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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 
 

Residential Home 
(LAC 67:V.Chapter 71) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) has 

exercised the emergency provision of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend LAC 67:V, Subpart 8, 

Chapter 71 Child Residential Care, Class A. This emergency rule 

shall be effective August 1, 2016 and shall remain in effect for 

a period of 120 days. 

 Pursuant to Section 2 of Act 502 of the 2016 Regular 

Legislative Session, the Department shall adopt rules in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act effective 

August 1, 2016. The Department considers emergency action 

necessary in order to revise the child residential licensing 

standards to incorporate standards to protect the safety and 

well-being of children residing in child residential facilities 

with their parents.  
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Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8. Residential Licensing 

Chapter 71. Child Residential Care, Class A 

 

§7101. Purpose 

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the 

health, safety, and well-being of the children and residents of 

the state who are in out-of-home care on a regular or consistent 

basis. Toward that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 

46 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes to establish statewide 

minimum standards for the safety and well-being of children and 

residents, to ensure maintenance of these standards, and to 

regulate conditions in these facilities through a program of 

licensing. It shall be the policy of the state to ensure 

protection of all individuals under care by specialized 

providers and to encourage and assist in the improvement of 

programs. It is the further intent of the legislature that the 

freedom of religion of all citizens shall be inviolate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:804 (April 2010), 
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amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7103. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 

1. The State of Louisiana, Department of Children 

and Family Services, is charged with the responsibility of 

developing and publishing standards for the licensing of 

residential homes.  

a. The licensing authority of the Department of 

Children and Family Services is established by R.S. 46:1401 et 

seq. and R.S. 46:51 which mandate the licensing of all 

residential homes. A residential home is any place, facility, or 

home operated by any institution, society, agency, corporation, 

person or persons, or any other group to provide full-time care, 

24 hours per day, for more than four children, who may remain at 

the facility in accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1, who are not 

related to the operators and, except as provided in this 

paragraph, whose parents or guardians are not residents of the 

same facility, with or without transfer of custody. However, a 

child of a person who is a resident of a residential home may 

reside with that parent at the same facility. The age 

requirement may be exceeded as stipulated in R.S. 46:1403.1 

which states that, "...notwithstanding any other provision of 

law to the contrary, including but not limited to R.S. 46:1403 
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(1), a child housed at a residential home may stay at such home 

for a period not to exceed six months beyond his eighteenth 

birthday to complete any educational course that he began at 

such facility, including but not limited to a general education 

development (GED) course, and any other program offered by the 

residential home". In addition, the R.S. 46:1403.1(B) further 

stipulates that, “Notwithstanding Subsection A of this Section 

and any other provision of law to the contrary, including but 

not limited to R.S. 46:1403(A), a child housed at a residential 

home that does not receive Title IV-E funding pursuant to 42 

U.S.C. 670 et seq., may remain at such home until his twenty-

first birthday to complete any educational course that he began 

at such facility, including but not limited to a General 

Education Development course, and any other program offered by 

the residential home.” 

B. Penalties. As mandated by R.S. 46:1421, whoever 

operates as a specialized provider as defined in R.S. 46:1403, 

without a valid license issued by the department shall be fined 

not less than $1,000 for each day of such offense. 

C. Waiver Request 

1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may waive compliance with a standard, as long as the 

health, safety, and well-being of the staff and/or the health, 

safety, rights, or well-being of residents or children are not 
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imperiled. Standards shall be waived only when the secretary 

determines, upon clear and convincing evidence, that the 

economic impact is sufficient to make compliance impractical for 

the provider despite diligent efforts and when alternative means 

have been adopted to insure that the intent of the regulation 

has been carried out. 

2. Application for a waiver shall be made in writing 

and shall include: 

a. a statement of the provisions for which a 

waiver is being requested; and 

b. an explanation of the reasons why the 

provisions cannot be met and why a waiver is being requested. 

3. The request for a waiver will be answered in 

writing and approvals will be maintained on file by the 

requesting provider and the department. A waiver is issued at 

the discretion of the Secretary and continues in effect at her 

pleasure. It may be revoked by the Secretary at any time, either 

upon violation of any condition attached to it at issuance, upon 

failure of any of the statutory prerequisites to issuance of a 

waiver (i.e., the cost of compliance is no longer so great as to 

be impractical or the health or safety of any staff or any child 

or resident is imperiled), or upon her determination that 

continuance of a waiver is no longer in the best interest of the 

Department.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:805 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 39:67 (January 

2013), amended by the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7105. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter: 

Abuseany one of the following acts which seriously 

endangers the physical, mental, or emotional health of the 

resident: 

a. the infliction, attempted infliction, or, as 

a result of inadequate supervision, the allowance of the 

infliction or attempted infliction of physical or mental injury 

upon the resident by a parent or any other person; 

b. the exploitation or overwork of a resident 

by a parent or any other person; and 

c. the involvement of the resident in any 

sexual act with a parent or any other person, or the aiding or 

toleration by the parent or the caretaker of the resident's 

sexual involvement with any other person or of the resident's 

involvement in pornographic displays or any other involvement of 
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a resident in sexual activity constituting a crime under the 

laws of this state. 

Affiliate 

a. with respect to a partnership, each partner 

thereof; 

b. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 

director and stockholder thereof; 

c. with respect to a natural person, that 

person and any individual related by blood, marriage, or 

adoption within the third degree of kinship to that person; any 

partnership, together with any or all its partners, in which 

that person is a partner; and any corporation in which that 

person an officer, director or stockholder, or holds, directly 

or indirectly, a controlling interest; 

d. with respect to any of the above, any 

mandatory, agent, or representative or any other person, natural 

or juridical acting at the direction of or on behalf of the 

licensee or applicant; or 

e. director of any such. 

Age or Developmentally Appropriate Activities or 

Itemsactivities or items that are generally accepted as 

suitable for children of the same chronological age or level of 

maturity or that are determined to be developmentally 

appropriate for a child, based on the development of cognitive, 
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emotional, physical, and behavioral capacities that are typical 

for an age or age group; and in the case of a specific child, 

activities or items that are suitable for the child based on the 

developmental stages attained by the child with respect to the 

cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral capacities of the 

child. 

Associated Persona provider's owner, officers, board 

members, volunteers, and/or any other such person who may be 

involved in some capacity with the work of the provider other 

than the provider’s employees. 

Behavior Supportthe entire spectrum of activities 

from proactive and planned use of the environment, routines, and 

structure of the particular setting to less restrictive 

interventions such as positive reinforcement, verbal 

interventions, de-escalation techniques, and therapeutic 

activities that are conducive to each resident's development of 

positive behavior. 

Behavior Support Plana written document that 

addresses the holistic needs of the resident and includes the 

resident’s coping strategies, de-escalation preferences, and 

preferred intervention methods. 
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Childa person under 18 years of age who resides in a 

residential home with his parent who is a resident of the home 

with or without transfer of custody.  

Complaintan allegation that any person is violating 

any provisions of these standards or engaging in conduct, either 

by omission or commission, that negatively affects the health, 

safety, rights, or welfare of any child or resident who is 

residing in a residential home. 

Criminal Background Checka review of any and all 

records containing any information collected and stored in the 

criminal record repository of the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation, the state Department of Public Safety, or any 

other repository of criminal history records, involving a 

pending arrest or conviction by a criminal justice agency, 

including, but not limited to, child abuse crime information, 

conviction record information, fingerprint cards, correctional 

induction and release information, identifiable descriptions and 

notations of convictions; provided, however, dissemination of 

such information is not forbidden by order of any court of 

competent jurisdiction or by federal law. 

DALthe Division of Administrative Law. 

Debriefinga process by which information is gathered 

from all involved parties after the use of personal restraints 
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or seclusion that includes an evaluation of the incident, 

documentation detailing the events leading up to the incident, 

and ways to avoid such incidents in the future. 

Department (DCFS)Department of Children and Family 

Services. 

Direct Care Workera person counted in the resident or 

child/staff ratio, whose duties include the direct care, 

supervision, guidance, and protection of a resident or child. 

This does not include a contract service provider who provides a 

specific type of service to the operation for a limited number 

of hours per week or month or works with one particular resident 

or child. This may include staff such as administrative staff 

that have the required background clearances and appropriate 

training that may serve temporarily as direct care staff. 

Direct Supervisionthe function of observing, 

overseeing, and guiding a resident or child and/or group of 

residents or children. This includes awareness of and 

responsibility for the ongoing activity of each individual and 

being near enough to intervene if needed. It requires physical 

presence, accountability for their care, knowledge of activity 

requirements, and knowledge of the individual’s abilities and 

needs. 
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Disciplinethe ongoing positive process of helping 

children or residents develop inner control so that they can 

manage their own behavior in an appropriate and acceptable 

manner by using corrective action to change the inappropriate 

behavior. 

Disqualification Periodthe prescriptive period during 

which the department shall not process an application from a 

provider. Any unlicensed operation during the disqualification 

period shall interrupt running of prescription until the 

department has verified that the unlicensed operation has 

ceased. 

Documentationwritten evidence or proof, signed and 

dated by the parties involved (director, residents, staff, 

etc.), and available for review. 

Effective Dateof a revocation, denial, or non-renewal 

of a license shall be the last day for applying to appeal the 

action, if the action is not appealed. 

Employeeall full or part-time paid or unpaid staff 

who perform services for the residential home and have direct or 

indirect contact with children or residents at the facility. 

Facility staff includes the director and any other employees of 

the facility including, but not limited to the cook, 

housekeeper, driver, custodian, secretary, and bookkeeper.  
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Facility residential home as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

Human Service Fieldthe field of employment similar or 

related to social services such as social work, psychology, 

sociology, special education, rehabilitation counseling, child 

development, guidance and counseling, divinity, education, 

juvenile justice and/or corrections through which a person gains 

experience in providing services to the public and/or private 

clients that serves to meet the years of experience required for 

a job as specified on the job description for that position. 

Independent Contractorany person who renders 

professional, therapeutic, or enrichment services to children or 

residents such as educational consulting, athletic, or artistic 

services within a facility, whose services are not integral to 

either the operation of the facility or to the care and 

supervision of residents or children. Independent contractors 

may include but are not limited to dance instructors, gymnastic 

or sports instructors, computer instructors, speech therapists, 

licensed health care professionals, state-certified teachers 

employed through a local school board, art instructors, and 

other outside contractors. A person shall not be deemed an 

independent contractor if he is considered a staff of the 

facility. 
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Individual Ownera natural person who directly owns a 

facility without setting up or registering a corporation, LLC, 

partnership, church, university or governmental entity. The 

spouse of a married owner is also an owner unless the business 

is the separate property of the licensee acquired before his/her 

marriage, acquired through authentic act of sale from spouse of 

his/her undivided interest; or acquired via a judicial 

termination of the community of acquets and gains. 

Infanta child that has not yet reached his first 

birthday. 

Injury of Unknown Originan injury where the source of 

the injury was not observed by any person or the source of the 

injury could not be explained by the resident and the injury is 

suspicious because of the extent of the injury or the location 

of the injury (e.g., the injury is located in an area not 

generally vulnerable to trauma). 

Legal Guardianthe caretaker in a legal guardianship 

relationship. This could be the parent or any child placing 

agency representative. 

Legal Guardianshipthe duty and authority to make 

important decisions in matters having a permanent effect on the 

life and development of the resident or child and the 

responsibility for the resident’s or child's general welfare 
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until he reaches the age of majority, subject to any rights 

possessed by the parents. It shall include the rights and 

responsibilities of legal custody. 

License 

a. any license issued by the department to 

operate a facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

Licensing SectionDCFS Licensing Section. 

Lifebooka record of a resident’s or child’s life 

which chronicles accomplishments, milestones, and important 

people in their lives through pictures, words, artwork, and 

memorabilia. 

Mandated Reporterprofessionals who may work with 

children or residents in the course of their professional duties 

and who consequently are required to report all suspected cases 

of abuse and neglect. This includes any person who provides 

training and supervision of a child or resident, such as a 

public or private school teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional 

aide, school principal, school staff member, social worker, 

probation officer, foster home parent, group home or other child 

care institution staff member, personnel of residential home 

facilities, a licensed or unlicensed day care provider, any 

individual who provides such services to a child or resident, or 
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any other person made a mandatory reporter under Article 603 of 

the Children’s Code or other applicable law.  

Medicationall drugs administered internally and/or 

externally, whether over-the-counter or prescribed. 

Neglectthe refusal or unreasonable failure of a 

parent or caretaker to supply the child or resident with 

necessary food, clothing, shelter, care, treatment, or 

counseling for any injury, illness, or condition of an 

individual under the age of 18, as a result of which the 

individual’s physical, mental, or emotional health and safety is 

substantially threatened or impaired. 

Owner or Operatorthe individual or juridical entity 

who exercises ownership or control over a residential home, 

whether such ownership/control is direct or indirect. 

Ownershipthe right that confers on a person direct, 

immediate, and exclusive authority over a thing. The owner of a 

thing may use, enjoy, and dispose of it within the limits and 

under the conditions established by law. Refers to direct or 

indirect ownership. 

a. Direct Ownershipwhen a natural person is 

the immediate owner of a residential home i.e., exercising 

control personally rather than through a juridical person. 
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b. Indirect Ownershipwhen the immediate owner 

is a juridical entity. 

Personal Restrainta type of emergency behavior 

intervention that uses the application of physical force without 

the use of any device to restrict the free movement of all or 

part of a resident’s body in order to control physical activity. 

Personal restraint includes escorting, which is when a staff 

uses physical force to move or direct a resident who physically 

resists moving with the staff to another location.  

Program Directorthe person with authority and 

responsibility for the on-site, daily implementation and 

supervision of the overall facility's operation. 

Providerany facility, organization, agency, 

institution, program, or person licensed by the department to 

provide services to children or residents which includes all 

owners or operators of a facility, including the director of 

such facility. 

Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standardstandard that a 

caregiver shall use when determining whether to allow a resident 

or child in foster care under the responsibility of the State to 

participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social 

activities. The standard is characterized by careful and 

sensible parental decisions that maintain the health, safety, 

17 



and best interests of a resident or child while at the same time 

encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of the 

resident or child. 

Reasonable and Prudent Parent Trainingtraining that 

includes knowledge and skills relating to the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard for the participation of the resident or 

child in age or developmentally appropriate activities. This 

includes knowledge and skills relating to the developmental 

stages of the cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral 

capacities of a resident or child and knowledge and skills 

relating to applying the standard to decisions such as whether 

to allow the resident or child to engage in social, 

extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social activities. 

Activities include sports, field trips, and overnight activities 

lasting one or more days. Also included is knowledge and skills 

in decisions involving the signing of permission slips and 

arranging of transportation for the resident or child to and 

from extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities. 

Reasonable Suspicionsuspicion based on specific and 

articulable facts which indicate that an owner, operator, or 

current or potential employee or volunteer has been investigated 

and determined to be the perpetrator of abuse or neglect against 

a minor resulting in a justified and/or valid finding currently 

recorded on the state central registry. 
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Related or Relativea natural or adopted child or 

grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal custody of 

the caregiver. 

Residentan individual who receives full time care at 

a residential home and whose parents do not live in the same 

facility nor is the individual related to the owner or operator 

of the facility. 

Residential homeany place, facility, or home operated 

by any institution, society, agency, corporation, person or 

persons, or any other group to provide full-time care, 24 hours 

per day, for more than four children, who may remain at the 

facility in accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1, who are not related 

to the operators and, except as provided in this Paragraph, 

whose parents or guardians are not residents of the same 

facility, with or without transfer of custody. However, a child 

of a person who is a resident of a residential home may reside 

with that parent at the same facility. 

Rest timeperiod when residents are either asleep or 

are lying down in their own beds with the intent of going to 

sleep. Residents may be reading, listening to music, or other 

individual quiet activities that promote said sleep time. 
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Safety Interventionsan immediate time limited plan to 

control the factor(s) that may result in an immediate or 

impending serious injury/harm to a resident or child(ren). 

Seclusionthe placement of an individual against his 

or her will in a room where they are not allowed to voluntarily 

leave. 

Service Plana written plan of action for residents 

usually developed between the family, resident, social worker, 

and other service providers, that identifies needs, sets goals, 

and describes strategies and timelines for achieving goals. 

Staffall full or part-time paid or unpaid staff who 

perform services for the residential home and have direct or 

indirect contact with children or residents at the facility. 

Facility staff includes the director and any other employees of 

the facility including, but not limited to the cook, 

housekeeper, driver, custodian, secretary, and bookkeeper.  

State Central Registryrepository that identifies any 

individual reported to have a justified (valid) finding of abuse 

or neglect of an individual under the age of 18 by DCFS. 

Substantial Bodily Harmphysical injury serious enough 

that a prudent person would conclude that the injury required 

professional medical attention. It does not include minor 

bruising, the risk of minor bruising, or similar forms of minor 
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bodily harm that will resolve healthily without professional 

medical attention.  

Supervisionthe function of observing, overseeing, and 

guiding a resident or child and/or group of residents or 

children. This includes awareness of and responsibility for the 

ongoing activity of each individual and being near enough to 

intervene if needed. It requires accountability for their care, 

knowledge of activity requirements, and knowledge of the 

individual’s abilities and needs. 

Time-Outa strategy used to teach individuals to calm 

themselves, during which a child or resident is not given the 

opportunity to receive positive reinforcement and/or participate 

in the current routine or activity until he/she is less 

agitated.  

Type IV licenselicense held by any public or 

privately owned residential home. 

Unlicensed Operationoperation of a residential home 

at any location, without a valid, current license issued by the 

department for that location. 

Volunteeran individual who works at the facility and 

whose work is uncompensated. This may include students, interns, 

tutors, counselors, and other non-staff individuals who may or 

may not work directly with the residents or children. 
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Waiveran exemption granted by the secretary of the 

department from compliance with a standard that will not place 

the resident or staff member at risk. 

Youtha person not less than 16 years of age nor older 

than 21 years of age in accordance with R.S. 46:1403.1(B). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:805 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:976 (April 2012), 

LR 42:220 (February 2016), amended by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7107. Licensing Requirements 

A. General Provisions 

1. New buildings shall be designed to appear 

physically harmonious with the neighborhood in which they are 

located considering such issues as scale, appearance, density 

and population. A residential home shall not occupy any portion 

of a building licensed by another agency. A residential home 

shall be a self-contained facility. The mixing of differing 

populations is prohibited. 

2. Before beginning operation, it is mandatory to 

obtain a license from the department. 
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3. All new construction or renovation of a facility 

requires approval from agencies listed in §7107.B.2.b.-f and 

must comply with the Louisiana Uniform Construction Code. 

4. In addition all facilities shall comply with the 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 

U.S.C.§12101 et seq. (ADA). 

5. Documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint based 

criminal background check from Louisiana State Police shall be 

submitted for all owners of a residential home, as required by 

R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. No person with a criminal 

conviction for, or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, any 

offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, or any offense involving a 

juvenile victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate, or 

participate in the governance of a residential home. In 

addition, an owner, or director shall not have a conviction of, 

or plea of guilty or nolo contender to any crime in which an act 

of fraud or intent to defraud is an element of the offense. 

Effective August 1, 2016, criminal background checks (CBC) shall 

be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual being present 

in the facility or having access to the residents or children. 

If an individual has previously obtained a certified copy of 

their criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 

Louisiana State Police, such certified copy shall be acceptable 
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as meeting the CBC requirements. If an owner obtains a certified 

copy of their criminal background check from the Louisiana State 

Police, this criminal background check shall be accepted for a 

period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 

copy. This certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. 

Prior to the one-year expiration of the certified criminal 

background check, a new fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal 

background check shall be obtained from Louisiana State Police. 

If the clearance is not obtained prior to the one-year 

expiration of the certified criminal background check, the owner 

is no longer allowed on the premises until a clearance is 

received. The following is a listing of individuals by 

organizational type who are required to submit documentation of 

a satisfactory criminal background clearance: 

a. individual ownershipindividual and spouse; 

b. partnershipall limited or general partners 

and managers as verified on the Secretary of State’s website; 

c. church owned, governmental entity, or 

university ownedany clergy and/or board member that is present 

in the home; 

d. corporationany individual who has 25 

percent or greater share in the business or any individual with 
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less than a 25 percent share in the business and performs one or 

more of the following functions:  

i. has unsupervised access to the 

residents or children in the home;  

ii. is present in the home;  

iii. makes decisions regarding the day-to-

day operations of the home; 

iv. hires and/or fires staff including the 

director; 

v. oversees residential staff and/or 

conducts personnel evaluations of the staff; and/or 

vi. writes the facility's policies and 

procedures; 

e. corporationif an owner has less than a 25 

percent share in the business and does not perform one or more 

of the functions listed in §7107.A.5.d, a signed, notarized 

attestation form is acceptable in lieu of a criminal background 

clearance. This attestation form is a signed statement from each 

owner acknowledging that he/she has less than a 25 percent share 

in the business and that he/she does not perform one or more of 

the aforementioned functions as an owner. 

6. Providers and staff shall not permit an 

individual convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 
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to have physical access to a residential home as defined in R.S. 

46:1403. 

7. The owner or program director of a residential 

home shall be required to call and notify law enforcement 

personnel and the Licensing Section management staff if they 

have knowledge that a registered sex offender is on the premises 

of the residential home. The verbal report shall be followed by 

a written report to the Licensing Section within 24 hours. The 

owner or director of a residential home shall be required to 

call and notify law enforcement personnel if they have knowledge 

that a registered sex offender is within 1,000 feet of the 

residential home as required by R.S 14:91.1. 

B. Initial Licensing Application Process 

1. An initial application for licensing as a 

residential home shall be obtained from the department. 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 
P. O. Box 260036 
Baton Rouge, LA  70826 
Phone:  (225) 342-4350 
Fax:  (225) 219-4363 
Web address:  www.DCFS.louisiana.gov 

2. After the residential home’s location has been 

established, a completed initial license application packet for 

an applicant shall be submitted to and approved by the 

department prior to an applicant providing services. The 

completed initial licensing packet shall include:  
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a. completed application and non-refundable 

fee; 

b. current Office of the State Fire Marshal 

approval for occupancy; 

c. current Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 

Services approval; 

d. current city fire department approval, if 

applicable; 

e. city or parish building permit office 

approval, if applicable; 

f. local zoning approval, if applicable; 

g. copy of proof of current general liability 

and current property insurance for facility; 

h. copy of current proof of insurance for 

vehicle(s) used to transport residents or children of residents; 

i. organizational chart or equivalent list of 

staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 

j. verification of experience and educational 

requirements for the program director; 

k. verification of experience and educational 

requirements for the service plan manager; 

l. list of consultant/contract staff to include 

name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

m. copy of program philosophy and goals;  
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n. list of all staff to include staff’s name 

and position; 

o. list of the names and addresses of owners of 

privately owned agencies; 

p. list of the names and addresses of its’ 

members and officers if a corporation, partnership, or 

association;  

q. documentation of a charter, partnership 

agreement, constitution, articles of association, or bylaws if a 

corporation, partnership, or association; 

r. a floor sketch or drawing of the premises to 

be licensed; 

s. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure;  

t. documentation of a Louisiana State Police 

fingerprint based satisfactory criminal record check for all 

staff including all owners and operators of the facility, as 

required by R.S. 46:51.2 and 15:587.1. CBC shall be dated no 

earlier than 30 days before the application has been received by 

the Licensing Section;  

u. documentation of completed state central 

registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including owners 

and operators (SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 days 
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before the application has been received by the Licensing 

Section) or a determination from the Risk Assessment Panel or 

Division of Administrative Law noting that the individual does 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

v. current approval from the Department of 

Education, if educational services will be provided on-site; 

w. copy of the completed reasonable and prudent 

parent authorized representative form; 

x. three signed reference letters dated within 

three months prior to hire for program director attesting 

affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, and 

suitability to manage the program; and 

y. three signed reference letters dated within 

three months prior to hire for service plan manager attesting 

affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, and 

suitability for the position. 

3. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, 

the applicant will be notified of the missing information and 

will have 45 calendar days to submit the additional requested 

information. If the department does not receive the additional 

requested information within the 45 calendar days, the 

application will be closed and the fee forfeited. After an 

initial licensing application is closed, an applicant who is 

still interested in becoming a residential home provider shall 
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submit a new initial licensing packet with a new initial 

licensing fee to restart the initial licensing process. 

4. Once the department has determined the initial 

licensing packet is complete, DCFS will attempt to contact the 

applicant to schedule an initial inspection; however it is the 

applicant’s responsibility to coordinate the initial inspection. 

If an applicant fails to schedule the initial inspection within 

45 calendar days of the notification, the initial licensing 

application shall be closed and fee forfeited. 

5. After an initial licensing application is closed, 

an applicant who is still interested in becoming a residential 

home provider shall submit a new initial licensing packet with a 

new initial licensing fee to restart the initial licensing 

process. 

6. After the completed application and non-

refundable fee have been received by the Licensing Section, DCFS 

will notify the Office of State Fire Marshal, Office of City 

Fire Department (if applicable), and Office of Public Health 

that an application for licensure has been submitted. However, 

it is the applicant's responsibility to request and obtain these 

inspections and approvals. 

C. Initial Licensing Inspection 

1. Prior to the initial license being issued to the 

residential home provider, an initial licensing inspection shall 
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be conducted on-site at the residential home to assure 

compliance with all licensing standards. The initial licensing 

inspection shall be an announced inspection. No resident shall 

be provided services by the residential home provider until the 

initial licensing inspection has been performed and the 

department has issued an initial license. If the provider is in 

operation in violation of the law, the licensing inspection 

shall not be conducted. In these instances, the application 

shall be denied and DCFS shall pursue legal remedies. 

2. In the event the initial licensing inspection 

finds the residential home provider is compliant with all 

licensing laws and standards, and is compliant with all other 

required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 

fees, the department may issue a license to the provider. The 

license shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the 

license, unless the license is modified, extended, revoked, 

suspended, or terminated. 

3. In the event the initial licensing inspection 

finds the residential home provider is noncompliant with any 

licensing laws or standards, or any other required statutes, 

laws, ordinances, rules, or regulations, with the exception of 

the following standards, the department may deny the initial 

application: 

a. Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
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b. city fire approval (if applicable); 

c. Office of Public Health approval; 

d. three signed and dated reference letters on 

the program director dated within the previous three months of 

hire which should attest affirmatively to his/her character, 

qualifications, and suitability to manage the program; 

e. documentation of a satisfactory Louisiana 

State Police fingerprint based criminal record clearance for all 

staff not previously listed on the staffing sheet in 

§7107.B.2.n; and 

f. documentation of completed State Central 

Registry Disclosure forms (SCR 1) noting no justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff not previously 

listed on the staffing sheet in §7107.B.2.n or determination 

from the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 

noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 

4. The application shall be denied if the above 

documentation is not received within 120 calendar days of 

receipt of the completed initial application packet.  

5. When issued, the initial residential home 

provider license shall specify the licensed bed capacity. 

Children of residents shall not be counted in the facility’s 
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licensed capacity; however the license will note if the provider 

is licensed to provide services to children of residents. 

D. Fees and Notification of Changes 

1. All fees are non-refundable and shall be paid by 

money order, certified check, or electronic payment, if 

available, made payable to DCFS - Licensing Section. 

2. In accordance with R.S 46:1406(F), there shall be 

a non-refundable fee as prescribed by the department for a 

license or renewed license, payable to the department with the 

initial licensing application, CHOL application, CHOW 

application, and prior to the last day of the anniversary month 

of the license as listed below, based on capacity: 

4 to 6 
Residents 

7 to 15 
Residents 

16 or More 
Residents 

$400 $500 $600 

 

 Note: Children of residents are not counted in the 

facility’s licensed capacity. 

3. A non-refundable fee of $5 is required to issue a 

duplicate license with no changes. 

4. The provider shall notify the Licensing Section 

on a DCFS approved change of information form prior to making 

changes to residential operations as noted below. For changes 

that require the issuance of a new replacement license, the 

provider shall be required to submit a non-refundable change fee 
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of $25 in addition to the change of information form. There is 

no fee charged when the request is noted on the renewal 

application; however, the change shall not be effective until 

the first day of the month following the expiration of the 

current license. 

a. Removal of a service or reduction in 

capacity is effective upon receipt of a completed change of 

information form. 

b. A capacity increase is effective when the 

following are received and approved by the Licensing Section and 

the new space shall not be utilized until approval has been 

granted by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee; an 

additional fee may be required in accordance with §7107.D.2 

based on new capacity; 

iii. current Office of the State Fire 

Marshal approval for new space;  

iv. current Office of Public Health 

approval for new space;  

v. current city fire approval for new 

space (if applicable); and 

vi. measurement of the additional space by 

Licensing Section staff. 
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c. Name change is effective when the following 

are received by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 

and 

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee. 

d. Age range change for residents is effective 

when the following are received and approved by the Licensing 

Section:  

i. completed change of information form; 

and  

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee. 

e. Change to add services provided (acceptance 

of children of residents) is effective when the following is 

received and approved by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form; 

ii. $25 non-refundable change fee; 

iii. current Office of the State Fire 

Marshal approval form noting acceptance of infants or children 

of residents;  

iv. current Office of Public Health 

approval noting acceptance of infants or children of residents;  

v. inspection by Licensing noting 

compliance with regulations regarding the children of residents. 
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f. Change in program director is effective when 

the following is received and approved by the Licensing Section: 

i. completed change of information form;  

ii. documentation of program director’s 

qualifications as noted in §7111.A.3.a; and  

iii. three signed letters of reference dated 

within three months prior to hire attesting affirmatively to 

his/her character, qualifications, and suitability to manage the 

program. 

5. If a provider is found to be non-compliant with 

regard to a particular service offered or with a particular age 

group of children/residents, DCFS may require the provider to 

cease providing the service and/or restrict the age of the 

children/youth/residents for which the provider is licensed to 

provide services. 

6. All new construction or renovation of a facility 

requires approval from agencies listed in §7107.B.2 and 

Licensing.  

7. A license is not transferable to another person, 

juridical entity, or location. 

E. Renewal of License 

1. The license shall be renewed on an annual basis 

prior to the last day of the anniversary month of the license. 
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2. The provider shall submit, prior to its license 

expiration date, a completed renewal application form and 

applicable fee. The following documentation must also be 

included: 

a. current Office of Fire Marshal approval for 

occupancy; 

b. current Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 

Services approval; 

c. current city fire department approval, if 

applicable; 

d. copy of proof of current general liability 

and current property insurance for facility; 

e. copy of proof of current insurance for 

vehicle(s) used to transport residents and children;  

f. copy of a criminal background clearance or 

attestation forms as referenced in §7107.A.5 for all owners and 

program directors as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and 15.587.1; and 

g. copy of current state central registry 

disclosure forms (SCR 1) for all owners and program directors. 

3. Prior to renewing the facility license, an on-

site survey shall be conducted to assure compliance with all 

licensing laws and standards. If the facility is found to be in 

compliance with the licensing laws and standards, and any other 
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required statutes, laws, ordinances, or regulations, the license 

shall be renewed for a 12-month period. 

4. In the event the annual licensing inspection 

finds the facility is non-compliant with any licensing laws or 

standards, or any other required statutes, ordinances or 

regulations but the department, in its sole discretion, 

determines that the noncompliance does not present a threat to 

the health, safety, or welfare of the participants, the provider 

shall be required to submit a corrective action plan to the 

department for approval. The department shall specify the 

timeline for submitting the corrective action plan based on such 

non-compliance or deficiencies cited but no later than 10 days 

from the date of the inspection or receipt of the deficiencies 

if mailed or emailed. The corrective action plan shall include a 

description of how the deficiency shall be corrected, the date 

by which correction(s) shall be completed, an outline of the 

steps the provider plans to take in order to prevent further 

deficiencies from being cited in these areas and the plan to 

maintain compliance with the licensing standards. Failure to 

submit an approved corrective action plan timely shall be 

grounds for revocation or non-renewal. 

5. If it is determined that such noncompliance or 

deficiencies have not been corrected prior to the expiration of 
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the license, the department may issue an extension of the 

license not to exceed 60 days. 

6. When it is determined by the department that such 

noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, a license may 

be issued for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

7. If it is determined that all areas of 

noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected prior to 

the expiration date of the extension, the department may revoke 

the license. 

F. Change of Location (CHOL) and Change of Ownership 

(CHOW) 

1. Change of Location (CHOL) 

a. When a provider changes the physical 

location of the residential home, it is considered a new 

operation and a new license is required prior to opening. The 

license at the existing location shall not transfer to the new 

residential home location. 

b. After the residential home’s new location 

has been determined, a complete CHOL licensing packet shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section. A complete CHOL licensing 

packet shall include: 

i. completed application and non-

refundable fee; 

39 



ii. current Office of the State Fire 

Marshal approval for occupancy; 

iii. current Office of Public Health, 

Sanitarian Services approval; 

iv. current city fire department approval, 

if applicable; 

v. city or parish building permit office 

approval, if applicable; 

vi. local zoning approval, if applicable; 

vii. copy of proof of current general 

liability and current property insurance for facility; 

viii. copy of current proof of insurance 

for vehicle(s) used to transport residents or children of 

residents; 

ix. organizational chart or equivalent list 

of staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 

x. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the program director; 

xi. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the service plan manager; 

xii. list of consultant/contract staff to 

include name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

xiii. copy of program philosophy and 

goals plan;  
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xiv. list of all staff to include staff’s 

name and position; 

xv. list of the names and addresses of 

owners of privately owned agencies; 

xvi. list of the names and addresses of its’ 

members and officers if a corporation, partnership, or 

association; 

xvii. documentation of a charter, 

partnership agreement, constitution, articles of association or 

bylaws if a corporation, partnership, or association; 

xviii. a floor sketch or drawing of the 

premises to be licensed; 

xix. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure; 

xx. documentation of a Louisiana State 

Police fingerprint based satisfactory criminal record check for 

all staff including all owners and operators of the facility, as 

required by R.S. 46:51.2 and 15:587.1;  

xxi. documentation of completed state 

central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified 

(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including 

owners and operators (SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 

days before the application has been received by the Licensing 

Section) or a determination from the Risk Assessment Panel or 
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Division of Administrative Law noting that the individual does 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

xxii. current approval from the 

Department of Education, if educational services will be 

provided on-site; and 

xxxiii. current completed reasonable and 

prudent parent authorized representative form. 

c. CHOL inspection will be conducted between 

the currently licensed and new location to determine compliance 

with all standards. The inspection at the new location shall be 

to verify compliance with all licensing standards with the 

exception of staff and children/residents records that will be 

transferred. After closure of the old location and prior to the 

services being provided at the new location, all staff’s, 

resident’s, and children’s records shall be transferred to the 

new location. 

d. Services shall not be provided 

simultaneously at both locations.  

e. The following shall be submitted to the 

Licensing Section prior to a license being issued:  

i. current Office of State Fire Marshal 

approval; 

ii. current city fire approval (if 

applicable); 
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iii. current Office of Public Health 

approval; 

iv. local zoning approval (if applicable); 

f. The license for the new location may be 

effective upon receipt of all items listed in §7107.F.1 with the 

approval of DCFS, but not prior to the first day operations 

begin at the new location. 

g. The license for the old location shall be 

null and void on the last day services were provided at that 

location, but no later than the effective date of the new 

location’s license. Provider shall submit documentation noting 

the last day services will be provided at the old location. 

2. Change of Ownership (CHOW) 

a. Any of the following constitutes a change of 

ownership for licensing purposes: 

i. change in the federal tax id number; 

ii. change in the state tax id number; 

iii. change in profit status; 

iv. any transfer of the business from an 

individual or juridical entity to any other individual or 

juridical entity;  

v. termination of services by one owner 

and beginning of services by a different owner without a break 

in services to the children/residents; and/or 
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vi. addition of an individual to the 

existing ownership on file with the Licensing Section. 

3. Change of Ownership (CHOW) Procedures 

a. When a residential home changes ownership, 

the current license is not transferable. Prior to the ownership 

change and in order for a new license to be issued, the new 

owner shall submit a CHOW application packet containing the 

following: 

i. completed application form with a non-

refundable licensing fee as noted in §7107.D.2 payable by money 

order, certified check, or electronic payment, if available, 

made payable to DCFS – Licensing Section; 

ii. current Office of the State Fire 

Marshal approval for occupancy; 

iii. current Office of Public Health, 

Sanitarian Services approval; 

iv. current city fire department approval, 

if applicable; 

v. city or parish building permit office 

approval, if applicable; 

vi. local zoning approval, if applicable; 

vii. copy of proof of current general 

liability and current property insurance for facility; 
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viii. copy of current proof of insurance 

for vehicle(s) used to transport residents or children of 

residents; 

ix. organizational chart or equivalent list 

of staff titles and supervisory chain of command; 

x. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the program director; 

xi. verification of experience and 

educational requirements for the service plan manager; 

xii. list of consultant/contract staff to 

include name, contact info, and responsibilities; 

xiii. copy of program philosophy and 

goals plan;  

xiv. list of all staff to include staff’s 

name and position; 

xv. list of the names and addresses of 

owners of privately owned agencies; 

xvi. list of the names and addresses of its 

members and officers if a corporation, partnership, or 

association; 

xvii. documentation of a charter, 

partnership agreement, constitution, articles of association, or 

bylaws if a corporation, partnership, or association; 
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xviii. a floor sketch or drawing of the 

premises to be licensed; 

xix. any other documentation or information 

required by the department for licensure; 

xx. documentation of a Louisiana State 

Police fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal record clearance 

for all staff including owners and operators. CBC shall be dated 

no earlier than 30 days before the application has been received 

by the Licensing Section. The prior owner’s documentation of a 

satisfactory criminal background check for staff and/or owners 

and operators are not transferrable; 

xxi. documentation of completed state 

central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) noting no justified 

(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect for all staff including 

owners and operators (SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier than 30 

days before the application has been received by the Licensing 

Section) or a determination from the Risk Assessment Panel or 

Division of Administrative Law noting that the individual does 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. The prior owner’s 

documentation of a state central registry disclosure forms for 

staff and/or owners and operators are not transferrable; 

xxii. current approval from the 

Department of Education, if educational services will be 

provided on-site; 
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xxiii. copy of the current completed 

reasonable and prudent parent authorized representative form; 

xxiv. three signed reference letters 

dated within three months prior to hire for program director 

attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 

and suitability to manage the program; and 

xxv. three signed reference letters dated 

within three months prior to hire for service plan manager 

attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 

and suitability for the position. 

b. The prior owner’s current Office of State 

Fire Marshal and Office of Public Health approvals are only 

transferrable for 60 calendar days. The new owner shall obtain 

approvals dated after the effective date of the new license from 

these agencies within 60 calendar days. The new owner will be 

responsible for forwarding the approval or extension from these 

agencies to the Licensing Section on or prior to the sixtieth 

day in order for their license to be extended. 

c. A licensing inspection shall be conducted 

within 60 calendar days to verify compliance with the licensing 

standards. 

d. All staff/children’s/resident’s information 

shall be updated under the new ownership as required in 

§7111.A.2.d, §7111.A.6, §7111.A.7, §7111.B.2, and §7111.B.4.b-c 
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prior to or on the last day services are provided by the 

existing owner.  

e. If all information in §7107.F.3 is not 

received prior to or on the last day services are provided by 

the existing owner, the new owner shall not operate until a 

license is issued. The new owner is not authorized to provide 

services until the licensure process is completed in accordance 

with §7107.B.2. 

f. In the event of a change of ownership, the 

resident’s and children’s records shall remain with the new 

provider. 

g. A residential home facing adverse action 

shall not be eligible for a CHOW. An application involving a 

residential home facing adverse action shall be treated as an 

initial application rather than a change of ownership 

application. 

4. Change in Ownership Structure 

a. Although the following does not constitute a 

change of ownership for licensing purposes; a change of 

information form is required.   

i. The change of information form shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section within 14 calendar days of 

the change. 
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(a). if individual ownership, upon 

death of the spouse; 

(b). if individual ownership, upon 

death of the spouse and execution of the estate, if the 

surviving spouse remains as the only owner. 

b. The change of information form shall be 

submitted to the Licensing Section within seven calendar days of 

the change. 

i. if individual ownership, undergoing a 

separation or divorce until a judicial termination of the 

community aquets and gains, signed by both parties; 

ii. change in board members for churches, 

corporations, limited liability companies, universities, or 

governmental entities; 

iii. any removal of a person from the 

existing organizational structure under which the residential 

home is currently licensed. 

G. Denial, Revocation, or Non-Renewal of License 

1. Even if a facility is otherwise in compliance 

with these standards, an application for a license may be 

denied, or a license revoked or not renewed for any of the 

following reasons: 

a. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of 

the residents or children in the residential home; 
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b. violation of any provision of the standards, 

rules, regulations, or orders of the department; 

c. disapproval from any agency whose approval 

is required for licensing; 

d. nonpayment of licensing fee or failure to 

submit a licensing application and required documentation; 

e. any validated instance of abuse, neglect, 

corporal punishment, physical punishment, or cruel, severe or 

unusual punishment, if the owner is responsible or if the staff 

member who is responsible remains in the employment of the 

licensee; 

f. the facility is closed with no plans for 

reopening and no means of verifying compliance with minimum 

standards for licensure; 

g. any act of fraud such as falsifying or 

altering documents required for licensure; 

h. the owner, director, officer, board of 

directors member, or any person designated to manage or 

supervise the provider or any staff providing care, supervision, 

or treatment to a resident or child of the facility has been 

convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 

listed in LA R.S. 15:587.1. A copy of a criminal record check 

performed by the Louisiana State Police (LSP) or other law 

enforcement provider, or by the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
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(FBI), or a copy of court records in which a conviction or plea 

occurred, indicating the existence of such a plea or conviction 

shall create a rebuttals presumption that such a conviction or 

plea exists; 

i. the provider, after being notified that an 

officer, director, board of directors member, manager, 

supervisor, or any employee has been convicted of or pled nolo 

contendere to any offense referenced above, allows such officer, 

director, or employee to remain employed, or to fill an office 

of profit or trust with the provider. A copy of a criminal 

record check performed by the LSP or other law enforcement 

provider, or by the FBI, or a copy of court records in which a 

conviction or plea occurred, indicating the existence of such a 

plea or conviction shall create a reputable presumption that 

such a conviction or plea exists; 

j. failure of the owner, director, or any 

employee to report a known or suspected incident of abuse or 

neglect to child protection authorities; 

k. revocation or non-renewal of a previous 

license issued by a state or federal provider; 

l. a history of non-compliance with licensing 

statutes or standards, including but not limited to failure to 

take prompt action to correct deficiencies, repeated citations 
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for the same deficiencies, or revocation or denial of any 

previous license issued by the department; 

m. failure to submit an application for renewal 

or required documentation or to pay required fees prior to the 

last day of the anniversary month; 

n. operating any unlicensed facility and/or 

program; 

o. permit an individual with a justified 

(valid) finding of child abuse/neglect to be on the premises 

without being directly supervised by another paid employee of 

the facility, who has not disclosed that their name appears with 

a justified (valid) finding on the state central registry prior 

to a determination by the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of 

Administrative Law that the individual does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents; or to knowingly permit an individual 

who has not disclosed that their name appears with a justified 

(valid) finding on the state central registry to be on the 

premises at any time, whether supervised or not supervised; 

p. permit an individual, whether supervised or 

not supervised to be on the residential premises with a ruling 

by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the individual poses a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual has not requested an 

appeal hearing with DAL within the specified timeframe;  

52 



q. have a criminal background, as evidenced by 

the employment or ownership or continued employment or ownership 

of or by any individual (paid or unpaid staff) who has been 

convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense 

included in R.S. 15:587.1, or to any offense involving a 

juvenile victim; 

r. own a residential home and have been 

convicted of or have pled guilty or nolo contender to any crime 

in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an element of 

the offense; 

s. have knowledge that a convicted sex offender 

is on the premises and fail to notify law enforcement and 

licensing management staff immediately upon receipt of such 

knowledge; or  

t. have knowledge that a convicted sex offender 

is physically present within 1,000 feet of the facility and fail 

to notify law enforcement immediately upon receipt of such 

knowledge. 

2. If a license is revoked or not renewed or 

application denied or refused, a license may also be denied or 

refused to any affiliate of the licensee or applicant. 

3. In the event a license is revoked or renewal is 

denied, (other than for cessation of business or non-operational 

status), or voluntarily surrendered to avoid adverse action; any 
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owner, officer, member, manager, or program director of such 

licensee shall be prohibited from owning, managing, directing or 

operating another licensed facility for a period of not less 

than two years from the date of the final disposition of the 

revocation or denial action. The lapse of two years shall not 

automatically restore a person disqualified under this 

provision. The department, at its sole discretion, may determine 

that a longer period of disqualification is warranted under the 

facts of a particular case. 

H. Disqualification of Facility and Provider  

1. If a facility's license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 

rules, the department shall not process a subsequent application 

from the provider for that facility or any new facility for a 

minimum period of 24 months after the effective date of 

revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 24 months after 

all appeal rights have been exhausted, whichever is later (the 

disqualification period). Any subsequent application for a 

license shall be reviewed by the secretary or her designee prior 

to a decision being made to grant a license. The department 

reserves the right to determine, at its sole discretion, whether 

to issue any subsequent license. 

2. Any voluntary surrender of a license by a 

facility facing the possibility of adverse action against its’ 
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license (revocation or non-renewal) shall be deemed to be a 

revocation for purposes of this rule, and shall trigger the same 

disqualification period as if the license had actually been 

revoked. In addition, if the applicant has had a history of non-

compliance, including but not limited to revocation of a 

previous license, operation without a license, or denial of one 

or more previous applications for licensure, the department may 

refuse to process a subsequent application from that applicant 

for a minimum period of 24 months after the effective date of 

denial. 

3. The disqualification period provided in this rule 

shall include any affiliate of the provider. 

I. Appeal Process for Denial, Non-renewal, or Revocation 

1. The DCFS Licensing Section, shall advise the 

applicant, program director or owner by letter of the reasons 

for non-renewal or revocation of the license, or denial of an 

application, and the right of appeal. If the director or owner 

is not present at the facility, delivery of the written reasons 

for such action may be made to any staff of the facility.  

Notice to a staff shall constitute notice to the facility of 

such action and the reasons therefore. A request for appeal 

shall include a copy of the letter from the Licensing Section 

that notes the reasons for revocation, denial, or non-renewal, 

together with the specific areas of the decision the appellant 
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believes to be erroneous and/or the specific reasons the 

decision is believed to have been reached in error, and shall be 

mailed to:  Department of Children and Family Services, Appeals 

Section, P.O. Box 2944, Baton Rouge, LA  70821-9118. 

2. A provider shall have 15 calendar days from 

receipt of the letter notifying of the revocation or non-renewal 

to request an appeal. Provider may continue to operate during 

the appeals process as provided in the Administrative Procedures 

Act. 

3. If the provider’s license will expire during the 

appeal process, the provider shall submit an application, fee, 

copies of the satisfactory criminal background clearances and 

current SCR 1 forms for all owners. Each provider is solely 

responsible for obtaining the application form. The application, 

full licensure fee, copies of the criminal background clearances 

and SCR 1 forms for all owners shall be received on or 

postmarked by the last day of the month in which the license 

expires, or the provider shall cease operation at the close of 

business by the expiration date noted on the license.  

4. A provider shall have 30 calendar days from 

receipt of the letter notifying of the denial of an application 

for a license to request an appeal.  

5. The Appeals Section shall notify the Division of 

Administrative Law of receipt of an appeal request. Division of 
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Administrative Law shall conduct a hearing. The appellant will 

be notified by letter of the decision, either affirming or 

reversing the original decision.  

6. If the decision of DCFS is affirmed or the appeal 

dismissed, the provider shall terminate operation of the child 

care business immediately. If the provider continues to operate 

without a license, the DCFS may file suit in the district court 

in the parish in which the facility is located for injunctive 

relief.  

7. If the decision of DCFS is reversed, the license 

will be re-instated and the appellant may continue to operate. 

J. Complaint Process 

1. In accordance with RS 46:1418, the department 

shall investigate all complaints (except complaints concerning 

the prevention or spread of communicable diseases), including 

complaints alleging abuse or neglect, within prescribed time 

frames as determined by the department based on the 

allegation(s) of the complaint. All complaint inspections will 

be initiated within 30 days. 

2. All complaint inspections shall be unannounced. 

3. The complaint procedure shall be posted 

conspicuously in the facility including the name, address, and 

telephone number of the required department units to be 

notified. 
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K. Posting of Notices of Revocation 

1. The notice of revocation of the license shall be 

prominently posted. 

a. The Department of Children and Family 

Services shall prominently post a notice of revocation action at 

each public entrance of the facility within one business day of 

such action. This notice must remain visible to the general 

public, other agencies, parents, guardians, and other interested 

parties of individuals that receive services from the provider. 

b. It shall be a violation of these rules for a 

provider to permit the obliteration or removal of a notice of 

revocation that has been posted by the department. The provider 

shall ensure that the notice continues to be visible to the 

general public, parents, guardians, and other interested parties 

throughout the pendency of any appeals of the revocation. 

c. The provider shall notify the department’s 

licensing management staff verbally and in writing immediately 

if the notice is removed or obliterated. 

d. Failure to maintain the posted notice of 

revocation required under these rules shall be grounds for 

denial, revocation, or non-renewal of any future license. 

L. State Central Registry  

1. All owners shall complete, sign, and date the 

state central registry disclosure form (SCR 1) as required by 
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R.S. 46:1414.1. This information shall be reported prior to the 

owner being on the premises of the child residential home, shall 

be updated annually at the time of licensure renewal, at any 

time upon the request of DCFS, and within 24 hours or no longer 

than the next business day, whichever is shorter, of any owner 

receiving notice of a justified (valid) finding of child abuse 

and/or neglect against them. Any current owner or operator of a 

residential home is prohibited from owning, operating, 

participating in the governance of or working in a residential 

home, if they have a justified (valid) finding of child abuse 

and/or neglect against them. If information is known or received 

by DCFS, that the individual’s name is recorded on the state 

central registry (SCR) as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect of a child/youth/resident, the 

individual shall have a determination by the Risk Evaluation 

Panel or a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 

individual does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents in 

order to continue to operate a residential home.  

a. Within 24 hours or no later than the next 

business day, whichever is shorter, of current owners receiving 

notice of a justified (valid) finding of child abuse and/or 

neglect against them, an updated state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) shall be completed by the owner and 

submitted to Licensing section management staff as required by 
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R.S. 46:1414.1 The owner must request a risk evaluation 

assessment in accordance with Louisiana Administrative Code 

67:I.305 within ten calendar days from completion of the state 

central registry disclosure form or the license shall be 

revoked. Immediately upon the knowledge that a justified (valid) 

finding has been issued by DCFS, the owner, at any and all times 

when he/she is in the presence of a child/youth/resident, shall 

be directly supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the 

residential home. The employee responsible for supervising the 

owner must have on file a completed state central registry 

disclosure form indicating that the employee’s name does not 

appear on the state central registry with a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect.  Under no circumstances may the 

owner with the justified finding be left alone and unsupervised 

with a child/youth/resident pending the disposition of the Risk 

Evaluation Panel or the Division of Administrative Law 

determination that the owner does not pose a risk to any 

child/youth/resident in care. An owner supervised by an employee 

who does not have a satisfactory disclosure form on file as 

provided in this sub-section shall be deemed to be alone and 

unsupervised. 

i. Any owner with a justified (valid) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect on the state central registry 

must submit, together with the SCR 1 required above, a written, 
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signed statement to Licensing Section management staff 

acknowledging that they are aware of the supervision 

requirements and understand that under no circumstances are they 

to be left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth/resident 

and that they shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 

(employee) of the residential home, who has completed the 

required state central registry disclosure form and who has 

indicated on that form that the employee’s name does not appear 

on the state central registry with a justified (valid) finding 

of abuse and/or neglect on the state central registry. 

ii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the owner does pose a risk to children/youth/residents and 

the individual does not appeal the determination within the 

required timeframe, the owner may close the business or the 

license shall be revoked. 

iii. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines 

that the owner poses a risk to children/youth/residents and the 

individual appeals the determination to the Division of 

Administrative Law within the required timeframe, the owner 

shall continue to be under direct supervision when in the 

presence of a child/youth/resident on the premises. Supervision 

must continue until receipt of a ruling from the Division of 

Administrative Law that the owner does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 
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iv. If the Division of Administrative Law 

(DAL) upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel’s determination that the 

individual poses a risk to children/youth/residents, the owner 

may voluntarily close the business or the license shall be 

revoked.  

2. Prospective owners shall complete, sign, and date 

the state central registry disclosure form and submit the 

disclosure form at the time of application to the DCFS licensing 

section. If a prospective owner discloses that his or her name 

is currently recorded as a perpetrator on the state central 

registry, the application shall be denied unless the owner 

requests a risk evaluation assessment on the state central 

registry risk evaluation request form (SCR 2) within the 

required timeframe. DCFS will resume the licensure process when 

the owner provides the written determination by the Risk 

Evaluation Panel or the Division of Administrative Law that they 

do not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. 

a. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines that 

the prospective owner poses a risk to children/youth/residents 

and the individual does not appeal the determination within the 

required timeframe, the prospective owner shall withdraw the 

application immediately or the application shall be denied.  

b. If the Risk Evaluation Panel determines that 

the prospective owner poses a risk to children/youth/residents 
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and the individual appeals the determination to the Division of 

Administrative Law within the required timeframe, the department 

shall not proceed with the licensure process until a ruling is 

made by the Division of Administrative Law that the owner does 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents.  

c. If the Division of Administrative Law 

upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel determination that the 

individual poses a risk to children/youth/residents, the 

prospective owner shall withdraw the application within ten 

business days of the mailing of the DAL decision or the 

application shall be denied.  

3. Any information received or knowledge acquired 

that a current or prospective owner, operator, volunteer, 

employee, prospective volunteer, or prospective employee has 

falsified a state central registry disclosure form stating that 

they are not currently recorded as a perpetrator with a 

justified (valid) determination of abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in writing to Licensing Section management staff as 

soon as possible, but no later than the close of business on the 

next business day. 

4. Any state central registry disclosure form, Risk 

Evaluation Panel finding, and Division of Administrative Law 

ruling that is maintained in a residential home licensing file 

shall be confidential and subject to the confidentiality 
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provisions of R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to the investigations of 

abuse and neglect. 

M. Retention of Records 

1. Documentation of the previous 12 months' activity 

shall be available for review. Records shall be accessible 

during the hours the facility is open and operating. 

2. For licensing purposes, children’s and resident’s 

information shall be kept on file a minimum of one year from 

date of discharge from the program.  

3. For licensing purposes, staff records shall be 

kept on file a minimum of one year from termination of 

employment from the agency. 

4. Records for residents or children in the custody 

of DCFS shall be kept on file a minimum of five years from the 

date of discharge from the facility. 

5. If the facility closes, the owner of the facility 

within the state of Louisiana shall store the resident records 

for five years. 

6. All records shall be retained and disposed of in 

accordance with state and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S.46:1401 et seq. and R.S. 46:1414.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Services, LR 36:807 (April 2010), 
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amended LR 36:843 (April 2010), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Child Welfare Section, LR 36:1463 

(July 2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:977, 

984 (April 2012), amended by the Department of Children and 

Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7108. Corrective Action Plans 

 A. A corrective action plan (CAP) shall be submitted for 

any and all deficiencies noted by Licensing Section staff 

regarding any licensing law or standard, or any other required 

statute, ordinance, or standard. The request for submission of 

the CAP does not restrict the actions which may be taken by 

DCFS. If the department does not specify an earlier timeframe 

for submitting the CAP, the CAP shall be submitted within 10 

calendar days from the date of the inspection or receipt of the 

deficiencies, if mailed or emailed. The CAP shall include a 

description of how the deficiency will be corrected, the date by 

which correction(s) shall be completed, and outline the steps 

the provider plans to take in order to prevent further 

deficiencies from being cited in these areas, and the plan to 

maintain compliance with the licensing standards. If the CAP is 

not sufficient and/or additional information is required, the 

provider shall be notified and informed to submit additional 

information within three calendar days. If it is determined that 
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all areas of noncompliance or deficiencies have not been 

corrected, the department may revoke the license.  

 B. Provider may challenge a specific deficiency or any 

information within a cited deficiency which the provider 

contends is factually inaccurate. The provider shall have one 

opportunity to request a review of a licensing deficiency. A 

statement of why the deficiency is being disputed and supporting 

documents (if applicable) shall be submitted with the corrective 

action plan within the timeframe specified for the submission of 

the CAP. 

 C. The statement of deficiencies for which a review has 

been requested will not be placed on the internet for viewing by 

the public until a decision has been reached.  As a result of 

the licensing deficiency review request, a deficiency may be 

upheld with no changes, the deficiency may be removed, or the 

deficiency may be upheld and revised to include pertinent 

information that was inadvertently omitted. Once a decision has 

been reached, provider will be informed in writing of the 

decision and the reason for the decision. If the deficiency or 

information within the deficiency was cited in error or the 

cited deficiency is revised by the DCFS Licensing Section staff, 

provider will receive a revised “Statement of Deficiencies” with 

the decision letter. If any enforcement action was imposed 

solely because of a deficiency or finding that has been deleted 
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through the licensing deficiency review process, the action will 

be rescinded. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S.46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7109. Administration and Organization 

A. General Requirements 

1. Once a residential home provider has been issued 

a license, the department shall conduct licensing and other 

inspections at intervals deemed necessary by the department to 

determine compliance with licensing standards, as well as, other 

required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 

fees. These inspections shall be unannounced. 

2. The department shall remove any resident, child, 

or all residents or children from any facility or agency when it 

is determined that one or more deficiencies exist within the 

facility that place the health and well-being of children or 

residents in imminent danger. The children nor residents shall 

be returned to the facility until such time as it is determined 

by the department that the imminent danger has been removed. 

3. The provider shall allow representatives of the 

department in the performance of their mandated duties to 

inspect all aspects of a program's functioning that impact 
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residents and children and to privately interview any staff 

member or resident. The department representatives shall be 

admitted immediately and without delay, and shall be given free 

access to all relevant files and all areas of a facility, 

including its grounds. If any portion of a facility is set aside 

for private use by the facility's owner or staff, department 

representatives shall be permitted to verify that no residents 

or children are present in that portion and that the private 

areas are inaccessible to residents and children. Any area to 

which residents or children have or have had access is presumed 

to be part of the facility and not the private quarters of the 

owner/operator or staff. 

4. The provider shall make any information that DCFS 

requires under the present standards and any information 

reasonably related to determination of compliance with these 

standards available to the department. The resident's rights 

shall not be considered abridged by this standard. 

5. The provider accepting any resident who resides 

in another state shall show proof of compliance with the terms 

of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the Interstate Compact 

on the Placement of Children, and the Interstate Compact on 

Mental Health. Proof of compliance shall include clearance 

letters from the compact officers of each state involved. 
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B. Other Jurisdictional Approvals. The provider shall 

comply and show proof of compliance with all relevant standards, 

regulations, and requirements established by federal, state, 

local, and municipal regulatory bodies including initial and 

annual approval by the following: 

1. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; 

2. Office of the State Fire Marshal; 

3. city fire department, if applicable; 

4. local governing authority or zoning approval, if 

applicable; and 

5. Department of Education, if applicable. 

C. Governing Body. The provider shall have an 

identifiable governing body with responsibility for and 

authority over the policies, procedures, and activities of the 

provider. 

1. The provider shall have documents identifying all 

members of the governing body, their addresses, the term of 

their membership (if applicable), officers of the governing 

body, (if applicable) and the terms of office of all officers 

(if applicable). 

2. When the governing body of a provider is composed 

of more than one person, the governing body shall hold formal 

meetings at least twice a year. 
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3. When the governing body is composed of more than 

one person, a provider shall have written minutes of all formal 

meetings of the governing body and bylaws specifying frequency 

of meetings and quorum requirements. 

D. Responsibilities of a Governing Body. The governing 

body of the provider shall: 

1. ensure the provider's compliance and conformity 

with the provider's charter; 

2. ensure the provider's continual compliance and 

conformity with all relevant federal, state, local, and 

municipal laws and standards; 

3. ensure the provider is adequately funded and 

fiscally sound by reviewing and approving the provider's annual 

budget or cost report; 

4. ensure the provider is housed, maintained, 

staffed and equipped appropriately considering the nature of the 

provider's program; 

5. designate a person to act as program director and 

delegate sufficient authority to this person to manage the 

facility; 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation 

with the program director, written policies and procedures 

concerning the provider's philosophy, goals, current services, 

personnel practices and fiscal management; 
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7. have the authority to dismiss the program 

director; 

8. meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 

9. inform designated representatives of the 

department prior to initiating any substantial changes in the 

program, services, or physical plant of the provider. 

E. Authority to Operate. Current Louisiana residential 

home license shall be on display in a prominent area at the 

facility, except for facilities operated by a church or 

religious organization (RS 46:1406.D) that choose to keep the 

license on file and available upon request. All homes shall 

operate within the licensed capacity, age range, and/or other 

specific services designated on the license. 

F. Accessibility of Program Director. The program 

director, or a person authorized to act on behalf of the program 

director, shall be accessible to provider staff or designated 

representatives of the department at all times (24 hours per 

day, 7 days per week). 

G. Statement of Philosophy and Goals 

1. The provider shall have a written statement of 

its’ residential home philosophy, purpose, program, and goals. 

The statement shall contain a description of all the services 

provided to include: 
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a. the extent, limitation, and scope of the 

services for which a license is sought; 

b. the geographical area to be served; and 

c. the ages of residents, ages of children, and 

types of behaviors to be accepted for placement. 

H. Policies and Procedures. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures approved by the owner or 

governing body that address, at a minimum, the following:  

1. abuse and neglect; 

2. admission and discharge; 

3. behavior support and intervention program; 

4. complaint process; 

5. confidentiality and retention of resident 

records; 

6. emergency and safety; 

7. grievance process; 

8. human resources; 

9. incidents; 

10. medication management; 

11. provider services; 

12. quality improvement; 

13. resident funds; 

14. rights;  

15. recordkeeping; and 
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16. children of residents. 

I. House Rules and Regulations. The provider shall have a 

clearly written list of rules and regulations governing conduct 

for residents and children in care and shall document that these 

rules and regulations are made available to each staff member, 

resident, and, where appropriate, the resident's legal 

guardian(s). 

J. Representation at Hearings. When requested by the 

placing agency, the provider shall have a representative present 

at all judicial, educational or administrative hearings that 

address the status of a resident or child in care of the 

provider. The provider shall ensure that the resident is given 

an opportunity to be present at such hearings, unless prohibited 

by the resident's legal guardian or by his/her service plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:810 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7111. Provider Requirements 

A. Provider Responsibilities 

1. Enrichment Activities. Effective August 1, 2016, 

provider shall assist children at least twice monthly in 
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creating and updating their lifebook. For children that are not 

developmentally able to participate in the creation and updating 

of their own lifebook, staff shall create and update for the 

child.  

a. Lifebooks shall be the property of children 

and shall remain with the child upon discharge. 

b. Lifebooks shall be available for review by 

DCFS. 

2. Personnel Requirements 

a. The provider shall employ a sufficient 

number of qualified staff and delegate sufficient authority to 

such staff to perform the following functions: 

i. administrative; 

ii. fiscal; 

iii. clerical; 

iv. housekeeping, maintenance, and food 

services; 

v. direct resident and child services; 

vi. record keeping and reporting; 

vii. social service; and 

viii. ancillary services. 

b. The provider shall ensure that all staff 

members are properly certified or licensed as legally required 

and appropriately qualified for their position. 
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c. Personnel can work in more than one capacity 

as long as they meet all of the qualifications of the position 

and have met the training requirements. 

d. The provider that utilizes volunteers shall 

be responsible for the actions of the volunteers. Volunteers 

shall:  

i. have orientation and training in the 

philosophy of the program and the needs of residents and 

children and methods of meeting those needs prior to working 

with residents or children; 

ii. have documentation of a fingerprint 

based satisfactory criminal background check from Louisiana 

State Police as required in R.S. 15:587.1 and R.S. 46:51.2. This 

check shall be obtained prior to the individual being present in 

the facility or having access to the residents or children. No 

person who has been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, shall be 

hired by or present in any capacity in the facility. CBC shall 

be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual being present 

in the facility or having access to the residents or children; 

iii. have a completed state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) noting whether or not his/her name is 

currently recorded on the state central registry for a justified 

finding of abuse or neglect and he/she is the named perpetrator 
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as required in R.S. 46.1414.1. SCR 1 shall be dated no earlier 

than 30 days of the individual being present in the facility or 

having access to the residents or children; 

(a). this information shall be reported 

prior to the individual being on the premises of the facility 

and shall be updated annually, at any time upon the request of 

DCFS, and within three business days of any volunteer receiving 

notice of a justified (valid) determination of child abuse or 

neglect; 

(b). the prospective non-paid staff 

(volunteer) shall complete, sign, and date the state central 

registry disclosure form and submit the disclosure form to the 

owner or operator of the facility; 

(i). if a prospective staff non-

paid (volunteer) discloses that his or her name is currently 

recorded as a perpetrator on the state central registry, the 

director shall inform the applicant they will not be considered 

for volunteer duties at that time due to the state central 

registry disclosure. The director will provide the prospective 

volunteer with the risk evaluation panel form (SCR 2) so that a 

risk assessment evaluation may be requested; 

(ii). individuals are eligible 

for volunteer services if and when they provide written 

documentation from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 
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Administrative Law noting that they do not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents; 

(c). current volunteers receiving 

notice of a justified (valid) determination of child abuse 

and/or neglect shall complete an updated state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) noting the existence of the justified 

(valid) determination as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This 

updated SCR 1 shall be submitted to the Licensing Section 

management staff within three business days or upon being on the 

premises, whichever is sooner. Volunteers will have ten calendar 

days from completion of the state central registry disclosure 

form to request a risk assessment evaluation on a SCR-2 form in 

accordance with LAC 67:I.305 or shall be terminated immediately; 

(i). if the volunteer will no 

longer be employed at or provide volunteer services at the 

facility, the provider shall submit a signed, dated statement 

indicating that the volunteer will not be on the premises of the 

facility at any time; 

(ii). immediately upon the 

receipt of the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has 

been issued by DCFS and as a condition of continued volunteer 

services, the staff person shall be directly supervised by a 

paid staff (employee) of the facility who has not disclosed that 

their name appears with a justified (valid) finding on the state 
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central registry. Provider shall submit a written statement to 

Licensing Section management staff acknowledging that the 

volunteer is under continuous direct supervision by a paid staff 

who has not disclosed that their name appears with a justified 

(valid) finding on the state central registry. When these 

conditions are met, the non-paid staff (volunteer) may be 

counted in ratio. Under no circumstances may the volunteer with 

the justified finding be left alone and unsupervised with the 

children/youth/residents pending the disposition by the Risk 

Evaluation Panel or the Division of Administrative Law that the 

staff person does not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

(iii). if the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual chooses not to 

appeal the finding, the non-paid staff (volunteer) shall be 

terminated immediately; 

(iv). if the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual appeals the finding 

to the Division of Administrative Law within the required 

timeframe, the non-paid staff (volunteer) shall continue to be 

under direct supervision at all times by another paid employee 

of the facility who has not disclosed that they have a justified 

finding on the state central registry until a ruling is made by 
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the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk 

to children/youth/residents. Supervision may end upon receipt of 

the ruling from the Division of Administrative Law that they do 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents; 

(v). if the Division of 

Administrative Law upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding 

that the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents, the individual shall be terminated 

immediately; 

(d). any owner, operator, current or 

prospective employee, or volunteer of a facility requesting 

licensure by DCFS and/or a facility licensed by DCFS is 

prohibited from working in a facility if the individual 

discloses, or information is known or received by DCFS, that the 

individual’s name is recorded on the state central registry 

(SCR) as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) finding of abuse 

or neglect of a child, unless there is a finding by the Risk 

Evaluation Panel or a ruling by the Division of Administrative 

Law that the individual does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 

iv. have three documented reference checks 

dated within three months prior to beginning volunteer services;  

v. have documentation of a signed and 

dated job description. 
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3. Personnel Qualifications 

a. Program Director—the program director shall 

meet one of the following qualifications: 

i. a bachelor's degree in a human service 

field plus three years experience relative to the population 

being served. One year of administrative experience in social 

services may be substituted for two years of regular experience. 

A master's degree plus two years of social service experience 

may be substituted for the three years of experience. An 

alternative may be a bachelor of social work (BSW) degree or 

professional equivalent with three years experience working with 

residents, one year of which may be experience in 

administration; or 

ii. a master's degree in health care 

administration or in a human service related field; or 

iii. in lieu of a degree, six years of 

administrative experience in health or social services, or a 

combination of undergraduate education and experience for a 

total of six years. 

b. Service Plan Managerthe service plan 

manager shall have a bachelor’s degree in a human service field 

plus a minimum of one year with the relevant population. 

c. Direct Care Workera direct care worker 

hired on or after August 1, 2016, shall be at least 21 years of 
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age and have a high school diploma or equivalency and at least 

two years post-high school job experience. 

4. Personnel Job Duties 

a. The program director shall be responsible 

for: 

i. implementing and complying with 

policies and procedures adopted by the governing body; 

ii. adhering to all federal and state laws 

and standards pertaining to the operation of the agency; 

iii. addressing areas of non-compliance 

identified by licensing inspections and complaint inspections; 

iv. directing the program; 

v. representing the facility in the 

community; 

vi. delegating appropriate responsibilities 

to other staff including the responsibility of being in charge 

of the facility during their absence; 

vii. recruiting qualified staff and 

employing, supervising, evaluating, training, and terminating 

employment of staff; 

viii. providing leadership and carrying 

supervisory authority in relation to all departments of the 

facility; 
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ix. providing consultation to the governing 

body in carrying out their responsibilities, interpreting to 

them the needs of residents and children, making needed policy 

revision recommendations, and assisting them in periodic 

evaluation of the facility's services; 

x. preparing the annual budget for the 

governing body's consideration, keeping the body informed of 

financial needs, and operating within the established budget; 

xi. supervising the facility's management 

including building, maintenance, and purchasing; 

xii. participating with the governing body 

in interpreting the facility's need for financial support; 

xiii. establishing effective 

communication between staff and residents and children and 

providing for their input into program planning and operating 

procedures; 

xiv. reporting injuries, deaths, and 

critical incidents involving residents or children to the 

appropriate authorities; 

xv. supervising the performance of all 

persons involved in any service delivery/direct care to 

residents or children; and 

xvi. completing an annual performance 

evaluation of all staff. For any person who interacts with 
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residents or children , a provider's performance evaluation 

procedures shall address the quality and quantity of their work. 

b. The service plan manager shall be 

responsible for: 

i. supervision of the implementation of 

the resident's service plan; 

ii. integration of the various aspects of 

the resident's program; 

iii. recording of the resident's progress as 

measured by objective indicators and making appropriate 

changes/modifications; 

iv. reviewing quarterly service plan 

reviews for the successes and failures of the resident's 

program, including the resident's educational program, with 

recommendations for any modifications deemed necessary. 

Designated staff may prepare these reports, however, the service 

plan manager shall review, sign, and date the reports indicating 

approval; 

v. signing and dating all appropriate 

documents; 

vi. monitoring that the resident receives a 

periodic review and review of the need for residential placement 

and ensuring the timely release, whenever appropriate, of the 

resident to a least restrictive setting; monitoring any 

83 



extraordinary restriction of the resident's freedom including 

use of any form of restraint, any special restriction on a 

resident's communication with others, and any behavior 

management plan; 

vii. asserting and safeguarding the human 

and civil rights of residents, and children, and their families 

and fostering the human dignity and personal worth of each 

resident; 

viii. serving as liaison between the 

resident, provider, family, and community during the resident's 

admission to and residence in the facility, or while the 

resident is receiving services from the provider in order to: 

(a). assist staff in understanding the 

needs of the resident and his/her family in relation to each 

other; 

(b). assist staff in understanding 

social factors in the resident's day-to-day behavior, including 

staff/resident relationships; 

(c). assist staff in preparing the 

resident for changes in his/her living situation; 

(d). help the family to develop 

constructive and personally meaningful ways to support the 

resident's experience in the facility, through assistance with 
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challenges associated with changes in family structure and 

functioning, and referral to specific services, as appropriate; 

(e). help the family to participate in 

planning for the resident's return to home or other community 

placement; and 

(f). supervise and implement the shared 

responsibility plan regarding resident and child. 

c. The direct care worker shall be responsible 

for the daily care and supervision of the residents and children 

in the living group to which they are assigned which includes: 

i. protecting children’s and residents' 

rights; 

ii. handling separation anxiety and 

alleviating the stress of a resident or child in crisis; 

iii. modeling appropriate behaviors and 

methods of addressing stressful situations; 

iv. crisis management; 

v. behavior intervention and teaching of 

appropriate alternatives; 

vi. training the resident and child in good 

habits of personal care, hygiene, eating, and social skills; 

vii. protecting the resident and child from 

harm; 
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viii. handling routine problems arising 

within the living group; 

ix. representing adult authority to the 

residents and children in the living group and exercising this 

authority in a mature, firm, compassionate manner; 

x. enabling the resident or child to meet 

his/her daily assignments; 

xi. participating in all staff conferences 

regarding the resident's progress in program evaluation of 

service plan goals and future planning; 

xii. participating in the planning of the 

facility's program and scheduling such program into the 

operation of the living group under his/her supervision; 

xiii. maintaining prescribed logs of all 

important events that occur regarding significant information 

about the performance and development of each resident or child 

in the group; 

xiv. reporting emergency medical or dental 

care needs to the administrative staff in a timely manner; 

xv. reporting critical incidents to 

administrative staff in a timely manner; and 

xvi. completing duties and responsibilities 

as assigned regarding residents and children. 

5. Applicant Screening 
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a. The provider's screening procedures shall 

address the prospective employee's qualifications as related to 

the appropriate job description. 

6. Contractors 

a. Contractors hired to perform work which does 

not involve any contact with residents or children, shall not be 

required to have a criminal background check if accompanied at 

all times by a staff person if residents or children are present 

in the facility. 

b. Contractors hired to perform work which 

involves contact with residents or children, shall be required 

to have documentation of a fingerprint based satisfactory 

criminal background check from Louisiana State Police as 

required by R.S. 15:587.1 and R.S. 46:51.2. This check shall be 

obtained prior to the individual being present in the facility 

or having access to the residents or children. No person who has 

been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 

offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, shall be hired by or present 

in any capacity in the facility. Effective August 1, 2016, 

criminal background checks (CBC) shall be dated no earlier than 

30 days of the individual being present in the facility or 

having access to the residents or children. If an individual has 

previously obtained a certified copy of their criminal 

background check obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
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Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 

Police, such certified copy shall be acceptable as meeting the 

CBC requirements. If a contract staff obtains a certified copy 

of their criminal background check from the Louisiana State 

Police, this criminal background check shall be accepted for a 

period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 

copy. This certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. 

Prior to the one-year expiration of the certified criminal 

background check, a new fingerprint-based satisfactory criminal 

background check shall be obtained from Louisiana State Police. 

If the clearance is not obtained prior to the one-year 

expiration of the certified criminal background check, the 

contract staff is no longer allowed on the premises until a 

clearance is received.  

c. Contractors hired to perform work which 

involves contact with residents or children, shall be required 

to have documentation of a state central registry disclosure 

form (SCR 1) as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This information 

shall be reported prior to the individual being on the premises 

of the facility and shall be updated annually, at any time upon 

the request of DCFS, and within three business days of the 

individual receiving notice of a justified (valid) determination 

of child abuse or neglect. All requirements in §7111.B.2.b shall 

be followed. 
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7. Orientation 

a. All staff hired effective August 1, 2016 or 

after, shall complete the DCFS “mandated reporter training” 

available at dcfs.la.gov within five working days of the date of 

hire and prior to having sole responsibility for residents or 

children of residents. Documentation of completion shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. 

b. The provider's orientation program shall 

include the following topics for all staff within 15 working 

days of the date of employment: 

i. philosophy, organization, program, 

practices and goals of the provider; 

ii. specific responsibilities of assigned 

job duties; 

iii. administrative procedures; 

iv. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

v. resident rights; 

vi. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

vii. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

viii. confidentiality; and 

ix. reporting and documenting incidents. 
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c. The provider's orientation program shall 

provide a minimum of 24 hours of training in the following 

topics for all direct care staff within one week of the date of 

employment and prior to having sole responsibility for residents 

or children of residents: 

i. implementation of service plans to 

include a behavior plan, when clinically indicated; 

ii. staff and resident grievance procedure; 

iii. rights and responsibilities of 

residents who have children residing in the facility; 

iv. responsibility of staff with regard to 

children residing in the facility; 

v. transportation regulations, including 

modeling of how to properly conduct a visual check of the 

vehicle and demonstration by staff to program director on how to 

conduct a visual check; 

vi. the proper use of child safety 

restraints required by these regulations and State Law (See 

Reference Sheet for training resources); 

vii. health practices; 

viii. detecting signs of illness or 

dysfunction that warrant medical or nursing intervention; 
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ix. basic skills required to meet the 

dental and health needs and problems of the residents and 

children; 

x. prohibited practices; 

xi. behavior management techniques;  

xii. use of time out, personal restraints, 

and seclusion that is to include a practice element in the 

chosen method performed by a certified trainer;  

xiii. safe self-administration and 

handling of all medications including psychotropic drugs, 

dosages, and side effects; 

xiv. working with people with disabilities, 

attending to the needs of such residents and children in care, 

including interaction with family members with disabilities; and 

xv. use of specialized services identified 

in section 7117. 

d. The provider shall maintain sufficient 

information to determine content of training. This information 

shall be available for review.  

e. Documentation of the orientation training 

shall consist of a statement/checklist in the staff record 

signed and dated by the staff person and program director, 

attesting to having received the applicable orientation training 

and the dates of the orientation training. 
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f. Effective August 1, 2016, staff in 

facilities licensed to care for children under age two years or 

facilities providing services for children of residents shall 

complete the “Reducing the Risk of SIDS in Early Education and 

Child Care” training available at www.pedialink.org. This 

training shall be completed annually. Documentation of 

completion shall be the certificate obtained upon completion of 

the training. 

g.  All new direct care staff shall receive 

certification in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and 

First Aid within 45 days of employment. Effective August 1, 

2016, if residents or children of residents under the age of 10 

are accepted into the program, then staff shall also obtain a 

certificate in infant/child CPR. No staff member shall be left 

unsupervised with residents or children until he/she has 

completed all required training. CPR and First Aid shall be 

updated prior to the expiration of the certification as 

indicated by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 

or equivalent organization. Online only training is not 

acceptable. 

8. Annual Training 

a. The provider shall ensure that all staff 

receives training on an annual basis in the following topics: 
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i. administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

ii. emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

iii. resident rights; 

iv. detecting and reporting suspected abuse 

and neglect; 

v. infection control to include blood 

borne pathogens; 

vi. confidentiality; 

vii. reporting and documenting incidents; 

and 

ix. specific responsibilities of assigned 

job duties with regard to residents and children. 

b. Direct care staff shall receive annual 

training to include but not be limited to the following topics: 

i. implementation of service plans; 

ii. philosophy, organization, program, 

practices, and goals of the provider; 

iii. administrative procedures; 

iv. staff and resident grievance procedure; 

v. prohibited practices; 

vi. health practices; 

vii. mental health concerns; 
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viii. detecting signs of illness or 

dysfunction that warrant medical or nursing intervention; 

ix. basic skills required to meet the 

dental and health needs and problems of the residents and 

children; 

x. behavior management techniques 

including acceptable and prohibited practices; 

xi. use of time out, personal restraints, 

and seclusion which is to include a practice element in the 

chosen method performed by a certified trainer; 

xii. safe self-administration and handling 

of all medication including psychotropic drugs, dosages, and 

side effects; 

xiii. rights and responsibilities of 

residents who have children residing in the facility; 

xiv. responsibility of staff with regard to 

children residing in the facility; 

xv. working with people with disabilities, 

attending to the needs of such residents and children in care, 

including interaction with family members with disabilities; 

xvi. use of specialized services identified 

in Section 7117; and 

xvii. educational rights to include IDEA 

and Section 504 Accommodations. 
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c. All direct care staff shall have 

documentation of current certification in adult CPR and First 

Aid. Effective August 1, 2016, if residents or children of 

residents under the age of 10 are accepted into the program, 

then staff shall also obtain a certificate in infant/child CPR. 

d. Documentation of annual training shall 

consist of a statement/checklist in the staff record signed and 

dated by the staff person and program director, attesting to 

having received the applicable annual training and the dates of 

the training. 

e. The provider shall maintain sufficient 

information available to determine content of training. This 

information shall be available for review. 

f. Effective August 1, 2016, all staff 

currently employed shall complete the DCFS “mandated reporter 

training” available at dcfs.la.gov within 45 days and shall be 

updated annually. Documentation of completion shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. 

9. Staffing and Supervision Requirements  

a. The provider shall ensure that an adequate 

number of qualified direct care staff are present with the 

residents and children as necessary to ensure the health, safety 

and well-being of residents and children. Staff coverage shall 

be maintained in consideration of the time of day, the size and 
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nature of the provider, the ages and needs of the residents and 

children, and shall assure the continual safety, protection, 

direct care, and supervision of residents and children. In 

addition to the required number of direct care staff, the 

provider shall employ a sufficient number of maintenance, 

housekeeping, administrative, support, and management staff to 

ensure that direct care staff can provide direct care services. 

i. The provider shall have at least one 

adult staff present for every six residents when residents are 

present and awake. In addition, there shall be an additional 

staff for every six children present. There shall always be a 

minimum of two staff present when children are in the facility. 

ii. The provider shall have at least one 

adult staff present and awake for every 12 residents when 

residents are present and participating in rest time. During 

these hours, the ratio of 1 staff to every 12 residents is 

acceptable only if the residents are in their assigned bedrooms. 

In addition, there shall be an additional staff for every six 

children present. There shall always be a minimum of two staff 

present when children are in the facility.  

iii. In addition to required staff, at least 

one staff person shall be on call in case of emergency.  

iv. Independent contractors (therapists, 

tutors, etc.) shall not be included in ratio while providing 
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said individualized services to a specific resident(s) or 

child(ren). 

v. Management or other administrative 

staff may be included in ratio only if they are exclusively 

engaged in providing supervision of the residents or children. 

vi. Staff are allowed to sleep, during 

nighttime hours, only if the following are met: 

(a). There is a functional and 

monitored security system. Alarms shall be placed on all windows 

and exterior doors. The security system shall be enabled during 

nighttime hours and anytime that the staff/house parents are 

sleeping. Residents shall not be given the security system code. 

(b). There shall be a functional 

monitoring system on all interior resident and children bedroom 

doors. 

vii. When residents or children are away 

from the facility, staff shall be available and accessible to 

the residents and children to handle emergencies or perform 

other necessary direct care functions. 

viii. The provider utilizing live-in 

staff shall have sufficient relief staff to ensure adequate off 

duty time for live-in staff. 

ix Six or more residents under two years 

of age shall have an additional direct care worker on duty when 
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the residents are present to provide a staff ratio of one staff 

per every six residents under age two, in addition to staff 

noted in §7111.B.9.a.i. 

x. The provider shall not contract with 

outside sources for any direct care staff, including one-on-one 

trainers or attendants. 

xi. Staff shall be assigned to supervise 

residents and children whose names and whereabouts that staff 

person shall know. 

xii. When the resident is at the facility 

with her child, she is responsible for the care and supervision 

of her own child when not engaged in services or other 

activities. Staff shall be present and available as a resource 

and to lend support and guidance to the resident. 

xiii. During nighttime hours, staff 

shall actively participate in the individual care of a resident 

and/or assisting a resident in the care of her child. 

(a). In bedrooms where a child resides 

with their parent, an auditory device shall be required to 

enable staff to provide assistance to the resident in the care 

of her child. The monitor shall have an on/off feature which is 

controlled by the resident. 
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xiv. Children shall be directly supervised 

by staff on the playground, in vehicles, and while away from the 

facility; unless the child is accompanied by their own parent. 

xv. Staff shall actively supervise 

residents and/or children engaged in water activities and shall 

be able to see all parts of the swimming pool, including the 

bottom. 

10. Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard 

a. The provider shall designate in writing at 

least one on-site staff person as the authorized representative 

to apply the reasonable and prudent parent standard to decisions 

involving the participation of a child of a resident who is in 

foster care or a resident who is in foster care and placed in 

the facility in age or developmentally appropriate activities. 

The staff person(s) designated as the authorized representative 

shall be at the licensed location at all times during the 

facility’s hours of operation. Licensing shall be notified in 

writing within five calendar days if there is a change to one of 

the designated representatives. 

b. The authorized representative shall utilize 

the reasonable and prudent parent standard when making any 

decision involving the participation of a child of a resident 

who is in foster care or a resident who is in foster care and 
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placed in the facility in age or developmentally appropriate 

activities.  

c. The authorized representative shall receive 

training or training materials shall be provided on the use of 

the reasonable and prudent parent standard. Documentation of the 

reasonable and prudent parent training shall be maintained. The 

reasonable and prudent parent training or training materials, as 

developed or approved by DCFS, shall include, but is not limited 

to the following topic areas: 

i. age or developmentally appropriate 

activities or items; 

ii. reasonable and prudent parent standard; 

iii. role of the provider and of DCFS; and 

iv. allowing for normalcy for the resident 

or child while respecting the parent’s residual rights. 

B. Record Keeping 

1. Administrative File 

a. The provider shall have an administrative 

file that shall contain, at a minimum, the following: 

i. a written program plan describing the 

services and programs offered by the provider; 

ii. organizational chart of the provider; 

iii. all leases, contracts, and purchase-of-

service agreements to which the provider is a party; 
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iv. insurance policies. Every provider 

shall maintain in force at all times current comprehensive 

general liability insurance policy, property insurance, and 

insurance for all vehicles used to transport residents or 

children. This policy shall be in addition to any professional 

liability policies maintained by the provider and shall extend 

coverage to any staff member who provides transportation for any 

resident or child in the course and scope of his/her employment;  

v. all written agreements with 

appropriately qualified professionals, or a state agency, for 

required professional services or resources not available from 

employees of the provider. 

vi. written documentation of all residents’ 

exits and entrances from facility property not covered under 

summary of attendance and leave. Documentation must include, at 

a minimum, date, time and destination. 

2. Staff File  

a. The provider shall have a personnel file for 

each staff that shall contain, at a minimum, the following: 

i. the application for employment, 

including education, training, and experience; 

ii. a criminal background check in 

accordance with state law; 
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(a). Prior to employment, a Louisiana 

State Police fingerprint based criminal background check shall 

be conducted in the manner required by R.S. 15:587.1 and 

46:51.2. Effective August 1, 2016, criminal background checks 

(CBC) shall be dated no earlier than 30 days of the individual 

being present in the facility or having access to the residents 

or children. 

(b). The provider shall have a written 

policy and procedure for obtaining a criminal background check 

on persons as required in R.S. 15:587.1 and 46:51.2. 

(c). No person, having any supervisory 

or other interaction with residents or children, shall be hired 

or on the premises of the facility until such person has 

submitted his or her fingerprints to the Louisiana Bureau of 

Criminal Identification and Information and it has been 

determined that such person has not been convicted of or pled 

nolo contendere to a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C). This 

shall include any employee or non-employee who performs paid or 

unpaid work with the provider to include independent 

contractors, consultants, students, volunteers, trainees, or any 

other associated person, as defined in these rules. 

(d). Any employee who is convicted of 

or has pled nolo contendere to any crime listed in R.S. 
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15:587.1(C) shall not continue employment after such conviction 

or nolo contendere plea. 

iii. evidence of applicable professional or 

paraprofessional credentials/certifications according to state 

law; 

iv. signed and dated, written job 

description; 

v. documentation of three signed and dated 

reference checks or telephone notes dated within three months 

prior to hire attesting affirmatively to the individual’s 

character, qualifications, and suitability for the position 

assigned. References shall be obtained from individuals not 

related to the staff person;  

vi. staff’s hire and termination dates; 

vii. documentation of current driver's 

license for operating provider or private vehicles in 

transporting residents or children of residents; 

viii. annual performance evaluations 

signed and dated by the staff person and program director to 

include his/her interaction with residents and children, family, 

and other providers; 

ix. personnel action, other appropriate 

materials, reports, and notes relating to the staff’s employment 

with the facility; 
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x. state central registry disclosure forms 

(SCR 1) noting whether or not his/her name is currently recorded 

on the state central registry for a justified finding of abuse 

or neglect and he/she is the named perpetrator. 

(a). Prior to employment, each 

prospective employee shall complete a state central registry 

disclosure form (SCR 1) as required in RS 46:1414.1. This 

information shall be reported prior to the individual being on 

the premises of the facility and shall be updated annually, at 

any time upon the request of DCFS, and within three business 

days of any staff receiving notice of a justified (valid) 

determination of child abuse or neglect. 

(i). The prospective paid staff 

(employee) shall complete, sign, and date the state central 

registry disclosure form and submit the disclosure form to the 

owner or operator of the facility.  

(ii). If a prospective staff 

(employee) discloses that his or her name is currently recorded 

as a perpetrator on the state central registry, the director 

shall inform the applicant they will not be considered for 

employment at that time due to the state central registry 

disclosure. The director will provide the prospective employee 

with the risk evaluation panel form (SCR 2) so that a risk 

assessment evaluation may be requested. 
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(iii). Individuals are not 

eligible for employment unless and until they provide written 

documentation from the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law expressly stating that they do not pose a 

risk to children/youth/residents. 

(b). Current staff receiving notice of 

a justified (valid) determination of child abuse and/or neglect 

shall complete an updated state central registry disclosure form 

(SCR 1) noting the existence of the justified (valid) 

determination as required by R.S. 46:1414.1. This updated SCR 1 

shall be submitted to the Licensing Section management staff 

within three business days or upon being on the premises, 

whichever is sooner. Staff will have 10 calendar days from 

completion of the state central registry disclosure form to 

request a risk assessment evaluation on a SCR 2 form in 

accordance with LAC 67:I.305 or shall be terminated immediately.  

(i). If the staff person will no 

longer be employed at the facility, the provider shall submit a 

signed, dated statement indicating that the staff will not be on 

the premises of the facility at any time. 

(ii). Immediately upon the 

receipt of the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has 

been issued by DCFS and as a condition of continued employment 

the staff person shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
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(employee) of the facility who has not disclosed that their name 

appears with a justified (valid) finding on the state central 

registry. Provider shall submit a written statement to Licensing 

Section management staff acknowledging that the staff is under 

continuous direct supervision by a paid staff who has not 

disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 

finding on the state central registry. When these conditions are 

met, the staff (employee) may be counted in ratio. Under no 

circumstances may the staff person with the justified finding be 

left alone and unsupervised with the children pending the 

disposition by the Risk Evaluation Panel or the Division of 

Administrative Law that the staff person does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 

(iii). If the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual chooses not to 

appeal the finding, the staff (employee) shall be terminated 

immediately.  

(iv). If the Risk Evaluation 

Panel finds the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents and the individual appeals the finding 

to the Division of Administrative Law within the required 

timeframe, the staff (employee) shall continue to be under 

direct supervision at all times by another paid employee of the 
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facility who has not disclosed that they have a justified 

finding on the state central registry until a ruling is made by 

the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose a risk 

to children/youth/residents. Supervision may end upon receipt of 

the ruling from the Division of Administrative Law that they do 

not pose a risk to children/youth/residents. 

(v). If the Division of 

Administrative Law upholds the Risk Evaluation Panel finding 

that the individual does pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents, the individual shall be terminated 

immediately. 

(c). Any owner, operator, current or 

prospective employee, or volunteer of a facility requesting 

licensure by DCFS and/or a facility licensed by DCFS is 

prohibited from working in a facility if the individual 

discloses, or information is known or received by DCFS, that the 

individual’s name is recorded on the state central registry 

(SCR) as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) finding of abuse 

or neglect of a child, unless there is a finding by the Risk 

Evaluation Panel or a ruling by the Division of Administrative 

Law that the individual does not pose a risk to 

children/youth/residents. 
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b. Staff shall have reasonable access to 

his/her file and shall be allowed to add any written statement 

he/she wishes to make to the file at any time. 

3. Accounting File 

a. The provider shall establish a system of 

business management and staffing to assure maintenance of 

complete and accurate accounts, books, and records. 

b. The provider shall ensure that all entries 

in records are legible, signed by the person making the entry, 

and accompanied by the date on which the entry was made. 

c. All records shall be maintained in an 

accessible, standardized order and format, and shall be retained 

and disposed of according to state and federal law. 

d. The provider shall have sufficient space, 

facilities, and supplies for providing effective accounting 

record keeping services. 

4. Resident Record 

a. Active Record. The provider shall maintain a 

separate active record for each resident and child. The records 

shall be maintained in an accessible, standardized order and 

format. The records shall be current and complete and shall be 

maintained in the facility in which the resident and child 

resides and readily available to facility staff. The provider 

shall have sufficient space, facilities, and supplies for 
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providing effective storage of records. The records shall be 

available for inspection by the department.  

b. Each resident’s record shall contain at 

least the following information: 

i. resident's name, date of birth, Social 

Security number, previous home address, sex, religion, and 

birthplace of the resident; 

ii. dates of admission and discharge; 

iii. other identification data including 

documentation of court status, legal status or legal custody and 

who is authorized to give consents; 

iv. for residents placed from other states, 

proof of compliance with the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, 

the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, and the 

Interstate Compact on Mental Health, when indicated. Proof of 

compliance shall include clearance letters from the compact 

officers of each state involved; 

v. name, address, and telephone number of 

the legal guardian(s), and parent(s), if appropriate; 

vi. name, address, and telephone number of 

a physician and dentist to be called in an emergency; 

vii. resident's authorization for routine 

and emergency medical care; 
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viii. the pre-admission screening and 

admission assessment. If the resident was admitted as an 

emergency admission, a copy of the emergency admission note 

shall be included as well; 

ix. resident's history including family 

data, educational background, employment record, prior medical 

history, and prior placement history; 

x. a copy of the physical assessment 

report; 

xi. reports of assessments and of any 

special problems or precautions; 

xii. individual service plan, updates, and 

quarterly reviews; 

xiii. continuing record of any illness, 

injury, or medical or dental care when it impacts the resident's 

ability to function or impacts the services he or she needs; 

xiv. reports of any incidents of abuse, 

neglect, or incidents, including use of time out, personal 

restraints, or seclusion; 

xv. photo of resident updated at least 

annually;  

xvi. a summary of court visits; 

xvii. a summary of all visitors and 

contacts including dates, name, relationship, telephone number, 
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address, the nature of such visits/contacts, and feedback from 

the family; 

xviii. a record of all personal property 

and funds, which the resident has entrusted to the facility;  

xix. reports of any resident grievances and 

the conclusion or disposition of these reports; 

xx. written acknowledgment that the 

resident has received clear verbal explanation and copies of 

his/her rights, the house rules, written procedures for 

safekeeping of his/her valuable personal possessions, written 

statement explaining his/her rights regarding personal funds, 

and the right to examine his/her record; 

xxi. all signed informed consents; 

xxiii. a discharge summary; and 

xxiv. immunization record within 30 

calendar days of admission. 

c. Each child’s record shall contain at least 

the following information: 

i. child's information form signed and 

dated by the legal guardian and updated as changes occur, 

listing: 

(a). the child’s name, date of birth, 

sex, date of admission; 
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(b). name of parent(s) and legal 

guardian; 

(c). name and telephone number of 

child’s physician; 

(d). name and telephone number of the 

child’s dentist, if applicable; 

(e). any special concerns, including 

but not limited to allergies, chronic illness, and any special 

needs of the child, if applicable; 

(f). any special dietary needs, 

restrictions, or food allergies/intolerances, if applicable; 

(g). name and telephone number of 

child’s caseworker, if applicable; and 

(h). written authorization to care for 

child from legal guardian. 

ii. For residents that retain custody of 

their children, a written authorization signed and dated by the 

resident to secure emergency medical treatment in the event the 

child is left in the care of staff. 

iii. For residents that retain custody of 

their children, a written authorization signed and dated by the 

resident noting the first and last names of individuals to whom 

the child may be released, including child care facilities, 
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transportation services, or any person or persons who remove the 

child from the facility. 

(a). The provider shall verify the 

identity of the authorized person prior to releasing the child. 

d. For residents that retain custody of their 

children, the provider shall obtain written, informed consent 

from the resident prior to releasing any information, 

recordings, or photographs from which the child might be 

identified, except for authorized state and federal agencies. 

This one time written consent shall be obtained from the 

resident and updated as changes occur. 

e. Provider shall have a signed and dated 

shared responsibility plan between the resident and provider 

detailing how they will share the rights and responsibilities of 

meeting the child’s daily needs to include, but not limited to, 

who will care for the child at certain times and days of the 

week, who is responsible for supervising, feeding, changing, 

bathing, tending to the developmental needs of the child, and 

purchasing items for the child. 

f. If the resident does not retain custody of 

her child, the provider shall have a written individual child 

care agreement for each child with the person or agency holding 

custody of the child. 
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g. If the resident retains custody of her 

child, the provider shall obtain written authorization signed 

and dated by the resident to transport her child on a regular 

basis shall include (if staff transports without resident): 

i. name of child;  

ii. type of service (to and from home, and 

to and from school to include the name of the school); and 

iii. names of individuals or school to whom 

the child may be released. 

C. Confidentiality of Records 

1. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures for the maintenance, security and retention of 

records. The provider shall specify who shall supervise the 

maintenance of records, who shall have custody of records, to 

whom records may be released, and disposition or destruction of 

closed service record materials. Records shall be the property 

of the provider, and the provider, as custodian, shall secure 

records against loss, tampering, or unauthorized use or access. 

2. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality 

of all records to include all court related documents, as well 

as, educational and medical records. Every employee of the 

provider has the obligation to maintain the privacy of the 

resident, child, and his/her family and shall not disclose or 

knowingly permit the disclosure of any information concerning 

114 



the resident, child or his/her family, directly or indirectly, 

to other residents or children in the facility or any other 

unauthorized person. 

3. When the resident is of majority age and not 

interdicted, a provider shall obtain the resident's written, 

informed permission prior to releasing any information from 

which the resident or his/her family might be identified, except 

for authorized state and federal agencies. 

4. When the resident is a minor or is interdicted, 

the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from the 

legal guardian(s) prior to releasing any information from which 

the resident might be identified, except for accreditation teams 

and authorized state and federal agencies. 

5. When the resident retains custody of her child 

the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from the 

resident prior to releasing any information from which the 

resident might be identified, except for accreditation teams and 

authorized state and federal agencies. 

6. When the resident does not retain custody of her 

child, the provider shall obtain written, informed consent from 

the legal guardian(s) prior to releasing any information from 

which the child might be identified, except for accreditation 

teams and authorized state and federal agencies. 
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7. The provider shall, upon written authorization 

from the resident or his/her legal guardian(s), make available 

information in the record to the resident, his/her counsel or 

the resident's legal guardian(s). If, in the professional 

judgment of the administration of the provider, it is felt that 

information contained in the record would be injurious to the 

health or welfare of the resident, the provider may deny access 

to the record. In any such case, the provider shall prepare 

written reasons for denial to the person requesting the record 

and shall maintain detailed written reasons supporting the 

denial in the resident's file. 

8. The provider may use material from the 

residents’ or children’s records for teaching and research 

purposes, development of the governing body's understanding, and 

knowledge of the provider's services, or similar educational 

purposes, provided names are deleted, other identifying 

information are disguised or deleted, and written authorization 

is obtained from the resident or his/her legal guardian(s).  

5. Staff Communication 

a. The provider shall establish procedures to 

assure adequate communication among staff to provide continuity 

of services to the residents and children. This system of 

communication shall include recording and sharing of daily 

information noting unusual circumstances, individual and group 
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problems of residents and children, and other information 

requiring continued action by staff. Documentation shall be 

legible, signed, and dated by staff.  

b. Effective August 1, 2016, a daily log/record 

for all children, to include first and last name and in/out 

times shall be maintained. This record shall accurately reflect 

all children on the premises at any given time. 

D. Incidents 

1. Critical Incidents. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures for documenting, reporting, 

investigating, and analyzing all critical incidents. 

a. The provider shall report any of the 

following critical incidents to the Louisiana Child Protection 

Statewide Centralized Intake Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-

5437), resident’s or child’s assigned caseworker, and the 

Licensing Section:  

i. abuse; 

ii. neglect; 

iii. injuries of unknown origin; 

iv. death; 

v. attempted suicide; 

vi. serious threat or injury to the health, 

safety, or well-being of the resident or child, i.e., elopement 

or unexplained absence of a resident or child; 
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vii. injury with substantial bodily harm 

while in seclusion or during use of personal restraint; or 

viii. unplanned hospitalizations, 

emergency room visits, and emergency urgent care visits. 

b. The program director or designee shall: 

i. immediately verbally notify the legal 

guardian of the incident; 

ii. immediately verbally notify the 

appropriate law enforcement authority in accordance with state 

law; 

iii. submit the mandated critical incident 

report form within 24 hours of the incident to Louisiana Child 

Protection Statewide Centralized Intake and Licensing; 

iv. if requested, submit a final written 

report of the incident to the legal guardian as soon as 

possible, but no later than five working days of the incident; 

v. conduct an analysis of the incident and 

take appropriate corrective steps to prevent future incidents 

from occurring; 

vi. maintain copies of any written reports 

or notifications in the resident's or child’s record; 

vii. ensure that a staff person accompanies 

residents and children when emergency services are needed. 
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2. Other Incidents. The provider shall have written 

policies and procedures for documenting, reporting, 

investigating, and analyzing all other accidents, incidents, and 

other situations or circumstances affecting the health, safety, 

or well-being of a resident or child. 

a. The provider shall initiate a detailed 

report of any other unplanned event or series of unplanned 

events, accidents, incidents, and other situations or 

circumstances affecting the health, safety, or well-being of a 

resident or child excluding those identified in Subparagraph 

D.1.a above within 24 hours of the incident.  

3. When a child residing in the facility with their 

parent, sustains any of the following, the resident shall be 

immediately notified:  

a. blood not contained in an adhesive strip; 

b. injury of the neck and head; 

c. eye injury; 

e. human bite which breaks the skin; 

f. any animal bite; 

g. an impaled object; 

h. broken or dislodged teeth;  

i. allergic reaction skin changes (e.g. rash, 

spots, swelling, etc.); 

j. unusual breathing; 
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k. symptoms of dehydration; 

l. any temperature reading over 101 oral, 102 

rectal, or 100 axillary; or 

m. any injury or illness requiring professional 

medical attention. 

4. The provider shall not delay seeking care while 

attempting to make contact with the resident or legal guardian 

in a situation which requires emergency medical attention. 

5. At a minimum, the incident report for critical 

and other incidents shall contain the following: 

i. date and time the incident occurred; 

ii. a brief description of the incident; 

iii. where the incident occurred; 

iv. names of residents, children, or staff 

involved in the incident; 

v. immediate treatment provided, if any; 

vi. symptoms of pain and injury discussed with 

the physician; 

vii. signature of the staff completing the 

report; 

viii. name and address of witnesses; 

ix. date and time the legal guardian was 

notified; 

x. any follow-up required; 
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xi. preventive actions to be taken in the 

future; and 

xii. documentation of actions regarding staff 

involved to include corrective action. 

6. A copy of all written reports shall be maintained 

in the resident’s or child’s record. 

E. Abuse and Neglect 

1. The provider shall establish and follow a 

written, abuse/neglect policy that includes the following 

information:  

a. describes communication strategies used by 

the provider to maintain staff awareness of abuse prevention, 

current definitions of abuse and neglect, mandated reporting 

requirements to the child protection agency and applicable laws; 

b. ensures the resident and child are protected 

from potential harassment during the investigation; 

c. ensures that the provider shall not delay 

reporting suspected abuse and/or neglect to the Child Protection 

Statewide Hotline in an attempt to conduct an internal 

investigation to verify the abuse/neglect allegations; 

d. ensures that the provider shall not require 

any staff, including unpaid staff, to report suspected 

abuse/neglect to the provider or management prior to reporting 
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to the Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-

452-5437); 

e. ensures the staff member involved in the 

incident does not work directly with the resident or child 

involved in the program until an internal investigation is 

conducted by the facility or the child protection unit makes an 

initial report; 

f. ensures the staff member that may have been 

involved in the incident is not involved in conducting the 

investigation; 

g. ensures that confidentiality of the incident 

is protected. 

2. As mandated reporters, all staff and owners shall 

report any suspected abuse and/or neglect of a resident or child 

whether that abuse or neglect was perpetrated by a staff member, 

a family member, or any other person in accordance with LA R.S 

14:403 to the Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-

855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437). This information shall be posted 

in an area regularly used by residents. 

3. After reporting suspected abuse and/or neglect as 

required by Louisiana law, provider shall notify licensing. At a 

minimum the report shall contain: 

a. name of suspected resident or child victim 

of alleged child abuse and/or neglect; 
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b. address and telephone number of where 

suspected victim may be contacted; 

c. name(s) of alleged perpetrator(s); 

d. alleged perpetrator(s)’ address; 

e. nature, extent, and cause of resident’s or 

child’s injury, neglect or condition; 

f. current circumstance of resident or child 

and if resident is currently in danger; 

g. identify names of possible witnesses; 

h. identify how incident came to reporter’s 

attention; 

i. have other incidents of suspected abuse 

and/or neglect been reported regarding this resident, child, or 

alleged perpetrator; 

j. any other pertinent information; and 

k. name of person reporting to Child Protection 

and time of notification. 

F. Grievance Process 

1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure, which establishes the right of every resident and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) to file grievances without fear of 

retaliation. 

2. The written grievance procedure shall include, 

but not be limited to: 
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a. a formal process for the resident and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) to file grievances that shall 

include procedures for filing verbal, written, or anonymous 

grievances; and 

b. a formal process for the provider to 

communicate with the resident and/or legal guardian about the 

grievance within five calendar days of receipt of the grievance; 

3. The provider shall document that the resident and 

the resident's legal guardian(s) are aware of and understand the 

grievance and complaint policy and procedure and have been 

provided a written copy. 

4. The provider shall maintain a log documenting all 

verbal, written, or anonymous grievances filed. 

5. Documentation of any resident's or resident’s 

legal guardian(s)’ grievance and the conclusion or disposition 

of these grievances shall be maintained in the resident's 

record. This documentation shall include any action taken by the 

provider in response to the grievance and any follow up action 

involving the resident. 

G. Data Collection and Quality Improvement 

1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for maintaining a quality improvement program to 

include: 
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a. systematic data collection and analysis of 

identified areas that require improvement; 

b. objective measures of performance; 

c. at least monthly review of resident’s and 

children’s records; 

d. quarterly review of incidents and the use of 

personal restraints and seclusion to include documentation of 

the date, time, and identification of residents and staff 

involved in each incident to include a critical analysis of the 

incidents to note patterns of behavior by specific residents or 

specific staff; and 

e. implementation of plans of action to improve 

in identified areas. 

2. Documentation related to the quality improvement 

program shall be maintained for at least two years.  

H. Family Involvement. The provider shall have written 

strategies to foster ongoing positive communication and contact 

between children, residents, and their families, their friends, 

and others significant in their lives. 

I. Influenza Notice to Parents 

1. In accordance with R.S. 46:1428 providers shall 

make available to each resident’s parent or legal guardian and 

to each youth aged eighteen or above information relative to the 

risks associated with influenza and the availability, 
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effectiveness, known contraindications and possible side effects 

of the influenza immunization. This information shall include 

the causes and symptoms of influenza, the means by which 

influenza is spread, the places a parent or legal guardian may 

obtain additional information and where a resident or youth may 

be immunized against influenza. The information shall be updated 

annually if new information on the disease is available. The 

information shall be provided annually to each licensed facility 

by the Department of Children and Family Services and shall be 

made available to parents or legal guardians prior to November 1 

of each year. This information shall also be provided to 

residents with children residing in the facility. 

J. Recalled Products 

1. The provider shall post the current copy of “The 

Safety Box” newsletter issued by the Office of the Attorney 

General as required by Chapter 55 of Title 46 of the LRS 

46:2701–2711. Items listed as recalled in the newsletter shall 

not be used and shall be immediately removed from the premises. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:811 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:979, 984 (April 
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2012), LR 42:221 (February 2016), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7113. Admission and Discharge 

A. Admission 

1. Policies and Procedures 

a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that shall include, at a minimum, the following 

information regarding an admission to the facility: 

i. the application process and the 

possible reasons for rejection of an application; 

ii. pre-admission screening assessment; 

iii. the age and sex of residents and 

children to be served; 

iv. the needs, problems, situations, or 

patterns best addressed by the provider's program; 

v. criteria for admission; 

vi. authorization for care of the resident 

and child; 

vii. authorization to obtain medical care 

for the resident and child; 

viii. criteria for discharge; 

ix. procedures for insuring that placement 

within the program are the least restrictive alternative, 

appropriate to meet the resident's needs. 
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b. No resident shall be admitted from another 

state unless the provider has first complied with all applicable 

provisions of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the 

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children, and the Interstate 

Compact on Mental Health. Proof of compliance shall be obtained 

prior to admission and shall be kept in the resident's file. 

c. When refusing admission to a resident or 

child, the provider shall notify the referring party of the 

reason for refusal of admission in writing. If his/her parent(s) 

or legal guardian(s) referred the resident, he/she shall be 

provided written reasons for the refusal. Copies of the written 

reasons for refusal of admission shall be kept in the provider's 

administrative file. 

2. Pre-Admission Screening 

a. The provider shall receive an assessment of 

the applicant from the placing agency prior to admission that 

identifies services that are necessary to meet the resident's 

needs and verifies that the resident cannot be maintained in a 

less restrictive environment within the community. This 

assessment shall be maintained in the resident's record. The 

provider shall conduct the pre-admission screening within 24 

hours of admission to assess the applicant's needs and 

appropriateness for admission and shall include the following: 
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i. current health status and any emergency 

medical needs, mental health, and/or substance abuse issues; 

ii. allergies; 

iii. chronic illnesses or physical 

disabilities; 

iv. current medications and possible side 

effects; 

v. any medical illnesses or condition that 

would prohibit or limit the resident’s activity or behavior 

plan;  

vi. proof of legal custody or individual 

placing agency agreement; 

vii. other therapies or ongoing treatments; 

viii. family information; and 

ix. education information. 

b. Information gathered from the preadmission 

screening shall be confirmed with resident and legal guardian, 

if applicable. 

3. Admission Assessment 

a. An admission assessment shall be completed 

within three business days of admission to determine the service 

needs and preferences of the resident. This admission assessment 

shall be maintained in the resident's record. Information 

gathered from the pre-admission screening and the admission 
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assessment shall be used to develop the interim service plan for 

the resident.  

B. Service Plan 

1. Within 15 days of admission, the provider, with 

input from the resident, his/her parents, if appropriate and 

legal guardian shall develop an interim service plan using 

information gathered from the pre-admission screening and the 

admission assessment. This interim service plan shall include: 

a. the services required to meet the resident's 

needs; 

b. the scope, frequency, and duration of 

services; 

c. monitoring that will be provided; and 

d. who is responsible for providing the 

services, including contract or arranged services. 

2. Within 30 days of admission, the provider shall 

have documentation that a resident has an individual service 

plan developed that is comprehensive, time limited, goal 

oriented, and addresses the needs of the resident. The service 

plan shall include the following components: 

a. a statement of goals to be achieved for the 

resident and his/her family; 

b. plan for fostering positive family 

relationships for the resident, when appropriate; 
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c. schedule of the daily activities including 

training/education for residents and recreation to be pursued by 

the program staff and the resident in attempting to achieve the 

stated goals; 

d. any specific behavior management plan; 

i. The provider shall obtain or develop, 

with the participation of the resident and his/her legal 

guardian or family, an individualized behavior management plan 

for each resident receiving service. Information gathered from 

the pre-admission screening and the admission assessment will be 

used to develop the plan. The plan shall include, at a minimum, 

the following: 

ii. identification of the resident’s 

triggers; 

iii. the resident’s preferred coping 

mechanisms; 

iv. techniques for self-management; 

v. anger and anxiety management options 

for calming; 

vi. a review of previously successful 

intervention strategies; 

vii. a summary of unsuccessful behavior 

management strategies; 
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viii. identification of the resident’s 

specific targeted behaviors; 

ix. behavior intervention strategies to be 

used; 

x. the restrictive interventions to be 

used, if any; 

xi. physical interventions to be used, if 

any; and 

xii. specific goals and objectives that 

address target behaviors requiring physical intervention. 

e. any specialized services provided directly 

or arranged for will be stated in specific behavioral terms that 

permit the problems to be assessed and methods for insuring 

their proper integration with the resident's ongoing program 

activities; 

f. any specific independent living skills 

needed by the resident which will be provided or obtained by the 

facility staff; 

g. overall goals and specific objectives that 

are time limited; 

h. methods for evaluating the resident's 

progress; 

i. use of community resources or programs 

providing service or training to that resident, and shall 
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involve representatives of such services and programs in the 

service planning process whenever feasible and appropriate. Any 

community resource or program involved in a service plan shall 

be appropriately licensed or shall be a part of an approved 

school program; 

j. any restriction to residents' "rights" 

deemed necessary to the resident's individual service plan. Any 

such restriction shall be expressly stated in the service plan, 

shall specifically identify the right infringed upon, and the 

extent and duration of the infringement, and shall specify the 

reasons such restriction is necessary to the service plan, and 

the reasons less restrictive methods cannot be employed; 

k. goals and preliminary plans for discharge; 

l. identification of each person responsible 

for implementing or coordinating implementation of the plan; 

m. mental health screening; and 

n. developmental and psychological assessments. 

3. The service plan shall be developed by a team 

including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. service plan manager; 

b. representatives of the direct care staff 

working with the resident on a daily basis; 

c. the resident; 

d. the resident's parent(s), if indicated; 
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e. the resident’s legal guardian(s); and 

f. any other person(s) significantly involved 

in the resident's care on an ongoing basis. 

4. All team participants shall sign the completed 

service plan. 

5. The service plan shall be monitored by the team 

on an ongoing basis to determine its continued appropriateness 

and to identify when a resident's condition or preferences have 

changed. A team meeting shall be held at least quarterly. The 

quarterly review shall be signed and dated by all team 

participants. 

6. The provider shall ensure that all persons 

working directly with the resident are appropriately informed of 

the service plan and have access to information from the 

resident's records that is necessary for effective performance 

of the employee's assigned tasks. 

7. The provider shall document that the resident, 

parent(s), where applicable, and the legal guardian have been 

invited to participate in the planning process. When they do not 

participate, the provider shall document the reasons for 

nonparticipation. 

8. All service plans including quarterly reviews 

shall be maintained in the resident’s record. 

C. Discharge 
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1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for all discharges. The discharge procedure shall 

include at least the following: 

a. projected date of discharge; 

b. responsibilities of each party (provider, 

resident, family) with regard to the discharge and transition 

process; 

c. transfer of any pertinent information 

regarding the resident's stay at the facility; and 

d. follow-up services, if any and the 

responsible party. 

2. Emergency discharges initiated by the provider 

shall take place only when the health and safety of a resident 

or other residents might be endangered by the resident's further 

stay at the facility. The provider shall have a written report 

detailing the circumstances leading to each unplanned discharge 

within seven calendar days of the discharge. The discharge 

summary is to be kept in the resident's record and shall 

include: 

a. the name and home address of the resident, 

the resident's parent(s), where appropriate, and the legal 

guardian(s); 

b. the name, address, and telephone number of 

the provider; 
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c. the reason for discharge and, if due to 

resident's unsuitability for provider's program, actions taken 

to maintain placement; 

d. a summary of services provided during care 

including medical, dental, and health services; 

e. a summary of the resident's progress and 

accomplishments during care; and 

f. the assessed needs that remain to be met and 

alternate service possibilities that might meet those needs. 

3. When a discharge is planned, the provider shall 

compile or obtain a complete written discharge summary within 30 

days of discharge. The discharge summary is to be kept in the 

resident's record and shall include:  

a. the name and home address of the resident, 

the resident's parent(s), where appropriate, and the legal 

guardian(s); 

b. the name, address, and telephone number of 

the provider; 

c. the reason for discharge and, if due to 

resident's unsuitability for provider's program, actions taken 

to maintain placement; 

d. a summary of services provided during care 

including medical, dental, and health services; 
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e. a summary of the resident's progress and 

accomplishments during care; and 

f. the assessed needs that remain to be met and 

alternate service possibilities that might meet those needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:818 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:984 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7115. Resident Protection 

 A. Rights 

  1. Provider Responsibility 

   a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that ensure each resident's and child’s rights are 

guaranteed and protected. 

   b. None of the resident's rights shall be 

infringed upon or restricted in any way unless such restriction 

is necessary to the resident's individual service plan. When 

individual rights restrictions are implemented, the provider 

shall clearly explain and document any restrictions or 

limitations on those rights, the reasons that make those 

137 



restrictions medically necessary in the resident’s individual 

service plan and the extent and duration of those restrictions. 

The documentation shall be signed by provider staff, the 

resident, and the legal guardian(s) or parent(s), if indicated. 

No service plan shall restrict the access of a resident to legal 

counsel or restrict the access of state or local regulatory 

officials to a resident. 

   c. Residents and children of residents with 

disabilities have the rights guaranteed to them under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq., 

and regulations promulgated pursuant to the ADA, 28 C.F.R. Parts 

35 and 36 and 49 C.F.R. Part 37; §504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §794, and regulations promulgated 

pursuant thereto, including 45 C.F.R. Part 84. These include the 

right to receive services in the most integrated setting 

appropriate to the needs of the individual; to obtain reasonable 

modifications of practices, policies, and procedures where 

necessary (unless such modifications constitute a fundamental 

alteration of the provider's program or pose undue 

administrative burdens); to receive auxiliary aids and services 

to enable equally effective communication; to equivalent 

transportation services; and to physical access to a provider's 

facilities. 

  2. Privacy  
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   a. Residents and children have the right to 

personal privacy and confidentiality. Any records and other 

information about the resident or child shall be kept 

confidential and released only with the legal guardian's 

expressed written consent or as required by law. 

   b. A child shall not be photographed or 

recorded without the express written consent of the resident or 

the child’s legal guardian(s). A resident shall not be 

photographed or recorded without the express written consent of 

the resident and the resident’s legal guardian(s). All 

photographs and recordings shall be used in a manner that 

respects the dignity and confidentiality of the child and 

resident. 

   c. Residents nor children shall participate in 

research projects without the express written consent of the 

resident, child, and the legal guardian(s). 

   d. Residents nor children shall participate in 

activities related to fundraising and publicity without the 

express written consent of the resident, child, and the legal 

guardian(s). 

  3. Contact with Family and Collaterals  

   a. A child and resident have the right to 

consult freely and have visits with his/her family (including 

but not limited to his or her mother, father, grandparents, 
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brothers, and sisters), legal guardian(s) and friends subject 

only to reasonable rules. Special restrictions shall be imposed 

only to prevent serious harm to the child or resident. The 

reasons for any special restrictions shall be recorded in the 

child’s record or resident’s service plan, as applicable and 

explained to the child, resident, and his or her family. The 

service plan manager shall review the special restrictions every 

30 days and, if restrictions are renewed, the reasons for 

renewal shall be recorded in the child’s record or resident’s 

service plan, as applicable. Home visits shall not be restricted 

without approval from the legal guardian. 

   b. A child and resident have the right to 

telephone communication. The provider shall allow children and 

residents to receive and place telephone calls in privacy 

subject only to reasonable rules and to any specific 

restrictions in the child’s record or resident’s service plan, 

as applicable. The service plan manager shall formally approve 

any restriction on telephone communication in a child’s record 

or resident’s service plan, as applicable. The service plan 

manager shall review the special restrictions every 30 days and, 

if restrictions are renewed, the reasons for renewal shall be 

recorded in the  child’s record or resident’s service plan, as 

applicable. The cost for long distance calls shall not exceed 

the usual and customary charges of the local phone company 
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provider. There shall be no restrictions on communication 

between a child and their legal counsel. 

   c. A child and resident have the right to send 

and receive mail. The provider shall allow children and 

residents to receive mail unopened, uncensored, and unread by 

staff unless contraindicated in the child's record or resident’s 

service plan, as applicable. The service plan manager shall 

review this restriction every 30 days. No service plan or record 

shall restrict the right to write letters in privacy and to send 

mail unopened, uncensored, and unread by any other person. 

Correspondence from a child’s or resident’s legal counsel shall 

be opened, read, or otherwise interfered with for any reason. 

Children and residents shall have access to all materials 

necessary for writing and sending letters and, when necessary, 

shall receive assistance. 

   d. Children and residents have the right to 

consult freely and privately with legal counsel, as well as, the 

right to employ legal counsel of their choosing. 

   e. Children and residents have the right to 

communicate freely and privately with state and local regulatory 

officials. 

  4. Safeguards  
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   a. Residents and children have the right to 

file grievances without fear of reprisal as provided in the 

grievances section of these standards. 

   b. Residents and children have the right to be 

free from mental, emotional, and physical abuse and neglect and 

be free from chemical or mechanical restraints. Any use of 

personal restraints shall be reported to the legal guardians(s).  

   c. Residents and children have the right to 

live within the least restrictive environment possible in order 

to retain their individuality and personal freedom. 

     5. Civil Rights 

   a. Residents’ nor children’s civil rights shall 

be abridged or abrogated solely as a result of placement in the 

provider's program. 

   b. A resident nor child shall be denied 

admission, segregated into programs, or otherwise subjected to 

discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national 

origin, sexual orientation, physical limitations, political 

beliefs, or any other non-merit factor. Facilities must comply 

with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 

U.S.C. §12101 et seq. (ADA). 

  6. Participation in Program Development 

   a. A resident has the right to refuse 

treatment. 
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   b. Residents and children have the right to be 

treated with dignity in the delivery of services. 

   c. Residents and children have the right to 

receive preventive, routine, and emergency health care according 

to individual needs which will promote his or her growth and 

development. 

   d. Residents and children have the right to be 

involved, as appropriate to age, development, and ability in 

assessment and service planning. 

   e. Residents and children have the right to 

consult with clergy and participate in religious services in 

accordance with his/her faith, but shall not be forced to attend 

religious services. The provider shall have a written policy of 

its religious orientation, particular religious practices that 

are observed, and any religious restrictions on admission. This 

description shall be provided to the resident, child, and the 

legal guardian(s). When appropriate, the provider shall 

determine the wishes of the legal guardian(s) with regard to 

religious observance and make every effort to ensure that these 

wishes are carried out. The provider shall, whenever possible, 

arrange transportation and encourage participation by those 

residents or children who desire to participate in religious 

activities in the community. 

  7. Acknowledgement of Rights 
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   a. Each resident shall be fully informed of all 

rights noted in Section 7115.A.1-6 and of all rules and 

regulations governing residents’ conduct and responsibilities, 

as evidenced by written acknowledgment, at the time of admission 

of the receipt of a copy of resident’s rights, and when changes 

occur. Each resident’s record shall contain a copy of the 

written acknowledgment, which shall be signed and dated by the 

program director, or designee, and the resident and/or his or 

her legal guardian. 

 B. Prohibited Practices  

  1. The provider shall have a written list of 

prohibited practices by staff members. Staff members shall not 

be allowed to engage in any of the prohibited practices. Staff 

shall not promote or condone these prohibited practices between 

residents or children. This list shall include the following: 

   a. use of a chemical or mechanical restraint; 

   b. corporal punishment such as slapping, 

spanking, paddling or belting; 

   c. marching, standing, or kneeling rigidly in 

one spot; 

   d. any kind of physical discomfort except as 

required for medical, dental or first aid procedures necessary 

to preserve the resident's or child’s life or health; 
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   e. denial or deprivation of sleep or nutrition 

except under a physician's order; 

   f. denial of access to bathroom facilities; 

   g. verbal abuse, ridicule, or humiliation, 

shaming or sarcasm; 

   h. withholding of a meal, except under a 

physician's order; 

   i. requiring a resident or child to remain 

silent for a long period of time; 

   j. denial of shelter, warmth, clothing, or 

bedding; 

   k. assignment of harsh physical work; 

   l. punishing a group of residents or children 

for actions committed by one or a selected few; a group activity 

shall not be cancelled for the entire group, prior to the 

activity, due to the behavior of one or more individuals; 

   m. withholding family visits or communication 

with family; 

   n. extensive withholding of emotional response; 

   o. denial of school services or denial of 

therapeutic services; 

   p. other impingements on the basic rights of 

children or residents for care, protection, safety, and 

security; 

145 



   q. organized social ostracism, such as codes of 

silence; 

   r. pain compliance, slight discomfort, trigger 

points, pressure points, or any pain inducing techniques; 

   s. hyperextension of any body part beyond 

normal limits; 

t. joint or skin torsion; 

u. pressure or weight on head, neck, throat, 

chest, lungs, sternum, diaphragm, back, or abdomen, causing 

chest compression; 

v. straddling or sitting on any part of the 

body; 

w. any position or maneuver that obstructs or 

restricts circulation of blood or obstructs an airway; 

x. any type of choking; 

y. any type of head hold where the head is used 

as a lever to control movement of other body parts; 

z. any maneuver that involves punching, 

hitting, poking, pinching, or shoving; 

aa. separation of a resident and her child as a 

means of punishment shall be prohibited;  

bb. punishment for actions over which the child 

has no control such as bedwetting, enuresis, encopresis, or 
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incidents that occur in the course of toilet training 

activities;  

cc. use of threats or threatening an individual 

with a prohibited action even though there is/was no intent to 

follow through with the threat; 

dd. cruel, severe, unusual, degrading, or 

unnecessary punishment; 

ee. yelling, yanking, shaking; 

ff. requiring a child or resident to exercise or 

placing a child or resident into uncomfortable positions; 

gg. exposing a child or resident to extreme 

temperatures or other measures producing physical pain; 

hh. putting anything in a resident’s or child’s 

mouth; or 

ii. using abusive or profane language, including 

but not limited to telling a child to “shut up”; or 

   jj. any technique that involves mouth, nose, 

eyes or any part of the face or covering the face or body. 

  2. The resident and child, where appropriate, and 

the resident's legal guardian(s) shall receive a list of the 

prohibited practices. There shall be documentation signed and 

dated acknowledging receipt of the list of prohibited practices 

by the resident and, where appropriate, the child and resident's 

legal guardian(s) in the record. 
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  3. A list of prohibited practices shall be posted in 

the facility in an area regularly utilized by residents. 

 C. Behavior Support and Intervention Program  

  1. The provider shall have a behavior support and 

intervention program that: 

   a. describes the provider's behavior support 

philosophy; 

   b. safeguards the rights of residents, 

children, families, and staff; 

   c. governs allowed and prohibited practices; 

and 

   d. designates oversight responsibilities. 

  2. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that include, but are not limited to: 

   a. a behavior support and intervention model 

consistent with the provider’s mission; 

   b. proactive and preventive practices; 

   c. development of behavior support plans for 

residents and children; 

   d. prohibited behavior intervention practices; 

   e. restrictive practices, if any, that are 

allowed and circumstances when they can be used; 

   f. physical interventions to be used, if any; 
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   g. informed consent of legal guardians for use 

of behavior support and interventions; and 

   h. oversight process. 

  3. An informed consent shall be obtained from the 

legal guardian for the use of any restrictive intervention. 

  4. There shall be a system in place that monitors 

the effectiveness of behavior support and interventions 

implemented. 

  5. All persons implementing physical interventions 

shall be trained and certified in behavior management under 

nationally accredited standards.  

  6. Participation by the resident, family, and the 

resident's legal guardian(s) in the development and review of 

the behavior support plan shall be documented in the resident's 

record. 

  7. There shall be documentation of written consent 

to the behavior support plan by the resident and the resident's 

legal guardian(s) in the resident's record. 

 D. Time-Out 

  1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure that governs the use of time-out to include the 

following: 
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   a. any room used for time out shall be unlocked 

and the resident or child shall, at all times, be free to leave 

if he or she chooses; 

   b. time-out procedures shall be used only when 

less restrictive measures have been used without effect. There 

shall be written documentation of less restrictive measures used 

in the resident's or child’s record; 

   c. emergency use of time-out for residents 

shall be approved by the service plan manager or program 

director for a period not to exceed one hour;  

   d. time-out used in an individual behavior 

support plan for residents shall be part of the overall service 

plan; 

   e. the plan shall state the reasons for using 

time-out and the terms and conditions under which time-out will 

be terminated or extended, specifying a maximum duration of the 

use of the procedure that shall under no circumstances exceed 

two hours for residents;  

   f. staff shall make periodic checks but at 

least every 15 minutes while the resident is in time-out; 

   g. the resident shall be allowed to return to 

the daily milieu at any time he/she has regained control of 

his/her behavior and is ready to participate in the group 

activities; 
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   h. a resident or child in time-out shall not be 

denied access to bathroom facilities, water, or meals; 

   i. after each use of time out, the staff shall 

document the incident and place in the resident's record; 

   j. an administrative review of the incident by 

the program director or other facility management staff shall be 

conducted within three calendar days to include an analysis of 

specific precipitating factors and strategies to prevent future 

occurrences; 

   k. time out shall not be used for children 

under two years of age; 

   l. the length of time out for children 2 years 

– 5 years of age shall be based on the age of the child and 

shall not exceed a maximum of one minute per year of age. 

Provider shall take into account the child’s developmental 

stage, tolerances, and ability to learn from time out. 

 E. Personal Restraints 

  1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure that governs the use of personal restraints. 

  2. Use of personal restraints shall never be used as 

a form of punishment, a form of discipline, in lieu of adequate 

staffing, as a replacement of active treatment or for staff 

convenience. 
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  3. Written documentation of any less restrictive 

measures attempted shall be documented in the resident's record. 

  4. A personal restraint shall be used only in an 

emergency when a resident's behavior escalates to a level where 

there is imminent risk of harm to the resident or others and 

other de-escalation techniques have been attempted without 

effect. The emergency use of personal restraints shall not 

exceed the following: 

   a. 30 minutes for a resident under nine years 

old; or 

   b. one hour for a resident nine years old or 

older. 

  5. The specific maximum duration of the use of 

personal restraints as noted in Section 7115.E.4 may be exceeded 

only if prior to the end of the time period, a written 

continuation order noting clinical justification is obtained 

from a licensed psychiatrist, psychologist, or physician. The 

maximum time for use of personal restraints shall be 12 hours. 

  6. During any personal restraint, staff qualified in 

emergency behavior intervention must monitor the resident's 

breathing and other signs of physical distress and take 

appropriate action to ensure adequate respiration, circulation, 

and overall well-being. If available, staff that is not 

restraining the resident should monitor the resident. The 
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resident must be released immediately when an emergency health 

situation occurs during the restraint. Staff must obtain 

treatment immediately. 

  7. The resident must be released as soon as the 

resident's behavior is no longer a danger to himself or others. 

  8. Restraints are only to be used by employees 

trained by a certified trainer under a program that aligns with 

the nationally accredited standards. A single person restraint 

can only be initiated in a life-threatening crisis. Restraint by 

a peer is prohibited. Staff performing a personal restraint on a 

resident with specific medical conditions must be trained on 

risks posed by such conditions. 

  9. As soon as possible after the use of a personal 

restraint, the provider shall provide and document debriefing. 

Separate debriefing meetings must be held with senior staff and 

the staff members(s) involved, the resident involved, witnesses 

to the event, and family members, if indicated. 

  10. After use of a personal restraint, the staff 

shall document the incident and place in the resident's record. 

  11. An administrative review of the incident by the 

program director or other facility management staff shall be 

conducted within three calendar days to include an analysis of 

specific precipitating factors and strategies to prevent future 

occurrences. 
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  12. All incidents of personal restraint use shall be 

trended in the quality improvement program. A summary report on 

the use of personal restraints will be prepared and submitted to 

the Licensing Section on a quarterly basis. 

  13. In the event a death occurs during the use of a 

personal restraint, the facility shall conduct a review of its 

personal restraint policies and practices and retrain all staff 

in the proper techniques and in methods of de-escalation and 

avoidance of personal restraint use within five calendar days. 

Documentation to include staff signatures and date of training 

shall be submitted to the Licensing Section. 

 F. Seclusion 

  1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure that governs the use of seclusion, if such a room 

exists in the facility. Seclusion may only be used in accordance 

with §7115.F. 

  2. Use of seclusion shall never be used as a form of 

punishment, a form of discipline, in lieu of adequate staffing, 

as a replacement of active treatment or for staff convenience. 

  3. A resident will be placed in a seclusion room 

only in an emergency, when there is imminent risk of harm to the 

resident or others and when less restrictive measures have been 

used without effect. Written documentation of the less 

restrictive measures attempted shall be documented in the 
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resident’s record. The emergency use of seclusion shall not 

exceed the following: 

   a. 1 hour for a resident under nine years old; 

or 

   b. 2 hours for a resident nine years old or 

older. 

  4. The specific maximum duration of the use of 

seclusion as noted in Section 7115.F.3 may be exceeded only if 

prior to the end of the time period, a written continuation 

order noting clinical justification is obtained from a licensed 

psychiatrist, psychologist, or physician. The maximum time for 

use of seclusion shall be 12 hours. 

  5. A staff member shall exercise direct physical 

observation of the resident at all times while in seclusion. 

During the seclusion, the staff must monitor the resident's 

physical well-being for physical distress and take appropriate 

action, when indicated. The resident must be released 

immediately when an emergency health situation occurs during the 

seclusion and staff must obtain treatment immediately. The staff 

member must assess the resident's psychological well-being to 

ensure that the intervention is being completed in a safe and 

appropriate manner and that the facility's policies and 

procedures are being upheld. 
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  6. Seclusion used as part of an individual behavior 

support plan shall state the reasons for using seclusion and the 

terms and conditions under which seclusion shall be terminated 

or extended. 

  7. A resident in seclusion shall not be denied 

access to bathroom facilities, water or meals. 

  8. As soon as possible, but no later than 72 hours 

after the use of seclusion, the provider shall provide and 

document debriefing. Separate debriefing meetings must be held 

with senior staff and the staff member (s) involved, the 

resident involved, witnesses to the event, and family members, 

if indicated. 

  9. After use of seclusion, the staff shall document 

the incident and place in the resident's record. 

  10. An administrative review of the incident by the 

program director or other facility management staff shall be 

conducted within three calendar days to include an analysis of 

specific precipitating factors and strategies to prevent future 

occurrences. 

  11. All incidents of seclusion shall be trended in 

the quality improvement program. A summary report on the use of 

seclusion will be prepared and submitted to the Licensing 

Section on a quarterly basis. 
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  12. The resident's legal guardian, the Louisiana 

Child Protection Statewide Hotline 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-

5437), and the Licensing Section shall be notified if injury or 

death occurs while the resident is in seclusion. 

  13. In the event a death occurs during the use of 

seclusion, the facility shall conduct a review of its seclusion 

policies and practices and retrain all staff in the proper use 

of seclusion and in methods of de-escalation and avoidance of 

seclusion within five calendar days. Documentation to include 

staff signatures and date of training shall be submitted to the 

Licensing Section. 

  14. Seclusion Room 

   a. The resident shall be unable to voluntarily 

leave the room. 

   b. The room shall be large enough to allow easy 

access for staff to enter and exit and deep enough to ensure 

that the person being secluded cannot keep the door from closing 

by blocking it with the body or an object. 

   c. The ceiling of the seclusion room shall be 

unreachable and of solid construction. 

   d. If there are windows in the seclusion room, 

they should be locked with security locks and not allowed to 

open to the outside. Safety glass or plastic that cannot be 

157 



broken shall be used for the panes. The view from the door 

observation window must not be obstructed. 

   e. The inside walls of the seclusion room shall 

be smooth and capable of withstanding high impact. Nothing can 

protrude or extend from the wall. 

   f. The door of the room shall be a security 

rated door, shall be able to withstand high impact and stress 

and shall swing outward to prevent a person from blocking the 

door from opening and thus barricading himself in the room. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:819 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7117. Provider Services  

 A. Education 

  1. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures to ensure that each resident and child has access to 

the most appropriate educational services consistent with the 

resident's and child’s abilities and needs, taking into account 

his/her age and level of functioning. 
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  2. The provider shall ensure that educational 

records from the resident's or child’s previous school are 

transferred to the new educational placement timely.  

  3. A resident's service plan shall identify if the 

resident has any disabilities. Residents and children with 

disabilities shall be identified to the local education agency. 

If the resident or child is eligible for Individual with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) services, the provider shall 

work with the legal guardian to ensure that he or she has a 

current educational evaluation, an appropriate Individualized 

Educational Plan (IEP), and surrogate parent to assist him or 

her in enforcing rights under the IDEA. If the resident or child  

is eligible for Section 504 accommodations, the provider shall 

work with the legal guardian. 

  4. If a resident or child is suspected of having a 

disability that would qualify him or her for special education 

services, the provider shall work with the legal guardian to 

ensure that a request for a special education evaluation is made 

and that the local education agency responds appropriately.  

  5. The provider shall work with the legal guardian 

and, where applicable, surrogate parent, to identify any 

deficiencies or problems with a resident's or child’s IEP or 

individualized accommodations plan (IAP), and to ensure that the 
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resident’s or child’s IEP or IAP is being implemented by the 

local education agency. 

  6. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, all residents and children of school age shall be 

enrolled in and attending the least restrictive available option 

of either a school program approved by the Department of 

Education or an alternative educational program approved by the 

local school board within three school days of admission to the 

facility. Children of residents residing in the facility shall 

attend school off site. 

  7. The provider shall ensure residents have access 

to vocational training, GED programs, and other alternative 

educational programming, if appropriate. 

  8. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, the provider shall coordinate residents’ and 

children’s participation in school-related extra curricular 

activities, including any related fees or costs for necessary 

equipment. 

  9. Whether educational services are provided on or 

off-site, the provider shall notify the resident's or child’s 

legal guardian(s) and, where applicable, the resident’s 

surrogate parent, verbally and in writing within 24 hours of any 

truancy, expulsion, suspension, or informal removal from school. 
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Notification shall be documented in the resident's or child’s 

record. 

  10. All residents and children shall receive a free 

and appropriate education. If transportation is not provided by 

the local educational authority for the resident, the provider 

shall transport the resident to school or other educational 

program in order for the resident to fulfill the requirements of 

their educational program. 

  11. When children are picked up or dropped off at the 

facility by a public or private school bus or transportation 

service, staff shall be present to safely escort children to and 

from the bus. 

  12. If educational services are provided on-site, the 

following also apply: 

   a. The provider shall provide accommodations 

for educational services to be provided by the local school 

district in accordance with local school board calendar. The 

school classes shall be held in classrooms/multi-purpose rooms. 

The provider shall ensure that the educational space is adequate 

to meet the instructional requirements of each resident. 

   b. Prior to the end of the first official 

school day following admission, the resident shall receive a 

brief educational history screening with respect to their school 

status, special education status, grade level, grades, and 
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history of suspensions or expulsions. Staff shall use this 

information to determine initial placement in the facility 

educational program. 

   c. Within three school days of the resident’s 

arrival at the facility, the provider shall request educational 

records from the resident’s previous school. If records are not 

received within 10 school days of the request, the program 

director shall report in writing on the eleventh day to the 

local school district from which records were requested that the 

information has been requested and not received. If the records 

are not received within the following seven school days of 

notifying the local school district, the program director shall 

file a written complaint with the Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education (BESE) on the eighth day.  

d. Residents in restricted, disciplinary, or 

high security units shall receive an education program 

comparable to youth in other units in the facility consistent 

with safety needs. 

e. When residents are suspended from the 

facility school, the suspension shall comply with local 

jurisdiction due process requirements. 

f. Behavior intervention plans shall be 

developed for a resident whose behavior or emotional stability 

interferes with their school attendance and progress. 
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g. The provider shall have available reading 

materials geared to the reading levels, interests, and primary 

languages of residents. 

h. The provider shall ensure that residents are 

engaged in instruction for the minimum minutes in a school day 

required by law. 

i. The program director shall immediately 

report in writing to the local school district if the facility 

school is not being staffed adequately to meet state student to 

teacher ratios for education, including not but not limited to, 

special education staff and substitute teaching staff. If the 

issue is not resolved within five school days by the local 

school district, then the program director shall file a written 

complaint on the sixth day with BESE and cooperate with any 

subsequent directives received from BESE. 

 B. Milieu (Daily Living) Services  

  1. Routines 

   a. The provider shall have a written schedule 

of daily routines for residents designed to provide for 

reasonable consistency and timeliness in daily activities, in 

the delivery of essential services to residents and in the 

provision of adequate periods of recreation, privacy, rest and 

sleep. 
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b. Written schedules of daily routines shall be 

posted and available to the residents. 

c. Daily routines shall be determined in 

relation to the needs and convenience of the residents who live 

together. 

d. Whenever appropriate, the residents shall 

participate in making decisions about schedules and routines. 

e. The program for daily routines shall be 

reviewed periodically and revised as the needs of the residents 

or living group change. 

f. The Provider shall develop written policies 

regarding a daily schedule for children that includes 

planned/unplanned activities, allowing for flexibility and 

change. Activities shall accommodate and have due regard for 

individual needs and differences among children. Children’s 

routines shall include time daily for indoor and outdoor play 

(weather permitting) that incorporate free play, gross/fine 

motor activities and vigorous and quiet activities. Time should 

also be designated for activities that support children’s 

development of social, emotional, physical, language/literacy, 

cognitive/intellectual and cultural skills, as well as for 

routine occurrences such as meals/snacks, rest time, etc.  

  2. Personal Possessions 
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   a. The provider shall allow residents and 

children to bring their personal possessions and display them, 

when appropriate. 

   b. Residents and children shall be allowed to 

acquire possessions of their own. The provider may, as 

necessary, limit or supervise the use of these items. Where 

restrictions are imposed, the resident or child shall be 

informed by staff of the reason of the restriction. The decision 

and reason shall be recorded in the individual’s record. 

   c. Each resident and child shall have a secure 

place to store his/her personal property. 

   d. Possessions confiscated by staff will be 

documented to include: 

    i. signature of the staff and resident or 

child; 

    ii. date and time of confiscation; and 

    iii. date and time when returned to resident 

or child and signature of resident or child. 

   e. The provider shall be responsible for all 

confiscated items, including replacement if the item is damaged, 

lost, or stolen while in the provider's possession. 

   f. A log of any valuable personal possessions 

to include any assistive devices, i.e., hearing aide, glasses, 

etc., shall be maintained by the provider. 
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  3. Clothing and Personal Appearance  

   a. The provider shall ensure that residents and 

children are provided with clean, well-fitting clothing 

appropriate to the season and to the individual’s age, sex, and 

individual needs. Whenever possible, the resident or child 

should be involved in selecting their clothing. 

   b. The provider shall have a written policy 

concerning any limitations regarding personal appearance. Any 

limitations should be related to maintaining the safety and 

well-being of the residents or children receiving services. 

   c. Clothing and shoes shall be of proper size 

and adequate in amount to permit laundering, cleaning, and 

repair. 

   d. Clothing shall be maintained in good repair. 

   e. Clothing shall belong to the individual 

resident or child and not be required to be shared. 

   f. All clothing provided to a resident or child 

shall remain with the resident or child upon discharge. 

   g. The provider shall ensure residents and 

children have access to adequate grooming services, including 

haircuts. 

  4. Independent Life Training 

   a. The provider shall have a program to ensure 

that residents receive training in independent living skills 
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appropriate to their age and functioning level. Individualized 

independent life training goals shall be included in each 

resident's service plan. 

   b. This program shall include but not be 

limited to instruction in: 

i. health and dental care, hygiene and 

grooming; 

ii. family life; 

iii. sex education including family planning 

and venereal disease counseling; 

iv. laundry and maintenance of clothing; 

v. appropriate social skills; 

vi. housekeeping; 

vii. use of transportation; 

viii. budgeting and shopping; 

ix. money management; 

x. cooking and proper nutrition; 

xi. employment issues, including 

punctuality and attendance; 

xii. use of recreation and leisure time; 

xiii. education, college, trade, and/or 

long-term planning/life goals; 

xiv. accessing community services; and 

xv. parenting skills. 
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   c. In addition, residents with children shall 

also receive training in the following topics: 

i. parenting preparation classes;  

ii. stages of growth in infants, children 

and adolescents;  

iii. day-to-day care of infants, children 

and adolescents; 

iv. disciplinary techniques for infants, 

children, and adolescents; 

v. child-care resources; 

vi. stress management; 

vii. life skills; and 

viii. decision making. 

  5. Money 

   a. The provider shall permit and encourage a 

resident or child, as age appropriate, to possess his/her own 

money. The provider can give the resident or child an allowance. 

Older residents should be given the opportunity to earn 

additional money by providing opportunities for paid work, 

unless otherwise indicated by the resident's service plan, and 

reviewed every 30 days by the service plan manager; 

   b. money earned or received either as a gift or 

an allowance by a resident or child, shall be deemed to be that 

individual’s personal property; 
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   c. limitations may be placed on the amount of 

money a resident or child may possess or have unencumbered 

access to when such limitations are considered to be in the 

individual’s best interests and are duly recorded in the 

resident's service plan or child’s record. The reasons for any 

limitations should be fully explained to the resident, child, 

and their families; 

   d. resident's monetary restitution for damages 

shall only occur when there is clear evidence of individual 

responsibility for the damages and the service team approves the 

restitution. The resident and his/her legal guardian(s) shall be 

notified in writing within 24 hours of any claim for restitution 

and shall be provided with specific details of the damages, how, 

when and where the damages occurred, and the amount of damages 

claimed. If the amount is unknown, an estimate of the damages 

shall be provided and an exact figure provided within 30 days. 

The resident and his/her legal guardian(s) shall be given a 

reasonable opportunity to respond to any claim for damages. If 

the provider receives reimbursement for damages either through 

insurance or other sources, the resident shall not be 

responsible for restitution; 

   e. the provider shall maintain a separate 

accounting of each resident’s or child’s money; and 
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   f. upon discharge, the provider shall provide 

the resident, child, or legal guardian(s) any outstanding 

balance. 

  6. Work 

   a. The provider shall have a written policy 

regarding the involvement of residents in work including: 

    i. description of any unpaid tasks 

required of residents; 

    ii. description of any paid work 

assignments including the pay for such assignments that are at 

least minimum wage; 

    iii. description of the provider's approach 

to supervising work assignments; and 

    iv. assurance that the conditions and 

compensation of such work are in compliance with applicable 

state and federal laws. 

   b. The provider shall demonstrate that any 

resident's work assignments are designed to provide a 

constructive experience and are not used as a means of 

performing vital provider functions at low cost. All work 

assignments shall be in accordance with the resident's service 

plan. 

   c. The provider shall assign, as unpaid work, 

age appropriate housekeeping tasks similar to those performed in 
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a normal family home. Any other work assigned shall be 

compensated. The provider shall ensure that all such employment 

practices comply fully with state and federal laws and 

standards. No resident shall be employed in any industrial or 

hazardous occupation, or under any hazardous conditions. 

   d. When a resident engages in off-grounds work, 

the provider shall be responsible for ensuring the resident has 

access to transportation and other supports needed to perform 

the work successfully. The provider shall document that: 

    i. such work is voluntary and in 

accordance with the resident's service plan; 

    ii. the service plan manager approves such 

work; 

    iii. the conditions and compensation of such 

work are in compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act and 

other applicable state and federal laws; and 

    iv. such work does not conflict with the 

resident's program. 

 C. Food Service  

  1. The provider shall ensure that a staff person has 

oversight of the total food service of the facility. This person 

shall be familiar with nutrition and food service management and 

shall be responsible for implementation and/or delegation of: 

171 



a. purchasing food according to the approved 

dietary menu; 

b. oversight of storing and handling of food; 

c. oversight of food preparation; 

d. oversight of food serving; 

e. maintaining sanitary standards in compliance 

with state and local regulations; 

f. orientation, training, and supervision of 

food service personnel to include proper feeding techniques as 

age appropriate; 

g. maintaining a current list of residents and 

children with special nutritional needs; 

h. having an effective method of recording and 

transmitting diet orders and changes; 

i. recording information in the resident's or 

child’s record relating to special nutritional needs; and 

j. providing information on residents' and 

children’s diets to staff. 

  2. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that ensure that residents and children are, on a 

daily basis, provided with food of such quality and in such 

quantity as to meet the recommended daily dietary allowances 

adjusted for age, gender, and activity of the United States 

Department of Agriculture and doesn’t deny any rights of the 
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resident or child. Two of the three meals (breakfast, lunch, 

supper) served to children shall be hot meals. Residents and 

children shall also be provided with a snack between meals and 

prior to bedtime. Breakfast shall be served one hour from when 

residents awake. 

  3. The provider shall maintain a master menu, 

including appropriate substitutions, which is written and 

approved annually, by a registered dietician. 

   a. The provider shall post the written menu at 

least one week in advance. 

   b. Menus shall provide for a sufficient variety 

of foods, vary from week to week and reflect all substitutions. 

Any substitution shall be of equal nutritional value. Residents 

shall be allowed to provide input into these menus. 

   c. Written menus and records of foods purchased 

shall be maintained on record for one year. 

  4. The provider shall ensure that any modified diet 

for a resident or child shall be: 

   a. prescribed by the individual’s physician, 

approved by the registered dietician, and identified in the 

resident’s service plan or child’s record; and 

   b. planned, prepared, and served by persons who 

have received instruction on the modified diet. 
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  5. Condiments appropriate for the ordered diet will 

be available. 

  6. When meals are provided to staff, the provider 

shall ensure that staff members eat the same food served to 

residents or children, unless special dietary requirements 

dictate differences in diet. 

  7. Food provided to a resident or child shall be in 

accordance with his/her religious beliefs. 

  8. No resident or child shall be denied food or 

force-fed for any reason except as medically required pursuant 

to a physician's written order. A copy of the order shall be 

maintained in the individual’s record. 

  9. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures to ensure that all food shall be stored, prepared and 

served under sanitary conditions. The provider shall ensure 

that: 

   a. food served to the resident or child is in 

appropriate quantity; at appropriate temperatures; in a form 

consistent with the developmental level of the individual; and 

with appropriate utensils; 

   b. food served to a resident or child not 

consumed is discarded; 
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   c. food and drink purchased shall be of safe 

quality. Milk and milk products shall be grade A and 

pasteurized; 

10. Hand washing facilities, including hot and cold 

water, soap, and paper towels, shall be provided adjacent to 

food service work areas. 

11. Food shall be stored separate from cleaning 

supplies and equipment. 

12. Food storage areas are free of rodents, roaches, 

and/or other pests and the provider shall take precautions to 

ensure such pests do not contaminate food. 

13. Persons responsible for food preparation shall 

not prepare food if they have symptoms of acute illness or an 

open wound. 

14. Information regarding food allergies/special 

diets shall be posted in the food prep area with special care so 

that the individual names are not in public view. 

15. Children under four years of age shall not have 

foods that are implicated in choking incidents. Examples of 

these foods include but are not limited to the following:  whole 

hot dogs, hot dogs sliced in rounds, raw carrot rounds, whole 

grapes, hard candy, nuts, seeds, raw peas, hard pretzels, chips, 

peanuts, popcorn, marshmallows, spoonfuls of peanut butter, and 

chunks of meat larger than what can be swallowed whole. 
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16. Formula for an infant prepared by or in a 

residential home shall be prepared in accordance with the 

instructions of the formula or by the techniques recommended by 

the physician which shall be on file at the facility.  

17. Formula for an infant shall be labeled with the 

child's name and date of preparation.  

18. Formula for an infant shall be refrigerated 

immediately after preparation and shall not be used more than 24 

hours after preparation. The timeframe for use after preparation 

may be longer than 24 hours if directed by a physician or as 

documented in the instructions of the formula. The timeframe 

shall not be extended beyond the physician's recommendation or 

the instructions of the formula.  

19. Formula shall not be heated in a microwave oven. 

20. Water shall be given to infants only with written 

instructions from child’s physician. 

21. A child’s bottle shall not be propped at any 

time. 

22. Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed to 

provide a nurturing, safe feeding experience. 

 D. Health Related Services 

  1. Health Care  

   a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures for providing preventive, routine, and emergency 
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medical and dental care for residents and children and shall 

show evidence of access to the resources. They shall include, 

but are not limited to, the following: 

    i. ongoing appraisal of the general health 

of each resident and child; 

    ii. provision of health education, as 

appropriate; 

    iii. provision for keeping immunizations 

current; 

    iv. approaches that ensure that any medical 

service administered will be explained to the resident or child 

in language suitable to his/her age and understanding; 

    v. an ongoing relationship with a licensed 

physician, dentist, and pharmacist to advise the provider 

concerning medical and dental care; 

    vi. availability of a physician on a 24-

hour, seven days a week basis; 

    vii. reporting of communicable diseases and 

infections in accordance with law; 

    viii. procedures for ensuring residents 

and children know how and to whom to voice complaints about any 

health issues or concerns. 

  2. Medical Care 
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   a. The provider shall arrange a medical 

examination by a physician for the resident or child within a 

week of admission unless the resident or child has received such 

an examination within 30 days before admission and the results 

of this examination are available to the provider. If the 

resident or child is being transferred from another residential 

home and has had a physical examination within the last 12 

months, a copy of this examination can be obtained to meet the 

requirement of the admission physical. The physical examination 

shall include:  

    i. an examination of the resident or child 

for any physical injury, physical disability, and disease; 

    ii. vision, hearing, and speech screening; 

and 

    iii. a current assessment of the resident's 

or child’s general health. 

   b. The provider shall arrange an annual 

physical examination of all residents and children. 

   c. Whenever indicated, the resident or child 

shall be referred to an appropriate medical specialist for 

either further assessment or service, including gynecological 

services for female residents or children. The provider shall 

schedule such specialist care within 30 days of the initial 
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exam. If the specialist’s service needed is a result of a 

medical emergency, such care shall be obtained immediately. 

   d. The provider shall ensure that a resident or 

child receives timely, competent medical care when he/she is ill 

or injured. The provider shall notify the legal guardian, 

verbally and/or in writing, within 24 hours of a resident's or 

child’s illness or injury that requires service from a physician 

or hospital. The notification shall include the nature of the 

injury or illness and any service required.  

   e. Records of all medical examinations, 

services, and copies of all notices to legal guardian(s) shall 

be kept in the resident's or child’s record. 

  3. Dental Care  

   a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures for providing comprehensive dental services to 

include: 

    i. provision for dental service; 

    ii. provision for emergency service on a 

24-hour, seven days a week basis by a licensed dentist; 

    iii. a recall system specified by the 

dentist, but at least annually; 

    iv. dental cleanings annually; and 

    v. training and prompting for residents 

and children to brush their teeth at least twice per day. 
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   b. The provider shall arrange a dental exam for 

each resident and child within 90 days of admission unless the 

resident or child has received such an examination within six 

months prior to admission and a copy of the examination is 

obtained by the provider. Children shall begin receiving annual 

examinations at the eruption of their first tooth and no later 

than 12 months of age. 

   c. Records of all dental examinations, follow-

ups and service shall be documented in the record. 

   d. The provider shall notify the legal 

guardian(s), verbally and/or in writing, within 24 hours when a 

resident or child requires or receives dental services of an 

emergency nature. The notification shall include the nature of 

the dental condition and any service required. Notification 

shall be documented in the record. 

  4. Immunizations 

   a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures regarding immunizations to ensure that: 

    i. within 30 days of admission, the 

provider shall obtain documentation of a resident's or child’s 

immunization history, ensuring that the resident and child have 

received and will receive all appropriate immunizations and 

booster shots that are required by the Office of Public Health; 
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    ii. the provider shall maintain a complete 

record of all immunizations received in the resident's or 

child’s record. 

  5. Medications  

   a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures that govern the safe administration and handling of 

all medication, to include the following: 

    i. a system for documentation and review 

of medication errors; 

    ii. self-administration of both 

prescription and nonprescription medications; 

    iii. handling medication taken by residents 

and children on pass; and 

    iv. a plan of action for residents and 

children who require emergency medication (e.g., Epipen, 

Benadryl).  

   b. The provider shall have a system in place to 

ensure that there is a sufficient supply of prescribed 

medication available for each resident and child at all times. 

   c. The provider shall ensure that medications 

are either self-administered or administered by persons with 

appropriate credentials, training,and expertise.  

i. Effective August 1, 2016, all 

staff members who administer medication to residents or children 
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under five years of age shall have medication administration 

training. However, providers licensed to care for children of 

residents or licensed to care for children under five years of 

age shall have staff trained in medication administration. 

Trained staff shall be scheduled for each shift when children of 

residents under five years of age are present in the facility. 

Training shall be obtained every two years from an approved 

Child Care Health Consultant. By virtue of his/her current 

license, a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or registered nurse 

(RN) shall be considered to have medication administration 

training. 

   d. There shall be written documentation 

requirements for the administration of all prescription and non-

prescription medication, whether administered by staff, 

supervised by staff or self-administered. This documentation 

shall include: 

    i. resident's or child’s name, date, 

medication name, dosage, and time administered; 

    ii. signature of person administering 

medication, if other than resident; and 

    iii. signature of person witnessing resident 

or child self administer medication, if applicable. 

   e. When residents administer medication to 

their own children, the medication administration record shall 
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be documented by either the resident or by facility staff as 

indicated in §7117.D.5.d. 

   f. If prescription medication is not 

administered as prescribed or resident or child refuses to take 

medication, the physician ordering the medication shall be 

immediately notified and documentation noted to include: 

    i. resident's or child’s name, date, and 

time; 

ii. medication name and dosage; 

ii. person attempting to administer 

medication, if other than resident or child; 

iii. reason for refusal or medication not 

being given as prescribed;  

iv. name of staff notifying physician’s 

office;  

v. date and time of notification to 

physician’s office; and 

vi. name of person notified and next steps, 

if applicable. 

   g. The provider shall ensure that any 

medication given to a resident or child for therapeutic and/or 

medical purposes is in accordance with the written order of a 

physician. 
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    i. There shall be no standing orders for 

prescription medications. 

    ii. There shall be standing orders, signed 

by the physician, for nonprescription medications with 

directions from the physician indicating when he/she is to be 

contacted. The physician shall update standing orders annually. 

    iii. Copies of all written orders shall be 

maintained in the resident's or child’s record. 

    iv. Medication shall not be used as a 

disciplinary measure, a convenience for staff, or as a 

substitute for adequate, appropriate programming. 

    v. Prescription medications shall be 

reviewed and renewed on at least an annual basis. 

   h. Residents and children shall be informed of 

any changes to their medications, prior to administration of any 

new or altered medications. 

i. Residents, staff, and, where appropriate, 

residents' legal guardian(s) are educated on the potential 

benefits and negative side effects of the medication and are 

involved in decisions concerning the use of the medication. 

j. The provider shall ensure that the 

prescribing physician is immediately informed of any side 

effects observed by staff, or any medication errors. Any such 

side effects or errors shall be promptly recorded in the 
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resident's or child’s record and the legal guardian(s) shall be 

notified verbally or in writing within 24 hours. 

k. Discontinued and outdated medications and 

containers with worn, illegible, or missing labels shall be 

properly disposed of according to state law. 

l. Medications shall be stored under proper 

conditions of sanitation, temperature, light, moisture, 

ventilation, segregation, and security. 

    i. External medications and internal 

medications shall be stored on separate shelves or in separate 

cabinets. 

    ii. All medication shall be kept under lock 

and key. Refrigerated medication shall be stored in a secure 

container with a lid to prevent access by children and avoid 

contamination of food. 

   m. Psychotropic medications shall be reviewed 

and renewed at least every 90 days by a licensed physician. 

   n. All medications shall be maintained in the 

original container/packaging as dispensed by the pharmacist. 

   o. A plan of care shall be developed for each 

resident or child who requires emergency medication (e.g., 

Epipen, Benadryl). The plan of care shall include: 

i. method of administration;  
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ii. symptoms that would indicate the need 

for the medication; 

iii. actions to take once symptoms occur; 

iv. description of how to use the 

medication; and 

v. signature and date of program director 

or medical personnel. 

   p. Medication administration records for 

emergency medication shall be maintained in accordance with 

§7117.D.5.d and shall also include the following: 

i. symptoms noted that indicated the need 

for the medication; 

ii. actions taken once symptoms occurred; 

iii. description of how medication was 

administered; 

iv. signature (not initials) of the staff 

member who administered the medication; and 

v. notification to legal guardian (date, 

time, and signature of person who contacted the legal guardian) 

following the administration of the emergency medication. 

   q. If the non-prescription medication label 

reads “to consult physician”, a written authorization from a 

Louisiana, or adjacent state, licensed medical physician or 
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dentist, shall be on file in order to administer the medication, 

and shall include the following information: 

i. child’s name; 

ii. date of authorization; 

iii. medication name and strength; and 

iv. clear directions for use, including the 

route (e.g., oral, topical), dosage, and frequency, time, or 

schedule of medication. 

  6. Professional and Specialized Services 

   a. The provider shall monitor that residents 

and children receive specialized services to meet their needs; 

these services shall include but are not limited to: 

    i. physical/occupational therapy; 

    ii. speech pathology and audiology; 

    iii. psychological and psychiatric services; 

    iv. social work services; 

    v. individual, group and family 

counseling; and 

    vi. substance abuse counseling/drug or 

alcohol addiction treatment. 

   b. The provider shall monitor that all 

providers of professional and special services: 

    i. record all significant contacts with 

the resident or child; 
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    ii. provide quarterly written summaries of 

the resident's or child’s response to the service, the 

resident's or child’s current status relative to the service, 

and the resident's or child’s progress; 

    iii. participate, as appropriate, in the 

development, implementation, and review of resident’s service 

plans and aftercare plans and in the interdisciplinary team 

responsible for developing such plans; 

    iv. provide services appropriately 

integrated into the overall program and provide training to 

direct service staff as needed to implement service plans; 

    v. provide resident 

assessments/evaluations as needed for service plan development 

and revision. 

   c. The provider shall monitor that any provider 

of professional or special services (internal or external to the 

facility) meets the criteria noted below:  

    i. have adequately qualified and, where 

appropriate, currently licensed or certified staff according to 

state or federal law; 

    ii. have adequate space, facilities, and 

privacy; 

    iii. have appropriate equipment, supplies, 

and resources. 
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   d. The providers shall ensure that residents 

and children are evaluated for specialized services in a timely 

manner when a need is identified. 

 E. Recreation 

  1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for a recreation program that offers indoor and 

outdoor activities in which participation can be encouraged and 

motivated on the basis of individual interests and needs of the 

residents and children and the composition of the living group. 

  2. The provider shall provide recreational services 

based on the individual needs, interests, and functioning levels 

of the residents and children served. In planning recreational 

programs and activities, staff should assess the ages, 

interests, abilities and developmental and other needs of the 

residents and children served to determine the range of 

activities that are safe and appropriate. Residents and children 

shall be allowed time to be alone and to engage in solitary 

activities that they enjoy. There should be opportunities for 

group activities to develop spontaneously, such as group 

singing, dancing, storytelling, listening to records, games, 

etc. Recreational activities should be planned throughout the 

week. 

  3. Recreational objectives shall be included in each 

resident’s service plan. Residents should be involved in 
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planning and selecting activities as part of their individual 

service plan. 

  4. There shall be evidence that staff participating 

in recreation activities with the residents are appropriately 

informed of the resident's needs, problems, and service plans; 

communicate routinely with other direct service staff concerning 

residents; and have a means of providing in-put. 

  5. The provider shall provide adequate recreation 

and yard spaces to meet the needs and abilities of residents and 

children regardless of their disabilities. Recreation equipment 

and supplies shall be of sufficient quantity and variety to 

carry out the stated objectives of the provider's recreation 

plan. Recreational equipment should be selected in accordance 

with the number of residents and children, their ages and needs, 

and should allow for imaginative play, creativity, and 

development of leisure skills and physical fitness. 

  6. The provider shall utilize the recreational 

resources of the community whenever appropriate. The provider 

shall arrange the transportation and supervision required for 

maximum usage of community resources. Unless the restriction is 

part of the facility's master behavior program plan, access to 

such community resources shall not be denied or infringed except 

as may be required as part of the resident's service plan. Any 

such restrictions shall be specifically described in the service 
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plan, together with the reasons such restrictions are necessary 

and the extent and duration of such restrictions. 

 F. Transportation 

1. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures to ensure that each resident is provided with 

transportation necessary to meet his/her needs as identified the 

individualized service plan. 

2. The provider shall have means of transporting 

residents and children in cases of emergency. 

3. The provider shall ensure and document that any 

vehicle used in transporting residents or children, whether such 

vehicle is operated by a staff member or any other person acting 

on behalf of the provider, is inspected and licensed in 

accordance with state law and carries current liability 

insurance. All vehicles used for the transportation of residents 

or children shall be maintained in a safe condition and in 

conformity with all applicable motor vehicle laws. Preventative 

maintenance shall be performed on a monthly basis to ensure the 

vehicles are maintained in working order. The provider shall 

maintain documentation supporting adherence to vehicle 

maintenance schedules and other services as indicated. 

4. Any staff member of the provider or other person 

acting on behalf of the provider, operating a vehicle for the 

purpose of transporting residents or children shall maintain a 
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current driver's license. The staff member operating the vehicle 

shall have the applicable type of driver's license to comply 

with the current motor vehicle laws. 

5. The provider shall not transport residents nor 

children in the back or the bed of a truck. 

6. The provider shall conform to all applicable 

state motor vehicle laws regarding the transport of residents 

and children. 

7. The provider shall ensure that residents and 

children being transported in the vehicle  are properly 

supervised while in the vehicle and during the trip. Residents 

nor children are to be unattended in the vehicle. 

8. Vehicles used to transport residents and children 

shall not be identified in a manner that may embarrass or in any 

way produce notoriety for residents or children. 

9. The provider shall ascertain the nature of any 

need or problem of a resident or child that might cause 

difficulties during transportation, such as seizures, a tendency 

toward motion sickness, or a disability. The provider shall 

communicate such information to the operator of any vehicle 

transporting residents or children. 

10. The following additional arrangements are 

required for a provider serving residents or children with 

physical limitations: 
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   a. a ramp device to permit entry and exit of a 

resident or child from the vehicle shall be provided for all 

vehicles except automobiles normally used to transport 

physically handicapped residents or children. A mechanical lift 

may be utilized if a ramp is also available in case of 

emergency; 

   b. in all vehicles except automobiles, 

wheelchairs used in transit shall be securely fastened to the 

vehicle; 

   c. in all vehicles except automobiles, the 

arrangement of the wheelchairs shall provide an adequate aisle 

space and shall not impede access to the exit door of the 

vehicle. 

11. No resident or child shall be transported in any 

vehicle unless age appropriate child restraints are utilized. In 

addition, transportation arrangements shall conform to state 

laws, including but not limited to those requiring the use of 

seat belts and child restraints. 

  12. Only one resident or child shall be restrained in 

a single safety belt.  

  13. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair as 

evidenced by: 
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   a. ventilation and heating systems shall be 

operational and used to maintain a comfortable temperature 

during transport. 

   b. The vehicle’s engine shall be maintained in 

working mechanical order. 

   c. The vehicle’s interior shall be clean and 

free of trash and debris. 

   d. The vehicle’s seat coverings shall be in 

good repair. 

  14. The use or possession of alcohol, tobacco in any 

form, illegal substances or unauthorized potentially toxic 

substances, firearms (loaded or unloaded), or pellet or BB guns 

(loaded or unloaded) in any vehicle used to transport residents 

or children is prohibited. 

  15. The number of persons in a vehicle used to 

transport residents or children shall not exceed the 

manufacturer's recommended capacity. 

  16. The provider shall maintain a copy of a valid 

appropriate Louisiana driver's license for all individuals who 

drive vehicles (staff, contracted persons, etc.) used to 

transport residents or children.   

  17. The vehicle shall have evidence of a current 

safety inspection. 
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  18. A visual inspection of the vehicle is required to 

ensure that no child was left on the vehicle. A staff person 

shall physically walk through the vehicle and inspect all seat 

surfaces, under all seats, and in all enclosed spaces and 

recesses in the vehicle’s interior. The staff conducting the 

visual check shall record the time of the visual check 

inspection and sign his or her full name, indicating that no 

child was left on the vehicle. For field trips, staff shall 

check the vehicle and conduct a face-to-name count conducted 

prior to leaving facility for the destination, when destination 

is reached, before departing destination for return to facility, 

and upon return to facility. For all other transportation, the 

staff shall inspect the vehicle at the completion of each trip 

prior to the staff person exiting the vehicle. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:823 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7119. Physical Environment 

 A. Physical Appearance and Conditions 
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  1. The provider shall maintain all areas of the 

facility accessible to residents and children in good repair and 

free from any reasonably foreseeable hazard to health or safety. 

All structures on the grounds of the facility shall be 

maintained in good repair. 

  2. The provider shall have an effective pest control 

program to prevent insect and rodent infestation. 

  3. The provider shall maintain the grounds of the 

facility in good condition. 

   a. Garbage and rubbish stored outside shall be 

secured in noncombustible, covered containers and shall be 

removed on at least a weekly basis. 

   b. Trash collection receptacles shall be 

separate from play area. 

   c. Fences shall be in good repair. 

   d. Areas determined to be unsafe, including 

steep grades; cliffs, open pits, swimming pools, high voltage 

boosters or high-speed roads (45 mph or higher) shall be fenced 

or have natural barriers to protect residents and children. 

   e. Playground equipment shall be so located, 

installed, and maintained as to ensure the safety of residents 

and children. 
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  4. Residents and children shall have access to safe, 

suitable, outdoor recreational space and age appropriate 

equipment. 

  5. The provider shall have at least 75 square feet 

of accessible exterior space for each resident. The exterior 

space shall be adequate to accommodate one-half the licensed 

capacity of the facility. 

  6. The outdoor play space used by children shall be 

enclosed with a permanent fence or other permanent barrier in 

such a manner as to protect the children from traffic hazards, 

to prevent the children from leaving the premises without proper 

supervision, and to prevent contact with animals or unauthorized 

persons. 

7. All air conditioning/heating units, mechanical 

equipment, electrical equipment, or other hazardous equipment 

shall be inaccessible to children. 

8. Culverts are prohibited within outdoor play 

spaces. 

9. Areas where there are open cisterns, wells, 

ditches, fish ponds, swimming pools, and other bodies of water 

shall be made inaccessible to children by fencing and locked 

gates. 

10. All equipment used by children shall be 

maintained in a clean, safe condition and in good repair. 
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11. Poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, 

equipment, tools, kitchen knives or potentially dangerous 

utensils, and any substance with a warning label stating it is 

harmful to or that is should be kept out of reach of children, 

shall be locked away from and inaccessible to children. Whether 

these items are in a cabinet or in an entire room, the area 

shall be locked.  

 B. Interior Space 

  1. The provider shall have policies and procedures 

to ensure that the facility maintains a safe, clean, orderly, 

and homelike environment. 

  2. All equipment, furnishings, and interior spaces 

shall be clean and maintained at all times. The provider shall 

have a program in place to monitor regular maintenance, 

preventative maintenance, cleaning and repair of all equipment 

and furnishings that is performed on a routine basis. Written 

documentation of the maintenance and cleaning program activities 

shall be maintained by administration to include cleaning 

schedules and reports of repairs. 

  3. The facility shall have sufficient living and 

program space available for residents and children to gather for 

reading, study, relaxation, structured group activities, and 

visitation. Space shall be available that allows for 

confidentiality for family visits, counseling, groups, and 
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meetings. The living areas shall contain such items as 

television, stereo, age-appropriate books, magazines, and 

newspapers.  

  4. A facility shall have a minimum of 60 square feet 

of unencumbered floor area per resident in living and dining 

areas accessible to residents and excluding halls, closets, 

bathrooms, bedrooms, staff or staff's family quarters, laundry 

areas, storage areas and office areas.  

  5. Each child shall be provided with an opportunity 

to safely and comfortably sit, crawl, toddle, walk, and play 

according to the child's stage of development and in a 

designated space apart from sleeping quarters each day in order 

to enhance development.  

  6. Computers that allow internet access by the 

children shall be equipped with monitoring or filtering 

software, or an analogous software protection, that limits 

children’s access to inappropriate web sites, e-mail, and 

instant messages. 

  7. Programs, movies, and video games shall be age 

appropriate. 

  8. A variety of books, educational materials, toys, 

and play materials shall be provided, organized, and displayed 

within children’s reach so that they may select and return items 

independently. 
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  9. For providers licensed to care for children of 

residents, at least one corded land line capable of incoming and 

outgoing calls for emergency purposes shall be accessible at all 

times at the facility.   

 C. Dining Areas 

  1. The provider shall have dining areas that permit 

residents, children, staff, and guests to eat together and 

create a homelike environment. 

  2. Dining areas shall be clean, well lit, 

ventilated, and equipped with dining tables and appropriate 

seating for the dining tables. 

  3. High chairs shall be used in accordance with the 

manufacturer’s instructions including restrictions based on age 

and minimum/maximum weight of infants and children. Staff shall 

ensure that the high chair manufacturer’s restraint device is 

used when children are sitting in the high chair. Children who 

are too small or too large to be restrained using the 

manufacturer’s restraint device shall not be placed in the high 

chair. Provider shall take into account the child’s 

developmental stage, tolerances, and ability to sit up safely by 

themselves. 

 D. Bedrooms  

  1. Each resident and child shall have his/her own 

designated area for rest and sleep. 
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  2. The provider shall ensure that each single 

occupancy bedroom space has a floor area of at least 70 square 

feet of unencumbered space and that each multiple occupancy 

bedroom space has a floor area of at least 60 square feet of 

unencumbered space for each occupant.  

  3. The provider shall not use a room with a ceiling 

height of less than 7 feet 6 inches as a bedroom space. In a 

room with varying ceiling height, only portions of the room with 

a ceiling height of at least 7 feet 6 inches are allowed in 

determining usable space. 

  4. The bedroom space for residents and children 

shall be decorated to allow for the personal tastes and 

expressions of the residents and children. 

  5. Any provider that licenses beds subsequent to 

April 2012, shall have bedroom space that does not permit more 

than two residents per designated bedroom space. All others 

shall not exceed four residents to occupy a designated space. 

  6. No resident over the age of five years shall 

occupy a bedroom with a member of the opposite sex, unless that 

individual is the resident’s parent in accordance with 

R.S.46:1403. 

  7. The provider shall ensure that the age of 

residents sharing bedroom space is not greater than four years 

in difference unless contraindicated based on family dynamics. 
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  8. Each resident and child age one year and above 

shall have his/her own bed. The bed shall be longer than the 

resident or child is tall, no less than 30 inches wide, and 

shall have a clean, comfortable, nontoxic, fire retardant 

mattress. 

  9. The provider shall ensure that sheets, pillow, 

bedspread, and blankets are provided for each resident and 

child: 

   a. enuretic residents and children shall have 

mattresses with moisture resistant covers; and 

   b. sheets and pillowcases shall be changed at 

least weekly, but shall be changed more frequently if necessary. 

Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately when soiled or 

wet. 

  10. Each resident shall have a solidly constructed 

bed. Cots or other portable beds shall be used on an emergency 

basis only and shall not be in use for longer than one week. 

  11. All bunk beds in use in a residential home shall 

be equipped with safety rails on the upper tier for a child 

under the age of 10, or for any child whose physical, mental, or 

emotional condition indicates the need for such protection. A 

child under six years of age shall not sleep on the upper bunk 

of a bunk bed. No beds shall be bunked higher than two tiers. 

The provider shall ensure that the uppermost mattress of any 

202 



bunk bed shall be far enough from the ceiling to allow the 

occupant to sit up in bed. 

  12. Each resident and child shall have his/her own 

nightstand and dresser or other adequate storage space for 

private use in the bedroom. 

  13. There shall be a closet for hanging clothing in 

proximity to the bedroom occupied by the resident and child. For 

beds licensed after April 2012, there shall be a closet for 

hanging clothing within the bedroom or immediately adjacent to 

the bedroom. The closet shall not be within a bathroom. 

  14. No resident and her child shall share a bedroom 

with another resident.  

  15. A resident shall not be allowed to sleep in the 

same bed with her child.  

 E. Bathrooms 

  1. The facility shall have an adequate supply of hot 

and cold water. 

  2. The facility shall have toilets and baths or 

showers that allow for individual privacy. For beds licensed 

after April 2012, the following ratio shall be met. Whenever 

calculations include any fraction of a fixture, the next higher 

whole number of fixtures shall be installed. 

Lavatories 1:6  resident beds 
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Toilets 1:6 resident beds 

Showers or tubs 1:6 resident beds 

 

  3. Bathrooms shall be so placed as to allow access 

without disturbing other residents or children during sleeping 

hours. 

  4. Each bathroom shall be properly equipped with 

toilet paper, towels, and soap. 

5. Tubs and showers shall have slip proof surfaces. 

6. Bathrooms shall contain mirrors secured to the 

walls at convenient heights and other furnishings necessary to 

meet the residents' and children’s basic hygienic needs. 

7. Each resident and child shall be provided 

personal hygiene items such as hairbrushes, toothbrushes, 

razors, etc. 

8. Bathrooms shall be equipped to facilitate maximum 

self-help by residents and children. Bathrooms shall be large 

enough to permit staff assistance of residents and children, if 

necessary. 

9. Toilets, washbasins, and other plumbing or 

sanitary facilities in a facility shall be maintained in good 

operating condition. 

 F. Kitchens 
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1. Kitchens used for meal preparations shall be 

provided with the necessary equipment for the preparation, 

storage, serving and clean up of all meals for all of the 

residents, children, and staff regularly served. All equipment 

shall be maintained in proper working order. 

2. The provider shall not use disposable dinnerware 

at meals except for special occasions such as picnics or 

barbeques or in an emergency situation unless the facility 

documents that such dinnerware is necessary to protect the 

health or safety of residents or children in care. 

3. The provider shall ensure that all dishes, cups, 

and glasses used by residents and children in care are free from 

chips, cracks, or other defects and are in sufficient number to 

accommodate all the residents. 

4. Animals, other than those used as service 

animals, shall not be permitted in food storage, preparation, 

and dining areas. 

 G. Laundry Space. The provider shall have a laundry space 

complete with washer and dryer. 

 H. Staff Quarters. The provider utilizing live-in staff 

shall provide adequate, separate living space with a private 

bathroom for these staff and their children.  

 I. Administrative and Discussion Space 
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  1. The provider shall provide a space that is 

distinct from residents' and children’s living areas to serve as 

an administrative office for records, secretarial work, and 

bookkeeping. 

  2. The provider shall have a designated space to 

allow private discussions between individual residents, 

children, and staff. 

  3. There shall be a covering on the window. 

 J. Furnishings 

  1. The provider shall have comfortable customary 

furniture as appropriate for all living areas. Furniture for the 

use of residents and children shall be appropriately designed to 

suit the size and capabilities of these residents and children. 

  2. The provider shall replace or repair broken, run-

down, or defective furnishings and equipment promptly. 

 K. Doors and Windows 

  1. When opened, all windows shall have insect 

screening. This screening shall be readily removable in 

emergencies and shall be in good repair. 

  2. All closets, bedrooms, and bathrooms shall have 

doors that allow egress from both sides. 

  3. Each window shall have a covering to provide 

privacy unless otherwise stipulated in the service plan. 

 L. Storage 
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  1. The provider shall ensure that there are 

sufficient and appropriate storage facilities. 

  2. The provider shall have securely locked storage 

space for all potentially harmful materials. Keys to such 

storage spaces shall only be available to authorized staff 

members. 

 M. Electrical Systems 

  1. The provider shall ensure that all electrical 

equipment, wiring, switches, sockets, and outlets are maintained 

in good order and safe condition. 

  2. The provider shall ensure that any room, 

corridor, or stairway within a facility shall be well lit. 

  3. The provider shall ensure that exterior areas are 

well lit when dark. 

 N. Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)  

  1. The facility shall provide safe HVAC systems 

sufficient to maintain comfortable temperatures with a minimum 

of 65 degrees and maximum 80 degrees fahrenheit in all indoor 

public and private areas in all seasons of the year; 

  2. The provider shall not use open flame heating 

equipment. 

  3. The use of portable heaters by the residents, 

staff, and children are strictly prohibited, unless in an 

emergency situation. 
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  4. The provider shall take all reasonable 

precautions to ensure that heating elements, including exposed 

hot water pipes, are insulated and installed in a manner that 

ensures the safety of residents and children. 

 O. Safe Sleep Practices and Infant Furnishings 

  1. Only one infant shall be placed in each crib. All 

infants shall be placed on their backs for sleeping.  

   a. Written authorization from the child’s 

physician is required for any other sleeping position. A notice 

of exception to this requirement shall be posted on or near the 

baby’s crib and shall specify the alternate sleep position. 

   b. Written authorization from the child’s 

physician is required for a child to sleep in a car seat or 

other similar device and shall include the amount of time that 

the child is to remain in said device. The written authorization 

shall be updated every three months and as changes occur. 

  2. Infants shall not be placed in positioning 

devices for sleeping unless the child has a note on file from 

the child’s physician authorizing the device.  

  3. Infants who use pacifiers will be offered their 

pacifier when they are placed to sleep and it shall not be 

placed back in the mouth once the child is asleep. 

  4. Bibs shall not be worn by any child while asleep. 
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  5. Infants shall not sleep in an adult bed, on a 

couch, or in a chair. 

  6. A safety-approved crib shall be made available 

for each infant.  

   a. Effective December 28, 2012, each crib in 

use shall meet U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) 

requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) 1219, or non full-size cribs as 

defined in 16 CFR 1220.  

   b. A crib meets the requirements of this 

section if: 

    i. the crib has a tracking label which 

notes that the crib was manufactured on or after June 28, 2011; 

or 

    ii. the provider has a registration card 

which accompanies the crib and notes that the crib was 

manufactured on or after June 28, 2011; or 

    iii. the provider has obtained a Children’s 

Product Certificate (CPC) certifying the crib as meeting 

requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) 1219, or non full-size cribs as 

defined in 16 CFR 1220. 

  7. Each crib shall be equipped with a firm mattress 

and well fitting sheets. Mattresses shall be of standard size so 
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that the mattress fits the crib frame without gaps of more than 

one-half inch. Homemade mattresses are prohibited. 

  8. The minimum height from the top of the mattress 

to the top of the crib rail shall be 20 inches at the highest 

point. 

  9. The mattress support system shall not be easily 

dislodged from any point of the crib by an upward force from 

underneath the crib. 

  10. Stackable cribs are prohibited. 

  11. Children sleeping in playpens or mesh-sided cribs 

is prohibited. 

  12. Cribs shall be free of toys and other soft 

bedding, including blankets, comforters, bumper pads, pillows, 

stuffed animals, and wedges when the child is in the crib. 

  13. Nothing shall be placed over the head or face of 

the infant.  

  14. While residents are awake, napping infants shall 

be checked on at least every 30 minutes.  

 P. Care of Children 

  1. Diapers shall be changed when wet or soiled.  

2. While awake, children shall not remain in a 

crib/baby bed, swing, high chair, carrier, playpen, etc., for 

more than 30 consecutive minutes.   
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3. Pacifiers attached to strings or ribbons shall 

not be placed around a child’s neck or attached to a child’s 

clothing. 

4. Staff shall adhere to proper techniques for 

lifting a child. Staff shall not lift a child by one or both of 

child’s arms. 

5. Children shall be changed and cleaned immediately 

following a toileting accident.  

6. A child’s request for toileting assistance shall 

be responded to promptly. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:828 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7121. Emergency Preparedness 

 A. Emergency Plan 

  1. The provider, in consultation with appropriate 

state or local authorities, shall establish and follow a written 

multi-hazard emergency and evacuation plan to protect residents 
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and children in the event of any emergency. The written overall 

plan of emergency procedures shall: 

   a. provide for the evacuation of residents and 

children to safe or sheltered areas. Evacuation plans shall 

include procedures for addressing both planned and unplanned 

evacuations to alternate locations within the city and long 

distance evacuations; 

   b. provide for training of staff and, as 

appropriate, residents and children in preventing, reporting, 

and responding to fires and other emergencies. The plan shall be 

reviewed with all staff at least annually. Documentation 

evidencing that the plan has been reviewed with all staff shall 

include staff signatures and date reviewed;   

   c. provide for training of staff in their 

emergency duties for all types of emergencies and the use of any 

fire fighting or other emergency equipment in their immediate 

work areas; 

   d. provide for adequate staffing in the event 

of an emergency; 

   e. ensure access to medication and other 

necessary supplies or equipment; 

f. include shelter in place, lock down 

situations, and evacuations with regard to natural disasters, 

manmade disasters, bomb threats, and national security threats;   
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g. be appropriate for the area in which the 

facility is located and address any potential disaster due to 

that particular location;   

h. include a system to account for all 

residents and children whether sheltering in place, locking 

down, or evacuating to a pre-determined relocation site; 

i. include lock down procedures for situations 

that may result in harm to persons inside the facility, 

including but not limited to a shooting, hostage incident, 

intruder, trespassing, disturbance, or any situation deemed 

harmful at the discretion of the program director or public 

safety personnel; 

j. account for residents and children and 

ensure that no one leaves the designated safe area in a lock 

down situation. Staff shall secure facility entrances, ensuring 

that no unauthorized individual enters the facility; 

k. include an individualized emergency plan 

(including medical contact information and additional 

supplies/equipment needed) for each resident and child with 

special needs; 

l. ensure that residents and children who are 

prescribed prescription medication are able to receive 

medication if evacuated from facility; 
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m. include plans for nuclear evacuation if the 

facility is located within a 10-mile radius of a nuclear power 

plant or research facility;  

n. include emergency contact information for 

staff in the event evacuation from the facility is necessary.  

  2. At a minimum, the plan shall be reviewed annually 

by the program director for accuracy and updated as changes 

occur. Documentation of review by the program director shall 

consist of the program director’s signature and date;  

  3. The emergency and evacuation plan shall by 

submitted to Licensing at least annually, any time changes are 

made, and upon the request of Licensing.  

  4. If evacuation of children from the facility is 

necessary, provider shall have an evacuation pack and all staff 

shall know the location of the pack. The contents shall be 

replenished as needed. At a minimum, the pack shall contain the 

following: 

a. hand sanitizer; 

b. wet wipes; 

c. tissue; 

d. diapers for children who are not yet potty 

trained; 

e. plastic bags; 
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f. food for all ages of children, including 

infant food and formula; 

g. disposable cups; and 

h. bottled water. 

 NOTE: For additional information contact the Office of 

Emergency Preparedness (Civil Defense) in your area. 

 B. Drills 

  1. The provider shall conduct fire drills at least 

once per month and within three days of admitting a new 

resident. There shall be at least one drill per shift every 90 

days, at varying times of the day and the drills shall be 

documented. Effective August 1, 2016, documentation shall 

include: 

a. date and time of drill; 

b. names of residents and children present;  

c. amount of time to evacuate the facility; 

d. problems noted during drill and corrections 

noted; and 

e. signatures (not initials) of staff present.  

  2. The provider shall make every effort to ensure 

that staff, residents, and children recognize the nature and 

importance of fire drills. 

 C. Notification of Emergencies 
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  1. The provider shall immediately notify the 

Licensing Section, other appropriate agencies, and the 

resident's legal guardian of any fire, disaster, or other 

emergency that may present a danger to residents or children or 

require their evacuation from the facility.  

 D. Access to Emergency Services 

  1. The provider shall have access to 24-hour 

telephone service. 

  2. The provider shall either prominently post 

telephone numbers of emergency services on or near each phone 

located in the facility, including the fire department, police 

department, medical facility, poison control (1-800-222-1222), 

ambulance services, 911, the facility’s physical address or show 

evidence of an alternate means of immediate access to these 

services. 

  3. The provider shall ensure direct care staff can 

access emergency services at all times. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:830 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

§7123. Safety Program 
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 A. Policies and Procedures 

  1. The provider shall have policies and procedures 

for an on-going safety program that includes continuous 

inspection of the facility for possible hazards, continuous 

monitoring of safety equipment and investigation of all 

incidents. 

 B. General Safety Practices 

  1. The provider shall not possess or maintain or 

permit any other person to possess or maintain any firearm or 

chemical weapon on the premises with the exception of law 

enforcement personnel. 

  2. The provider shall ensure that all poisonous, 

toxic, and flammable materials are safely stored in appropriate 

containers labeled as to contents. Such materials shall be 

maintained only as necessary and shall be used in a manner that 

ensures the safety of residents, staff, children, and visitors.  

  3. The provider shall ensure that a first aid kit is 

available in the living units and in all vehicles used to 

transport residents or children. 

  4. The provider shall prohibit the use of candles in 

the facility. 

  5. Power-driven equipment used by the provider shall 

be safe and properly maintained. Such equipment shall be used by 
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residents only under the direct supervision of a staff member 

and according to state law. 

  6. The provider shall allow residents and children 

to swim only in areas determined to be safe and under the 

supervision of a person certified/trained in American Red Cross 

Basic Water Rescue or equivalent. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:831 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 42: 

 

 Marketa Garner Walters 
 Secretary 
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	i. Effective August 1, 2016, all staff members who administer medication to residents or children under five years of age shall have medication administration training. However, providers licensed to care for children of residents or licensed to care ...

