission and the results of this examination are 

available to the provider. If the resident or child of a 

resident is being transferred from another CRF residential home 

and has had a physical examination within the last 12 months, a 

copy of this examination can may be obtained to meet the 

requirement of the admission physical. The physical examination 

shall include:  

    i. an examination of the resident or child 

of a resident for any physical injury, physical disability, and 

disease; 

    ii. vision, hearing, and speech 

screening; and 
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    iii. a current assessment of the 

resident's or child of resident’s general health. 

   b. The provider shall arrange an annual 

physical examination of all residents and children of residents. 

   c. Whenever indicated, the resident or child of 

a resident shall be referred to an appropriate medical 

specialist for either further assessment or service, including 

gynecological services for female residents or children of 

residents. The provider shall schedule such specialist care 

within 30 days of the initial exam. If the specialist’s service 

needed is a result of a medical emergency, such care shall be 

obtained immediately. 

   d. The provider shall ensure that a resident or 

child of a resident receives timely, competent medical care when 

he/she is ill or injured. The provider shall notify 

the resident's legal guardian, verbally and/or in writing, 

within 24 hours of a resident's or child of a resident’s illness 

or injury that requires service from a physician or hospital. 

The notification shall include the nature of the injury or 

illness and any service required.  

   e. Records of all medical examinations, follow-

ups and services, together with and copies of all notices to 

legal guardian(s) shall be kept in the resident's or child of a 

resident’s record. 

  3. Dental Care  

   a. The provider shall have and adhere to 

written policies and procedures for providing comprehensive 

dental services to include: 

    i. provision for dental service; 

    ii. provision for emergency service on a 

24-hour, seven days a week basis by a licensed dentist; 
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    iii. a recall system specified by the 

dentist, but at least annually; 

    iv. dental cleanings annually; and 

    v. training and prompting for 

residents and children of residents to brush their teeth at 

least twice per day. 

   b. The provider shall arrange a dental exam for 

each resident and child of a resident within 90 days of 

admission unless the resident or child has received such an 

examination within six months prior to admission and a copy of 

the examination is obtained by the provider. The results of this 

examination shall be made available to the provider. Children of 

residents shall begin receiving annual examinations at the 

eruption of their first tooth and no later than 12 months of 

age. 

   c. Records of all dental examinations, follow-

ups and service shall be documented in the resident's record. 

   d. The provider shall notify the resident's 

legal guardian(s), verbally and/or in writing, within 24 

hours immediately when a resident or child of a resident 

requires or receives dental services of an emergency nature. The 

notification shall include the nature of the dental condition 

and any service required. Notification shall be documented in 

the record. 

  4. Immunizations 

   a. The provider shall have and adhere to 

written policies and procedures regarding immunizations to 

ensure that: 

    i. within 30 days of admission, the 

provider shall obtain documentation of a resident's or child of 

a resident’s immunization history, ensuring that the 

resident and child of a resident have has received and will 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



receive all appropriate immunizations and booster shots that are 

required by the Office of Public Health; 

    ii. the provider shall maintain a complete 

record of all immunizations received in the resident's or child 

of a resident’s record. 

  5. Medications  

   a. The provider shall have and adhere to 

written policies and procedures that govern the safe 

administration and handling of all medication, to include the 

following: 

    i. a system for documentation and review 

of medication errors; 

    ii. self-administration of both 

prescription and nonprescription medications; 

    iii. handling medication taken by 

residents and children of residents on pass.; and 

    iv. a plan of action for residents and 

children of residents who require emergency medication (e.g., 

Epipen, Benadryl).  

   b. The provider shall have a system in place to 

ensure that there is a sufficient supply of prescribed 

medication available for each resident and child of a resident 

at all times. 

   c. The provider shall ensure that medications 

are either self-administered or administered by persons with 

appropriate credentials, training, and expertise. according to 

state law.  

i. Effective August 1, 2016, providers 

licensed to care for children of residents or licensed to care 

for residents under five years of age shall have staff trained 

in medication administration. Trained staff shall be scheduled 

for each shift when residents under five years of age or 
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children of residents under five years of age are present on the 

premises. Training shall be obtained every two years from an 

approved child care health consultant. By virtue of his/her 

current license, a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or registered 

nurse (RN) shall be considered to have medication administration 

training. 

   d. There shall be written documentation 

requirements for the administration of all prescription and non-

prescription medication, whether administered by staff, 

supervised by staff or self-administered. This documentation 

shall include: 

    i. resident's or child of resident’s name, 

date, medication name, dosage, and time administered; 

    ii. signature of person administering 

medication, if other than resident; and 

    iii. signature of person witnessing resident 

or child of resident self-administer medication (if applicable). 

    iii. refusal to take medication; and 

    iv. reason for refusal; if applicable. 

   e. When residents administer medication to 

their own children, the medication administration record shall 

be documented by either the resident or by facility staff as 

indicated in Subparagraph D.5.d of this Section. 

   f. If prescription medication is not 

administered as prescribed or resident or child of resident 

refuses to take medication, the physician ordering the 

medication shall be immediately notified and documentation noted 

to include: 

    i. resident's or child of resident’s name, 

date, and time; 

ii. medication name and dosage; 
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iii. person attempting to administer 

medication, if other than resident or child of resident; 

iv. reason for refusal or medication not 

being given as prescribed;  

v. name of staff notifying physician’s 

office;  

vi. date and time of notification to 

physician’s office; and 

vii. name of person notified and next steps 

(if applicable). 

   eg. The provider shall ensure that any 

medication given to a resident or child of resident for 

therapeutic and/or medical purposes is in accordance with the 

written order of a physician. 

   ih. There shall be no standing orders for 

prescription medications. 

   ii. There shall be standing orders, signed by 

the physician, for nonprescription medications with directions 

from the physician indicating when he/she is to be contacted. 

The physician shall update standing orders annually. 

   iiij. Copies of all written orders shall be 

maintained in the resident's or child of a resident’s record. 

   ivk. Medication shall not be used as a 

disciplinary measure, a convenience for staff, or as a 

substitute for adequate, appropriate programming. 

   vl. Prescription Mmedications shall be reviewed 

and renewed on at least an annual basis by a licensed physician; 

however psychotropic medications shall be reviewed and renewed 

at least every 90 days by a licensed physician. 

   fm. Residents and children of residents shall be 

informed of any changes to their medications, prior to 

administration of any new or altered medications. 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



gn. Residents, staff, and, where appropriate, 

residents' legal guardian(s) are educated on the potential 

benefits and negative side effects of the medication and are 

involved in decisions concerning the use of the medication. 

ho. The provider shall ensure that the 

prescribing physician is immediately informed of any side 

effects observed by staff, or any medication errors. Any such 

side effects or errors shall be promptly recorded in the 

resident's or child of a resident’s record and the legal 

guardian(s) shall be notified verbally or in writing within 24 

hours. 

ip. Discontinued and outdated medications and 

containers with worn, illegible, or missing labels shall be 

properly disposed of according to state law. 

jq. Medications shall be stored under proper 

conditions of sanitation, temperature, light, moisture, 

ventilation, segregation, and security. 

    i. External medications and internal 

medications shall be stored on separate shelves or in separate 

cabinets. 

    ii. All medication, including refrigerated 

medications, shall be kept under lock and key. Refrigerated 

medication shall be stored in a secure container with a lid to 

prevent access by children and avoid contamination of food. 

   k. Psychotropic medications shall be reviewed 

and renewed at least every 90 days by a licensed physician. 

   r. All medications shall be maintained in the 

original container/packaging or as dispensed by the pharmacist. 

   s. A plan of care shall be developed for each 

resident or child of a resident who requires emergency 

medication (e.g., Epipen, Benadryl). The plan of care shall 

include: 
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i. method of administration;  

ii. symptoms that would indicate the need 

for the medication; 

iii. actions to take once symptoms occur; 

iv. description of how to use the 

medication; and 

v. signature and date of program director 

or medical personnel. 

   t. Medication administration records for 

emergency medication shall be maintained in accordance with 

Subparagraph D.5.d of this Section and shall also include the 

following: 

i. symptoms noted that indicated the need 

for the medication; 

ii. actions taken once symptoms occurred; 

iii. description of how medication was 

administered; 

iv. signature (not initials) of the staff 

member who administered the medication; and 

v. notification to legal guardian (date, 

time, and signature of person who contacted the legal guardian) 

following the administration of the emergency medication. 

   u. If the non-prescription medication label 

reads “to consult physician”, a written authorization from a 

Louisiana, or adjacent state, licensed medical physician or 

dentist, shall be on file in order to administer the medication, 

and shall include the following information: 

i. child’s name; 

ii. date of authorization; 

iii. medication name and strength; and 
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iv. clear directions for use, including the 

route (e.g., oral, topical), dosage, and frequency, time, or 

schedule of medication. 

  6. Professional and Specialized Services 

   a. The provider shall monitor that 

residents and children of residents receive specialized services 

to meet their needs; these services shall include but are not 

limited to: 

    i. physical/occupational therapy; 

    ii. speech pathology and audiology; 

    iii. psychological and psychiatric services; 

    iv. social work services; 

    v. individual, group and family 

counseling; and 

    vi. substance abuse counseling/drug or 

alcohol addiction treatment. 

   b. The provider shall monitor that all 

providers of professional and special services: 

    i. record all significant contacts with 

the resident or child of a resident; 

    ii. provide quarterly written summaries of 

the resident's or child of a resident’s response to the service, 

the resident's or child of a resident’s current status relative 

to the service, and the resident's or child of a resident’s 

progress; 

    iii. participate, as appropriate, in the 

development, implementation, and review of resident’s service 

plans and aftercare plans and participates in the 

interdisciplinary team responsible for developing such plans; 

    iv. provide services appropriately 

integrated into the overall program and provide training to 

direct service staff as needed to implement service plans; 
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    v. provide resident 

assessments/evaluations as needed for service plan development 

and revision. 

   c. The provider shall monitor that any provider 

of professional or special services (internal or external to the 

facility) meets the criteria noted below:  

    i. have adequately qualified and, where 

appropriate, currently licensed or certified staff according to 

state or federal law; 

    ii. have adequate space, facilities, and 

privacy; 

    iii. have appropriate equipment, supplies, 

and resources. 

   d. The providers shall ensure that 

residents and children of residents are evaluated for 

specialized services in a timely manner when a need is 

identified. 

 E. Recreation 

  1. The provider shall have and adhere to a written 

policy and procedure for a recreation program that offers indoor 

and outdoor activities in which participation can be encouraged 

and motivated on the basis of individual interests and needs of 

the residents and children of residents and the composition of 

the living group. 

  2. The provider shall provide recreational services 

based on the individual needs, interests, and functioning levels 

of the residents and children of residents served. In planning 

recreational programs and activities, staff should assess the 

ages, interests, abilities and developmental and other needs of 

the residents and children of residents served to determine the 

range of activities that are safe and appropriate. Residents and 

children of residents shall be allowed time to be alone and to 
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engage in solitary activities that they enjoy. There should be 

opportunities for group activities to develop spontaneously, 

such as group singing, dancing, storytelling, listening 

to records music, games, etc. Recreational activities should be 

planned throughout the week. 

  3. Recreational objectives shall be included in each 

resident’s service plan. Residents should be involved in 

planning and selecting activities as part of their individual 

service plan. 

  4. There shall be evidence that staff participating 

in recreation activities with the residents are appropriately 

informed of the resident's needs, problems, and service plans; 

communicate routinely with other direct service staff concerning 

residents; and have a means of providing in-put. 

  54. The provider shall provide adequate recreation 

and yard spaces to meet the needs and abilities of its 

clients residents and children of residents regardless of their 

disabilities. Recreation equipment and supplies shall be of 

sufficient quantity and variety to carry out the stated 

objectives of the provider's recreation plan. Recreational 

equipment should be selected in accordance with the number 

of residents and children of residents, clients, their ages and 

needs, and should allow for imaginative play, creativity, and 

development of leisure skills and physical fitness. 

  65. The provider shall utilize the recreational 

resources of the community whenever appropriate. The provider 

shall arrange the transportation and supervision required for 

maximum usage of community resources. Unless the restriction is 

part of the facility's master behavior program plan, access to 

such community resources shall not be denied or infringed except 

as may be required as part of the resident's service plan. Any 

such restrictions shall be specifically described in the service 

Pursuant to RS 49:983 the Office of the State Register may make technical changes to proposed rule submissions in 
preparing the Louisiana Register and Louisiana Administrative Code.



plan, together with the reasons such restrictions are necessary 

and the extent and duration of such restrictions. 

 F. Transportation 

1. The provider shall have and adhere to written 

policies and procedures to ensure that each resident is provided 

with transportation necessary to meet his/her needs as 

identified in the individualized service plan. 

2. The provider shall have means of transporting 

residents and children of residents in cases of emergency. 

3. The provider shall ensure and document that any 

vehicle used in transporting residents or children of residents, 

whether such vehicle is operated by a staff member or any other 

person acting on behalf of the provider, is inspected and 

licensed in accordance with state law and carries current 

liability insurance. 

4. All vehicles used for the transportation of 

residents or children of residents shall be maintained in a safe 

condition and in conformity with all applicable motor vehicle 

laws. 

5. Preventative maintenance shall be performed on a 

monthly basis to ensure the vehicles are maintained in working 

order. The provider shall maintain documentation supporting 

adherence to vehicle maintenance schedules and other services as 

indicated. 

46. Any staff member of the provider or other person 

acting on behalf of the provider, operating a vehicle for the 

purpose of transporting residents or children of residents shall 

maintain a current driver's license. The staff member operating 

the vehicle shall have the applicable type of driver's license 

to comply with the current motor vehicle laws. 

57. The provider shall not allow the number of 

persons in any vehicle used to transport residents to exceed the 
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number of available seats in the vehicle. The provider shall not 

transport residents nor children of residents in the back or the 

bed of a truck. 

68. The provider shall conform to all applicable 

state motor vehicle laws regarding the transport of 

residents and children of residents. 

79. The provider shall ensure that residents and 

children of residents being transported in the vehicle  are 

properly supervised while in the vehicle and during the 

trip. Residents nor children of residents are to be unattended 

in the vehicle. 

810. Vehicles used to transport residents and children 

of residents shall not be identified in a manner that may 

embarrass or in any way produce notoriety for residents or 

children of residents. 

911. The provider shall ascertain the nature of any 

need or problem of a resident or child of a resident that might 

cause difficulties during transportation, such as seizures, a 

tendency toward motion sickness, or a disability. The provider 

shall communicate such information to the operator individual of 

any vehicle transporting residents or children of residents. 

120. The following additional arrangements are 

required for a provider serving residents or children of 

residents with physical limitations: 

   a. a ramp device to permit entry and exit of a 

resident or child of a resident from the vehicle shall be 

provided for all vehicles except automobiles normally used to 

transport physically handicapped residents or children of 

residents. A mechanical lift may be utilized if a ramp is also 

available in case of emergency; 
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   b. in all vehicles except automobiles, 

wheelchairs used in transit shall be securely fastened to the 

vehicle; 

   c. in all vehicles except automobiles, the 

arrangement of the wheelchairs shall provide an adequate aisle 

space and shall not impede access to the exit door of the 

vehicle. 

13. No resident or child of a resident shall be 

transported in any vehicle unless age appropriate child 

restraints are utilized. In addition, transportation 

arrangements shall conform to state laws, including but not 

limited to those requiring the use of seat belts and child 

restraints. 

  14. Only one resident or child of a resident shall be 

restrained in a single safety belt.  

  15. All aspects of the vehicle shall be maintained in 

good repair including, but not limited to proper working order 

of doors, lights, tires, etc. 

   a. ventilation and heating systems shall be 

operational and used to maintain a comfortable temperature 

during transport; 

   b. the vehicle’s engine shall be maintained in 

working mechanical order; 

   c. the vehicle’s interior shall be clean and 

free of trash and debris; 

   d. the vehicle’s seat coverings shall be in 

good repair; 

  16. The use or possession of alcohol, tobacco in any 

form, illegal substances or unauthorized potentially toxic 

substances, firearms (loaded or unloaded), or pellet or BB guns 

(loaded or unloaded) in any vehicle used to transport residents 

or children of residents is prohibited. 
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  17. The number of persons in a vehicle used to 

transport residents or children of residents shall not exceed 

the manufacturer's recommended capacity. 

  18. The vehicle shall have evidence of a current 

safety inspection. 

  19. A visual inspection of the vehicle is required to 

ensure that no child of a resident or resident was left on the 

vehicle. A staff person shall physically walk through the 

vehicle and inspect all seat surfaces, under all seats, and in 

all enclosed spaces and recesses in the vehicle’s interior. For 

field trips, staff shall check the vehicle and conduct a face-

to-name count conducted prior to leaving facility for the 

destination, when destination is reached, before departing 

destination for return to facility, and upon return to facility. 

For all other transportation, the staff shall inspect the 

vehicle at the completion of each trip prior to the staff person 

exiting the vehicle. The staff conducting the visual check for 

all transportation, shall document the time of the visual check 

inspection and sign his or her full name, indicating that no 

child of a resident or resident was left on the vehicle. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:823 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7119. Physical Environment 

 A. Physical Appearance and Conditions 

  1. The provider shall maintain all areas of the 

facility accessible to residents and children of residents in 
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good repair and free from any reasonably foreseeable hazard to 

health or safety. All structures on the grounds of the facility 

shall be maintained in good repair. 

  2. The provider shall have an effective pest control 

program to prevent insect and rodent infestation. 

  3. The provider shall maintain the grounds of the 

facility in good condition. 

   a. Garbage and rubbish stored outside shall be 

secured in noncombustible, covered containers and shall be 

removed on at least a weekly basis. 

   b. Trash collection receptacles shall be 

separate from play area. 

   c. Fences shall be in good repair. 

   d. Areas determined to be unsafe, including 

steep grades; cliffs, open pits, swimming pools, high voltage 

boosters or high-speed roads (45 mph or higher) shall be fenced 

or have natural barriers to protect residents and children of 

residents. 

   e. Playground equipment shall be so located, 

installed, and maintained as to ensure the safety of residents 

and children of residents. 

  4. Residents and children of residents shall have 

access to safe, suitable, outdoor recreational space and age 

appropriate equipment. 

  5. The provider shall have at least 75 square feet 

of accessible exterior space for each resident. The exterior 

space shall be adequate to accommodate one-half the licensed 

capacity of the facility. 

  6. In facilities licensed to care for residents less 

than 10 years of age or licensed to accept children of 

residents, the outdoor play space shall be enclosed with a 

permanent fence or other permanent barrier in such a manner as 
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to protect the children from traffic hazards, to prevent the 

children from leaving the premises without proper supervision, 

and to prevent contact with animals or unauthorized persons. 

7. In facilities licensed to care for residents less 

than 10 years of age or licensed to accept children of 

residents, all air conditioning/heating units, mechanical 

equipment, electrical equipment, or other hazardous equipment 

shall be inaccessible to children. 

8. Culverts are prohibited within outdoor play 

spaces. 

9. In facilities licensed to care for residents less 

than 10 years of age or licensed to accept children of 

residents, areas where there are open cisterns, wells, ditches, 

fish ponds, swimming pools, and other bodies of water shall be 

made inaccessible to children by fencing and locked gates. 

10. All equipment used by residents and children of 

residents shall be maintained in a clean, safe condition and in 

good repair. 

11. In facilities licensed to care for residents less 

than 10 years of age or licensed to accept children of 

residents, all poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, 

equipment, tools, kitchen knives or potentially dangerous 

utensils, and any substance with a warning label stating it is 

harmful to or that is should be kept out of reach of children, 

shall be locked away from and inaccessible to children. Whether 

these items are in a cabinet or in an entire room, the area 

shall be locked. 

12. The use or possession of alcohol, tobacco in any 

form, illegal substances ,or unauthorized potentially toxic 

substances on the premises of the residential home is 

prohibited. 

 B. Interior Space 
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  1. The provider shall have and adhere to policies 

and procedures to ensure that the facility maintains a safe, 

clean, orderly, and homelike environment. 

  2. All equipment, furnishings, and interior spaces 

shall be clean and maintained at all times. The provider shall 

have a program in place to monitor regular maintenance, 

preventative maintenance, cleaning and repair of all equipment 

and furnishings that is performed on a routine basis. Written 

documentation of the maintenance and cleaning program activities 

shall be maintained by administration to include cleaning 

schedules and reports of repairs. 

  3. The facility shall have sufficient living and 

program space available for residents and children of residents 

to gather for reading, study, relaxation, structured group 

activities, and visitation. Space shall be available that allows 

for confidentiality for family visits, counseling, groups, and 

meetings. The living areas shall contain such items as 

television, stereo, age-appropriate books, magazines, and 

newspapers.  

  4. A facility shall have a minimum of 60 square feet 

of unencumbered floor area per resident in living and dining 

areas accessible to residents and excluding halls, closets, 

bathrooms, bedrooms, staff or staff's family quarters, laundry 

areas, storage areas, and office areas.  

  5. Each child shall be provided with an opportunity 

to safely and comfortably sit, crawl, toddle, walk, and play 

according to the child's stage of development and in a 

designated space apart from sleeping quarters each day in order 

to enhance development.  

  6. Computers that allow internet access by the 

residents or children of residents shall be equipped with 

monitoring or filtering software, or an analogous software 
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protection, that limits access to inappropriate websites, e-

mail, and instant messages. 

  7. Programs, movies, and video games shall be age 

appropriate. 

  8. A variety of books, educational materials, toys, 

and play materials shall be provided, organized, and displayed 

within resident’s and children of resident’s reach so that they 

may select and return items independently. 

  9. At least one corded land line capable of incoming 

and outgoing calls for emergency purposes shall be accessible to 

residents and children of residents at all times at the 

facility. 

 C. Dining Areas 

  1. The provider shall have dining areas that permit 

residents, children of residents, staff, and guests visitors to 

eat together and create a homelike environment. 

  2. Dining areas shall be clean, well lit, 

ventilated, and equipped with dining tables and appropriate 

seating for the dining tables. 

  3. Highchairs shall be used in accordance with the 

manufacturer’s instructions including restrictions based on age 

and minimum/maximum weight of infants and children. Staff shall 

ensure that the highchair manufacturer’s restraint device is 

used when children are sitting in the highchair. Children who 

are too small or too large to be restrained using the 

manufacturer’s restraint device shall not be placed in the 

highchair. Provider shall take into account the child’s 

developmental stage, tolerances, and ability to sit up safely by 

themselves. 

 D. Bedrooms  

  1. Each resident and child of a resident shall have 

his/her own designated area for rest and sleep. 
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  2. The provider shall ensure that each single 

occupancy bedroom space has a floor area of at least 80 70 

square feet of unencumbered space and that each multiple 

occupancy bedroom space has a floor area of at least 60 square 

feet of unencumbered space for each occupant.  

  3. The provider shall not use a room with a ceiling 

height of less than 7 feet 6 inches as a bedroom space. In a 

room with varying ceiling height, only portions of the room with 

a ceiling height of at least 7 feet 6 inches are allowed in 

determining usable space. 

  4. The provider shall not use any room that does not 

have a window as a bedroom space. The bedroom space for 

residents and children of residents shall be decorated to allow 

for the personal tastes and expressions of the residents and 

children of residents. 

  5. Any provider that licenses beds subsequent 

to April 2012, the effective date of these revised standards 

shall have bedroom space that does not permit more than two 

residents per designated bedroom space. All others shall not 

exceed four residents to occupy a designated space. 

  6. No resident or child of a resident over the age 

of five years shall occupy a bedroom with a member of the 

opposite sex, unless that individual is the child’s parent in 

accordance with R.S. 46:1403 or the child’s sibling. 

  7. The provider shall ensure that the age of 

residents sharing bedroom space is not greater than four years 

in difference unless contraindicated based on family dynamics. 

  8. Each resident and child of a resident age 1 year 

and above shall have his/her own bed. A resident's The bed shall 

be longer than the resident or child of a resident is tall, no 

less than 30 inches wide, and shall have a clean, comfortable, 

nontoxic, fire retardant mattress. 
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  9. The provider shall ensure that sheets, pillow, 

bedspread, and blankets are provided for each resident and child 

of a resident: 

   a. enuretic residents and children of residents 

shall have mattresses with moisture resistant covers; and 

   b. sheets and pillowcases shall be changed at 

least weekly, but shall be changed more frequently if necessary. 

Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately when soiled or 

wet. 

  10. Each resident shall have a solidly constructed 

bed. Cots or other portable beds shall be used on an emergency 

basis only . The provider shall request a variance from the 

department if a cot or portable bed is to and shall not be in 

use for longer than one week. 

  11. All bunk beds in use in a residential home shall 

be equipped with safety rails on the upper tier for a child 

under the age of 10, or for any child whose physical, mental, or 

emotional condition indicates the need for such protection. A 

child under 6 years of age shall not sleep on the upper bunk of 

a bunk bed. No beds shall be bunked higher than 2 tiers. The 

provider shall ensure that- the uppermost mattress of any bunk 

bed in use shall be far enough from the ceiling to allow the 

occupant to sit up in bed. 

  12. Each resident shall have his/her own nightstand. 

and Each resident shall have his/her own dresser or other 

adequate storage space for private use in the bedroom. 

  13. There shall be a closet for hanging clothing in 

proximity to the bedroom occupied by the resident and child of a 

resident. For beds licensed after April 2012 the effective date 

of these standards, there shall be a closet for hanging clothing 

within the bedroom or immediately adjacent to the bedroom. The 

closet shall not be within a bathroom. 
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  14. The bedroom space for residents shall be 

decorated to allow for the personal tastes and expressions of 

the residents.   

  14. No resident and her child shall share a bedroom 

with another resident.  

  15. A resident shall not be allowed to sleep in the 

same bed with her child.  

 E. Bathrooms 

  1. The facility shall have an adequate supply of hot 

and cold water. The hot water source shall have a scald control 

mechanism in place. 

  2. The facility shall have toilets and baths or 

showers that allow for individual privacy. For beds licensed 

after April 2012, the effective date of these standards, the 

following ratio shall be met. Whenever calculations include any 

fraction of a fixture, the next higher whole number of fixtures 

shall be installed. 

Lavatories 1:6  resident beds 

Toilets 1:6 resident beds 

Showers or tubs 1:6 resident beds 

 

  3. Bathrooms shall be so placed as to allow access 

without disturbing other residents or children of residents 

during sleeping hours. 

  4. Each bathroom shall be properly equipped with 

toilet paper, towels, and soap. 

5. Tubs and showers shall have slip proof surfaces. 

6. Bathrooms shall contain mirrors secured to the 

walls at convenient heights and other furnishings necessary to 

meet the residents' and children of residents’ basic hygienic 

needs. 
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7. Each resident and child of a resident shall be 

provided personal hygiene items such as hairbrushes, 

toothbrushes, razors, etc. 

8. Bathrooms shall be equipped to facilitate maximum 

self-help by residents and children of residents. Bathrooms 

shall be large enough to permit staff assistance of 

residents and children of residents, if necessary. 

9. Toilets, washbasins, and other plumbing or 

sanitary facilities in a facility shall be maintained in good 

operating condition and conform to the requirements of the state 

sanitary code. 

 F. Kitchens 

1. Kitchens used for meal preparations shall be 

provided with the necessary equipment for the preparation, 

storage, serving and clean-up of all meals for all of the 

residents, children of residents, and staff regularly served. 

All equipment shall be maintained in proper working order. 

2. The provider shall not use disposable dinnerware 

at meals except for special occasions such as picnics or 

barbeques or in an emergency situation unless the facility 

documents that such dinnerware is necessary to protect the 

health or safety of residents or children of residents in care. 

3. The provider shall ensure that all dishes, cups, 

and glasses used by residents and children of residents are free 

from chips;, cracks, or other defects and are in sufficient 

number to accommodate all the residents and children of 

residents. 

4. Animals, other than those used as service 

animals, shall not be permitted in food storage, preparation, 

and dining areas. 

 G. Laundry Space. The provider shall have a laundry space 

complete with washer and dryer. 
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 H. Staff Quarters. The provider utilizing live-in staff 

shall provide adequate, separate living space with a private 

bathroom for these staff and their children.  

 I. Administrative and Discussion Space 

  1. The provider shall provide a space that is 

distinct from residents' and children of residents’ living areas 

to serve as an administrative office for records, secretarial 

work, and bookkeeping. 

  2. The provider shall have a designated space to 

allow private discussions between individual residents, children 

of residents, and staff.  If there is a window in the space, it 

shall have a covering to provide privacy during private 

discussions. 

  3. There shall be a covering on the window. 

 J. Furnishings 

  1. The provider shall have comfortable customary 

furniture as appropriate for all living areas. Furniture for the 

use of residents and children of residents shall be 

appropriately designed to suit the size and capabilities of 

these residents and children of residents. 

  2. The provider shall replace or repair broken, run-

down, or defective furnishings and equipment promptly. 

 K. Doors and Windows 

  1. When opened, all windows that can be opened shall 

have insect screening. This screening shall be readily removable 

in emergencies and shall be in good repair. 

  2. All closets, bedrooms, and bathrooms shall have 

doors that allow egress from both sides. 

  3. Each window shall have a covering to provide 

privacy unless otherwise stipulated in the service plan. 

 L. Storage 
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  1. The provider shall ensure that there are 

sufficient and appropriate storage facilities. 

  2. The provider shall have securely locked storage 

space for all potentially harmful materials. Keys to such 

storage spaces shall only be available to authorized staff 

members. 

 M. Electrical Systems 

  1. The provider shall ensure that all electrical 

equipment, wiring, switches, sockets, and outlets are maintained 

in good order and safe condition. 

  2. The provider shall ensure that any room, 

corridor, or stairway within a facility shall be well lit. 

  3. The provider shall ensure that exterior areas are 

well lit when dark. 

 N. Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)  

  1. The facility shall provide safe HVAC systems 

sufficient to maintain comfortable temperatures with a minimum 

of 65 degrees and maximum 80 degrees fahrenheit in all indoor 

public and private areas of the facility in all seasons of the 

year.; 

  2. All gas-heating units must bear the stamp of 

approval of the American Gas Association Testing Laboratories, 

Inc., or other nationally recognized testing agency for 

enclosed, vented heaters for the type of fuel used. 

  3. All gas heating units and water heaters must be 

vented adequately to carry the products of combustion to the 

outside atmosphere. Vents must be constructed and maintained to 

provide a continuous draft to the outside atmosphere in 

accordance with the recommended procedures of the American Gas 

Association Testing Laboratories, Inc. 

  42. All heating units must be provided with a 

sufficient supply of outside air so as to support combustion 
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without depletion of the air in the occupied room. The provider 

shall not use open flame heating equipment. 

  53. The use of portable heaters by the facility and 

residents, staff, and children of residents are is strictly 

prohibited, unless in an emergency situation. 

  64. The provider shall take all reasonable 

precautions to ensure that heating elements, including exposed 

hot water pipes, are insulated and installed in a manner that 

ensures the safety of residents and children of residents. 

 O. Safe Sleep Practices and Infant Furnishings 

  1. Only one infant shall be placed in each crib. All 

infants shall be placed on their backs for sleeping.  

   a. Written authorization from the child’s 

physician is required for any other sleeping position. A notice 

of exception to this requirement shall be posted on or near the 

infant’s crib and shall specify the alternate sleep position. 

   b. Written authorization from the child’s 

physician is required for a child to sleep in a car seat or 

other similar device and shall include the amount of time that 

the child is to remain in said device. The written authorization 

shall be updated every three months and as changes occur. 

  2. Infants shall not be placed in positioning 

devices for sleeping unless the child has a note on file from 

the child’s physician authorizing the device.  

  3. Infants who use pacifiers will be offered their 

pacifier when they are placed to sleep and it shall not be 

placed back in the mouth once the child is asleep. 

  4. Bibs shall not be worn by any child while asleep. 

  5. Infants shall not sleep in an adult bed, on a 

couch, or in a chair. 

  6. A safety-approved crib shall be made available 

for each infant.  
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a. Effective December 28, 2012, each crib in

use shall meet U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) 

requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) 1219, or non full-size cribs as 

defined in 16 CFR 1220.  

b. A crib meets the requirements of this

Section if: 

i. the crib has a tracking label which

notes that the crib was manufactured on or after June 28, 2011; 

or 

ii. the provider has a registration card

which accompanies the crib and notes that the crib was 

manufactured on or after June 28, 2011; or 

iii. the provider has obtained a Children’s

Product Certificate (CPC) certifying the crib as meeting 

requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) 1219, or non full-size cribs as 

defined in 16 CFR 1220. 

7. Each crib shall be equipped with a firm mattress

and well fitting sheets. Mattresses shall be of standard size so 

that the mattress fits the crib frame without gaps of more than 

one-half inch. Homemade mattresses are prohibited. 

8. The minimum height from the top of the mattress

to the top of the crib rail shall be 20 inches at the highest 

point. 

9. The mattress support system shall not be easily

dislodged from any point of the crib by an upward force from 

underneath the crib. 

10. Stackable cribs are prohibited.

11. Children sleeping in playpens or mesh-sided cribs

is prohibited. 
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12. Cribs shall be free of toys and other soft

bedding, including blankets, comforters, bumper pads, pillows, 

stuffed animals, and wedges when the child is in the crib. 

13. Nothing shall be placed over the head or face of

the infant.  

14. While residents are awake, napping infants shall

be checked on at least every 30 minutes.  

P. Care of Children 

1. Diapers shall be changed immediately when wet or

soiled.  

2. While awake, children shall not remain in a

crib/baby bed, swing, high chair, carrier, playpen, etc., for 

more than 30 consecutive minutes.   

3. Pacifiers attached to strings or ribbons shall

not be placed around a child’s neck or attached to a child’s 

clothing. 

4. Staff shall adhere to proper techniques for

lifting a child. Staff shall not lift a child by one or both of 

child’s arms. 

5. Children shall be changed and cleaned immediately

following a toileting accident.  

6. A child’s request for toileting assistance shall

be responded to promptly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:828 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7121. Emergency Preparedness
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 A. Emergency Plan 

  1. The provider, in consultation with appropriate 

state or local authorities, shall establish and follow a written 

multi-hazard emergency and evacuation plan to protect residents 

and children of residents in the event of any emergency. shall 

have a The written overall plan of emergency procedures that 

shall provide for the following: 

   a. provide for the evacuation of residents and 

children of residents to safe or sheltered areas. Evacuation 

plans shall include procedures for addressing both planned and 

unplanned evacuations and to alternate locations within the city 

and long distance evacuations; 

   b. provide for training of staff and, as 

appropriate, residents and children of residents in preventing, 

reporting, and responding to fires and other emergencies. The 

plan shall be reviewed with all staff at least annually. 

Documentation evidencing that the plan has been reviewed with 

all staff shall include staff signatures and date reviewed;   

   c. provide for training of personnel staff in 

their emergency duties for all types of emergencies and the use 

of any fire fighting or other emergency equipment in their 

immediate work areas; 

   d. provide for providing adequate staffing in 

the event of an emergency; 

   e. ensuring ensure access to medication and 

other necessary supplies or equipment.; 

f. include shelter in place, lock down 

situations, and evacuations with regard to natural disasters, 

manmade disasters, bomb threats, and national security threats;   

g. be appropriate for the area in which the 

facility is located and address any potential disaster due to 

that particular location;   
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h. include a system to account for all 

residents and children of residents whether sheltering in place, 

locking down, or evacuating to a pre-determined relocation site; 

i. include lock down procedures for situations 

that may result in harm to persons inside the facility, 

including but not limited to a shooting, hostage incident, 

intruder, trespassing, disturbance, or any situation deemed 

harmful at the discretion of the program director or public 

safety personnel; 

j. account for residents and children of 

residents and ensure that no one leaves the designated safe area 

in a lock down situation. Staff shall secure facility entrances, 

ensuring that no unauthorized individual enters the facility; 

k. include an individualized emergency plan 

(including medical contact information and additional 

supplies/equipment needed) for each resident and child of a 

resident with special needs; 

l. ensure that residents and children of 

residents who are prescribed prescription medication are able to 

receive medication if evacuated from facility; 

m. include plans for nuclear evacuation if the 

facility is located within a 10-mile radius of a nuclear power 

plant or research facility;   

n. include emergency contact information for 

staff in the event evacuation from the facility is necessary.  

  2. At a minimum, the plan shall be reviewed annually 

by the program director for accuracy and updated as changes 

occur. Documentation of review by the program director shall 

consist of the program director’s signature and date.  

  3. The emergency and evacuation plan shall by 

submitted to the Licensing Section at least annually, any time 

changes are made, and upon the request of the Licensing Section.  
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  4. If evacuation of children from the facility is 

necessary, provider shall have an evacuation pack and all staff 

shall know the location of the pack. The contents shall be 

replenished as needed. At a minimum, the pack shall contain the 

following: 

a. hand sanitizer; 

b. wet wipes; 

c. tissue; 

d. diapers for children who are not yet potty 

trained; 

e. plastic bags; 

f. food for all ages of children, including 

infant food and formula; 

g. disposable cups; and 

h. bottled water. 

 NOTE: For additional information contact the Office of 

Emergency Preparedness (Civil Defense) in your area. 

 B. Drills 

  1. The provider shall conduct fire drills at least 

once per month. There shall be at least one drill per shift 

every 90 days, at varying times of the day and the drills shall 

be documented. Effective August 1, 2016, documentation shall 

include: 

a. date and time of drill; 

b. names of residents and children of residents 

present;  

c. amount of time to evacuate the facility; 

d. problems noted during drill and corrections 

noted; and 

e. signatures (not initials) of staff present.  
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  2. The provider shall make every effort to ensure 

that staff, and residents, and children of residents recognize 

the nature and importance of fire drills. 

 C. Notification of Emergencies. 

  1. The provider shall immediately notify OCS 

residential the Licensing Section, other appropriate agencies, 

and the resident's legal guardian of any fire, disaster, or 

other emergency that may present a danger to residents or 

children of residents or require their evacuation from the 

facility.  

 D. Access to Emergency Services 

  1. The provider shall have access to 24-hour 

telephone service. 

  2. The provider shall either prominently post 

telephone numbers of emergency services on or near each phone 

located in the facility, including the fire department, police 

department, medical facility services, poison control (1-800-

222-1222), and ambulance services, 911, the facility’s physical 

address or show evidence of an alternate means of immediate 

access to these services. 

  3. The provider shall ensure direct care staff can 

access emergency services at all times. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:830 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7123. Safety Program 

 A. Policies and Procedures 

  1. The provider shall have and adhere to policies 

and procedures for an on-going safety program that includes 
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continuous inspection of the facility for possible hazards, 

continuous monitoring of safety equipment and investigation of 

all incidents. 

B. General Safety Practices 

1. The provider shall not possess or maintain or

permit any other person to possess or maintain The use or 

possession of any firearm (loaded or unloaded), pellet or BB gun 

(loaded or unloaded), or chemical weapon on the premises of the 

residential home is prohibited with the exception of law 

enforcement personnel in the living units of the facility. 

2. The provider shall ensure that all poisonous,

toxic, and flammable materials are safely stored in appropriate 

containers labeled as to contents. Such materials shall be 

maintained only as necessary and shall be used in a manner that 

ensures the safety of residents, staff, children of residents, 

and visitors. All hazardous chemicals shall be stored in 

compliance with public health guidelines.  

3. The provider shall ensure that a an appropriately

equipped first aid kit is available in the living units and in 

all vehicles used to transport residents or children of 

residents. 

4. The provider shall prohibit the use of candles in

the facility. 

5. Power-driven equipment used by the provider shall

be safe, and properly maintained. Such equipment shall be used 

by residents only under the direct supervision of a staff member 

and according to state law. 

6. The provider shall allow residents and children

of residents to swim only in areas determined to be safe and 

under the supervision of a person certified/trained in American 

Red Cross Basic Water Rescue Community Water Safety or 

equivalent. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:831 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

FAMILY IMPACT STATEMENT 

1. What effect will this rule have on the stability of

the family?  There is no effect on the stability of the family.  

2. What effect will this have on the authority and rights

of persons regarding the education and supervision of their 

children?  There is no effect on the rights of the persons 

regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the

family?  This proposed rule allows children of residents in 

residential homes to reside with their parents in an environment 

which is supervised and with staff that model appropriate 

behaviors. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and

family budget?  There is no effect on the family earnings and 

budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and

personal responsibility of children?  There is no effect on the 

behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform the

function as contained in this proposed rule?  No. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rulemaking is not anticipated to have an 

impact on poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Impact Statement 
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The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in HCR 

170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written comments through 

December 28, 2016, to Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant Secretary for 

Child Welfare, Department of Children and Family Services, P.O. 

Box 3776, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the proposed rule will be held on 

December 28, 2016, at the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, Seminar 

Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA, beginning at 9:00 a.m.  All 

interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 

data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 

hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 

services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit or Division of 

Administrative Law at least seven working days in advance of the 

hearing. For assistance, call (225)342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

Person Preparing 
Statement: Angie Badeaux Department: Children and Family Services 

Phone: 225-342-4350 Office: Licensing Section 

Return Address: 627 N. 4th St., P.O. Box 3078 
Baton Rouge, LA  70802 Rule Title: Residential Home 

Date Rule 
Takes Effect: March 1, 2017 

SUMMARY 

In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a fiscal and 
economic impact statement on the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or amendment.  THE FOLLOWING 
STATEMENTS SUMMARIZE ATTACHED WORKSHEETS, I THROUGH IV AND WILL BE PUBLISHED IN 
THE LOUISIANA REGISTER WITH THE PROPOSED AGENCY RULE. 

I. Estimated Implementation Costs (Savings) to State or Local Governmental Units (Summary) 

This rule proposes to amend LAC Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapter 71 to incorporate regulations 
pertaining to the inclusion of children as residents in residential homes authorized with Act 502 of 2016.  
The purpose of these amendments is to enact licensing standards that protect the safety and well-being of 
youths (age 16-21) and children (under 18) residing in residential homes with their parents.   

In addition, in accordance with R.S. 46:1407(D) that requires a comprehensive review of licensing 
standards every 3 years, DCFS completed a review of the current standards and revised the licensing 
standards to protect the health, safety, and well-being of the residents of the state who are in out-of-home 
care on a regular or consistent basis.  The substantive changes from the comprehensive review include 
technical changes such as re-organization of sections, adding clarifying language such as definitions, 
codified current practices such as license not being issued until all deficiencies are cleared, and provide a 
formal process for providers to challenge deficiencies citied, and allow DCFS to promulgate rules on 
sanctions for cited violations before issuing penalties and fines. 

The only cost of this proposed rule is the cost of publishing rulemaking, which is estimated to be 
approximately $70,929 ($23,643 State General Funds and $47,286 Federal Funds) in FY 16-17. This is a 
one-time cost that is routinely included in the department’s annual operating budget.  

II. Estimated Effect on Revenue Collections of State or Local Governmental Units (Summary)

The proposed rule is anticipated to result in a minimal increase in licensing fee revenues depending on the
number of specialized residential facilities seeking licensing.  Implementation of this rule will have no
effect on local revenue collections.

III. Estimated Costs and/or Economic Benefits to Directly Affected Persons or Non-Governmental
Groups (Summary)

This proposed rule enacts standards that protect the health, safety and well-being of residents including
youth and children in residential homes.

IV. Estimated Impact on Competition and Employment (Summary)

There is no estimated impact on competition and employment.

Signature of Agency Head 
or Designee 

 Date LEGISLATIVE FISCAL OFFICER 
OR DESIGNEE 

Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant Secretary of Child Welfare 
Typed Name and Title of Agency Head DATE OF SIGNATURE 

DCFS Undersecretary 
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